Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium Limited-Edition Black

Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium Limited-Edition Black

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.2K requests
23 Sold
Product Description
Handcrafted in Germany, this special edition of the DT990 Premium improves upon the original with an updated headband and end pieces, plus a sleek all-black colorway and a hard-shell carrying case. The build quality is second to none, and the detail and soundstage are among the best available at this price point Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
WizardsofZen
6
Dec 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow!!
Running these with the Schiit Magni
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Scopez
6
Nov 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds great, bent headband.
This pair was shipped to me with a bent headband and eventually the adjustment was so loose that they would fall off my head. Still sound great but I cant wear them after over a year.
TheRequiem
204
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
These punch way above their price in sound signature and weight. Heavily Recommended.
Kuesa
34
May 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable and Great Sound
These headphones look and sound great. Very pronounced highs (you can hear individual guitar strings being strummed). Bass is also pretty nice, in games like Valorant the gun sounds really pop out. I can drive the 250ohm versions with just my DAC, which is nice. In terms of comfort, I can wear them all day. I was using DT770 Pros before this, and they were about as comfortable, for reference. The headband on the 770s was nicer, but this headband is fine. I wish, of course, that there was a detachable cable, but I guess that is the only downside. Some people say these headphones are pretty sibilant but I haven't heard that so far. I haven't owned these long enough to determine how easy it is to clean the pads, so that might also be something to consider.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
VALAISE
77
May 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A ton of treble, "fixed" with new pads, and comfier, too, afterward
I'm not really good at picking apart the fine details of sound, but darn these things have high treble. After swapping the stock pads with some brainwavz oval hybrids I had kicking around, it brought it to a listenable level. And I mean that in earnest, I couldn't even use these things to listen to music before padswapping! Not trying to hate on the treble heavy sound signature, it just genuinely hurt my ears. Maybe I'm sensitive, I don't know, but that's my experience at the very least. But hey, these pads bring it to a more neutral sound, even if it sound like it's muffling by just a tiny bit. More comfortable with different pads, too, regardless. Headband is nice and soft, clamping isn't bad at all (my head's pretty large, I've been told.) The comfort rating with stock pads? I'd say 3/5. But with the brainwavz oval hybrid pads, it's bumped up to a 4.5/5, really. Genuinely. Sound quality is pretty good anyways, would recommend some kind of amplifier/power source to drive 'em, etc etc. I don't really have much more to say in that regard. Build quality? I mean, I pretty much just got these, but they feel solid. Like, REALLY solid! Sort of rubbery texture on the outside grates, which I like. A lot of what I think is metal around on everything, too. Headband's quality is also on point as mentioned above. My only concern in this field is the adjusters. They don't really feel all too clicky/smooth, more... grindy, like there's not much of a groove for the adjuster to go into. Or something. Oh, it wobbles a bit too. Which is nice for earpad positioning, but feels kind of weak when I'm forcing the cups to go up or down with my hands. Comparatively to my DT880 32 OHMs edition, the actual cord has a bit of rubberized texture to it, too, on the 990s in this review. The 880s have a slick, plastic feel to the cord, unlike these. Don't think I have much else to say about these cans. Was a bit expensive, but they're pretty decent anyways. I like 'em, I like the look and feel of 'em. If you wanna put another $30/$60/whatever into them for actual listenable sound (again, just my opinion,) I'd say yeah. But if you're looking for a better initial product, I'd try the 880s. Their sound signature is a lot more friendly than this one. And, hey, there's always parametric EQ!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
notthatnathan
3
May 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I share their opinion
Classical just the way I like it. The mids are light, which makes violins, etc., more delicate. I don't find the treble overbearing at all. And this is the most comfortable pair I've ever tried.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Storm345931
1
May 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
BEst gaming headphones
Love them for gaming
JuanR
13
Apr 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The wrong headphones
I ordered DT990 600ohm headphone but was sent the wrong ones. Drop sent me 880 250ohm ones.
Rowdy2026
438
May 7, 2020
Who are you arguing with? Look, I’ll ignore your novel length babble to inform you (once again) you’re commenting about it in the wrong section....it really does take some getting through with some people.
search

Kstevens
1
May 8, 2020
If you know how their customer service works they are actually really good
PapaNoel3
28
Jul 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sibilant
I have a Darkvoice 336SE. I got these because I have some vintage tubes that were giving be some issues with buzz using my HD6xx, Sony MDR-1A, One More Triple Driver, and Koss Porta Pro's headphones. I love the sound of the vintage tubes but at quiet parts of songs the buzz was bothersome. I thought 600ohm headphones may eliminate the buzz. It worked, no buzz when using the 600ohm DT 990's. The problem is I hate the sound signature of the DT990's. Headphone is sibilant on my Darkvoice and my Schiit Jotunheim. Much prefer all my other headphones. If you like or love the sound signature of the HD6XX i would stay away from the DT990's
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
mindhead1
562
Apr 6, 2020
I second this opinion.
J_December_why
468
Apr 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
DT990 600 ohms: it is a top headphone, period. It is very revealing. This is one of the few that somehow makes Youtube sound better, not to HiFi level but improves Youtube listening and everything else as well. It will need an amp.
SpaceViking
8
Jun 2, 2019
Thank you for the review. I'm on a fence on getting these. Would you happen to know what the measurements are for the inner part of the ear pads? I have big ears!
Showing 29 of 70
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
70 OF 70 POSTS
Jun 14, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest