Acoustic Research AR-M20 Digital Audio Player

Acoustic Research AR-M20 Digital Audio Player

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1K requests
·
173 Sold
Product Description
The Acoustic Research AR-M20 combines the user-friendly interface of a smartphone with the features audiophiles want—all in a super light, slim package. This wireless-enabled music player can run the apps of popular streaming services, like Tidal and Spotify, and it also includes Bluetooth for connecting to external devices Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
23
check
60%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ManicNick
35
Dec 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great DAP
Player with a very juicy sound, with all the wireless buns and a large duration of work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Steve-Cast
58
Sep 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Superb Sound BUT…
Sound quality is amazing! Very powerful and detailed sound, with rich and well-defined bass, excellent mids presentation and crystal clear treble. Simply a beautiful and lush sound! The only reason why this is not 5 Stars is because of its software limitations and lack of support. The Android version is really outdated and won't play well with new Apps like Spotify, Deezer, etc. I would recommend looking somewhere else if these would be your source.  Now, if you're planning on using this with a Micro SD card and use Tidal from inside the AR Music Player PRO (included on the 1.6 update version) then this DAP is an EXCELLENT choice! 
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ibereka
14
Apr 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid performer for what it is primarily intended to
The product feels and sounds great. is it without a flows? not really though for the price it is surprisingly good. Despite being a little bit outdated in the DAC chip department, no complaint at all and in addition amp module is really solid supplying the player with enough clean power. I can not say a lot good things regarding its software solutions: both version of android and the music player itself. Very basic and with a lot of limitations to say the least. Anyway the major features of the player still suggests a strong value of the product that easily compensates its software shortcomings for the provided price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Vynz100
22
Apr 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A very good choice...
The sound is powerful (with Earsonic ES3 and Campfire Nova), the screen is beautiful... it's not supported now, but if you find the last update it's still a good choice!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Connor.R
9
Apr 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pass.
As a Tidal user, this thing is more trouble than it's worth. Errors are constant while streaming especially if you attempt to skip a portion of a track.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Blind_Pig
1
Nov 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not user friendly
I bought this thing for traveling abroad. I wanted to download music from spotify and use a micro SD with tons of music on it and not worry about having to go through an iTunes type platform. It came with outdated software that didn't have BT and the instructions didn't mention BT anywhere. I searched the web for info which said it DID have BT so I emailed and called AR customer service which was horrible and a joke at best. So leave it to YouTube where I found the fix. It showed me how to get around the "Google not supported" message when I tried to go on line through the device by downloading the update onto the micro SD, then inserting that into the device and updating it from there. Once I spent hrs of my life I'll never get back getting the thing updated, the BT worked, I could download spotify, BUT my music on the micro SD says it's in a format that can't be read.😡 At this point, thanks to spotify, I use it just for spotify...otherwise I would have smashed it with a hammer!
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
CraigL
14
Jul 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The sound is outstanding but great hardware with terrible, awful, almost unusable software is just no fun to use. Want to do something as simple as make a playlist? Good luck, because you can't. I have to reboot this thing 4 times a day and don't forget the random full volume bursts. And yes, it's been updated (another nightmare in itself) but it still crashes constantly. The AR website is useless, I mean it literally doesn't work at all. Looks great, sounds great, more than frustrating to use.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
elf1969
0
May 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am satisfied with the rich sound and the well-made hardware, compared to the frustrating sound of a smartphone and other DAP.
ma1980
11
Apr 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The sound is absolutely deligtfull,crisp,very clear and detailed ; bass reach,mids and highs well represented. I love,the sound, so much,that I will keep it,even  I have a firmware problem, looks like,yes I have latest,v1.6.0. My problem is : when I turn on the item,it does not starts to play immediately,I have to wait 10 min,with the song paused,and after I turn again the,AR-M20 On, by miracle I can hear sound ,in my IEMS,again,and that happens all the time,when I turn the item a full power. I reboot it,and I still have to wait the 10 minutes , before the dap it will start to give me any sound in my headphones.
Cike66
20
Apr 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very impressed with this DAP, amazing definition of a DSD player. Drives hd 650 with grace, very detailed, blown away with how real the music feels. A true piece of high end audio. Egberto Cubero
Showing 10 of 26
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
26 OF 26 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest