Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
101
check
98%
would recommend to a friend
search
jmk451
78
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect globetrotter
Brought the MDxDD X-Mid 1-person tent with me on a recent globetrot to New Zealand. It worked out really well. It was a family trip, and we rented a camper-van. Bringing along the X-Mid 1P gave us extra space for someone to sleep outside the van in spots where we could set up a tent. Benefits:
  1. Lightweight and easily packable in checked luggage.
  2. Roomy enough for 5ft10in (178cm) adult male to sleep comfortably.
  3. Dead-easy pitching and striking.
  4. Combines well with Klymit Static V (insulated or not, whatever your favorite is), trek poles, inflatable pillow, and your favorite lightweight/packable quilt (Klymit, Kammok, Pinedown, whatever) to form a fully contained sleep system ... where only the tent and Static V were "extra" (with respect to the camper-van).
  5. Handled wind well (camped one night near of Wellington).
  6. Ventilation was adequate with doors closed and roof vents opened, no drips from condensation.
  7. Inner netting worked to keep mosquito stalkers from collecting unsolicited "donations".
Notes:
  1. I wasn't aware peak guy lines were included (perhaps I didn't read/look closely enough) and bought extra line for that; nice to see them included.
  2. Glad I brought a ground-cloth; it kept ground moisture/dew away from the inner, allowing me to fold up and pack a dry inner. An inner-shaped footprint would be a nice, but likely a luxury. A poncho would probably do.
  3. Likewise glad my trek poles were lever-lock instead of twist-lock for easy adjustment; I ended up with about 120cm pole height on flat ground.
  4. It's definitely only a single-person tent; I could feel the trek poles on both sides against the inner floor while changing sides for side-sleeping.
  5. Peak netting pouches would be nice on both sides instead of just one.
  6. Inner needs hang loops at the peak.
  7. I watched the video and tried it in the field, but I still don't get how to insert and lengthen the poles via the roof vents -- maybe I just need more practice.
  8. The fly and inner fabric are coated and don't like to stay put while folding/rolling the tent; not much to be done about that, but allow a few extra minutes to pack the tent until you get practiced at it.
Other notes:
  1. If you're bringing a tent to New Zealand, it helps speed your way through customs/bio-screening if (1) it's brand-new, and (2) you've never set it up anywhere.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 5, 2019
graithe
8
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Eminently affordable 1P UL shelter. Needs improvements
At this price point, this tent is unbeatable bang for buck, especially for the weight, which is comparable to DCF shelters. I love that it's super easy to set up, and requires very few stakes to do so, although I'm usually paranoid and would always want to use the optional guylines just for stability in case the wind picks up at night. Haven't tested this extensively though, and so far in very mild conditions. Few things I would improve:
  1. The stakes supplied are the type that I would never ever use, I would suggest not even supplying stakes and letting people get their own - and lower the price or put the money into improvements elsewhere
  2. Definitely produce a solid inner, it won't actually weigh that much more than a mesh inner, if at all. It was raining condensation all night long onto my precious down quilt with every slight gust of wind
  3. The size of the inner could be increased slightly to accommodate taller people, the width could also be wider so we can use a wide pad AND put some other gear in the tent with us comfortably and be able to have wiggle room. There's so much gap between the inner and outer anyway.
  4. The inner could do with attachment loops so we can attach a clothesline. Was quite disappointed there weren't any...
Other than that, it's a fantastic shelter overall. Zips go up and down smoothly without snagging, vents are thoughtfully placed and designed, and poles are offset out of the way so getting in and out is nice and easy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 3, 2019
Bigislandhiker
1
Dec 7, 2019
bookmark_border
I'm surprised that much condensation made it through the inner mesh.
Dec 7, 2019
graithe
8
Dec 7, 2019
bookmark_border
The wind was knocking the condensation off the inside of the rain fly and driving it through the mesh onto my quilt
Dec 7, 2019
giki
0
Dec 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I thought it was a great tent. It was very easy to set up.
冬の野営で結露はあったものの、居住性も非常に高く、この軽さでこの快適度は素晴らしいです。 まだ一度の設営で雨の中で試していないので防水がどれくらい機能するのかわかりませんが・・・。
search




check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 2, 2019
Dbarber
1
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great tent.
Great tent for a non-free-standing 1p. Sets up quickly, nice details, very light.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 1, 2019
Sargeant
3
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it...
I bought this online and had it shipped to Toronto. If you’re in Canada just be aware there will be extra charges. Dan explains them well below, which I appreciated him addressing in the same day. Nothing to do with Drop or the manufacturers. For reference, the Canadian Government decided they wanted an extra $90 (metric) smackers to bring it in. Perhaps this is to encourage us to build igloo’s and maintain cultural heritage?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 1, 2019
dandurston
2328
Dan Durston
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
Sorry to hear these additional charges. These are largely the result of the Canadian government choosing to place additional costs on Canadians, as opposed to fees or something related specifically to Drop. Canada charges an 18% tariff on most tents (Chapter 63, code 63.06.22) plus there is 13% sales tax in Ontario, so there is 31% tax total. That's $62 USD or about $80 CAD, and then Canada Post charges a $10 handling fee which brings the total in Ontario to about $90 CAD. That $10 fee is the lowest possible way to do it (e.g. if they shipped it via a courier the fees would be a lot higher) so Drop is shipping these in the lowest cost possible way for Canadians and they aren't getting any of that $90, but there's no way of getting around the taxes that Canada charges (except in incidents where the border officer doesn't bother to charge it, which does happen pretty often). The 13% sales tax (aka HST/GST/PST) applies to basically all items (whether online or local) whereas the 18% tariff applies to tents specifically, except for USA made ones (exempt under NAFTA). If you buy a tent from within Canada, the shop likely paid the tariff which ups the listed price. If you buy a tent from outside Canada, the tariff is indeed a rude surprise. I sympathize because I've been charged this too and for much more expensive tent (31% tax on a $600 MSR Carbon Reflex which was about $250 CAD. I was upset for a while as I also wasn't aware of it). This tariff is extra surprising to Canadians because most items coming into Canada don't have additional tariffs beyond sales tax, yet tents oddly do so it's unexpected. If you would have bought a tent from another vendor outside of Canada (e.g. Backcountry.com) the same tariff would have applied unless it was USA made (under NAFTA). We have talked about this tariff in the discussion a few times (example) but Drop doesn't disclose this tariff for the same reason that nearly all websites don't disclose tariff information: It's not practical to keep up to date on all applicable tariffs across hundreds of different jurisdictions and for hundreds of different products. Drop operates the same as nearly all websites when they leave it to the customer to research what taxes may be applied in their home country. If you read the FAQ about shipping they write:
search

(Edited)
Dec 1, 2019
Froyen
1
Nov 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good build quality, lightweight
Overall a good double walled shelter. Ultralight to boot. At first the material felt a little flimsy but that's part of the ultralight life. Will be using a ground sheet because I don't see the floor lasting too too long. Used in -10C first night. Some condensation from breath settling low in the tub floor. Got edges of sleeping bag wet due to touching the sides of the inner. All reasonable and nothing ruined, though for multi-day it may get uncomfortable. Overall very happy. Large vestibules and plenty of room within the tarp area however not a ton of room within the inner. Pegs are a tad flimsy but again, weight loss. Great product. Shipped to Canada payed about $80 extra in taxes.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 29, 2019
graithe
8
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Same for me - condensation raining all night long onto my quilt, but as it was below freezing outside I couldn't exactly leave the outer opened up. Definitely needs a solid inner option, and it would be great for the British cold but wet climate especially in the South during winter.
Dec 3, 2019
cmart2112
3
Nov 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Well made. Perfect size for 1 person tent. Lightweight and super easy to pitch.
I really like this tent. As a bigger guy (6'2" 260lbs) I was a little worried about how I would fit. However, after I setup the tent and crawled in, I realized there was nothing to worry about. I have more that ample room. Very excited to get this on the trail! Thanks Dan Durston! You are the man!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 25, 2019
te-wa
6
Nov 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
search
search
search
Set up the new one - initial "backyard test". This is siliconized polyester, or silpoly. It won't stretch and sag like silnylon does when it gets wet. Kind of small for the inner tent but big enough for someone and their necessities. Has a pretty cool Ridgeline pocket that will hold most your small stuff. The rain fly has generous vestibules and I don't know if you can tell from the photo, but the Ridgeline is offset asymmetrically which it's kind of strange because the inner tent runs diagonally under the rain fly. This design is what creates the generous vestibules. This is something I will use when I go to ground for myself, awesome color is about the same as brittlebush so should be really really stealthy in the desert! It also comes with what I suspect are Vargo titanium hook Stakes. Not really a fan of those for Arizona soil so may just bring my groundhogs along. So far, my general impression is that $200 is a damn good deal for this. Pros: needs only 4 stakes. better with 6, to hold out the small doors. 8 stakes is really storm-worthy. large storage spaces under the fly. can be pitched with hiking poles right through the peak vents! meaning you do not have to open the doors to pitch it = dry inside. very pleasing and stealthy color, sage/brittlebush green. silpoly fabric, stays taught when wet (much like PU coated poly, but lighter) pitchable in 3 ways: just the fly, or just the inner, or both. inner has just 2 clips for fast setup, unless you leave it together, then pitching is even faster. took me less than 3 minutes. about 32oz for everything, including all stakes, on my scale. one can sit up along the peak, pretty high for an average (5' 9") person. ridgline pocket is generously sized, and may be capable of holding a book, headlamp, smartphone, wallet, maps, playing cards, anything else you may need to keep yourself occupied while bored. i imagine it is sturdy enough to hold a compact 9mm pistol. Cons: the inner tent is kinda confining, at just 28" max width. anyone over 6' tall and a thicker pad might find the mesh hitting face and feet. *that being said, 28" is good for a place to lay your head, if you're a bigger fella, get a 2-man tent. although there are 8 Ti stakes, i dont like the holding power (which is next to nothing, in soggy or sandy soil). would benefit from 2 hooks to hold doors open, not just one that is not really centered on a rolled-up main door. all guylines are exact color of tent body. i may change them, for ease of visibility. these are just nit-picks. new guylines, different stakes, will likely make this a winner. cant wait to use it in the field! *i changed out the zipper pull cord to Lawson's GloLine. also, the ridgeline guyouts for visibility. lastly, the inner tent lines were tossed and replaced with full-length bungee, which i feel helps reduce strain on the inner tent / outer tent bodies. i like the Ti stakes, but they won't hold in the sandy/rocky soils of AZ. imma use my Groundhogs, likely. this initial 4 star review was just for a trial set up. i feel confident this tent will perform very well. thank you for reading my opinions!
(Edited)
Nov 23, 2019
graithe
8
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Are those titanium stakes? Felt like bog standard steel ones to me...
Dec 3, 2019
dandurston
2328
Dan Durston
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
The stock stakes are titanium. There are also steel stakes that come in this shape (shepard's hook) but those usually heavier and bend a lot easier because steel is softer/less springy. As te-wa notes, they're not well suited for softer soils where a larger/wider stake would be much better.
Dec 3, 2019
wanderlost
1
Nov 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the tent, not the stitching defect mine came with.
I love this tent. I love Dan's design and attention to detail. I was searching for a tent for a PCT thru-hike and I think this is the best designed 1 person, double wall tent on the market. Unfortunately, mine came with a defect in the stitching. I received this tent in the April/September run so I'm not sure if this is true of any of the recent tents. I contacted Massdrop support, so hopefully they'll let me exchange it. I'll update this review when I hear back.
search
search
search

Nov 23, 2019
dandurston
2328
Dan Durston
Nov 23, 2019
bookmark_border
Sorry to hear about the stitching issue. Not too sure what happened there, but I expect Drop will replace this for you since it's inside the warranty period.
Nov 23, 2019
mrbythatmuch
6
Nov 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Impressed
search
Was a little worried when the forecast included a chance of snow. Lowering the tent poles a little and bringing it down to the ground all the way around ( plus building a small berm to meet the edges ) allowed for a good enough seal to keep extra warmth in through the night. Others in my group couldn't do that with their rain flys and wound up with snow blowing on them through the night. Was concerned about the trekking poles tips ripping through the peaks. I tried multiple things, turning the poles so the handles we up, adding a metal cap nut, adding rubber oring to the gromet and Rubber Screw Protectors. None I feel are a great permanent solution with the tips I have so will look to put new tips on my poles. Of those with the tips I have the rubber screw protectors worked the best by far, fit really well and very confident they would not fall off or push through or the tip would come out of the gromet. Problem is though it's another piece to assemble and a small piece to keep track of. So still searching for the best long term solution.
search


check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 21, 2019
georgeghand007
2
Nov 29, 2019
bookmark_border
This appears to be an importantly perfected version of a tent design that I found (in Boy's Life???) when I was around 13 or so (c. 1952). It was a good design then (I made one out of vinyl, unfortunately, dark green vinyl). Everyone sitting in it looked strangely purple and it was heavy, but the design itself was a keeper, needing only a proper fabric, fasteners and zippers to be a design worth owning).
Nov 29, 2019
dandurston
2328
Dan Durston
Nov 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Interesting. Do you have any pictures?
Nov 29, 2019
Showing 34 of 236
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
236 OF 236 POSTS
Dec 9, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest