V60 Matias Mini Keyboard
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
2.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
28
search
close
quartin
1
Apr 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the Matias Quiet Click switches and the DIP switches. Super useful. Also loved that it came with extra keycaps for mac & to accommodate for the changes from the DIP switches
willwm
3
Jun 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These Datacomp Blue Alps are fantastic!
Monkeyspit
80
Apr 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A decent keyboard with a few issues. Some key chatter, which I fixed my tinkering with the contact plates in the afflicted switches. The other issue is its limited programmability. I'd have preferred, for instance, deciding which keys control volume; its own selection is odd.
I discovered that I don't love Quiet Clicks, so I replaced the click plates with Matias Click Switch plates (ordered separately from Matias), and with a bit of thick lube it is now THE best typing experience IMHO. I also discovered that 60% boards blow for productivity, and wish I'd waited for a TKL or full-size. The original keycap set included tiny legends for functions, but I would have preferred they were larger and printed on the front, perhaps.
I'm very happy with it overall, and it was a good learning experience.
search
This is the V60 with Dolch Keycaps. I'd love to get Alps SA keycaps, AEK II, or XDA. It's strange that of all the switch types out there, the lowly Cherry is now dominant.
amsross
6
May 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I LOVE the layout, the click volume (Quiet Pro), and the physical feel. I would give it 5 stars but the B and V keys only register sometimes, and other times they register double. This issue brings it in just a touch above shoddy.
EDIT: Two more keys have gone in the week since I wrote the original review. I would give zero stars if I could.
daevski
6
Apr 27, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
HEADS UP: I also bought a very similar model from Mechanical Keyboards [.com] - same issue over there, BUT they repair it for free and then this keyboard is AMAZING. Original review: The keys transmit multiple key presses per actuation. It's useless after 6 months. No warranty. No help from Massdrop. This is bullshit. Avoid this drop...
tyuyhnbnm
18
Apr 16, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's a good keyboard, if it lasted longer. Few keys broke after few months of very light use (I have 7 keyboards that I swap between for work/home). Conveniently, the return policy was only for a month. In addition, the spacebar stabilizer needs some grease, it creeks harder than old doors.
Disnene
4
May 16, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loved it despite issues with key chatter, but then the space bar stopped working completely a year and now its completely useless. With all the complaints about key chatter and keys not working I'll be staying far away from this brand in the future.
bennyk
4
Apr 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the look. Love how the keys feel. Love how it sounds. But: the key jitter is out of control. For every “L” keypress I get anywhere from 2 to 4 Ls, and that’s after installing Karabiner and mucking with all the recommended settings to reduce that (without, it‘s worse). Over the past month or so, I’ve started getting the same jitter on the H key as well... :-/ I so love everything else about this keyboard, it is just a shame it’s almost unusable for, you know, typing, because you’re hitting backspace five times every sentence. Disappointed!
bennyk
4
Apr 11, 2018
I think I mean chatter, not jitter. I’m new to this...
Monkeyspit
80
Apr 12, 2018
If you got the Matias Alps, it's possible to take the top off and adjust the switch plates. This is one of those 'do at your own risk' scenarios, but mine worked out okay. I used a toothpick to leave slightly more of a gap. They are delicate though, so go slow.
jart
7
Apr 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It stopped working after a month or two. It started to double or triple register key presses.
kcetjon
13
Apr 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Backstory: I have owned 3 Matias Mini Tactile Pros (1 bought, 2 sent to me for free as replacements by Matias because of key chattering issues - My bought one chatters on the 9 key, my first replacement chatters on the Esc key, and after half a year of use the second replacement also chatters on the ; key). I really really love the key feeling of the Matias Tactile Switch (I think it's my favorite modern clicky switch), however the quality control of the Matias Switches kept me from loving them. In this drop (date purchased May 15, 2017), it is claimed that the switches are made with new tooling and should have improved quality, and at the same time I need a quiet small mechanical keyboard at work so I thought why not, assuming that the quiet switches will have similar key feeling as the tactile switch.
The quiet switches are not as good as I thought on a plastic case (which I should auction them before buying them), but that's probably the best thing about this product: Squeaky spacebar from day 1, still squeak a little bit after I applied lubricant, stiff wire-stabilized keys from day 1, bad cheap feeling keycaps and also the color just looks old but not vintage (I really like the vintage beige color - for example the color of the IBM Model M). I tried using the keycaps from my Matias keyboards (which are laser-etched ABS I believe), and suddenly the key feeling improved 3 folds. What a shame for using such cheap keycaps. Luckily I don't have key chattering issues yet (Which alps/matias switches are very prone to). If it chatters then this review will definitely be 1 star.
Showing 12 of 30