shopping_cart
Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent

Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.8K requests
·
2k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
270
check
98%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ekdouglas
1
Nov 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best 1P tent for the money. Cant wait to order another for a friend once they are in stock again.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Paul_Tudor
0
Sep 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Brilliant Tent at a superb price
Perfect. A weight, price and quality that matches the best around. I have been through several one man tents over the years. One of my key goals is to reduce the carry weight, maximise internal space and have a tent able to stand up to a Scottish winter. This tent by Dan does the lot! I sleep on a long wide mattress, which often limits which tents I can look at. Also, so often with ultralight tents, they are single skin, where as this offered full double skin. ITs design puts on equal par with a select few others that are at a much higher premium. It is well designed and thought out, loft space above the sleeping area, extra guy lines if needed, and even better, plenty of porch space (both sides) to put bags, boots and cook. Well done Dan! Highly recommended by me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
chris.evans
0
Sep 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well designed, light and easy to pitch
Eventually I’ve been able to get out and use the tent on some backpacking trips over our summer here in UK. Weather has been fair, so no exposure to heavy rain or wind yet. The mesh inner has been fine but a solid one would be useful in colder weather. After a couple of practise pitches in the garden everything has been fine except for the one pitch on very shallow, sandy and pebble filled soil on a campsite in north Norfolk. It was impossible to get pegs in far enough so a lot of flapping from fly overnight. Certainly I’ll be using this in milder conditions. I may return to the scarp when higher winds are expected.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jiahlee06
8
Aug 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
it has every basic necessities
It is light and compact, but still has every basic thing you want from tents. Materials are pretty good and I did not have any trouble without additional floorprint. It wasn't too hot nor cold. Though I felt it was a bit small, it was my decision to buy 1-person tent, so cannot complain there.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
onedaycamper
4
Jul 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Platonic shape, great price but risky to use
The first, obvious thing you notice is how you pitch this tent -- I love it. I love it large vestibules, weight, price, overall design. The tent fails a bit in the small details, like using too many attachment systems, using not hi-viz element (lines, buckles, and so on), on one hand it is bit too much draft inside inner tent, on the other hand there is a bit of condensation on inner side of the outer tent. I can live with those shortcomings. But every evening I am totally scared because of the one thing -- the color of the tent. If set it up before dusk I put myself at risk. Risk of being detected by some redneck or official (and effectively receiving fine). The same tent in camo color, and I would pay for being ambassador of it (while of course complaining about this or that ;-)). Aesthetics (color here) go second, or even tenth when it comes to be reliable, trustworthy, safe. So the current iteration, no, I cannot recommend, sad to say, but it is how I feel. More wordy review: https://przypadkopis.wordpress.com/2021/07/26/x-mid-1p-tent-a-lighthouse-in-the-forest/
(Edited)
Wellan
1
Jul 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Works flawlessly and very lighweight.
I would also add that my experience with tents has been sharing them with my dad while on hikes and this one feels massive for a one person tent. Love the covered space it gives to protect your stuff from rain on the sides of the tent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mitchell_w
1
May 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great tent
I used this tent this year on Section A and B of the PCT Late April 2021. I am reporting how the tent performed under a few weather conditions I had set it  up in my yard and used it once to sleep out before departure. I carried extra stakes (3) and extra guide lines(2). I also had a ground sheet made of plastic. My first night I had to pitch the tent in the rain at about 3300 feet. Once I had the outer set up I was able to get into the tent, dry off , sleep and eat. It rained overnight and no leaks to report, there was wind, the tent remained stable. I also woke up once another night with ice on the outside of the tent and another time with a light dusting of snow at 4000 feet maybe higher The tent was easy to dry out once the sun came out and I could spread it out for a bit. I saw only 2 others with this tent, both seemed very happy with theirs too. I saw many tents costing 4 to 6 times more using many more tent pegs. Most nights I used the 4 corners, and sometime staked the opening for zipper access
search
I added a photo of the tent drying out. I stopped using the inter net and bathtub after a few days, next time I will leave this behind to cut weight as there were no bugs in that location. Thank you
check
Would recommend to a friend.
apolk413
2
May 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Tent!
I set up my 1p just the other week. It was easy to set up, and the color is great. I am 6'1", and it fit me just fine. One thing I will make sure and do is order a few more stakes for it, as it only comes with 4 shepherd stakes. That will add a little more weight to it but that is fine by me. One down side is that it is very slick/slippery when trying to put it in the bag. That can be frustrating, but once I figured out the best way to fold it, it wasn't a huge deal.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Calyd0n
14
Apr 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My favorite 1P tent!
The inner tent may seem narrow but thanks to the size of the vestibules and the transparent mesh, you don't feel constricted at all, a well designed tent!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Choppersean
4
Mar 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great tent thus far!
I meant to share my review, photos, and proposed DIY footprint concept last year and things just got away from me. I ordered the tent in like Feb. or March 2020, but it didn't arrive until July. I had it out twice last year and really enjoyed it. Well made tent although I had only four nights in it under pristine conditions......no rain or wind at all. I am optimistic it will be a very durable and robust tent under more extreme conditions. As a single-person tent I really like that it has very large vestibules and doors on both sides. The photos I wanted to share are of my Tyvek HomeWrap footprint for this tent. I tend to really baby my tents as some of these newer fabrics just seem so fragile that I don't mind carrying a few extra ounces to take good care. My "hack" on the ground sheet was that I cut to just slightly smaller than the tent bathtub dimensions. I installed grommets on each of the four corners of the Tyvek sheet and then used some spare wooden dowel material I had along with some spare shock-cord to create a pretty stellar system to tie the groundsheet to the tent tie-outs. Worked just amazingly and learned I could hook it once I staked out the tent itself, but without having to be inside the tent to do so.
search
search
search
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Very cool! That is a nice simple attachment system. Nice pitch too!
Showing 11 of 538
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
538 OF 538 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest