shopping_cart
Audioengine D3 Portable DAC/Amp

Audioengine D3 Portable DAC/Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.4K requests
825 Sold
Product Description
Powered by USB, stocked with high-quality components, and small enough to slip in your pocket, the Audioengine D3 DAC/amp gives you a tiny attachment that vastly expands your computer’s output. After plugging in through the USB input, the D3 bypasses your computer’s sound card in favor of a superior processing system Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
35
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Tocotronic
26
Feb 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Game-changer
This little DAC/Amp from AudioEngine is a total game-changer! Once you drive your headphones over this little audio miracle, it changes completely the sound quality compared to simply plugging the headphone in the standard audio output of a computer. The soundstage becomes realistic, all of a sudden there is bass, there are mids, there is treble, instead of the "washed-down" low-quality audio sound of most computers or laptops (and it even improves significantly the sound quality on more mature computers, such as an iMac). For the price, this product is a revelation. I don't know how this device performs compared to other well-known USB DAC/Amps like for example the AudioQuest DragonFly, but it is absolutely with the money it was sold for on Drop. Inspired by the unexpected and amazing result, I purchased also another DCA/Amp on Drop, the Zorloo ZuperDAC-S - but the performance of the AudioEngine is far superior to Zorloo's, without any comparison. Usage is very simple and straightforward also - just plug it in, and it is automatically recognized by the operating system - at least on my work laptop running under Windows10, and on my iMac at home. In both systems, the D3 bypasses the built-in speakers, and the volume level can then directly be set by the system control (the little loudspeaker symbol or the respective keys on the keyboard in the case of the iMac for example). Summarizing, an amazing little piece of audio upgrade that I warmly recommend to everybody interested in upgrading immensely the audio quality of their computer.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
andresmoreira
0
Sep 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I loved this DAC
i owned this DAC for 2 years and it was flawless. Unfortunately it was stolen with my bag, I’m looking to get it again
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sitomanvoy
68
Sep 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Great and cheap way to improve your sound in the way, specially if you need something to use at work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kuskus
8
Sep 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
nice portable DAC
very very useful, well balanced sound so purchased 2
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Belovedbearking
4
May 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A good portable DAC/amp for the price
I have found The Audioengine D3 portable DAC/amp really elevates sound quality for reasonable price. It’s not as good as my Dragonfly Red, both in general and that it wouldn’t work with my iPhone, which is my only complaint. But works wonders for my laptop both on the road and at work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Brmbrmduc
1
May 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome little device with enough power to drive my DT990 Pros and HE4XXs.
They also add some soundstage and overall clarity to my Shure SE215 compared to standard onboard sound card of my laptop (yeah I know). The only con, if I had to mention one, would be that it can get quite hot.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
D.Walker
64
May 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simple And Excellent
My laptop has a headphone out, but this just sounds better and couldn't be simpler to use.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Charlesgpr
96
Apr 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cant really tell the difference, but its compact and adds an audiojack to my computer which Is what I needed
Tsachi
11
Apr 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not bad for the price. Need low impedance phones
For the price, it sounds not bad at all. Just make sure your headphones are low impedance. With my HD6XX it has not enough power. So I'm using it at work with my Panasonic headphones to make them sound better.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Rhunic
8
Apr 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent
I have no other thumb-drive-esk DACs to compare this against, so I can't say how it compares to anything else in it's category. That being said, it's significantly better than the built in headphone jack on my laptop. I can also attest to its resilience as I accidently put it through a wash/dry cycle, and it still works. I'm pretty sure that similar or better could be had for the same of lower price though.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 47
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
47 OF 47 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order