Drop CTRL High-Profile Barebones Keyboard
$159
$200

Drop CTRL High-Profile Barebones Keyboard

bookmark_border
$159
$200
Case Color:
Complete Setup:
add
Switches (90 pack)
add
Drop Phantom Plate-Mounted Stabilizer Pack
add
Drop Keycap Kit
3.9k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Highlights:
Review Highlights:
expand_less
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it !
Just got my Drop barebones keyboard. I got some Zilents V2 (https://zealpc.net/products/zilents) 67g switches, and Ducky Pudding keycaps. The keyboard looks & feels amazing ! The only catch with the Zilents switches, is the plastic feet need to be clipped.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's a chonky boy
I really like the high profile look where the switches aren't as exposed on my old keyboard that wasn't designed for modding. The aluminum frame is quite beefy, so it isn't going to move around allot. Hot swap switches mean that you save a lot of time because you don't need to solder. The hot swap motherboard is designed for 3-hole switches, so the Gateron Aliaz Silent switches I used required removing 2 plastic pegs. The socket is recessed, so there were multiple times where the soft metal leads of my switches curled in the recess instead of going in the socket. Using the tweezers from my iFixit kit allowed me to uncurl them from the sides and still use them. All in all, it's a solid keyboard which let me pick the parts I wanted. Since this is my first real custom keyboard, I am very happy with the process.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
See all 203 reviews
Q&A Highlights:
expand_less
Is this compatible with the Holy pandas?
its compatible with any plate mount switches.
See all 40 questions
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
203
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Gewchi
0
Sep 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great case and lighting
I ordered this with halo trues during the first group buy. It has been my daily driver for 2 years. I enjoy the build of the case, IMO it is well-built and I like the way the RGB lighting is shown (although I only use the middle diffuser). My problems with the product are the stabilizers and the north-facing switches. I had to do the band-aid mod for the stabilizers to stop wobbling so much. After that mod, the keyboard sounds great. I currently am running the Drop Holy Pandas with the board and it feels great!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Johnlikeatoilet
0
Sep 21, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sturdy and sleek
Very well built overall. The rubber feet are perfectly placed so there is no wobbling and the LEDs are some of the nicest I've seen.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing Keyboard Case
I paired this case with a set from Drop and the holy panda switches, and I love this board so much! the RGB is not too bright and each key looks outstanding!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hellbound
0
Aug 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Keyboard, but it has a flaw
When all is working normally, this is the best keyboard I own.. But, if I have built up a static charge and touch the keyboard, it shuts off or cant type on it.. The only real workaround is to unplug, then replug the keyboard.. This is a flaw that only happens on the Ctrl.. I also have an Alt that works fine all the time..
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
nsucharczuk
1
Aug 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Breaks after 9 months of light use
I bought this product a while ago and have had a storied past, it starts with it working perfectly for a couple of months then started having some bugs had to reflash a couple of times no big deal, then comes about 9 or 10 months in no changes same setup same desk the same place, and I restart my computer and the PCB board stops working no more lights computer won't even pick up anything is plugged in just a dead board. Now I emailed drop thinking they would be able to help only to be met by Crystal with the response "After reviewing your transaction, I see that your order was delivered on 01/19/21 and this item came with a 1-year Drop Warranty. For products that include a manufacturer's warranty, customers must report an issue within the stated warranty period. It appears that the time frame for reporting an issue has passed, which means we are not able to provide a replacement or facilitate a return. I do apologize as I wish I had better information for you on this matter.   If we had the ability to source for individual parts or if there was a repair facility for this item, that would be our first step, however, these options are not available in this case. For technical issues that may be resolved with troubleshooting, you can try reaching out on the product discussion board for assistance from the community who may have encountered similar issues before." Very disappointed will not be using drop ever again and hope no one has the same experience with a +200$ keyboard case and board.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Chonky Boy
Relatively simple in terms of what you get. Solid metal frame, rgb lighting, dual USB C ports on either side for plugging into your pc. My clear halo switches worked like a charm...none of the soldering/board issues for me that I've seen plague some buyers. Overall the frame is built like it was hewn from solid metal. Feels extremely solid and has a nice weight to it. I think most of the extra money you are spending on this is going into the build of the frame, as I have owned several $200 gaming keyboards from the big retailers, and none have felt THIS solid.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
anexthedragon206
6
Jul 29, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very very solid build
This thing is HEAVY! but it's full metal construction and is very sturdy! The lights are great on it
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TheMonkeyKing
0
Jul 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As expected
Great base board to customize.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
liljonesey2223
0
Jul 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High Quality, Still Leaves A Little To Be Desired
I want to preface this review by saying that I am merely a beginner in the mechanical keyboard hobby, with this being my first build. I had used a Redragon K552 (Outemu Reds) and Corsair K95 Platinum (MX Browns) before deciding to build my own. Obviously this blows both boards out of the water, but it still leaves a little to be desired. Build I put the board together with a set of Kailh BOX Brown V2 switches and the Drop Skylight Valiant keycaps (again, I am new to the hobby so I stuck to basic, safe options that I knew I would like). I immediately clipped and re-lubed the stabilizers (they are technically pre-lubed, but barely, more on this later). I lubed the switch stems, switch housings, stabilizer wires, and stabilizer housings with HONKID 205 and the switch springs with HONKID 105. I also tape modded the PCB. Overall, this leads to a light, tactile feel. The sound is deeper with a subtle click, but far from "thocky." Case The aluminum case has a very solid feeling to it, without being too heavy for me. It is nice and smooth, but the acrylic diffusion layer leaves something to be desired. While it does diffuse the light, it is far from smooth. There are clear hotspots all around, but they aren't too bad. The acrylic plate is also a very slightly different size to the case, creating a lip all around (I'm guessing this is just due to manufacturing tolerances, and not designed to be like this). The built-in plate is obviously extremely sturdy, with absolutely zero flex. The tray mount leads to a very solid feeling typing experience. Overall, this case is high quality and decently weighted. PCB The PCB is a proprietary board with 3-pin hot-swap sockets. It does not have support for screw-in stabilizers. It has 2 USB-C ports, allowing for USB passthrough. The PCB itself is white, which can have an impact on color schemes with the standard profile build. However, this does help to make the per-key RGB glow somewhat brighter. Speaking of RGB, it uses north facing LEDs so it will interfere with GMK and SA profile keycaps. The built-in RGB effects are extremely basic, but I prefer to just keep mine a solid color so it doesn't bother me. Stabilizers This keyboard only supports plate-mount stabilizers. The included stabilizers are pre-lubed, but have about as much lube as LaCroix has flavor. Seriously, they suck. My specific board had a single dab of some really thick lube where the wire snaps into the housing for each stabilizer. They were extremely rattly out of the box, but I very quickly clipped and lubed these with HONKID 205. This got rid of all rattle and they now make very little noise. I would highly recommend everyone to relube these right out of the box. Final Thoughts Overall, I believe this is a very solid kit. Is it the best ever? No. Is it the greatest value ever? No. Are there better for the same price, if not cheaper? Probably, since the Keychron Q lineup exists. However, this is still a good quality kit. It is a very simple kit to build, and you can even buy it preassembled. Out of the box, it has a decent enough typing experience. This experience is made much better by modding the keyboard with the very basics (tape mod/foam, lubed switches, lubed and clipped stabilizers). While it is more on the pricy end for a beginner board, I highly recommend it as an entry into the mechanical keyboard building hobby.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm a big fan of all of the Drop keyboards I've picked up. This is my first high profile, and it definitely does not disappoint -- going foward I'll likely put emphasis on high profile boards. It is a bit more difficult to work with in terms of modification (i.e. switches) because of the higher profile than the standard CTRL, but not so much that it isn't worth it or unexpected.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 219
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
219 OF 219 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order