Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
HELM Audio True Wireless 5.0 IEM

HELM Audio True Wireless 5.0 IEM

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
608 requests
·
641 Sold
Product Description
Founded in 2017, new British-American venture HELM Audio is making waves in the world of sound. Leading the way is the HELM Audio True Wireless 5.0, an audiophile-worthy IEM with high-powered rare polymer- and alloy-enhanced drivers that deliver detailed audio across every frequency Read More

Customer Reviews

3.8
(75 reviews)
5star
(29)
4star
(19)
3star
(13)
2star
(8)
1star
(6)
66% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
4.0(1)
Sound
4.0(1)
Comfort
3.0(1)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
headdok
37
Nov 14, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Comfortable, easy pairing but Muddy sound
Until: This email from Helm Audio, which totally eclipsed several of my horrible (mass)Drop customer experience except for Camilla’s hand holding response on the fiasco related to the joint venture drop/nuforce iem! And to get this message from helm’s and not (mass)drop speaks volumes! Hello Ricardo,   We have learned that our third-party fulfillment center incorrectly shipped your HELM True Wireless 5.0 Drop order. The product you received is the HELM (GEN 1) True Wireless 4 version.    We are in the process of shipping a new “correct product” to the ship to address you have on file with Drop.   HELM Audio would like to sincerely apologize to you for this mis-shipment. We are committed to having your first experience with our company be a positive one, thus we would like for you keep both products and hopefully the extra one (the True Wireless 4) will make for a great Holiday Gift to someone in your family. Our team will follow up with another email tomorrow once your new TW 5 has shipped that will include the tracking number.   We thank you for being a HELM customer and please reach out to support@helmaudio.com if you have any questions or need any assistance.   Best, The Entire HELM Audio Team I don’t know whether anybody else had this problem, but I’m very impressed by helm audio’s proactive customer service approach that can and should be emulated by (mass)drop! Will update my review when I receive the HELM True Wireless 5.0 and would highly recommend dealing with helm audio!
Recommends this product? Yes
headdok
37
Nov 23, 2019
sorry I was referring to the old model about the muddy sound. i received the new model and the music is more defined with clear separation-engaging and intimate overall! coupled with helm’s customer service this is an excellent offering from drop!
comat0se1
3
Dec 26, 2019
headdokStill not AptX HD so hard pass.
AznMikeD
37
Jan 27, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Pros:
-Great/superior sound quality. Best I've owned under $100 (I have 4 other TWS headphones). They sounded better than the Jabra Elite Active 65t ($150) and the Samsung Galaxy buds ($130) that I returned and those usually rank top 5/10 in most "Best TWS headphones" articles. -Max volume is LOUD and sound doesn't get distorted on max volume -Range is amazing. Lag free and doesn't disconnect like my other TWS at the gym when wandering around. -Clean Punchy Bass -Fits great and doesn't move when running. -Battery life is the best out of all the TWS I've owned. I have gotten over 6 hours of constant use but I can't comment on if they actually last 8 hours since I never fully drain them (bad for the long term life of li-ion batteries) -Charging case lid actually locks/snaps into place as opposed to being magnetic so your headphones are secure. -Design looks amazing. I've had people at the gym stop and ask me what brand these were because they liked how it has a textured look and isn't bland like the rest of the TWS headphones. Cons:
-Largest charging case by far that I've owned. This is subjective obviously but you won't be carrying these comfortably in your pockets. -The button on the headphones is hard to press. The button on my other TWS headphones had a softer press so you wouldnt move or jam them into your ear. These on the other hand I have to use two hands or take the earpiece off since pressing on it hard would usually ruin the seal I had with the ear-tips. -Besides those, I have yet to find anything else to hate on these amazing headphones. *I never use my TWS headphones to make phone calls so I can't comment on how the mic sounds overall. *There are reviews of people complaining about the size. They aren't that big or heavy to me. I can only imagine that most of these people came from the thinner stick/antenna designed headphones (like the Apple Earpods). That, or they are just on the tinier side because I can agree that these do look ridiculously huge on my GF who is 5ft and petite. In comparison to my other TWS headphones that have the same design, they are definitely on the bigger side but since it beats them in every category, I think its a small price to pay. Let me start off by saying that these are the best TWS headphones I've owned/listened to under $100 (These cost over $100 normally). They beat out the Jabra Elite Active 65t ($150) and the Samsung Galaxy Buds ($130) which I both returned thankfully because of charging issues. These by far are the loudest TWS headphones I've owned. All the other ones I've gotten get loud, but not loud enough to enjoy properly if you are in the gym for example (make sure to choose the right ear tip so that you get a good seal). The best part is that the sound quality doesn't get distorted/worse when it's maxed out either. Sound quality is superior to all the other TWS headphones I've gotten and that's just listening to Spotify on the highest audio quality setting. I can only imagine that these will sound even more amazing when using APT-X or AAC. The bass these headphones produce is great, it's punchy and clean/controlled. I never knew I was being deprived of bass until now. On my other TWS I had to use the spotify equalizer to get better bass but that ends up distorting the sound overall. The Bluetooth range is amazing. My other TWS headphones used to lag or disconnect when I went to another part of the gym with a wall, equipment, people between me and my phone. With these, they just keep on playing music as if I was nearby. They fit pretty good in my ears and don't move around when going for a run. It comes with 4 different sizes of ear tips which is nice because most only come with 3. The charging case is bulky compared to all my other TWS headphones. You will not be able to put these in your pockets comfortably to carry around unless you're big and tall sized or like to wear cargo shorts/pants. The lid actually snaps/locks into place compared to being magnetic which is great. This is good news for people like me who like to just toss them in their gym bag because the magnetic ones I owned would sometimes just open up enough so that the headphones will slide out which will turn them on or stop charging them. Overall, I highly recommend these if you are in the market for headphones under $170. These usually cost $130 and I would gladly pay $130 for these tbh. They sound way better than the Jabra Elite active 65t which cost $150 and they sounded better than the new Samsung galaxy buds ($130) which I also returned due to charging issues.
(Edited)
HITMAnsOFT
4
Jan 18, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
I like the sound so far, together with the convenience of automatic power on/off and pairing. The AAC support is a big plus as I'm mostly using them with Apple devices. However I'm still hunting for the perfect fit. They go too deep into the ear canal for my liking, so I like to pull them out a bit, which does not let the shark fin engage. The buttons are very tight, making me use the controls of the source device more. The included tips have too small a hole and stretch over the plastic tip, making them difficult to install and remove. You can see that in the picture below. I'm under impression that the included tips were made for another model of buds. A more correct set of tips (shorter tube and bigger hole) would make this a real 5 star product.
search
Update: So I searched for more comfortable tips for these IEMs in my pile of earbud spares, and tried some from a very cheap wired Hama earbuds. These are shorter with a larger hole, fit nicely both on the Helms and in my ear. However the sound signature becomes much brighter, maybe even sibilant. If you are looking for brighter sound, you can try something similar. Personally, I'd love something in between (I tried changing only one of the tips, and I liked it), so I'm continuing my search.
search
search
Update 2: So the best tips I found for these IEMs are “feych” brand on Amazon. Best comfort, seal and neutral sound:
search
I also tried Dekoni Bulletz TWS, but these were too bright and didn’t seal well. I think Dekoni Bulletz Mercury will work well.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
gkmackey
13
May 28, 2020
HITMAnsOFTBig thanks. The Feych ones are just what I needed. I went to Amazon and was able to confidently ID them by your review, much obliged. I also like that I could buy 6 pairs of the same size for less than $7. I needed S & M due to childhood ear scaring and I am set for less than $15 for a long time.
MihailoBGD
19
Nov 18, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Excellent product, fantastic customer service, great design
I ordered 2 pair of these, taking a chance that Id like them that much. Once they arrived, I thought they were a great buy at the drop price, and may even be worth their regular retail price. They felt solid, the three extra earpieces had one that fit me well and the sound was decent. I really haven't pushed them too hard, but they are great so far. Battery life is about as advertised, I got 4-5 hours but I listened to talk at low-medium volume. What truly impressed me about Helm was their customer service. First off, I lost one of the headphones on the first day. Its somewhere in my house but I misplaced it bad. So much for getting two pair, now Im down to one and a half pair. Heres where it gets great. I get an email from Helm, that there was a mistake and that I was sent the previous verson of the headphones, and that they were sending me the two pair of 5.0 that I ordered! So, my review will have to be updated because I was using the old version. I had no idea, if Helm werent proactive and honest I never would have known. Regardless, Im impressed and satisfied with the value for the money, the quality and the customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
arislan
1380
Nov 27, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Best under $100 TW ear piece
I have 3 other sub $100 ear piece, 2 TW and 1 sports tethered earpiece before this. None of them compare to this. The Helm v5 is a really good all rounder for sub $100 ear pieces. I don't own any above $100 so can't really compare. Overall sound quality is pretty good with solid bass - I'm not an audio geek so can't really describe this any better. Connection is pretty solid but does get interference in busy areas like the bus/train stop during rush hour. Even my tethered wireless ear piece have the same problem as well as my wireless cans. Unlike my other TW ear pieces though this thing is pretty stable the rest of the time. User experience is great, it auto turn on when pulled out from the case and announces the battery power level - and quick pairing. It auto turn off when placed in case and auto charges. I got an earlier version shipped in error and the interface on that was terrible - glad the new ones don't have this issue. I like the hard buttons instead of touch surface on some designs. Also the buttons are big enough for stubby hands. Call usage was pretty decent as well, though with a slight lag when answering. The sturdiness of the ear piece during workout is also pretty good. I have oily wax ears, so ear pieces tend to fall out when I'm on the bench but this one held on quite well. The outer ear lobe support, i.e. the shark fin, is a tad small but serviceable and help with holding the ear piece in place during workout. No issues when I walked home from the by during a light drizzle as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
fergus2550
3
Feb 15, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Don't pick these up
Save yourself some time and buy something else. Read the reviews and you will learn this company cannot ship a consistently working product. I ignored the reviews thinking over time this company would improve their quality control but I was wrong. I just got mine yesterday, charged them, and upon trying them the left earbud is busted. Now I'll have to send them back and wait for another pair. You are just rolling the dice if you pick these up. I didnt pick these up to see how good customer service is. I just wanted a good set of quality ear buds. This was a mistake and a waste of my time. If you are looking to get a quality product that works out of the box without wasting your time having to deal with customer services, you will have better luck getting it right the first time with a different product.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
Surly1970
6
Feb 24, 2020
fergus2550Sorry to hear your initial experience has gone this way. HELM is a young company who is committed to building great headphones and when we find out manufacturing issues like it appears you have encountered we use this information and send these products back to our production partners to better our manufacturing processes. Additionally, we go beyond the traditional customer service and make sure you the customer is taken care of. Please reach out to our team and we will fast track getting you a new unit that will come with a return postage slip to reduce any extra hassle. Email support@helmaudio.com.
gkmackey
13
May 28, 2020
Surly1970That is the kind of response I like to see. Respect, HELM.
ShilohTD
33
Jan 28, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Short answer, buy these and if you get a bad pair reach out to Helm's customer service ASAP, they'll make it worth your while. Between the sound quality, battery life, and range (I was halfway down the block from my second floor apartment before I'd realized I'd forgotten my phone) I'd definitely buy these again and if I was a fancy person with money I'd buy these as a gift. The only real issue that I'm seeing is that the bluetooth pairing is maybe a second slower than my jaybirds. That being said buy them, especially at massdrop prices. They're a great product at a great deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
Bjorst
3
Jan 27, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
This is my first true wireless IEM, and first of all I must admit that I didn't expect how much I'll enjoy the convenience of idea. They are light, very comfortable, sit well - I don't think they will fall even if I run. They disappear immediately as you put them on, and it's only a mater of few seconds to put them in securely. I'm no longer hesitant to wear IEM in the office. Regarding the sound - initially I thought these have too much bass, but then I swapped tips for larger, and it tamed bass a little, and made overall sound more pleasing. Very pleasing actually. Hence the advice - experiment with the tips. I had very many headphones over a past years and I'd define these as having generic consumer friendly sound signature. Slightly bassy is the only skew I can immediately point a finger on. Otherwise the tonal balance is very good. Nothing is missing, nothing is too accentuated. Sound isolation is good - like in decent closed over ears. That said I like that they don't isolate totally, so that I don't have to take them off if I need to speak with someone - only turn the music off. The microphone is very good for calls.
(Edited)
CMosh
9
Jan 17, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
What is this? Ear buds for ents?
These things are comically large, my 4th set of TW ear buds and these are easily twice the size of my next largest set. They fit my ears like clownshoes fit my feet, ridiculously. I mean, they sound decent, connect very quickly, and by all accounts the battery life should be great, but I can tell you, I wont be wearing these for 6 hours to test the claim. These things are so big, I feel like maybe this is some kind of an accident, where someone ordered a special custom made set for their giant ears, and I got them by accident. Maybe that theoretical guy is just as flabbergasted as i am right now, opening his normally sized IEM going wondering how the hell HELM could call his set jumbo XLL
Recommends this product? No
jarome
11
Jan 16, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Fat bass
I listen to classical music, and was quite disappointed in the sound of these earphones. The bass is fat, tubby, and ill-defined. My TaoTronics in-ear phones for about $30 are FAR better. Do not get these. I will sell you mine.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
HwoALanG
133
Jan 27, 2020
will email you now. hwoalang@gmail.com
audible
602
May 13, 2020
jaromeall ears sound different. you should have tried different earbuds.
Showing 20 of 96
Related Products