Focal Pads for Elex Headphones
Focal Pads for Elex Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
662 Sold
Product Description
Need a replacement for the pads on your Massdrop x Focal Elex headphones? Pick up a pair of these Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
5.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
4
search
Lumos
0
Oct 6, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best sounding pads for Elear/Elex, Thank you!
Oct 6, 2018
Manbear
227
Sep 30, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Thank you for offering these pads! They are perfect.
Sep 30, 2018
kjling
104
Sep 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Thanks for getting these made Massdrop. I hope they will continue to drop periodically for many years to come, as I'm definitely keeping my Elex. Just in case they become scarce, I bought 2 sets for safekeeping in the meantime. lol
Sep 23, 2018
PolygonBronson
161
Sep 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I don't own the Elex but I do own the Elear. So this review is from the perspective of using these on the Elear. I bought these because I was curious how the Elex sounds (from what I understand the Elex is the Elear in a different color and with different earpads) and to have some spare pads around since these are a third the price of the regular Elear pads. The results were a mixed bag but more positives than negatives.
Comfort: These are more comfortable than the stock Elear pads. The foam is more dense (yet still very soft) and because of the way that the Elear clamps on the head these pads hold the headphone more secure because the foam gives more resistance. This is a huge bonus to me. I was always worried about them sliding off my head but this is less of a concern with these new pads.
Build: These are very well made pads. Premium materials and a perfect fit on the headphone. I really like the feel of the Alcantara/Microsuede they are made from. However, they are lint magnets.
Bass: This is one of the negative points in my review. These substantially reduce the bass in the Elear. Thankfully they don't reduce the dynamics or punch quality of the bass just the quantity. I will agree that the Elear has crazy amounts of bass but these reduce it a little too much I would have preferred about ~2db more bass. There is always EQ but it's still a bummer to me.
Mids: Here is the biggest improvement. Full discloser: I have a mids sensitivity. Harsh mids tend to bother me more than any other frequency. The mids with the stock pads can be very shouty/honky. There are certain genres that are unlistenable with the stock pads simply because of this shouty midrange. These pads, however, smooth out the midrange significantly. They are full of detail and have a great presence but are smooth and even. Female vocals are now a joy to listen to. Adele and Sia gave me goosebumps the other night when I was listening to them with these pads.
Highs: These Elex pads sharpen up the treble quite a bit. They have better detail than stock but can be a bit much for some music. I tried listening to the Mad Max: Fury Road soundtrack with these pads and it was just too much treble. However, micro details in calmer music are phenomenal. I finally understand the comparisons to the Elex and the Utopia micro detail retrieval. These aren't on quite the same level but it really shows how capable these drivers are.
Soundstage: Imaging and soundstage are about the same as stock. However, some of the weird/different sound placements that made the Elear really unique have been removed with these Elex pads. As a result the Elear with Elex pads sounds much more "normal" be that good or bad.
Conclusion: I thought I would keep these pads as a backup but I think they are my new default. I will try out some other amp parings and EQ options to see if I can bring back some of that bass. These Elex pads make the Elear a much better all-rounder and as a result my Elear has gotten way more head time than they used to. So I guess I call that a win.
Sep 20, 2018
FrankFeng
28
Sep 21, 2018
bookmark_border
Thank you @PolygonBronson ! I have the almost exact same experience as your. I also bought these Elex pads for my Elear. The new Elex pads feels more supportive. The best effect bringing by Elex pads is the vocal part. It brings human voice in the music clearer and closer to the listener (instead of the far off distance feeling from original Elear pads). The bass has been tuned down to a level I quite enjoy. The original pads' low end quantity is so much that it becomes quite unique comparing with any other pair of headphones. The Elex pads also brings better detail and never fatigue in lower-high frequency (4000 ~ 8000 Hz). Previous Elear pads somehow "hide" some details in this band. If I turn up volume for those details on Elear pads, the higher frequency(> 8000 Hz) would be a little too much. In conclusion, I love my new Elex pad. I think it turns Elear from a very stylish headphone (the goods to be too good, the bads to be too offensive) to a much better balanced, high performance in almost every aspect experience. (Of course, nothing can help with its weight. We pay for these elegant piece of metal :-)
Sep 21, 2018