Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Dekoni Blue by Fostex Planar-Magnetic Headphones
$199
$250

Dekoni Blue by Fostex Planar-Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
$199
$250
1.1k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
199
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
Dekoni Audio Headphone Savior Case V2
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
129
check
89%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
B_to_tha_C
48
Dec 28, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Believe the hype :)
As I'm here chillin to the smooth sound of the D-Blues, I figured it's as good an opportunity as any to share some feedback. I would start by stating that I first heard a friend's set a few years ago and they left an immediate impression that never went away. And I recall my very first thought was - wow, they look.. different (in sort of a confused way). But then I put them on, plugged into a decent dac/amp and began smiling as soon as I felt that impressive bass whilst also noting a fairly balanced presentation throughout. Skip fwd a few years and I was a little disappointed with the lack of extra pads (incidentally, borrowed those back then which influenced a number of subsequent Dekoni pad purchases for my fostex x00-PH, meze 99, etc). That said, it's on me for not buying these sooner so, my bad. But the stock inclusions are fantastic so, moving on. I'm also using a leftover braided V-Moda cable (Argon suggested and I agree it works well). That said, these are power hungry so I'm also using dac/amp dongles (Hidizs s3-pro & ifi ka3 are both just up to the challenge & and using a Hidizs player as I type). Otherwise, the included 1/4" will be good with my desktop stacks. Build quality is the only question due to other's feedback on the subject but that friend I mentioned still has them and going strong despite having also custom modded with 3D printed cups among other things so guess we'll see.. Not much I can say about sound not already said but, to my ears: Separation - decent. Soundstage - decent. Bass - very good. 'Felt' in the lower regions without overpowering anything. And punchy as well. Vocals - can be ever so slightly recessed at times if being critical but no complaints. Just an observation when comparing against others (hd6xx for eg being more fwd in that regard). Treble - on point. Instruments such as cymbals can be heard clearly but never piercing. Smooth. How I like it. These are really easy to listen to with a variety of genres but definitely fall into their zone with hip hop, pop, edm, etc. But I've listened to Jimi, Aretha, Marvin, James, Outcast, J. Cole, etc. today and all sounded good. If anything, the bass steps up when called upon but hangs back when not required. Comfort - I'm enjoying them, as is. But I can understand why one might want to upgrade the headband with the strap mod for just a little more comfort on top. For my large head there's the perfect amount of squeeze to keep them steady without over clamping. Tldr; they're comfy, fairly light for the size, sound great with a bass bump that doesn't over power the rest and priced quite reasonably for what you're getting. If you like Fostex th-x00 or Senn hd6xx, you should enjoy these. Side note: I would rate these a 4.5 overall but gave a 5 because they're more of a 5 than 4 in my opinion.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dmailhot82
3
Dec 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun pair of headphones
Love the pads, love the tuning, glad I finally added these to my collection
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MikeAJ
3
Nov 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Audio intermittently cuts out after 6 months
As others have stated in their reviews, after a few months of use I also started getting audio clipping. After messaging their customer service rep on Dekonis forum site, Sam Roney, who I believe is their head honcho, emailed to send in the Dekoni Blues and they would send a replacement as they didn't repair them, but only did swaps. I had to send him a couple emails after just to get Rma instructions including the address on where to send the headphones. In return I received a weird email with information not even related to the issue, but fortunately it did have the returns department shipping address, so shipped them last week. Yesterday I got a response email from Sam stating "Our engineer has looked them over and problem was caused by user error (Cable was pulled from the headphone, which cause PCB to be unseated). To continue with the out of warranty repair, the charge will be $140 dollars"... This was not the case. The cord was not pulled and the cans were handled with care the short time I used them. This is frustrating as I just wanted a change of pace to my old reliable hd600 which I've had since the early 2000's without major issue. Guess I'll stay with what works.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
ThePhxRises
7
Nov 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Planar Bass
Beyond comfortable, great treble response, good mids, and bass you can feel. I'm not a basshead, and generally like neutral sound, but I find myself enjoying these perhaps too much. Only thing they lack is soundstage, which is still acceptable, but they do have good imaging.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
KwijteHenk
7
Nov 8, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
NO WARRANTY
Decent sound quality and fun bassy headphones, however. after 2-3 months owning these the small cable on the left earcuff broke inside the husk my sound is constantly cutting out, despite me almost never adjusting the hight of the headphones. I mail Drop.com, they tell me there is NO WARRANTY and nothing they can do to help me, except direct me to some fan page. then I contact Dekoni directly, just to ask what my best options would be to fix my headphones AND THEY DON'T EVEN RESPOND.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
JLyle
2
Oct 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Numero Uno
By far, my favorite cans. The cushions and headband feel amazing. The sound is top notch. The locking cable is primo and the color is rad. No complaints from me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Silverado69
0
Sep 28, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pleasantly surprised
These are really good (fun) sounding cans. Not great at anything but they certainly punch above their price point. Won't hesitate to throw them in a bag to travel with or use during work. Definitely won't replace my Audio Technica ATH-AWAS but could replace the ATH-A990Z's at my desk. Not as comfortable as the AT's for long listening sessions though. They do require some serious power to drive them. A dongle DAC isn't gonna cut it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
TacoThief
5
Sep 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These sound great and feel great just a little hard to drive. Cable is decently long even though I like shorter cables. Update: after one month the wire on the right started to cut out if moved even slightly.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Tshoe77
0
Jul 24, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My first good headphones
Got these on a whim a few weeks ago along with the O2 standard gain amplifier. As others have said, they're a bit hard to drive so make sure you get an amp that's up to it. These are my only point of reference for audiophile headphones right now, but my god. Going from "gaming" headsets to a legitimate pair of cans is incredible. The clarity and separation you get is just incredible. I'm told these particular headphones were fairly warm and plenty good with bass and I agree. They sound fantastic on my computer and when hooked up to the record player. Highly recommend these just have a good amp!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TRNFloyd
1
Jun 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones, super comfy.....
I really like these. I REALLY like these. I cannot state enough how much I like these headphones. They're comfy, they're basically what I was looking for, and I would definitely recommend them to people. I actually almost bought a second pair after I got them just in case anything happened to the first pair. Which I should have done. This is where the 1 star fall off of a perfect 5 stars comes in. Recently I've been having problems with the audio not entering the cups. Found out that the wires that stick out must be loose. I've basically had to take a twist tie and tie the wires around just to get both cups to output audio. Very sad times. When it works, it works freaking well, but every time I put them on now it's hit or miss, mostly miss, if audio is only coming out one side. Heck, the wire on the other side has also played a factor into whether or not any audio is coming out. It's sad that this has happened. I've considered bringing them to my local music shop to see if they might be able to repair them or not. Worse case I crack them open myself and try to fix it or send them back in via snail mail to maybe RMA them.. Either one leaves me with no headphones to use in the mean time so I'm kind of stuck looking for a new pair of headphones to replace these.. Would still recommend them to my friends though. Absolutely great headphones and I'd like to think I'm an outlier when it comes to problems with them. Edit: As I have stuff to repair them, I might actually be able to fix my problem. Taking a look at the head band and removing the ear padding, it looks like its fairly accessible to get to the internals to fix any loose wires. It might be better to just RMA them for most people, but if that's not a possibility its good to know that they might be repairable from my end. Will update later with any changes that have happened.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 180
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
180 OF 180 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order