Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
163
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
ashleea
4
Aug 8, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simple to pitch, high quality fabric
Almost foolproof as long as you have ground to stake it out properly. The inner mesh is a little small (I'm big though - 6' 220). Excited to see how it does in the winter.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2020
oldsparkey
62
Aug 8, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ultralighters ...Try it , You will like it.
This is one easy tent to erect. It's light weight , packs nicely in the backpack , plenty of vestibule area and ventilation. If it's wet you can detach the interior and put the exterior in the back pocket of your pack. Later spread it out over some bushes during a snack break and let it dry. Plus being a polyester fabric it dries quickly. Might call it a convertible , it can even be used as a tarp without the interior bug net. Or as a solo tent as it was designed for. As a solo tent I can understand the weight savings of the design which is appreciated. But being picky , I would of liked the interior ( net ) section to be a few inches wider and longer. What the heck , after all it's for sleeping not partying in. Want extra room , drop the interior netting and use the tent as a tarp with a ground cloth.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 8, 2020
Zhukov
3
Aug 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beauty in Simplicity
Just received it and was able to try it out in George Washington National Forest. Super easy to setup. An evening rainstorm sent us scrambling to the tents and there were no issues deflecting the rain.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 6, 2020
Aussie
7
Aug 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very cleverly designed
Recently used this tent on a thru hike of the Heysen Trail in South Australia. Even though the sleeping area in truly a one person size the design allows you to have everything under cover in the vestibules. Several night were very windy and never had a problem (didn't use included tent pegs though). Several reasons night, again no problems.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 6, 2020
Uncle_Fred
13
Aug 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best tent on the market for backpacking
If you are looking for an ultralight 1 person setup, something simple to setup, something that doesn't suffer from the moisture issues of a single-wall tents, strong enough to handle all but mountainside blizzards, yet a shelter that isn't outrageously pricey, this is the best tent on the market today. Dan nails the single person tent in a way no other manufacturer matches. The mass-produced premium freestanding tents are more cumbersome, take longer to setup and are higher weight. The custom ultralights often suffer from moisture problems due to them being single wall designs, or they use fabrics like dyneema which prices them north of $400 USD. This tent checks all the boxes that most experienced backpackers want to see and does it at a very reasonable price point. You can clearly tell that Dan is an experienced backpacker and knows what's necessary to include in a tent, and what isn't. If I had any recommendations, it would be these: 1) The tent inner could benefit from 2-3" of increased width on both sides, and 1-2" top and bottom. While not a huge issue, larger men may find their elbows brushing up against the sides. This may cause some to cool down at night under late season or alpine conditions. People over 6-3" may find this tent too short to be comfortable. 2) Include an additional, solid inner with the mesh inner. This tent is crying to be extended into more extreme conditions. It really is quite strong and study with the right tie-out setup. All that's needed is a proper solid inner to buffer extreme air movement. 3) Include spare cabling & 10 more stakes. To expand the conditions this tent can safely handle, I've attached additional guy-out cables. Two at each pole top, and additional stake tie-outs and guy-cables where loops are provided. This greatly increases the versatility of the tent and the conditions it can safely handle. The fabric is polypro, so it's much stronger than classic fabrics of this fabric gauge. 4) The tent should come with two seven piece carbon poles, or at least this should be an optional addition in the future. 7 pieces at 7" each are perfect as they fit into the stake bag. 5) Include a groundsheet. While not 100% necessary, the fabric on the tent floor isn't a super-heavy duty material. A groundsheet will help extend the life of the tent floor. I will be using one in the field, personally. 6) Change the stakes. Titanium is good, but it would be better if the stakes had V or X profile. The current stakes are designed more for hard ground, but lack the necessary metal gauge to handle it on a regular basis. This thinner titanium stakes always get bent. A properly gauged V or X shaped aluminum or titanium stake would cover all uses outside the weakest powdered snows. 7) Offer at least 3 color options: neon for safety, the current color, and a proper camouflage for stealth campers. The camouflage and neon probably could be optional rainfly covers in the future. All this might increase the cost of the tent slightly, some of this might not be realistic until Dan offers his own storefront. Still, some of this could be done for future models and would be worth the increased cost.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 6, 2020
MintyCumin
12
Aug 6, 2020
bookmark_border
Most of these suggestions, while have some merit, are definitely way out of depth for Drop. They could be a somewhat plausible stretch items for a dedicated niche tent design company or as generic to premium accessories in an outdoors chain store, but they're just nonstarters for a shop that mostly sells fancy keycaps, titanium trinkets, and budget audiophile headphones. Even an obviously practical and salable option like solid inner is likely not worth the hassle for the company, since it's likely seen as unattractive for mostly subtropical USA customers and requires extra expenses of testing, ordering, and stocking another design. The small accessories, while easier to procure, would be both too esoteric for a generic customer to impulse purchase, and have to have too high of a markup for an enthusiast customer that can shop for them elsewhere.
