shopping_cart
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Asrei
104
Jul 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best pads I've experienced for these are the stock pads.
They have a firm feel but sink in just enough against your ear they're just right. They do loosen up over a long period of time (they hold up to a lot of abuse before they get worn out!) Solid pads. Highly recommended to stick with them if you have a Elex.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dr.Streets
47
Jul 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect
Must have to extend the life of your Elex.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Save yourself a fortune
What's not to love, they're the same as Clear pads but cost drastically less
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MiddleTommy
10
Jun 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but hard
The new pads work well. They are not as soft & squishy as the original Elear pads. The inner dimension feels slightly smaller too giving less room for the ear lobe. I cant complain too much due to the price being so low.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
hyunchong02
20
Jun 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Affordable OEM focal pads?!
They don't cost as much as a midfi headphone to replace like the other focal pads.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mrcrunch08
144
Jun 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For starters I have to start by saying there is at least one benefit to living in NJ and that is Drop items arrive quick. I was shocked how quick they got to me. I was almost equally surprised at the size of the box for two small pads. I understand it is probably cost prohibitive to carry a larger selection of box sizes to ship items in but it isn't visually appealing to see the trash pile end up being much larger and probably heavier than what was in the box. It's not really a big deal but it just surprised me this time. The pads also surprised me. I have an Elear and owned an Elex from one of the first couple runs and I thought I remembered what the Elex pads felt like but idk anymore. I sold the Elex quickly after swapping pads between it and the Elear and learning it was the pads so memory is all I have. For some reason I am convinced I remember those Elex pads feeling really soft and light just like my Elear pads except perforated. What I got from Drop today does not feel like my Elear pads or like I remember the Elex Pads feeling like. What I got seems to be a denser foam and thicker fabric that is less soft. It's almost like the fabric has thicker "skin" and less "hair" than the Elear and Elex that I remember. What makes my suspicions worse is I am fortunate enough to have a friend who has an Elex from about a year ago and a Clear. His pair of Elex has pads very much like what I now have which feels noticeably different than his Clear pads. His Clear Pads feel like a midway point between my Elear pads and the Drop Elex pads I got. The foam was soft and light while the fabric seemed thicker like the Drop pads except remained softer with more "hairs". I don't know if any of that means Focal has pad variation and it's normal or it's only the pads made for drop that have variation. I am convinced I am not remembering my old Elex pads wrong. The initial comfort difference was jarring and something I would have remembered at the time. The clamp was increased a lot with the new Drop Elex pads. Even though I am saying all of that I still am not convinced they are completely different yet. Just in five hours of use and giving the pads a good squeeze every now and then has greatly improved comfort and has started making things seem closer to normal. The foam has already begun to soften and is beginning to resemble the lightness of my Elear pads though it still has a way to go. The fabric has started to work the stiffness out and just like the foam it has started to begin feeling like the Clear pads. Given the change in just a few hours with some manual squeezing mixed in I am starting to gain confidence that they will eventually become much more like what I expected. I don't think it will ever get perfect but maybe I will be wrong. Truthfully I don't know if I want them to become like I remember them anyway. I actually preferred the experience of the Elear over the Elex because of the mids and lows but the Elex seemed to have better extension and lacked this peak somewhere in the upper mids maybe lower treble that the Elear has. Hearing some reviews claiming the Elex was a super HD650 always confused me because I didn't experience that with mine. Even when I put those original Elex pads on my Elear it performed the same as the Elex. With these pads I now understand the super HD650 reviews. With this batch of the Drop Elex pads I get a smooth warm punchy experience. Even the openness is similar to the Sennheisers now. Despite losing that airy feel the soundstage has remained the same except seems a touch more defined. The soundstage is rather impressive and seems to be more defined than previously. I always thought the Elear did it very good to begin with but sounds seem to have more places of origin now. Sounds from behind and to the right, in front and to the left, and even above and below are much more common and obvious. There is almost no question to the place a sound occupies. It's seems to have been worth the trade of airiness. With that airiness gone the background is much blacker and it makes the dynamics seem even more impressive. It's like every sound explodes out of nothingness and leaves just as quick as it came. For Elear owners all the rough edges from the midrange on up has been smoothed over. Any hint of something fatiguing is gone and they become these warm almost fun cans. Unlike my previous experience with the Elex and Elex pads this pairing has made the bass even better. The bass is what I remember from the Elear except better extended and feels more visceral. I'm really enjoying the current sound from these pads. Normally when something gets this warm it starts to feel loose but this almost feels like a warm planar now. It's a joy experiencing something so warm and fun sounding that remains super tight and fast. It sounds like I imagen a HD6xx series planar would sound. This is an incredibly long review for some pads but considering the previous attempt at replacements from Drop I figured it was worth it to try to be as thorough as possible. I really think if the quality remains like what I got everyone should be happy after the pads start breaking in. They definitely start feeling closer to what you expect after some stretching and using. Deep down I am still a cheapskate though and find it hard seeing $60+ in these pads. By saying that I do not mean they are not worth it. I find it very hard to see $60+ in most pads. Despite that I would still rather pay the $60+ for these then $150+ or buy Dekoni ones again. Even without breaking in these sound better. They may lose in comfort fresh from the mailbox but will equal out. The sound from the Dekoni's never match these or the stock Elear pads. I think break in is key with these and if you have an Elear or Elex it's your only real option. It's hard to justify pads that cost $200 a pair for those models.
search
search
search
search
search
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Shure
64
May 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
FedEx SmartPost
(The pads are good.) Sorry. I want to take this opportunity to warn others about selecting FedEx SmartPost. It’s the cheapest shipping option, but the delivery estimates have been wrong and have flip flopped several times in my experience. I have also contacted Drop about this. Contacting an agent at FedEx is nearly impossible. This is important because if you stay home to receive a package, that you don’t want stolen and then they change the date of delivery during your expected delivery window, you’ve wasted a day waiting. You are also unable to have your package held at a FedEx facility with this shipping option. Thanks.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Ortho_Sympa
99
May 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quality is good this time
I bought 2 pairs and all pads were fine this time. PS: Elex and Clear pads are different even if they look similar. The clear pads are stiffer and the outer material is slightly thicker too.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
s4tch
7
May 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice improvement over original Elear pads.
Nice improvement over stock Elear pads. Happy with the purchase. And yes, it's a pair! :P Compared to the stock Elear pads, the bass is a bit reduced, but more clear and defined. My only gripe with the Elear was that metallic taste in the highs, which is almost completely gone, especially at lower to normal listening levels. The build is the same as my stock pads, the thickness is very similar, comfort is indistinguishable. The covering material is almost the same too, these pads are perforated all over, the original pads aren't. I had to pay customs and VAT, these pads still were well worth the investment.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
lazarian
9
May 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice set of replacements
Nice enough set of replacements, not insanely expensive at the reduced rate at least.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 41
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
41 OF 41 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order