shopping_cart
NYM96 Aluminum Mechanical Keyboard
$190

NYM96 Aluminum Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
$190
Switch:
Gateron Red
256 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
59
check
69%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
JG_Esq
0
Dec 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
USB Port stopped working soon after receipt.
The quality control here was very poor. Some keys stuck, the switches were soldered off kilter creating a staggered typing experience, and the USB port died soon after I got it. DROP offered a discount on another one, if I wanted it. Bad experience made me question using this platform for a replacement keyboard in the future.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jaxterjay
2
Nov 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great looking keyboard
Looks nice, thought it would come fully assembled as it was not specifically mentioned in the description that it would be shipped as a kit. Was disappointed to receive the item as a kit, especially since shipment was delayed twice and having waited months for it to arrive. Upon installation, keyboard had to be configured as well and there were no spare Keycaps provided to match with customised configuration, so basically while there was option to self configure, the standard Keycaps that came with the keyboard was limited.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Scrimbowo
8
Oct 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great
This was my first time soldering a keyboard. None of the parts that came with this kit had any quality control issues, however, the LEDs on the motherboard are not practical, as the lights are on the perimeter of the board and are locked to red; plus, there is no capslock indicator light. Despite this, I am satisfied with this product and I would recommend it to others who are looking for something similar. I used Gateron Silent Black Ink switches, the Domikey BoB keycap set, Durock v2 stabilizers, and a gray & black custom coiled USB-C cable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
nanonic
7
Aug 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
I sourced a YMDK hotswap PCB for this build as that supports VIA firmware. Then added Durock v2 screw in stabs, lubed those and with Cyberpunk colorway Kaihu BoxRoyals and WoB SA caps this thing is awesome smooth and has a great sound.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
nanonic
7
Oct 17, 2021
Good question: Looked back through my AliExpress orders and that is the Layout C which from memory I picked so that I could still have a right control. To get the sounds I like I had to put drawer liner foam between the plate and the PC and also on the bottom inside the case. Without the foam between the PCB and plate it sounded rather rude.
@nanonic - Thank you for the input! I was able to source a C layout board though ebay for $50. This is my first build so I’m looking very forward to getting started. Thanks for the tip on the drawer liner foam! I’ve seen that mod and plan on using it.
PurpleTurple
53
Jun 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
An ok starting place, but NOT what I expected for a preassembled keyboard
Overall: If you want something complete that you can just use, look elsewhere. This needs love before it will be usable out of the box. The key mappings do not even match the keycaps. Good grief. PRO: It is heavy. It has lots of keys. It is (slightly) smaller than a full size. CON: -The rubber feet do NOT come preinstalled and do not quite fit the recessed spots that are on the case. At this price, with the assembled option, that's poor form. -The board comes mapped with a different layout than the keycaps. I understand that it supports QMK, but this must be called out in the product description. Not cool. -At the time of leaving this review, the link to QMK programming in the product description is both dead and external. DROP, if you sell things that are broken without installing extra software or flashing firmware, maybe you ought to host the instructions or send them to the customers. Relying on external sites makes you look bad when the sites are down and leaves your customers with ZERO information on how to make their brand new product usable. -This one I knew, but the right shift key is smaller than standard. It isn't much of an issue, but took more getting used to than I thought it would have. UPDATE: I have just tested it and the right control key does nothing at all. I get that the mapping can be fixed, but this seems to have a bad switch. I opened a ticket with support. =( Further update: I asked if this could possibly be due to or fixable with firmware. Support says, yes, use the link. I say what link? They send me a link to the drop webpage for the product. That is where the (still) broken link on https://mechkeys.ca/ which has been down since I got the product last week. I have asked for a return label. I hope they can at the very least send me one as I do not own a printer. Update: They will not send me a label. I have asked to have the case escalated. I do not recall owning a printer being a requirement for returning a defective product. There is a well understood, supported, and standard way to do this. Include the return label in the original box. I hope escalating via support can work this out. Update: Drop support tells me that they understand it might be inconvenient for me, but it is impossible for them to send me a label. I find it hard to believe that they do not have the technology and capability to send me a label. They suggest that I get my friends and family to help get me a label. They too would have to print it and mail it to me. I figured that "support" might be able to "support" me here and help out. Nope. They suggested I use a public library, but due to details that are none of their business, that isn't a safe option at this time. I encourage you to think about any order you might place. IF you end up having to deal with "support", you will get anything but support. This has been the case for me at least. Update: The link that is supposed to help users configure this is still broken weeks later. Update: I have returned the product, and for some reason, drop refunded all but 30 cents of the price I paid. Support is going strong getting absolutely every single possible thing wrong. It is starting to become impressive. Update: Turns out that a portion of my refund for the faulty product was withheld because of VIP points. This strikes me as extremely odd since *some* of those points were given to me as part of an agreement reached after DROP had me ship back another faulty product for replacement, TOLD me they had the replacement in stock, then when I shipped it back, they said they didn't. In a really really poor attempt to make sense of that transaction, they gave me some points. Looks like if they feel like causing you an issue, they can withhold refunds due to these points. Be careful if you have or use VIP points. You will soon find out it is a way to make sure they can scam you later.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
PurpleTurple
53
Sep 2, 2021
It isn't that simple. They both CAN, and they also say they can't. This means that it is both lazy and a lie.
highfive
3
Oct 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time for writing this review, explaining the difficulties you experienced, and the very literal nickel and diming by Drop. To me, a review like yours is exactly what I'm looking for. Much obliged.
Jona2541
5
Jun 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Meh
Sounds bad but for the price you cant complain and at least the layout is nice
Mad_Muffin
14
Apr 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great kit, I’d recommend for a beginner
If you’re looking for an all in one kit to get your hands dirty on, this is the one to get. There’s no need to worry about parts or availability, just get this with the switches you like and get cracking. Docking one star because there’s no manual to fall back on. Information on this board’s programming is a bit scarce, so I’ll try and lay it out for people here. It’s very likely that the caps you get with this board do not correlate to the programming, so you have to install QMK. The order you should do things: Install drivers for your board (NYM96 uses atmega32a drivers). To do this, you need to press the reset button on the underside of the PCB while the PCB is connected to the computer (easily reachable even if the board is built with the hole on the bottom of the board). Then you need to go to Device manager, navigate to the Atmega device with the yellow warning sign on it, right click and install drivers and find the driver folder you just downloaded. go to QMK configurator and load up the melody 96 layout, and customise the keys to fit your keycaps. Press compile and then download output file. open QMK, find that configurator file, make sure you press that reset button on the back, and then press flash.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Heafty case
It feels like a great quality case, and in hindsight I would buy the case on it's own. Switches are poorly installed with a few of them installed so the keycaps touch each other. Stock keycaps are thick but somehow feel really hollow, it's really confusing. Once again, i love the case and I will be rebuilding the keyboard to be something more usable. I think it can be far better.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Alphastrick
1
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid Case - Medicore Keycaps
My Product
  • Cherry MX Brown
  • DIY Kit

Review The overall quality of the Drop is fine. The Case is rock solid and satisfies my expectations. The Keycaps are looking great in terms of the theme, but are of poor quality. Notice Unsoldering malfunctioning switches is nearly imposible.
MM24
25
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The case was the only thing good.
My first impression was very good but the pcb stop working in 1 month. Didn't know why. Drop dont take any responsability...
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 20 of 86
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
86 OF 86 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order