shopping_cart
Drop + Terzuola Cyrus Persian Folding Knife

Drop + Terzuola Cyrus Persian Folding Knife

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
178 requests
425 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Our second collaboration with Bob Terzuola—known as the godfather of the tactical folder—the Cyrus takes its name from Cyrus the Great, the founder of the first Persian Empire. Based on Terzuola’s custom design, our version is about 1.8 inches shorter to save pocket space Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
32
check
93%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
jxliu
1028
Engineer
Nov 28, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My new favorite
search
I'm not really a knife guy, but I do own a few of our knives (Terzuola CTF, Dew Hara Kabuto, Eric Ochs Orca) and I'm a mech keys guy, so I appreciate gear that looks good and feels good in the hand. I love the way light dances off the satin finish of the triple-bevel blade. When the light hits the blade at just the right angle, it really sets off the Terzuola logo. I tried to capture that angle in the photo below but it's pretty hard to capture in a photo. The smooth, rounded scales feel great in the hand. The detent is just right for a satisfying flip for me—heavier than my CTF, lighter than my Orca. I'm very happy with the way this knife turned out. My Cyrus has supplanted my Orca as my favorite knife in my small, but growing collection.
search

search

search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jean-da-bear
30
Nov 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My CF Persian just arrived (out of the blue – the proprietary tracking function referenced in Drop’s ‘just shipped’ email never worked), and I’m freakin’ stunned by what Bob Terzuola and WE hath wrought. This is a 7.6” piece of functional jewelry! First of all, it hits every one of the usual check-offs on the nose – smooth & snappy deployment, solid lockup, perfect centering, and immaculate finish – though I’ve come to expect all of that from WE, from past experience. But ‘wait, there’s more!’ I also love the peacock-blue anodizing on the titanium liners and pocket clip. The marbled CF handle scales absolutely glow, and are perfectly contoured, something I didn’t expect from the photos; there, all the scales, of whatever material, look flat.   The other thing I didn’t anticipate, from either the layout snaps or the Specs, was the literalness – and the impact – of that grind description as ‘triple-bevel hollow grind.’ It’s usually hard to appreciate the difference between flat grinds and hollow ones in pictures of stonewashed blades, but even the image of the satin-finish on the CF version shows clearly only the hollow grind on the main bevel. But when it’s in your hand and moving, the hollow curve in each of those three bevels catches any available light, and the whole glitters evilly like the favorite working tool of the Hashasheen! All in all, the best Terzuola collaboration yet, and well worth both the price and the wait. If this drops again, I highly recommend paying the premium for the CF version, unless you’re in love with Micarta for some reason.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Morrowind542
127
Dec 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing Piece With Some Glaring Flaws
Appearance: 4.5/5 This knife is truly beautiful. I got the carbon fiber version, and I’m very happy I did. The CF has an awesome 3D effect, where you can see parts are at different depths in the material without it having the layered look most CF has. The blue anodized liners and clip look fantastic with it, as does the satin finish on the blade. One interesting decision that was made was to put the custom pivot on the back side instead of the show side; I’m not sure why this was done. Blade: 3.5/5 I’m really not sure how to grade this blade, because in some respects it is fantastic. The swept tip is way more practical than I had expected, being great for pretty much every task I’ve used it for. It has a wonderful hollow grind that allows it to come to a pretty fine edge with a great point. And I’m not 100% sure, but it feels like the S35 has been made slightly harder than I’m used to, leading to longer edge retention. This might be luck of the draw, though, as makers typically give a +/- 2 hrc range Unfortunately, the blade is ridiculously thick, at 4mm. There is no reason for blade stock this thick on this knife. This isn’t a beater knife; it’s not a hard use piece, and you aren’t going to be taking it out into the woods for battoning through logs. This is a fairly light use pocket knife for everyday tasks. I wouldn’t be making that big of a deal out of it except that making the blade this thick means the gap in the scales under the blade is equally thick. I haven’t been cut through this gap yet, but I have felt the blade contact my finger when it closes, and I think it may be a danger to anyone with smaller hands. Ergonomics: 4/5 Great ergonomics overall. The rounded scales fill the hand quite well, and the clip is hardly noticeable relative to most other knives. The only problem I have with it is that it’s kinda small for my hands; I think this would be a better knife overall at 3.5 inches rather than the 3.3 it currently is. However, part of the reason it fits so well in the hands is that it is pretty thick. This means that it fills the hands quite nicely, but it fills the pocket equally well. The clip is also not particularly deep carry. It carries fine in the pocket for me, but that probably won’t be the case for those with smaller pockets. Action: 5/5 This knife has the best action of any knife I own, with the possible exception of my Tashi Bharucha Prism. It is absolutely fantastic, and blows all my other WE knives out of the water. After taking it apart and lubing it up, it drops shut beautifully. Maybe I just got absurdly lucky and got one of the best ones on the quality bell curve, but I hope all of them are like this Fit and Finish: 5/5 Excellent fit and finish, even by WE knife standards. Everything is beautifully chamfered, and there is exactly one sharp edge on the knife Price: 2.5/5 $200 is an ok price; at this price I would have liked to see M390 or RWL34(I’m a sucker for RWL34). I feel like the pre-order price of $160 was a much more reasonable price for it in S35. There could be good reasons for the price; for instance, maybe they stepped up the quality control so that all of the shipped knives are as good as mine, or maybe the swept tip design means more wasted material. As it stands, the value proposition compared to other knives is on the lower side, about on par with Spyderco, and I would not be buying it had I not gotten it with the pre-order discount. YMMV.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Toucan
63
Dec 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought it for its looks
What I love
  • - The way it looks. I love trailing point, the flowing lines and the overall proportions. Hollow ground satin blade on mine nice, shiny and symmetrical!
  • - The carbon fiber handle scales are quality and they are subtly contoured for comfort. Anodized blue titanium liners and clip pop (got steel insert subtly hidden inside). Flipper tab is unobtrusive and flips nice.
  • - Quality construction from WE Knife is top notch
  • - No Massdrop logo on blade, new Drop logo on pivot now. Much better.

What could be better
  • - Bigger would be better but that is a personal preference. At 3.3" blade length, its pocket friendly but I would have liked something bigger that rivals the 4" Benchmade Bedlam or the 4" Cold Steel Talwar. A trailing point blade needs to be manly size and this one just, well, leaves me with blade size envy.
  • - 4mm blade stock is a bit thick for its 3.3" length but did I say I bought it for its looks? Yes I did. Its hollow ground and looks nice and shiny.
  • - My box arrived crushed. Again. Like every one of my Drop knife boxes.

What I hate
  • - DROP pricing tactics. They said that the time limited pre-order price was $160 back in early July and that the regular price would be $200 once inventory was in. Guess what "sale" price it is at right now (27 Dec)? $160. So I ended up funding DROP's working cash flow for 5 months again. Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice? Actually DROP fooled me many times over already. I wait for inventory to be in stock and on sale before I buy now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Rabidwargamer
9
Nov 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very satisfied with this knife.
Got my Cyrus the other day and I'm really enjoying the knife. The blade flips out very smoothly and easily with no discernible wiggle in the blade. The scales seem a bit thicker on mine than the prototype and other pictures I've seen of the knife. The scales on mine are also slightly rounded instead of flat. No issues with this, merely an observation. Scales are a bit slick, so I'd be mindful during hard use.
search
The clip is very tight on my pocket, so it's not going anywhere without a bit of effort. It sits pretty low in my pocket. A lanyard hole might be useful, but I can pull it out easily enough using my middle finger on the curved section on the handle.
search
The knife is a great mix of looks and practicality. Overall, very satisfied with the Drop + Terzuola Persian Folder.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
bsanchez
5
Nov 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding Impression
I have been very excited for this knife since I preordered it. I will say, this knife has exceeded every expectation I had. First impression was “Wow, I love this color combination!” (Maroon). Next, when I pressed the tab, the blade effortlessly glided open and had such a satisfying “click” into place. The Persian style is awesome and the stainless steel feels so premium and smooth to the touch it’s unreal. Overall I am enjoying this product very much and will use as everyday carry.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Elbert
2559
Nov 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Visually striking
The marbled carbon fiber looks fantastic. It's smooth and probably wouldn't provide the best grip, especially when wet, but this knife is more of a novelty piece for me anyway. The blue titanium liners and color-matched pocket clip on mine have a slight iridescent sheen that I really like, whether or not it was intentional. The satin finish on the blade looks great. The blade grind appears even as far as I can tell. The detent isn't too strong. The blade is centered. Nothing looks out of place.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ItsDarts
42
Nov 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Scales are not as pictured here but still a fantastic knife!
When I got it, I was very impressed with the overall build quality, blade action and sharpness out of the box. However, when I came here to write this review, I soon discovered that my scales are rounded, not flat with a small bevel. This isn’t an issue for me and I actually like it better, but I want to get the CF blade next. I’m not sure that would be as nice with rounded scales. So really, this should be a 5 star review because it’s so nice, but someone screwed up and we can’t let that go unnoticed. Anyone else notice this?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FlyinF
22
Jul 19, 2020
I don't know why anyone that has this knife wouldn't notice the curved scales I prefer them over flat scales, but you're correct ALL the pictures show this knife with flat scales and that's probably why my Natural Brown scaled knife is so washed out looking as another reviewer pointed out I'm sure over time the scales will darken but it really looks so different from pictures that it's like another color altogether.
Omniseed
1970
Jul 19, 2020
My Bradford G3S with micarta came with a note saying to touch up the handle with mineral oil if you want to restore the darker, less 'dry' look to it. Just a little dab rubbed in.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic knife
Feels great in the hand with a perfect action. A joy to flip, and the marbled carbon looks awesome.
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
s2m7r1
2
Feb 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fabulous. Such a great knife
The micarta has a weathered patina unlike the pictures but it looks fabuluos. The blade steel is one of my favs S35VN. I also love the bronzie details the clip and the overall metal part of the knife body. Extremely sexy knife. A show piece. Recently lost a knife fight with another Drop classic. Thought about loosing to this knife....glad 'it' wasn't this one. Those shone the Terzoula Cyrus Persian Folding KLnife have been completely impressed.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 45