Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
TEX ADA Keycap Set

TEX ADA Keycap Set

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
637 requests
·
570 Sold
Product Description
Making its official debut on Massdrop—and more than a year in the making—the TEX ADA keycap set is sculpted in retro-inspired ADA profile. With its rounded, spherical shape and slight scoop, ADA profile helps you orient your fingers on the keyboard Read More

Customer Reviews

4.0
(25 reviews)
5star
(8)
4star
(11)
3star
(4)
2star
(2)
1star
(0)
69% would recommend to a friend
search
close
Omnivore
5
Jul 29, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
I've had this set on my 65% board that I use for work for almost a year now. Very slight fading on the left shift key but otherwise it looks the same as it did on the day I got it. I'm a big fan of the profile too, the spherical tops hug my fingers nicely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Machinarium
1
Oct 29, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
I purchased the key set for my Preonic keyboard (orange case, cherry MX brown) and it looks great! It's a pleasure to use it. Robust keycaps, great quality, clean and vintage aspect, very good feeling and fantastic glance. No issue or drawback to highlight at the moment. Looking at the photos on the site my expectations were high and fortunately they weren't betrayed. If we really want to split hairs the fact of not having a key set designed specifically for ortholinear keyboards forced me to buy two complementary keysets but it wasn't a big problem. I recommend this product, I'm enthusiast. Great job.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
toniidesu
318
May 21, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
I got these to pair with my clicky board (CM Storm Quickfire Stealth, Cherry MX Green) because I thought their somewhat retro look, deep scoops, and uniform height would really enhance the typewriter-like quality of tapping away on green switches. I'd also never tried uniform-profile keycaps (besides on Apple and laptop keyboards) and these seemed like an interesting starting point since this ADA profile hasn't been produced in a long time. Ergonomically, they don't disappoint. I find these much more comfortable to use than the Tai-Hao set they replaced, and I think ABS is generally nicer to type on than PBT, even if the engraved legends on these don't feel especially nice. The deep dishing allows your fingers to rest comfortably on the keys, and the shorter caps give the impression of shorter key travel. Where they fall down a little bit is on fit and finish. A few of the legends came slightly chipped, some of the caps were noticeably scratched, and ALL the caps have a little bit of plastic left at the top where they were cut from a sheet. The vestigial plastic doesn't show once they're installed, but I don't have any other keycap sets with such obviously crude finishing. You might be asking, "what did you expect for $40?" Tai-Hao's sets are $30-35 on here and they're extremely well made. Of course, there's something to be said for economies of scale—these are a relatively "small batch" set, and I guess in that context these slight imperfections could be almost charming. Bottom line, these combine a great, (for now) unique profile with sub-par legends and so-so finishing. I had a $10 account credit that I spent on these, but if you're used to the QA on Tai-Hao or other mass-produced sets or are a stickler for quality, $40 might seem overpriced. On the other hand, they come in a cool metal tube.
search

(Edited)
Smokey249
7
Jun 30, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Way more comfortable than I thought!
I prefer XDA most of the time, but wow these are so crazy beautiful to type on! My first real complaint is that they are ABS plastic, and I'm kind of a material snob. It doesn't even bother me at all anymore, they are really nice sounding, and don't have any perceived flex to them, like some cheap ABS sets have. Great buy, and I'm waiting for them to drop again! One thing that would improve this set, is if they were either in PBT or doubleshot legends.
Recommends this product? Yes
CydTrevellion
69
Apr 15, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Received these way, way earlier than expected, and I liked the inner packaging, a black, short pringles-tin dealie. The shape is great, lovely dishes. They're thinner and lighter than my previous staple, MT3 /dev/tty's. The click-clack is fine though less bass-y than the MT3's. The raised print might take some getting used to, but the main problem is that I can see the per-key LEDs through these!
search
They're either insufficiently opaque, and more of a very dark smoke than true black, or this is normal for ABS of this thickness. It's thicker than other ABS keys I have though, which aren't shine-through in the same way. Color-wise, when the per-key LEDs are off, the black has a blueish tone that clashes a bit with the matte dark charcoal/reddish tone black of my Wooting I. I've been using these for about 12 weeks on my daily driver at work by now. The print is holding up well except for the left Shift, which is not as white as the rest anymore. I forgot to mention last time: the space bar is completely flat, neither concave nor convex. I still notice sometimes, like a bit of sand in your shoe. I'd say this set is perfectly cromulent if you want to try something else than cylindrical keys, especially at the price.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
tivasyk
85
Jul 1, 2019
CydTrevellioni also own dev/tty's, and love them so much (especially the curved rows profile) that despite the cool spherical cups of tex ada i just couldn't see myself replacing dev/tty with these...
Kko1
8
Sep 9, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
ok
They keys look great out of the box. Had to do a little work to get them to stay on my stems, and only 3 days in and the legends on my wasd keys are starting to fade.
Recommends this product? No
jasonbot
3
Sep 21, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Conservative but unique
I appreciate the profile, which makes them stand out just enough without being tacky. I’m not a big fan of overly colorful keyboards (caps or LEDs) so these are great. When used sparingly, the customs give just enough extra pop without being extra.
Recommends this product? Yes
vyanvox
64
Apr 20, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
I really like this set! I find the ADA profile to be very comfortable and the acoustics of the keycaps are awesome and make my Halo Clears sound great. However, the set was delivered missing a "U" key. I contacted support and they were only able to offer a small amount of money in return.
mediis
14
Jun 4, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
They're actually really nice. I replaced my DasKeyboard keys (windows) at work for my daily driver. They LOOK wonderful! The feel is great and typing on them is a little easier than the original DasKeyboard keys I replaced them with. However there are a couple of issues. 1) the space bar is about a mm too small 2) not all of the keys fit. There are a couple of window keys by the space bar that were too big 3) the markers on the F and J keys are a little too small. That don't stand out in contrast to the rounded edges on the other keys. So I can't find the home row as easily as the previous keys.
(Edited)
finalbroadcast
2
Apr 25, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
I really like the shape of these, though the more rounded dip might be a little bit for some people's fingers to get used to. My only complaint is they have a slick feel that I assume will wear off over time.
Showing 11 of 28
Related Products