Topping D30 DAC

Topping D30 DAC

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.7K requests
576 Sold
Ready to ship
Product Description
Praised on Head-Fi as a great value DAC to build a system around, the Topping D30 is easy to use and easy to love. It features the highly regarded Cirrus Logic CS4398 DAC chip—along with WIMA, EPCOS, and Nichicon FW capacitors and the OPA2134 high-fidelity opamp—and supports DSD64, DSD128, and PCM formats up to 24 bit/192 kHz Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
32
search
close
dropquestion
9
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clean sound. Good value. Not much else to it.
johano
0
Aug 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Died
Worked fine until it didn’t work at all
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
sle5_rspp
25
Jul 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, build quality and connectivity
This DAC sounds great and is very solidly put together. I was expecting that, given other reviews. The added bonus was how well this connects to all my computers. I have an older DAC that sounds great, but can be temperamental with connecting to my computers, especially when I keep switching it around between my laptop, desktop etc. This D30 has no issue whatsoever, in exactly the same setup. I’m really pleased with it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FireCharge
190
Dec 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth the money, but also isn't.
Bear with me here, it's a great DAC but there's a catch to the worth of the D30. I've owned the 30 stack from Topping for the past year. Other than being a drop product with the actual product shipped caveats, there were no issues whatsoever (Drop shipped me a US version of both the DAC and amp power bricks, now for the DAC it would be easy enough to find another, but as they both feature 220V/110V and 50-60hz I just plugged them into adapters. P.S. I couldn't really find an adapter for the A30, that power plug is so weird). For what it's worth, that 95 bucks for each of them is a pretty decent deal. I really enjoy the stack, I've been using a pair of DT 1990 Pros and Meze 99 Noirs, also Tin T2s and NuForce EDC and been loving every second. The only downside to the DAC is that drop doesn't feature it in black. Now, to the actual point - why should you NOT get this? If you're looking just for a DAC and already have an amp, this is a great product in my opinion, for the price. If you don't, however, you'll probably be looking to get the A30 alongside it because they're sort of supposed to compliment each other as a stack, and while they do, Topping has the DX3 Pro (which also got a revised LDAC version), which as far as I can tell is pretty much identical in terms of quality, plus it has Bluetooth, an extra coaxial port and a much easier to deal with power supply. Sadly I didn't do enough research when I bought my stack (bought it after I got the Beyers and my E10K couldn't really cope with those at all)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kris.skjordal
52
Dec 18, 2019
It is possible to get Topping D30 in black.
Aglex
5
Jan 29, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought the A30 headphone amp. Used with Sennheiser HD650's and the Grace SDAC. Great value for money, would recommend to all. As noted elsewhere, the power supply makeoff - DIN into the amp - isn't the most robust out there, and is pretty much the only thing that lets the overall build quality down. Been wondering about the Burson opamp upgrade for a while, grabbed some on the recent Massdrop. Installed this afternoon. Now, in the big picture, keep in mind this is US$100 piece of kit. Before the upgrade, I rate the A30 at Value for money: 4.8/5 (ie if you need an headamp, just buy it! ;) Overall sound quality: 4/5 (solid bass and mids, a little edgy at the top end, reasonable sound stage).   I was, TBH, dubious as to how much improvement could be wrung from opamps costing 50% of the original purchase - does the combo really (remain) competitive at the (my cost) US$150 price point? I'm sitting here listening to the upgrade now - having spent the afternoon swapping between the original and Burson opamps. The upgrade doesn't knock your socks off: the amp still does all the good things it did before. But it does them better. And it has vastly fewer "weak points". Bass "slam" and definition are significantly improved: the bass line and drums on Dire Straits - When It Comes To You - now "drives" beautifully (and I'm a bass-head...) - well defined, tuneful -heck, this is the old Naim "Pace, Rhythm and Timing" to a tee. On a "big" system, I'd equate it to upgrading a 50 WPC amp to a 200 WPC from the same brand: everything sounds the same but.. - not louder, just waaaay more controlled. At the same time it's not sterile - just a little laid back. The midrange has opened up a little but is still very much the same. "Ambience" / soundstage are much the same on my kit. Then there's the treble. Wow. Just. Wow. 95% of sibilance is gone, the treble by comparison is now seamless c.f. the mids - and extended. The HD650's aren't the most revealing of headphones - in my opinion, they have too much of the "Sennheiser house sound" for that - but (keeping in mind 50 yr old ears!) this is both the most extended and seamless treble I've ever heard from any Senn's in 34 years of ownership (1985: HD540 Reference II's).   Summary: The upgrade results in a slightly more "laid back" sound over the original opamps, probably due at least in part to the reduction of sibilance in the treble and more apparent control. Sound overall is significantly more controlled, great bass and just "sounds bigger". The best thing I can say about the Burson upgrade is: knowing what I do now, I'd spend the money again in an instant. Value for money on the combo is around 4.5/5 - but the sound quality improvement - also now around 4.5/5 overall - more than justifies the expenditure in my book. If you already own an A30, this is, in my opinion, an outstanding upgrade.
theupandcoming
114
Dec 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought the PA3 and have been enjoying it. Good little amp. The cord on the power brick is not very robust, kind of thin, but it has been powering two old Boston Acoustics bookshelf speakers for me at work quite admirably.
Sir_Frigorifero
1
Dec 20, 2018
too bad the PA3 has a quite notable hiss that comes as a floor noise, probably given by its high gain. In a setup close to the ears it is easily hearable from 3 feet with no source playing. past this issue the amp sounds crispy and very dynamic
theupandcoming
114
Dec 20, 2018
Not a problem for me.
mcdeans
21
Dec 1, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have a USB audio interface that routes to this thing which then outputs to my headphones AND speakers. The fact that I can use both a single pair of headphones and speakers simultaneously is a huge plus. My AKG K550 mkII headphones work great for professional work, I swear they're reaching their full spectrum with this thing. My ATH-M50x also work well and music is excellent with this thing. It's also breathes new life into my old speakers, which I did not think was possible. Recommend if you have a particular setup/use-case like I do.
Manbear
236
Nov 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only DAC that I’ll ever need. The D30 provides fantastic, clean sound without “getting in the way.” I prefer this to Schiit Modi MB at less than half the price.
PandLantis
7
Oct 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Could not for the life of me get the USB drivers to work properly, otherwise I use the Optical input and it sounds lovely through the H4XXs I bought as well! ;)
WebMDT
9
Oct 26, 2018
Fun...yeah essentially just became a very very expensive paperweight. In order to make it loud enough to make it usable, the gain is so high there is an audible hiss of distortion.
Dilda
121
Oct 27, 2018
Oh I thought we were talking exclusively about the DAC. I'm using a Magni 3 by Schiit. Highly recommend if you want an accurate detail providing amp. The amp is on the brighter side but I feel like it does just fine even up again the Asgard 2 which I've tried as well. All of Schiits amps are generally on the shinny side in sound. They are clean and affordable. The Topping D30 is more than exceptionally good for the money. If it ever breaks on me I will get a Schiit Modi Multibit instead though because I don't mind spending the extra cash.
hms.henet
10
Jul 22, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely great sounding DAC - pristine sound. The A 30 is a very capable amp and since I replaced the opamps with Burson V5i it became a significantly better and great amplifier.
Xsantana
1
Sep 10, 2018
Did you notice any significant changes? I have the d30 and I believe it is the best dac I tried. And I have tried many and more expensive. The A30 is said to be not that good. With that upgrade do you think, in therms of value, there are better options?
Thx
hms.henet
10
Sep 10, 2018
Personally I did like the sound of the A30 + Burson. But if you think in an under 200 dollars amp you would probably find another good deal. For pure power you may get the Schiit Magni 3 if you do not bother about its harsh metallic sound. The O2 is always a good starting point for half the price. One beautiful sounding amp and dac altogether is the XDuoo XD 05 and you can change the opamps too if you wish - here in MD you get this for about 170 dollars. One step up would be JDS Labs El Amp or The Element. Well then things may go crazy depending on which headphone you want to harmonize with an specific amp, Thats the beginning of the never-ending saga of our hobby. Then tubes, hybrids, etc... You count
Showing 27 of 63
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
63 OF 63 POSTS
Jun 18, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest