shopping_cart
AKG K181 DJ UE Reference Headphones – Flash Sale

AKG K181 DJ UE Reference Headphones – Flash Sale

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.6K requests
1.8k Sold
Product Description
Previous AKG offerings on Massdrop like the open-back K7XX and the closed-back K553 share a lot of great traits: both boast an expansive soundstage, bassy goodness, and a killer price-to-performance value. However, the large size of the headphones and their long stock cable make them unusable on the go Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
search
close
BlvPika
14
Aug 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's meh.
Good price for such sound quality but it's just uncomfortable. The clamping force is just way too much. Had to spend some time just stretching out the headband for it not to crush my head every time I wore it. Earcups felt stiffer and not as comfortable
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
rocketfueled
0
Dec 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid build, could take a beating. Not so comfortable for long sessions because of the earcups though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JonathanL
4
Apr 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Uncomfortable
Clamping force on the headphones were too much, sound signature very bass heavy.
die7go
0
Nov 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing
one of my favorite pairs of headphones. The fit is a bit tight but if you replace the ear pads with ones that go around your ears instead of sitting on top of them, they become significantly more comfortable
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RENERIZE
0
Nov 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loving these set of cans
Great light weight great sounding able to take whatever sounds I throw at it and they deliver. Love how portable they are. How they fit has to get a bit of gettin used to though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Kerry_Maxwell
159
Apr 25, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The official headphone of the Spanish Inquisition. I forgot I even had these in my drawer, but busted them out to see if the pain I remembered was just a nightmare I had. These induce almost instant agony on my ears, which is a shame because they sound half-decent. I have a large head (size 8+) so these might be bearable for those with smaller craniums and less nerve endings in the ears, and/ or masochists. I cannibalized the cord for another pair of AKGs, so I upped the rating one star.
JJDeviloper
190
Jan 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For the price, you get one of AKG's best closed back headphones. Only downside is that they are on ear, not over ear. For the price these usually drop for, they are difficult to beat. And the bass boost is fun, and sounds great for bassheads or songs that sound better with more bass. The only more popular AKG closed back is probably the K550/K553, well beyond the price of this model. The build quality is also decent, with good quality plastic.
yeah_cheddar
1
Jan 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really uncomfortable during long sessions, the tightness was likely the reason, they have a high clamping force, made the tips of my ears hurt after a while . One of the ear outputs stopped working about 5 months in. Audio quality was great, did use them pretty frequently and traveled with them a lot.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These have very good sound and good value for the price. I like the separate bass control on each earphone if you were to use these for mixing but my biggest complaint and key for me is that out of 25 pairs of headphones these have the strongest clamping force and that's a huge drawback for me. *** Update*** I decided to attempt to remove the clamping force which I did manage to make them much more tolerable. I put them on a short 8 inch headphone block for a week, this worked for about 40 minutes until full clamp came back. I then redid this a month later on the same block and I let them sit for two weeks. I then opened them fully and stretched them to their limit by putting them separated on a 10 inch spaced bookshelf where they were fully spread and left them for a 5 days. After testing them they are 85% corrected and wore them for 4 hours and felt a minimal clamp return so I now returned them back to the bookshelf for another 2-3 days. It's worth the effort instead of man handling them and possibly breaking the outer plastic headband cover.
(Edited)
marek.grz.82
0
Jul 23, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Słuchawki są ciasne i głowa boli. Dźwięk jest świetny, wykonanie bardzo solidne.
Showing 10 of 27
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
27 OF 27 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest