Opus #3 Digital Audio Player
Opus #3 Digital Audio Player
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
60 Sold
Product Description
Boasting all the features one could want from a modern digital audio player, the Opus #3 has a well-regarded Burr-Brown PCM1792A DAC chip, an ARM Cortex-A9 1.4GHz quad-core CPU, and 1 GB of DDR3. That means it can handle running Android with ease, and the inclusion of Wi-Fi capability allows you to use streaming applications like Spotify and Tidal Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
5
search
felis_mas
0
Jul 3, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
In my opinion, Opus#3 at the current drop price is the best DAP for the money. It is difficult to describe a sound that suits almost everything. Lows are full-bodied, dense, but not inflated. Mids are very smooth and comfortable with excellent tonal balance and resolution. Highs - very, very good, especially for this price segment - almost excellent resolution, separation and layering. In general, the sound is very comfortable and musical. I am very glad that I bought it, this player will definitely stay with me for a long time.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 3, 2020
Kauen
52
Jun 11, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wonderfull Vocals
I thought, after Opus #2, there will be no wow effect, but it did happen locally, namely on the midrange. Lows and Highs are definitely beyond the #2, there it’s a directly different level and it is felt, but the vocals, suddenly, didn’t captivate me in the#2, as it happened in the #3. In general, the sound is uniquely an offset DAP that can well compete with top-mid-range devices that are relevant for today. By the way, some mentioned some kind of “recognizable characteristic color” of 1792, and so I personally didn’t hear any similarities to the presentation, for example, with Cayin N6. Well, the cons, which someone just did not write about, and they did not pass me by. All Opuses epic's with battery naturally available. Backlash and accidental operation of the volume wheel are also in place. Well, at times the "twitchy" reaction of the interface is present. I don’t even want to remember about software limitations in working with files and que, this is an Opus feature, not a bug :)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 11, 2020
KeithBrough
4
Jun 3, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Runs very hot after about hour they interface to use it is not very good very confusion
Strange interface to get back to Artiste or album not as good as my Fiio M11
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 3, 2020
DrFrank
3
May 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This item is out of date with an underpowered processor.
Underpowered. Unable to run the latest version of Tidal. Much better options currently.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
May 18, 2020
GCL.me
1
May 26, 2020
bookmark_border
Have you tired updating the firmware?
May 26, 2020
EAP1
26
Dec 26, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Opus #3 is a solid player, but the sound signature is not quite right for me. The build quality is great. It's quite heavy in the hand, but that's fine with me. It's attractive looking. Loading songs into the internal memory is easy enough (I have a Mac so I used Anroid file transferring software). As far as the audio is concerned, which is all a really care about, it is undoubtedly a great sounding player. It has a lively sound signature with relatively forward highs and great detail retrieval. The bass is also forward but well controlled. It's got excellent weight to it and the high bass/low mid frequencies have the best "growl" to them I have heard on a DAP. It gives the music real punch. The mid range is excellent. The only issue for me is that the high frequencies a bit accentuated, which becomes fatiguing for me. Now, I am especially sensitive to brighter sound signatures, and I prefer a darker sound, so your milage certainly may vary. But I have read others describe the sound of the Opus #3 as "warm," and I wouldn't really call it that. If it were about 10-15% less bright the Opus #3 would have a nearly ideal sound signature. (Yes, there is on-board EQ, but I feel like something is lost when I start notching down frequencies, so I tried it but I prefer the sound without EQ.) As it is, I prefer the sound signature my Onkyo DP-1xa, which also has great detail retrieval and a great sound signature overall while having more warmth and without being fatiguing. UPDATE: After living with the Opus #3 for a few months I no longer notice the brightness that bothered me initially. Now I really enjoy the sound signature. It has all the positives I mentioned, but I am not experiencing the fatigue I mentioned before. It's not a neutral sound signature (and I like the fact that it is not), but it is not fatiguing. So, all around good stuff.
(Edited)
Dec 26, 2018
Waynerm002
7
Jan 29, 2019
bookmark_border
I'm curious to know which headphones you use with this player. I use these with a set of Focal Listen Wireless (while connected wired) and I consider these headphone to have a "bright" signature, the treble can be fatiguing and I can use for an extended periods when using my Shanling M3s however, on the Opus #3 that harshness goes away. When using the HD 6XX, the highs are muted on the Opus but sounds better with the M3s, this is while running through an external amp.
Jan 29, 2019
EAP1
26
Mar 16, 2019
bookmark_border
Good question. I have used Sennheiser IE800, Sennheiser HD6XX, and Onkyo ES-CTI300 with the Opus. (The Onkyos have the lowest pedigree among these, but are my favorite—they were a great sounding pair of headphones.) All that said, I have really come around on the Opus #3. For some reason they don't sound fatiguing any more to me. I really enjoy the sound signature, even with the IE800s (which are on the brighter end). I don't believe in burn-in, so I assume the difference has something to do with me. Maybe my ears were just wonky the first few times I listened to this. Maybe I'd just gotten off a plane or something. It happens. Anyway, I agree with your assessment and don't really have the issues anymore that I raised in my initial review.
Mar 16, 2019