(Edited)
Aug 6, 2020
Sweetjond
16
Aug 7, 2020
bookmark_border
I’m hoping now that Dan’s tents have generated over $1.5M revenue for Drop that they’ll start listening a little more closely to his suggestions on what will sell.
Aug 7, 2020
BenPhantom
3
Aug 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best shelter I have ever used!
I've hiked the entire Appalachian Trail and Pacific Crest Trail, and the X Mid is hands down the best shelter I have ever used. I'll be using it on my Continental Divide Trail Thru Hike Attempt in 2022. Being able to unpack everything inside the rain fly is a game changer during inclement weather, and has changed my approach to tent camping. Brilliant design and top quality construction at a ridiculously affordable price! Buy it now!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 2, 2020
droberts64
6
Aug 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
went up quickly. plenty roomy for my 5'10" 180lb frame.
search
search
I took it local here in Memphis area to a state park, only tent and very few campers that are far off. It is so peaceful. i did put up a foxelli tarp to keep covered from sun while not in the tent. I made dinner with coffee, and will be relaxing until dark. My pack is a bit heavy for first time out in 25 years. I will be checking my list twice for next outing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 1, 2020
Rolfdenver
13
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely well thought out and executed design
Extremely well thought out and executed design. The workmanship and attention to design details did not disappoint. I love the fact that you can set up just the rain fly alone, as a bombproof tarp, but also that you can pack it and unpack it with the inner tent pre-attached. I don’t know of any other tent, and certainly not one in this price range, where you just have to put in four stakes and then easily fit two poles to get the entire tent set up. You can do so even in the rain, and can also take it down again, without the inner tent getting wet.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 30, 2020
CoolFeller
3
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good tent
Great weight for the price, just enough space, if I were taller than 6ft 2 then I'd get the 2 person tent
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 30, 2020
witekluka
0
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Annoyed due to shipping
A warning for others before deciding to purchase this tent from outside US. My main annoyance is that I pre-ordered it from Toronto, Canada region and I got hit with an $80(USD) bill from the shipper. I understood that there may be extra shipping charges but $80! That is almost 50% of the product price! Super annoyed that clear expectations were not provided from Drop. Please note that I have not tried this product yet because I am currently abroad. Hoping the experience using the product will alleviate my dissatisfaction(crossing fingers).
Jul 30, 2020
dandurston
3642
Dan Durston
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
Those charges you experienced are unfortunate but to be clear they are taxes from the Canadian government and not shipping costs. Canada charges sales tax (e.g. 13% in Ontario) and then the federal government adds on a 18% tariff on tents. That tariff on tents seem arbitrary (e.g. why do they have a tariff on tents but not backpacks?) but it nonetheless exists, so the combined tax rate is 31% on tents in Ontario. That's nothing specific to the X-Mid but just something you'd pay on almost any tent that you buy online, while in stock tents (e.g. MEC) just already have that in the price. On top of that there is a $10 handling fee from Canada Post, which is the lowest cost possible way to do it (e.g. if it arrived via UPS or FedEx the fees would be higher). So of the total bill here, most of it is going to the government with a little bit to Canada Post. I agree it would be nice if there was more clarity on this from Drop, but the reason Drop and nearly all online websites leave it up to the customer to be aware of local taxes/duties is because it's too complicated. In Canada alone we have different rates in each province, plus literally thousands of different tariffs for different products. Any of that could change at any time, and thn Drop sells all sorts of products all over the globe, where it's just not practical to keep track of taxse and tariffs on every item across all countries, regions and states. Only the very largest businesses (Amazon, eBay) keep on top of all that, while nearly all small-medium sized online business leave it up to the customer to be aware of tax rates in their area. So at present Drop just has a statement saying there can be taxes and to look into them which is how most sites do it (e.g. order a tent from Backcountry.com, or REI.com or Moosejaw etc and you'd run into the same thing).
(Edited)
Jul 30, 2020
Rolfdenver
13
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
With all due respect, while anyone would be mad to get socked with such high taxes/tariffs, I think it’s unfortunate to give a product a low rating due to general dissatisfaction with Drop - especially a cottage industry like this that is dependent on word-of-mouth. I hope you will consider revising your rating after seeing Mr. Durston’s explanation and once you use your tent.
Jul 30, 2020
Showing 15 of 364
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
364 OF 364 POSTS
Aug 8, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest