Drop SHIFT Mechanical Keyboard

Drop SHIFT Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.3k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
The latest addition to our family of mechanical keyboards, the Drop SHIFT is our largest and most ambitious undertaking yet. Done in the compact 1800 layout, it’s still significantly shorter than a traditional full-size keyboard, which frees up desk space for other gear Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
201
check
89%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
praisejoko
0
Jul 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
could be better
after using the board for about a week for work and gaming for long sessions the layout is very nice to use. some of the issues i have with it are the lack of support for qmk_firmware which seems to be from drops lack of support for supporting that project for this board despite using it on the keyboard configurator section of the drop site. Wasn't aware of this before purchasing the keyboard, but thats on me. There also seems to be a lack of customization to be able to create multiple rgb profiles with the drop keyboard configurator. Another issue i have with the board is when the keyboard loses power the led color scheme resets to the default rgb scrolling rainbow (at max brightness), not too annoying to fix, but for the price of the keyboard i would expect the color scheme and brightness to be the same it last left off on when plugged in again or receives power from the computer system. The last nit pick i have with the board is that the keyboard itself gets very warm if the ambiant air around you is also hot or you have your computer system blowing out hot air near it; but that is to be expected with the aluminum frame it has. just something to be aware of. Overall it is a very nice quality board with easy to install key switch holes, excellent replacement board for people who still use the num pad but want a smaller keyboard footprint on their desk.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Racdoom
0
Jul 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High Quality, High Price
This keyboard cost... a lot of money. Like more than I ever thought I could justify for a peripheral. I was an avid mechanical enthusiast in the entry level. I had reds, toyed with browns, and was fairly happy until my curiosity was piqued by a few youtube videos. Drop seemed to me the best place to dump myself deeper into this world of overpriced click clacks and GOSH DARN IT I love it. I paid the price of a new video game console for a metallic keyboard with switches I replaced almost immediately (but the box whites were still really really nice.) I think I'm happy with it. I wish it had dedicated media controls but I fear how much more that would have cost.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Gio847
2
Jul 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the look and feel
search
The only thing that would knock a star off my review was that I couldn't add a custom profile via QMK. It wouldn't reset or connect. Fortunately, the keyboard is gorgeous and it honestly didn't matter. I went with Cherry Browns for the switches.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
ThomasRodriguez
2
Jul 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This keyboard was nicknamed "End Game" for a good reason, but there's a catch...
Before I purchased this keyboard, I watched all the videos, read all the reviews and looked at all the pictures. I knew what to expect from Drop via my roommates set up (Drop Control). He had raved about his keyboard for months before purchasing it, and when it arrived, I knew I needed the Shift. (I cannot live without a number pad). Taking all of that into consideration, I saw the negative reviews regarding the freezing, but I rolled the dice anyways. (If you're unfamiliar with the issue, the keyboard becomes unresponsive, sometimes sticking keys. Nothing will get it out of this situation without power cycling the board. LED's were unaffected in my situation.) First day out of the box, within 15 minutes, it froze mid game. I was furious. I rebooted like the reviews mentioned, and the keyboard started back up. Within the next 3 hours, the keyboard would freeze 2 more times. At the end of the night, I was depressed. I loved this keyboard and really wanted it to work as intended, especially for the price, I felt cheated. I did some more digging, and saw a couple of discussions on Reddit regarding the specific USB that the keyboard should be plugged into. Lo and behold I was plugged into the slowest one. After swapping to SS USB, or superspeed, the keyboard did a 180 on me, working flawless through every test, including the brightest, most power demanding settings for the LED's. With that in mind, please consider verifying that your PC or tablet has an SS port USB. Without it, it seems the keyboard is choked of power, causing this freeze. Drop should include a warning about this issue, however they seem to not deem it necessary. The power demand coming from this keyboard is a handful, and anything less than an SS seems inadequate. I'd buy 100 more of these if needed, but the construction of this keyboard has me convinced it'll last longer than I will, on this Earth. I'd give it a 6th star if I could. Buy it, you won't regret it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
skycried
0
Jun 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Shift
Shift it's easy to use, convenient and good-looking.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Proletariat
71
Jun 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Reliable, Good Value, Great Intro to MK!
Works great with a mac for a change, and the keyboard shortcuts are reliable (also for a change). The backglow options are cool, but it's annoying that it doesn't save your setting or, if it does, I couldn't easily and quickly figure it out. It's heavy and pretty tough and it's nice that they went USB C.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TheRealRTT
0
Jun 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great intro piece
I had bought this for my niece as part of a whole tech overhaul, made some mods to the stabilizers and switches but it all came out better than expected. She loves it and I am very happy for this being available.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Ursavior
29
Jun 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
So .... When I first received they keyboard and plugged it in, it worked fine. I unplugged the usb-c cable and plugged it into the other side, again it worked fine. But once I plugged it back into the left side, the first one I tried, it no longer connected unless I physically held it and continued to press on it. I reached out to drop and they were very quick to help out and replace the whole keyboard. Good on their part but it is something I do have to mention. I do love the look of it albeit that there is some hot and cold spots on the led defuser but nothing too bad. The feel of it to me is very premium. Very solid weight, zero flex, and zero problems with the magnetic feet that feel premium as well. Stabs may not be the best but I've had no problems with them. Thank you YanboWu for the information for the anti-ghosting.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
thinkpod17
17
Jun 11, 2021
on the configurator quick-start site it says 6-key rollover?
Ah you are right, let me correct my mistake there. By default the keyboard is 6key rollover. You can actually test out rollover with keyboard tester here https://www.keyboardtester.com/
izsu
4
Jun 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
better then what I thought it would be
bought this for my dad for fathers day I'm surprised how thin it is not saying it as a bad thing I thought it would be clucky also dear lord the sound on the stabilizers out of box was like nails on a chalk board but it was a easy fix with lubing it myself but I would recommend this for someone getting into keyboards good entry for trying out a new layout but also keeping the numpad
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Syntegy
12
May 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very well built built with community opinions.
the pcb held up great ripping keys out of anger.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 17 of 269
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
269 OF 269 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order