Kanemoto VG-10 Damascus Santoku Knife

Kanemoto VG-10 Damascus Santoku Knife

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.6K requests
·
662 Sold
Product Description
Made in Japan, this kitchen knife features a blade made by Kanemoto from VG-10 Damascus steel, which is known for its edge-holding ability. The hammered texture on the flats gently transitions to the classic Damascus pattern towards the blade edge Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
32
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
djm7845
117
Mar 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought it for my wife, she loves it. She doesn't come after me with the kitchen shears anymore, instead she uses this beautiful, Asian blade carving knife. If she catches me I will let you know how well it works.
phoenixsong
1048
Jan 15, 2020
HAHA hopefully you'll still be able to do so :p
Shawnf146
29
Apr 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I recently purchased this knife from Massdrop and got it yesterday. It is a beautiful looking knife, very thin bladestock and feels very properly balanced in the hand. The san-mai style blade just looks excellent and it shows off as a shining gem in my kitchen. I enjoy VG10, as it takes one heck of an edge and keeps it for a reasonable amount of time. I will update after using the knife a bit more.
(Edited)
wekarnesky
13
Jan 15, 2020
How do you feel 9 months later?
Shawnf146
29
Mar 18, 2020
It's still one of my favorite kitchen knives. Food doesn't stick to it, it's lightweight yet well made. It's a beautiful knife in every single way. I did try to sharpen it on my KME and had some difficulty. I tried sharpening it on a 1x42 belt grinder and it came out reasonably well. I can't seem to get any toothiness to the edge for whatever reason. I almost feel as if the soft steel of the san mai has almost dipped down to where the edge is, I could be completely wrong. I may have to give it one last sharpening go on my Wicked Edge 130 to see if I can get the edge that I'd like to have on it.
Bobjustbob
10
Nov 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am a knife lover and bought it for a budding chef. Very sharp. Very handsome and good value. Too early to say more or give it a fifth star.
DMTTAB
98
Aug 31, 2019
The blade is so sharp, he cut off all his fingers and is no longer able to type. :P
Bobjustbob
10
Jun 25, 2020
It is a very high quality knife. Very well constructed, the handle is very attractive but durable. It feels so good in your hand, especially compared to grips from manmade materials and even my Porsche stainless handles. Great action from the blade shape. It has not needed sharpening, just a light steel. I would definitely purchase this piece again, it is solid, classy and a joy to use.
NEFLink
4
Feb 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Phenomenal quality. One of the easiest blades I've ever sharpened and maintains that edge for weeks of daily use.
OrcaK4
7
Dec 1, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Truly excellent steel. Almost ridiculous sharpness can be achieved with proper honing and maintenance
piedrafria
168
Sep 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great looking knife. Legit in every way.
I need to put this through its paces before I give it 5 stars. So it will depend on how it holds an edge and how it sharpens. My impression is, it's beautiful but possibly too light. Feels good in the hand and relatively balanced. But it's not blowing me away. However, for this price, it really is gorgeous and I expect it to be the best purchase at this price. I'll return to review in a few months. Edit. It holds a good edge, well enough that I only need to sharpen it once quickly before each use. I've chopped with it many times, and it's great. You can actually hear how well it sharpens and hones compared to other knives. It's super smooth, and still gorgeous. What I did notice, the handle fit and finish. It's actually slightly off. Not a lot but just enough where you can feel it. Other than that, no complaints. Great knife and beautiful to display.
search

(Edited)
wekarnesky
13
Jan 15, 2020
How do you feel 4 months later?
piedrafria
168
Feb 1, 2020
It's great. I mean... for the price it's perfect. Fantastic edge but still uncharacteristically light (see picture of another vg10 damascus blade, it weights about 1/4 more). The handle is slightly off. Almost like you want to sand and grind all the way around to smooth it out. It won't bother you, but I'm nitpicking on fit and finish. I've included a picture of it next to a Japanese knife bought in Japan from a local Smith. The one on the bottom looks larger because of the camera angle but they're within a 1/4 inch.
search
search

search

Blair338RUM
7
Sep 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great looking knife for the money.
Nice knife. Good specs. Very well priced. A few quality control issues; The tang and the scales are a bit rough, lack of proper polishing, in fact the tang was protruding ever so slightly on some spots. The grind on the blade reflects the price. very sharp out of the box despite this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jeff0500
67
Oct 1, 2020
Found the same things to be true
torga
28
Sep 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful knife
It arrived incredibly sharp out of the box. To be honest, it could use a quick touch up with a very fine stone -- such as #6,000 -- but absolutely usable from Day 1. Gorgeous knife, handle feels nice, and perfectly balanced for a pinch grip. I wish this were a line of knives -- I'd buy a 4" utility and a Nakiri from this line in a heartbeat.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jooobe
39
Jul 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very happy with it
Sharp and light. Feels great in the hand. A great starter knife for someone just getting into a legit chefs knife collection. The packaging needs a rubber band or some sort of strong to keep the box closed during shipping. The knife was out of it's packaging just rattling around in the shipping box.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
TexasScout
2
Feb 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very well made and comfortable in the hand
I was quite impressed with this knife, my first Japanese knife. The Damascus steel was beautiful. The handle is VERY comfortable in the hand. I like the idea of a Japanese piece of steel with a European style handle. It seems that great care was taken in the fit and finish.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 19 of 41
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order