Massdrop x Apogee Vital 8-Inch Chef's Knife
Massdrop x Apogee Vital 8-Inch Chef's Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.5k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Ask anybody who knows their way around a kitchen and they’ll tell you that a high-quality 8-inch chef’s knife can do anything and everything you need it to—and it’ll last a lifetime if cared for correctly. Fine-tuned with help from professional chefs, the Massdrop x Apogee Vital 8-inch chef's knife will be your go-to blade for anything from slicing veggies to chopping herbs to cutting a porterhouse steak Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
63
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
linnenbringer
0
Nov 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect all-rounder chef knife, if it is the correct size for your hands
Perfect size for an average male grip. Good sharp edge out of the box. The blade has the correct curve for rocking across the cutting board, and is thin enough to make a pleasant "ting" when gripped at the balance point and tapped on the counter. Handle stays decently grippy when wet. Looking forward to using this a lot more as my go-to kitchen knife.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 18, 2019
Hng66
15
Aug 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A decent chef's knife for the price.
It has a nice quality feel when holding the handle. I've used many brand of chef's knives, and I have to say that it's a pleasure to use. We'll see how long the blade holds up after many uses.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 20, 2019
evnglst
6
Aug 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poorly finished.
Nice design idea, but this Massdrop branded knife is very poorly finished around the bolster and heal areas. The handle also is not ground to a very accurate shape (sloppy, actually) and the blade was not even straight, right out of the box. Too bad. I had high expectations for this $80 knife.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 3, 2019
Petethepup
2
Jul 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Design, performance
The handle is nicely shaped, makes rocker chopping a breeze. Thin blade, but that allows it to slice. Slices a ripe tomato with ease. Metal will stain with water spots - not into the metal, but still.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 12, 2019
Relaxin
18
Apr 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When I received this knife it was sharp but could have been sharper. I used a blade guide sharpening aid and several stones in succession to set a much steeper bevel (Shapton 320, 1000, 2000, 5000.) I finished the edge on a 1micron and .5 micron balsa strip. It made a really nice edge. I also smoothed out the sharp corners of the spine a bit, especially around the pinch grip area. I've now used it for vegetable prep, opening lots of plastic bags, cut cardboard boxes and slicing pork and fish. After 5 months in a production environment I've had to tune the edge up lightly on a ceramic steel five times and polished the edge a bit on the balso strops twice. It's not a bad knife. I really like it. I've gotten used to the unique shape of the handle. I also like the transition from handle to blade. It feels very comfortable in a pinch grip. But because it's stainless it really matters how you treat the knife and how good your cutting techniques are.
Apr 10, 2019
CammyG
15
Dec 9, 2019
bookmark_border
That is surprising since it seems to be a QC issue on their end. Mine broke only a couple months after I got it I think, I was also part of the first group to order them.
Dec 9, 2019
Despoiler
46
Dec 10, 2019
bookmark_border
I was in the first group. It's not shocking there might be QC issues. That's usually the point of the first run is to find and fix issues. Massdrop was super quick to replace my knife. Good customer service on their part.
Dec 10, 2019
Normalcy
6
Feb 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have been an avid knife user and collector for a long time. I've owned everything from cheap stainless knives for camping that are more to take a beating, to gorgeous custom hand forged blades and swords. I know steel and I couldn't be happier with this knife. It came sharp enough that I didn't even bother touching it up and gets use almost daily without complaint. I have very large hands. For reference I can palm a 10-lb medicine ball, and I find the handle very comfortable and easy to manipulate. I'm mostly leaving this review to reinforce that at least some of these blades arrived exactly as advertised. Wonderful knife and I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
Feb 10, 2019
givison
0
Feb 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's the first nice chef's knife I've ever owned, and I'm glad I finally went for it. Chopping through big vegetables like butter is such a satisfying feeling. Haven't had much chance to use it so don't know how it'll hold up over time. But overall very sharp and easy to handle.
Feb 7, 2019
Mgtfdv
8
Feb 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It was acceptable while using it, not quite worth the price and came blunt. It has been treated very well and cared for only to completely snap during light chopping. This should not have happened at all.
Feb 5, 2019
CammyG
15
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
Keeping in mind that I'm a novice sharpener, I got it way sharper than the factory. I found this knife really easy to sharpen compared to my other kitchen knives
Dec 8, 2019
Lunaric
15
Feb 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not good at all.. As if there is no quality control.
Feb 5, 2019
WaltJ
0
Feb 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sharpens well and a pleasure to use.
Feb 1, 2019
Showing 17 of 87
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
87 OF 87 POSTS
Jan 21, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest