Rothco M-65 Field Jacket

Rothco M-65 Field Jacket

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.9K requests
1.7k Sold
Product Description
Combining two military-style jackets in one, the Rothco M-65 Field Jacket features a water-repellent poly/cotton twill shell and a removable polyester liner. The result is a waterproof jacket that breathes and retains heat—perfect for a day on the job or in the field Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
92
check
69%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
SloJoe17or76
7
Jul 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sizes are military standard so pay attention to that I am a small-medium, I got mine a bit big to wear during colder seasons because I also own my grandfather's vintage jacket from his tour in Vietnam. Always will be my favorite jacket style.
PMKNHD
20
May 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I see reviews saying the jacket is noisy. Maybe a little but it is waterproofed unlike any field jacket I’ve ever had in my time in the service. Also I see reviews saying it runs large. That’s much like every field jacket I was issued. Can’t say I’ve had one with a liner in the past. Personally I have no complaints with this jacket especially at the price. I did remove the hood. Never had much use for them.
Visioncrow
9
Dec 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well, Rothco at least offers their version of the M-65 in tiger stripe -- one of the few manufacturers that does. It's not a bad jacket: fit is big, but the finish is good. It's good looking tiger stripe and the coat is well sewn, overall. I wear a medium or large short in USGI sizes, but the Rothco size small fits me best. I'm about 5'7" and 160 lbs and I've not worn a small anything in my adult life, so take this as an indication of what their sizing for this garment is like -- BIG! The cuffs didn't close tight enough to suit me, so I added 2 inches of loop material on each sleeve. The bottom draw cord works much better if you replace it with 1/8" elastic shock cord. That way you can blouse the bottom properly but still be able to move or sit without the hem restricting your movement excessively. The zipper is slightly longer in front than on GI versions of this jacket, and snap placements aren't quite the same -- especially the bottom snap which is about 5"-6" from the hem on Rothco's coat, less than 2" for the GI original. It affects how well the jacket closes at the bottom. Also, the GI version has a button on the center zip cover, about even with the top of the chest pockets, and buttonholes near the collar points in front, for attaching the M-51 extreme cold weather hood so you can convert the jacket to a winter parka. I added these appointments to all the Rothco M-65 jackets I have bought over the years, but you can live without them unless you have a spare M-51 hood lying around to attach to the jacket in the winter. There is a lightweight hood hidden in the collar, as a standard M-65 feature. The fabric liner panel is sewn to the shell in the hem on Rothco's M-65. Not so on the USGI original. I don't mind this difference in the design since it keeps the 2 layers together at the bottom. The quilted insulating liner is a separate, button-in affair. Unlike the newer GI liners from Unicor, the Rothco liner doesn't have a set of buttons attached to allow it to be worn as a separate, light "smoking jacket." That's easily fixed by sewing three buttons on the front, adjacent to the buttonholes on the outer right side of the liner. The chest pockets are smaller than on the GI M-65, so they'll accommodate a pack of smokes, say, but hardly the pair of M-16 magazines that will fit in the pockets of the regular issue jacket. If you want a tiger stripe M-65, there just aren't a lot of choices out there. This one's not bad, and you can easily make the few necessary or desired modifications that I've mentioned if you want to go to the trouble. At the Massdrop price of $58, delivered, it's a great find.
Pbaker103
2
Apr 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I see everyone complaining about the coat fitting too big. 3 words, “Wash & Dry”! When I got my jacket it was a little too big but I washed & dried it and it fit just fine. There’s a lightweight hood tucked into the collar but it’s a good jacket for the money. It even gets a bit hot if you’re working in it. It gets to the point where I perspire. It definitely keeps me warm at work. I’d buy it again.
SammyStar
7
Jun 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cheap Material with Worst Fit - Not Recommended!
I am 5'10, 177lb, muscular build. Reviewed the discussion and reviews, knowing the sizing of the brand, I've ordered a size smaller than my usual (from M to S). Received it couple days back, put it on and it is like wearing a black garbage bag. Material is rough and not comfortable, cannot believe I spent my hard earned money for this piece of cloth. Very disappointed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
bmonroe1
6
Apr 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fit is insanely large. All clothing manufacturers have different interpretations of standard sizes, but they're usually close. This is almost two full sizes too big. So that takes it from "loose, but usable" straight to "worthless". Since there's ZERO return policy on Massdrop, I just burned $60. Overall, not a great experience.
Robotbrain
8
Apr 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice jacket, but fit was too large. Donated it to a nearby shelter.
Sagegrouch
13
Apr 12, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I was issued an M-65. I had a surplus jacket. I still have a knockoff mil-spec field jacket that's just fine. This jacket is unlike any of those -- it's terrible. From the weight of the Kleenex-like fabric, to the stitching, to the liner, to the cut (size M is apparently a 44 extra short) , to the damn zipper, everything is unforgivably cheap or just wrong.
wrzimm
5
Apr 7, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The jacket is huge. I normally wear a large, I ordered a medium, and it's still quite baggy. In addition, the fabric is synthetic, chincy, and feels cheap. If Massdrop had a better return policy I'd send it back.
Lee9011
7
Jun 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not worth it
paid about $80, got sth alike from two dollar shop. Never got anything like this before from Massdrop. Don’t get any chance to put it on. Maybe Massdrop need to keep eyes on their vendors to keep quality assurance.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 117