Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
251
check
98%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
grimm0614
33
Jan 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent, lightweight tent at a nearly unbeatable price
I've used this tent extensively over the past year and have really enjoyed it. The craftsmanship, materials and design are all top notch and for the price, it is an incredible value. There are lighter, more durable or larger tents on the market, but I feel this really strikes an excellent balance for a 3+ season tent for most people in most situations. I have used it with the inner and while snug, I don't find it restrictive using a 77"x25" air pad. I have room to store small personal items in the area above my head or at my feet. The rest of my gear easily fits underneath the huge verstibules. I've also used it quite often with a simple polycro groundsheet without the inner during the winter. It is a PALACE for one under these conditions. Really enjoy the huge space when using it in fly only mode. The silploy material is very nice and repels rain and snow very well. The pitch is easy and forgiving and using all of the guyout points, you can really make it storm worthy. I've pitched it on snow without issue and it really sheds wind and rain well. It's not a mountaineering tent but has been all that I need in the winter and probably would work for most below treeline. I'm hopeful that Dan's plans for some modular add ons come soon as I will be first in line for anything X-Mid related. A groundsheet that could replace the polycro I'm using would be top of my list and a solid inner would be nice in deep winter conditions. 5/5 - Highly recommend!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
The current X-Mid (and all X-Mid's) can pitch inner only. It's just a bit of a hassle because you have to tie a few knots and steal the guylines off the fly (or buy new ones). Basically you remove the peak guylines from the fly, tie them to the inner peaks, tie loops for the poles tips, and then stake out the inner and add the poles. So a few knots and there's no easy cord tensioner to fine tune. My kits will work with any X-Mid sold to date and will have a matching buckle so you have a separate set of guylines that clip right on with a grommet, tensioner etc. I'd like to offer dyneema in the future but unclear right now when that'll be. I won't have any in 2021. If I do dyneema, I'd probably start with a singlewall version so there is less overlap between the products, so it wouldn't be a dyneema fly for current X-Mid's - at least not at the beginning.
coscino
1
Jan 18, 2021
Ok thank you very much for the info
MrCrick
3
Jan 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Idea, Too Narrow.
The design is actually extremely clever. It's very easy to set up, provides great protection from the elements, is pretty darn light and good quality. But, it is definitely too narrow for me. I'm fine being in a small tent (the head room is actually great and it's very long) but my arms touch both sides of this tent while I'm on my back. This isn't a deal breaker, but it's annoying enough that I notice it every time I use it. In my opinion, this tent would be greatly improved by being even just 3-4 inches wider.
MrCrick
3
Jan 14, 2021
Thank you for the suggestions on pitching the X-mid for more floor space, I'll give them a try. I'm also adjusting up to 4 stars. Fit is really my only complaint with this tent, it's excellent in all other regards.
Thanks. I'll keep your feedback in mind and may be able to squeeze in a larger inner if we do a second generation at some point.
Uffk4
3
Dec 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it.
The tent feels very robust . It's quick to erect and with openings on both sides it is perfect for the Queensland summer.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nice to hear. Thanks for the review
tobot
2
Dec 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent tent
Build quality is excellent, sturdy and very easy pitch. Very pleased
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TrinityMotors
1
Dec 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For a first time, lightweight backpacker, I loved this tent.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
woody.shin
5
Dec 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great tent!
Super light and easy to pack. Just 2 minutes taken for setup!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sweet! Good to hear you're finding it quick to setup.
HoepfingerFarms
1
Dec 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great tent, easy setup.
Great tent with an easy setup. I am 6'2" and I just fit. I would not recommend if you are taller. I like that it is modular so if bugs aren't an issue you can leave the inner behind to save weight.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
noshang
3
Dec 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super satisfied..
i love this tent.. it’s light, comfortable and easy to set up. No condensation problem. No problem with strong wind too ..
check
Would recommend to a friend.
hikerbot
1
Dec 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
best tent i've ever owned
i moved from a big agnes fly creek I to this tent and am very happy with the change. It is the same weight, roughly the same interior dimensions, but much larger vestibule, much easier to access (because of the side doors), and packs down much smaller (and without poles). i bought the 2pm too, I liked this one so much.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sweet! Glad you like it.
JDO69
2
Nov 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Practical tent for backpacking or motorcycle camping
I bought this tent for use in motorcycle camping and backpacking. After going through set up and take down a handful of times now, I’m happy with the purchase. Plenty of room inside without being too heavy or bulky. Looking forward to using this as my main shelter on the road. Expecting great things when combined with a Tyvek drop cloth and a sleeping pad.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 23 of 509
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
509 OF 509 POSTS
Jan 20, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest