shopping_cart
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
29
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Ninj4G4ngster21
2
Oct 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
amazing sound and isolation
great sound and isolation while using
check
Would recommend to a friend.
thisistino
22
Oct 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good neutral earphones but bad cable!
I got the XR version. Sounds really good for the price. Everything sounds natural, isolation is above average, although I end up with final audio e type eartips with adapter installed as I think the triple flange eartips takes time to get used to. Too bad this sales doesn’t include the dual flange eartips. One thing that made me take one star off is the cable. It is using a special “key” that makes it almost impossible to find third party cables (there are some on ali express but the reviews are varies). Wearing them straight down, too microphonics for me and wearing them over ear, it sticks out too much. And to make it worse, Etymotic sells the replacement cable for $60. i still recommend this based on the price and the sounds, but be extra careful with the cable
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Trogg
2
Nov 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love Them
I love these headphones! My only complaint is that the cable makes tons of noise when you're moving around. It's the only reason there not getting 5 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Wtmagneto
3
Aug 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lightweight daily driver
I have many headsets and earphones and I always find myself going to this set overall great daily driver that is comfortable for all day usage
EntropicMyopic
7
Aug 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My absolutely favorite ear/headphones
Owner of Sony WF-1000XM2, WH-1000XM3, Bose SoundSport, HiFiMan 400i, ATH-M50x, 1More Triple Driver and most recently Audeze iSine 10 and these are my daily drivers. In fact, I bought a second pair in case I got left without the first. The comfort is love/hate--I love them but many don't like the deep fit. The sound isolation is spectacular--I use them mowing the lawn and they reduce the mower from screaming to a nice conversational volume. There's no way for them to fall out during light or even heavy activities other than the cord but joggers might not like them because of the isolation. Sound is very clear without being overly bright. Bass exists--though that's probably the best you can say for the low end. Midrange is where these shine--Etymotic being a hearing aid company gives them the leg up on midrange clarity. Expect a precise but not overly clinical sound. One important note; the second pair I got came with a cable loose and the wrong eartips will give you poor audio. Make sure your cables are well connected and the eartips allow for a good fit and seal if you're initially disappointed with the audio quality. Addressing these two issues brings these from Dollar Store bargain bin sound to what you'd expect from a $100-200 IEM.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DandyLion
3
Apr 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect for Isolation - Solid Pair of Earphones
These are the perfect pair of earphones for isolation in a small package. Even though they are tiny, they pack high definition and lots of power. I would recommend these for use in the office and for listening on the airplane.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
tallan
8
Sep 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent sounding IEMs for the price.
I've been a fan of Etymotic IEMs for over a decade and they always deliver a high level of sound quality in a lightweight form. Unfortunately I can never achieve a proper seal with the standard 3 flange ear tips which are also uncomfortable so am deducting a star for that. Given a good seal Etymotics are anything but bass shy. The foam tips are excellent, but only last a few wearings. Also a big plus with these are included accessories: replacement filters, a filter changing tool, and a pair of foam tips.
ajbarr
2
Sep 9, 2021
Thank you for your very thorough response! Much appreciated!
Superbonus
1
Oct 5, 2021
I've had a few pairs of Etymotics and I've never been happy with the supplied tips so I always use the little Shure Olives. Perfectly comfortable and sound great too.
Bobobobobiy
1
Apr 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Only thing I don't like is the cable
toniidesu
255
Mar 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If you value accuracy and transparency, these are probably the best bargain in personal audio. I have both the 3XR and the 3SE. If I could own only one, it would be the SE, but only because I'm a bit of a bassophobe—if your tastes tend toward bass, you'll be better served with the XR. I find that the sound of the SE hooked up to an amp is just about perfect, so I leave it at work in that configuration (connected to the ludicrously overkill Gustard H10 amp), and I keep the XR in my travel bag for trips—its passive noise isolation really shines with a set of SpinFit or Comply tips. I can't abide the infamous Etymotic triple flange, and I would encourage you not to judge these headphones on the basis of those... invasive eartips. Whichever model you get, I think you'll be happy with the sound if you can achieve a proper seal. This is obviously the critical factor with all in-ear models, but none more so than Etymotic, whose long skinny tubes and tiny balanced armature drivers cannot compete against any ambient sound—the design of these depends on achieving a tight seal and firing sound straight into your eardrum, not just in the general direction. So why only four stars? As with all Etymotic designs, they aren't very practical for use while in motion. They have serious problems with microphonics (because of the deep-sealing design), and looping them over the tops of my ears prevents me from getting a seal. Although it's possible to make them work with an MMCX Bluetooth cable like the one MEE Audio makes, it looks ridiculous. Worst of all, even if you're using them sitting down, the needlessly heavy metal cable splitter tends to pull them down and out of your ears unless you use the included shirt clip, which also looks ridiculous and only works well with button-up shirts. That's right, I'm docking a full star for ergonomics, and the cable splitter is the worst culprit. On a lightweight, small pair of earphones like these, whose bright idea was it to create a metal cable splitter that weighs as much as the driver units? If Etymotic would design a new cable with a sensible cable splitter and a mic for calls (as seen on the legendary HF5), these would be just about perfect. As it is, they're great-sounding earphones that are only at their best when you're stationary.
(Edited)
GunsOfBrixton
898
Mar 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This review is for the ER3XR. Short version: This is a fantastic IEM! If you are inclined toward neutral sounding IEMs, but still like full bodied bass, these are the ones to get. I think you'd have a hard time finding a better sounding pair at anything remotely near this price. Use the foam tips if the silicon ones are too uncomfortable Long version: I've owned the Ety HF5 for a while, and though I liked it, I hadn't really found it appealing enough to use all that often. However, not too long ago, I decided to try the HF5 on a cross-country flight to see how it did as a travel headphone, compared to my Bose QC25. I was surprised at how much better the passive isolation was on the HF5 than the active noise cancellation of the Bose. And, of course, the sound quality was dramatically better on the Ety. As I used them more, I came to the conclusion that, while they were good enough to be my travel IEM, they fell short enough on bass performance and musicality that they wouldn't reach the top tier of my headphone collection. So, when I saw the ER3XR drop, I was curious enough to give it a try. I'm glad I did, as this is now my clear favorite IEM, besting my previous favorites, the MD PX & Klipsch X11 and making a solid case for my favorite overall headphone (you can see the numerous headphones I own in my profile, to know what I'm comparing against). The sound on these is very clear, but manages not to be sterile at all. Nor is it the kind of clarity that makes poorly mastered tracks sound harsh and unlistenable. Don't get me wrong, you'll notice the difference, but it takes enough of the rough edges off that you don't feel like yanking them out of your ear. It's not the same sound signature, but the "makes everything sound better" part reminds me a lot of the Senn HD650/6XX. Overall it's a cohesive and close to neutral sound that is very easy to enjoy. The bass performance stands out though, especially when comparing to an older Ety like the HF5. It's not so much a bass boost as it is what it says in the name - extended response. The bass isn't overwhelming at all, just even and detailed down into the lower ranges, with just a slight elevation to give a full-bodied sound. In that regard, it reminds me of some of the planars I've heard. Overall, it's a really enjoyable listening experience. Add in the good detachable, pliable cable (although you'll want to use the clip to get rid of some mild microphonics) and this one is a real winner for me. It's pretty much taken up all of my listening time for the past couple of weeks - and I'm normally not headphone monogamous. The only places I can really ding it are soundstage and bass impact, but no balanced armature driver is going to deliver a win on impact, and no IEM is going to achieve much in the way of soundstage. Still, it has as good of directionality and spatial location as any IEM I've heard. The big issue with Etys overall is how deep they are inserted in your ear. They always show them with the silicon tips (they look much better that way), and that's where I started. However, I just couldn't make it work - I would burst into a coughing fit every time I tried to put them in. The foam tips are a different story, though. If the Silicon tips are too uncomfortable, use the foam tips and compress them into a tight narrow cylinder. Insert them until you meet resistance (don't shove them in hard, but if you do please take video and share it). Hold them there and let them expand. They'll fill in your ear canal and give you the best isolation you're likely to experience. Another nice thing is that they work for pretty much any listening scenario. One earphone that can work for everything from critical listening to air travel, with no need for a separate amp, is a definite bonus if you're looking for "the one." Overall, it's been a while since I've been this enthusiastic about a headphone, with no qualifications on price to performance ratio (although this definitely has it). It's just plain excellent - easy five stars on this one.
Showing 16 of 38
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
38 OF 38 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order