shopping_cart
BM-16S Programmable Macro Pad (Choc Switches)

BM-16S Programmable Macro Pad (Choc Switches)

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.1K requests
254 Sold
Product Description
If you have room for it, a mini pad makes an excellent companion to your keyboard. This kit comes with everything you need to build your own, including 16 low-profile Kailh Choc switches Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
18
check
25%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Uglymonkey913
9
Nov 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not too slim, Useful, Rough First User Experience
This thing for sure doesn't come with a manual in terms of setting it up. I had to buy a separate USB Type-C cable for this to fit my needs but these days they're becoming more common so not a big deal. I had to read through the comment section to find a few people who had links to sites where you can program the buttons. There are no instructions in the box to buyers beware. If you want an out of the box experience where it just works then go elsewhere. If you want the most customizable macro pad then this is it. Plus it doubles as a blunt weapon if you need to smack things because of it's super nice metal construction. : 3
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
camdude
200
Apr 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great kit, easy and fun
This was a fun quick project. Physically building it is a piece of cake, just make sure you line up the hole in the plate with the reset button. I haven't tried customizing it yet, but it doesn't look too hard. One issue is that it doesn't have enough keys for a full numberpad, luckily I don't need * or / very often in my day to day work. I'm looking forward to getting the layers working to set up some macros. My biggest issue was that the LEDs were broken off during shipping. It looks like they were torn off the board. Luckily drop offered a partial refund, and I found them all in the box, and was able to re solder them back on. I wouldn't say its an issue with the product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jaysah
44
Apr 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It is okay... I wish it was better.
This pad would have been wonderful if the kit itself did not look like it went through a war zone. The caps were scratched, the plate was a little bent, the case was little chipped, and the pcb takes a little bit of force to get to sit into the case. However, with a little bit of love and a black sharpie, I was able to hide the scratches a little on both the caps and the case. I like the thinness of the pad so I am rating it a bit higher than I would if i wasn't such a sucker for macropads.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Canuck-Errant
4
Feb 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A cute little macro pad not helped by rough shipping
Received with two LEDs broken off in the bag; once assembled, I discovered that three of the sockets were also bad, not working even when a known-good switch was swapped in. Suspect the damage happened in transit - the PCB really needs to be better-packed for shipping.
(Edited)
jooks
45
Feb 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but not great
The fact that you have to do connector gymnastics to get the USB-C to work is worth losing two stars, but also a few keycaps arrived with scuffs that allow the light to shine through where it shouldn’t. I appreciate the drop for the opportunity to try Choc switches, but I feel the CoolerMaster 6-key macropad was significantly better in quality than this one.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
MagicSmoke
384
Feb 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice typing. Failed backlighting.
I have reflashed with web tools and from a hex I compiled from Github QMK distri. Only two LEDs still work. The SMD LEDs are being driven with 5V (common anode) and there are no current regulation resistors I can find. The Atmega32U4 can source or sink 40mA per output. Chip may now have blown outputs. Or the LEDs are mostly burned out. Total engineering flaw.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Joelm
0
Feb 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So Sad
It looks very nice and all of the individual components would make it a great little macro pad. It comes in a box with the metal case, switch plate, and PCB all bouncing against each other with only bags protecting them. Mine arrive with three damaged LEDs and an extra one in the bag somehow. I returned mine due to not being able to get a replacement PCB. Looking forward to hopefully a revision in the future that can put up with shipping.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
dbecker1234
0
Feb 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Disappointed
I was really excited to get this in the mail. It unfortunately showed up missing a light which caused some of the other keys to not light up properly. Then, after following the directions on the QMK website, I went to reset the keypad and immediately got a surge warning on my computer. Now it is not much more now than an expensive paper weight. If there is any guidance, that would be greatly appreciated, but I am sad it has not been able to meet my expectations.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Kwyzar
10
Aug 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Handy, but difficult to program.
When i got the pad it came in parts and had to be assembled, which wasn't that hard. I personally don't like the keycaps because they feel thin and cheap, but those can be changed if desired. It doesn't come with a type C USB cable of its own so i have to sacrifice another keyboard's type C just to use it. Programming it isn't easy if your completely new to it. Took me a while to figure it out. I have done something similar with my MD ALT keyboard, but this pad i had to browse the internet for answers because it didn't even come with simple setup instructions. Currently I still haven't programmed it properly because I have trouble flashing it. It just resets back to the default layout when unplugging it after the flash. If this came with a simple setup instruction manual or tutorial video its wouldn't be so bad.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
pocketoperator
180
Jan 30, 2020
If you still have trouble: Best way to program is through QMK here: https://config.qmk.fm/#/bm16s/LAYOUT_ortho_4x4 But first download the appropriate json (BM-16S) file here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1tlTHQIFcluK2mjZ4UbbKCsdRLgSRSPw6 Do not use the Keyboard Firmware Builder, it will only flash the default layout regardless of what changes you've made. QMK will work just fine.
(Edited)
pocketoperator
180
Jul 31, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice little pad.
It's a quality build, I'm really impressed. I was excited and also a bit worried about it, since it is my first programmable macro pad, and I'm really new to this type of thing. I have not been disappointed. Assembly is super easy, and for those who don't know: Switches are hot-swappable. All you need to do is put 4 screws in place and it's ready (see pic below).
  • Make sure you line up the cutout segment of the backplate with the reset pins ("RE") so you can access them later.
search
Some seem to have had trouble with the screws - they are regular size in my regard, for this type of device. A TORX T5 screwdriver should work perfectly, but any other small screwdriver (like a + # 1 X 40mm for instance) should also work. You don't need something super specific to make it work. Just get a small 'cross' screwdriver and you should be fine. And the RGB LEDs were a nice little surprise (see pic). As far as the bag being "just a bag of stuff": Yeah it's true, the package only includes the components and nothing else. It would have been nice to get at least some type of instruction or links or whatever, to make the unboxing experience a bit smoother. However, personally, I was kind of prepared to be faced with that, so that didn't really bug me. Some people were nice enough to post instruction in the comments section, which I'll be reposting here again (see below). I'm a noob so these posts made it significantly easier for me to get this thing running. I still need to figure out some things of course. If I find time I might do a video including the basic instructions, seeing that no-one has done that yet. The only thing that bugged me about this pad, was that the colour on one edge of the black case had been scrapped off, probably during transit, but I just put a little paint on it and it's all good.
search
search
So here are the steps on basic setup (initially posted by @Orangutang in comments): ------------------------- Got mine to work, staring shamelessly in awe at the RGB now! First QMK and I want to post and help other noobs like myself if possible.

My success stems completely from "textonly" and "blacksunix"posts under the BM-16A drop discussions https://www.massdrop.com/buy/bm-16a-16-key-programmable-mini-pad-kit/talk/2331792 READ these. The only changes I made were to use the json layout files for the BM-16S from the Google Drive

Get: QMK Toolbox from Github, install it Get: the default JSON and instructions from manufacturer Google Drive. This is on their Aliexpress page for the BM-16A as mentioned by "jf647" here. So you can just search for it as well.

  • I used https://kbfirmware.com/ to modify my layout. Upload the "BM16S.json" file from the manufacturer Google Drive pack into kbfirmware.com
  • This loads the basic layout in kbfirmware.com. Customize it
  • Backup your json if you wish under the Settings tab. Then go to the Compile tab and export the ".Hex" file and load it into QMK Toolbox. Make sure the right chip is correctly selected in the toolbox UI
  • Connect the board to the computer. I shorted the reset pins, labeled "RE" next to the smaller of the board chips, with a pair of needle nose pliers. Definitely gonna solder and run an external switch there at some point...
  • The keypad will be put into DFU mode with this reset, and will then be visible in the QMK Toolbox console. Here you can flash your custom Hex file to the board
  • Unplug, replug
------------------------- Note that the Google Drive JSON can be found here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1tlTHQIFcluK2mjZ4UbbKCsdRLgSRSPw6 Here are some pics of how I shorted the terminals in the RE box:
search
search
So that's that, I think it's a quality pad.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
pocketoperator
180
Nov 15, 2020
Pretty sure I could resin cast something like that. But given the build it would leave most of the MX switch exposed. I can give it a try though and see how it works out. Would be an interesting experiment.
Shalakazaam
549
Nov 15, 2020
do it, take some pics, and show me how it goes!!
Showing 16 of 30
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
30 OF 30 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest