Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
BM-16S Programmable Macropad (Choc Switches)

BM-16S Programmable Macropad (Choc Switches)

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.2K requests
·
254 Sold
Product Description
If you have room for it, a mini pad makes an excellent companion to your keyboard. This kit comes with everything you need to build your own, including 16 low-profile Kailh Choc switches Read More

Customer Reviews

3.2
(19 reviews)
5star
(3)
4star
(6)
3star
(4)
2star
(4)
1star
(2)
25% would recommend to a friend
search
close
checkVerified Buyer
Not bad
This does the job, though I am not a big fan of the low-profile switches.
Uglymonkey913
23
Nov 21, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Not too slim, Useful, Rough First User Experience
This thing for sure doesn't come with a manual in terms of setting it up. I had to buy a separate USB Type-C cable for this to fit my needs but these days they're becoming more common so not a big deal. I had to read through the comment section to find a few people who had links to sites where you can program the buttons. There are no instructions in the box to buyers beware. If you want an out of the box experience where it just works then go elsewhere. If you want the most customizable macro pad then this is it. Plus it doubles as a blunt weapon if you need to smack things because of it's super nice metal construction. : 3
Recommends this product? No
camdude
203
Apr 13, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Great kit, easy and fun
This was a fun quick project. Physically building it is a piece of cake, just make sure you line up the hole in the plate with the reset button. I haven't tried customizing it yet, but it doesn't look too hard. One issue is that it doesn't have enough keys for a full numberpad, luckily I don't need * or / very often in my day to day work. I'm looking forward to getting the layers working to set up some macros. My biggest issue was that the LEDs were broken off during shipping. It looks like they were torn off the board. Luckily drop offered a partial refund, and I found them all in the box, and was able to re solder them back on. I wouldn't say its an issue with the product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Jaysah
56
Apr 13, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
It is okay... I wish it was better.
This pad would have been wonderful if the kit itself did not look like it went through a war zone. The caps were scratched, the plate was a little bent, the case was little chipped, and the pcb takes a little bit of force to get to sit into the case. However, with a little bit of love and a black sharpie, I was able to hide the scratches a little on both the caps and the case. I like the thinness of the pad so I am rating it a bit higher than I would if i wasn't such a sucker for macropads.
Recommends this product? No
Canuck-Errant
7
Feb 21, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
A cute little macro pad not helped by rough shipping
Received with two LEDs broken off in the bag; once assembled, I discovered that three of the sockets were also bad, not working even when a known-good switch was swapped in. Suspect the damage happened in transit - the PCB really needs to be better-packed for shipping.
(Edited)
jooks
53
Feb 15, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Good but not great
The fact that you have to do connector gymnastics to get the USB-C to work is worth losing two stars, but also a few keycaps arrived with scuffs that allow the light to shine through where it shouldn’t. I appreciate the drop for the opportunity to try Choc switches, but I feel the CoolerMaster 6-key macropad was significantly better in quality than this one.
Recommends this product? No
MagicSmoke
388
Feb 13, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Nice typing. Failed backlighting.
I have reflashed with web tools and from a hex I compiled from Github QMK distri. Only two LEDs still work. The SMD LEDs are being driven with 5V (common anode) and there are no current regulation resistors I can find. The Atmega32U4 can source or sink 40mA per output. Chip may now have blown outputs. Or the LEDs are mostly burned out. Total engineering flaw.
Recommends this product? No
Joelm
0
Feb 11, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
So Sad
It looks very nice and all of the individual components would make it a great little macro pad. It comes in a box with the metal case, switch plate, and PCB all bouncing against each other with only bags protecting them. Mine arrive with three damaged LEDs and an extra one in the bag somehow. I returned mine due to not being able to get a replacement PCB. Looking forward to hopefully a revision in the future that can put up with shipping.
Recommends this product? No
dbecker1234
0
Feb 7, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Disappointed
I was really excited to get this in the mail. It unfortunately showed up missing a light which caused some of the other keys to not light up properly. Then, after following the directions on the QMK website, I went to reset the keypad and immediately got a surge warning on my computer. Now it is not much more now than an expensive paper weight. If there is any guidance, that would be greatly appreciated, but I am sad it has not been able to meet my expectations.
Recommends this product? No
Kwyzar
10
Aug 4, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Handy, but difficult to program.
When i got the pad it came in parts and had to be assembled, which wasn't that hard. I personally don't like the keycaps because they feel thin and cheap, but those can be changed if desired. It doesn't come with a type C USB cable of its own so i have to sacrifice another keyboard's type C just to use it. Programming it isn't easy if your completely new to it. Took me a while to figure it out. I have done something similar with my MD ALT keyboard, but this pad i had to browse the internet for answers because it didn't even come with simple setup instructions. Currently I still haven't programmed it properly because I have trouble flashing it. It just resets back to the default layout when unplugging it after the flash. If this came with a simple setup instruction manual or tutorial video its wouldn't be so bad.
Recommends this product? No
pocketoperator
190
Jan 30, 2020
KwyzarIf you still have trouble: Best way to program is through QMK here: https://config.qmk.fm/#/bm16s/LAYOUT_ortho_4x4 But first download the appropriate json (BM-16S) file here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1tlTHQIFcluK2mjZ4UbbKCsdRLgSRSPw6 Do not use the Keyboard Firmware Builder, it will only flash the default layout regardless of what changes you've made. QMK will work just fine.
(Edited)
Showing 11 of 31
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
31 OF 31 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products