Massdrop x MiTo Laserwave GMK Translucent Keycaps

Massdrop x MiTo Laserwave GMK Translucent Keycaps

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1K requests
855 Sold
Product Description
Styled in the official colors of GMK Laser, these keycaps are a great complement to the futuristic cyberpunk set—or a cool addition to other colorways. Made in Germany by GMK, they’re Cherry MX compatible and made from 1.5-millimeter doubleshot ABS plastic for durability Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
2.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
21
search
close
baekworthy
4
Jul 27, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Initially slightly concerned when I opened the box, but warmed to them shortly after. In the end, I do like the caps, though the images should be updated for a future drop.
Atlaus
16
Jul 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Also falls into the "product perceived vs. product received" camp here. Communication during the prototype run didn't showcase the sexy/sloppy outcome the MiTo has stated they were going for. In fact, the updates highlighted the color matching, which obviously went awry. Still dig 'em, though.
ChemicalHalo
17
Jun 28, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When I initially got this set, I was a little perturbed. The irregular grid pattern lending a 'melted' look turned me off, as did the colors of the dusk set appearing more 'grape' than 'dusk'. The dawn set is a little difficult for me to read, although that may well just be my eyes.
I did, however, warm to them.
After some time, I recognized the 'grape-ness' was less of an issue. The keycaps are meant to be an accent rather than any design-incorporated highlight. This lends a bit more leeway, and the melty character of the keys is a byproduct of using the classic double shot-cherry process, and there is not much one can do about it. For shine-throughs, I think I prefer how exterior lights bounce off the backing material through the translucent shell rather than actual backlights.
I think that the original images should be amended with product shots if this is to ever run again, as that would avoid much of the heartburn some people are feeling right now over the state of the keys.
My 3/5 is an average of the 2/5 I had from when I had just received the set, and the 4/5 I feel about it now.
It's not a perfect set - but it is distinct, well proportioned, and unique. I am glad I bought it. Your mileage, however, may vary.
search
KM1337
1870
Jun 28, 2018
Jelly bout that laser board lol
Thousands
46
Jun 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ordered one of each colorway, and everything looks ok with the exception of the 'w' keys which look like hot garbage - the grid looks melted and cancerous, and is foggy due to differing amounts of plastic. The grid on 'a', 's', and 'd' is different from the other 1u keys, and they actually look ok, but different from the image. The enter key's bars aren't sharp.
The mockup image of these is deceptive, as proven by other users here.
Herp_McDerp
311
Jun 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not what I signed up for. I've read through the explanation provided by MiTO and while I do understand the reasoning behind the caps turning out the way they did there is no way I would have plumped for them had I known they'd look like this and not like the rendered images we were shown.
Lecrow
43
Jun 23, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hopeful I just got a bad set, and my poor quality set wasn't the standard, but 2 of my keys were completed melted underneath and had no line affects at all. I wouldn't really care if they melted around the transparent portions only a bit , but to have keycaps that turn out nothing like the renders is not acceptable. The coloring of the dusk kit was also very, very different from the renders, which once again I don't expect them to match exactly, but the colorways are completely different ...
daddyFOX
258
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For my 1st taste of GMK in LASERWAVE form and aesthetic in Mito‘s vision. Love this art form dystopian factor.
Delmonddi
6
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very very bad quality.
but very expensive lol
I hate giving this products a 1 star.
ITS 0 STAR PRODUCT.
Bubblez009
44
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow, yikes. Actual product does not look like the pictures at all. I had thought they sent the wrong set of caps at first. These are too embarrassing to put with the rest of my Laser stuff so I will probably be selling. MiTo/Massdrop is seemingly getting super defensive too, and blaming us for not "understanding what we're buying." I just wanted the caps in the pictures. Overall they weren't incredibly expensive so if I take a loss on these it's not a huge deal, but I will definitely be wary of buying from MiTo/Massdrop in the future.
xen0blade
43
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So...Here we go. My immediate first impression was...not good. I could immediately tell that the color was off on the Dusk set. Considering I'm colorblind, I was kind of annoyed by that. I was expecting a much more purplish hue. Wifey (damn her perfect color acuity) showed up a few minutes after I unboxed them and confirmed that while the Dawn was the color shown, the dusk was not. "But wait, xen0blade? If they're so terrible, then why'd you give four stars?" Well, because they're a) actually awesome, and b) they're every bit as cyberpunk as I HOPED they'd be. Cyberpunk isn't about clean lines and pixel-perfect precision. It's about dirt, neon, pain, blood, and terrible people doing the right thing for all of the wrong reasons. It's about grifters, joeboys, hackers, and street samurai. It's nasty enough to embarrass a Class A Sewer Gator. And these keys reflect that perfectly. The only reason @MiTo has lost a star on this is because the original description could have been a bit better. Honestly, I'd give these 4.5 stars.
BlueCrowned
5305
Jun 21, 2018
I love this review
Jaytal
173
Jan 10, 2019
A bit too generous.
Showing 13 of 36
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
36 OF 36 POSTS
Jun 21, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest