shopping_cart
FX Audio TUBE-03MKII BT Tube Preamp & Headphone Amp

FX Audio TUBE-03MKII BT Tube Preamp & Headphone Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
30 requests
154 Sold
Product Description
Between your audio player and your headphones, several pieces of equipment can improve your sound. If you’re looking for signature tube warmth, you can get them all in one device: the TUBE-03MKII from FX Audio Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
25
check
60%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Chunkbot
0
Aug 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Came broken
Couldn't test it fully set up. Doa.
marcel54
2
Jun 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing
Thought it would end up to be a nice to have thing. Quite inexpensive. Bought separately same alternative tubes for just trying out. Instead it turn out te be a must have product and was worth the long time before and the following transit time. It brings a very different sound which each different tube and brought unexpected new life to my old Denon amplifier and Mission speakers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
arichworth
0
May 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
did not come with advertised tubes. no rca cables. 3 months wait
did not come with advertised tubes. no rca cables. 3 months wait
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Phinkes
0
May 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Arrived with a bad tube.
I ordered this because my Emotiva powered monitors are each stand-alone and have their own volume knobs. I just want to be able to control the volume with one knob. It also brings a headphone jack to my desk instead of on the laptop mounted under the desk. I am not sure how it sounds, because one of the 6K4 tubes they sent with the unit was cracked which caused it to lose vacuum. I ordered some replacements, upgrades really, to some Mullards/RTC 5654's so I hope they work out. I paid as much for the tubes as I paid for the whole unit! UPDATE: This thing sat in a desk drawer at work for months and I just went back to hauling my SMSL Sanskrit 10 between work and home. I forgot to bring the sanskrit 1 time and necessity dictated that the tube-03MKii come back out. I had replaced the tubes previously with those that I mentioned above, but using a 3.5mm to RCA splitter from the headphone out of my HP workbook to the input terminals of the tube amp sounded like actual shit. There was no mid-to-low bass, it was ALL treble, and it was offensive to my monitors to broadcast that quality of audio. It never occurred to me until this morning to try out the Bluetooth functionality of the unit. As soon as it paired up to my computer and I threw on some of that new Billie Eilish I found that I had been mistaken. Somewhat. The sanskrit still sounds way WAY better. But this is at least in the same ballpark. I guess before I was just running laptop 3.5mm headphone DAC directly into the tube amp and then out into the monitors. However, I DID try running, USB audio to the Sanskrit, rca from sanskrit to the tube-03MKii, then RCA to the monitors and that too sounded pretty shitty. In any case, if you want to have some placebo effect tube sound to a system that you also need to add Bluetooth to, you could likely STILL do better than this unit for the price. I mean, like most people on here have stated, it ships with the wrong tubes, mine personally took something like 3 months to show up, and it is really ONLY good for Bluetooth AFTER you upgrade to tubes that cost around the same as the whole unit itself. Bottom line, if I didn't just KNOW that a return would be a nightmare, I would not have messed around with this thing enough to get the around par level of sound quality that I finally AM getting. So don't order this piece of trash.
(Edited)
MayDay94
30
Apr 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks nice...but that’s about it
Arrive with bad tubes. I purchased GE 5654 replacements and tried those. Now the analog inputs work but nothing but noise from Bluetooth. Also bad static at low volume on either input. Trebble and bass controls work nice. Too much static and no Bluetooth. No bueno.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Fl1cO
0
Apr 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quite S**t
hard to say anything
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
PhanShei
21
Feb 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Value for money but DROP's description is inaccurate
Supposedly sent 5654 tubes but received other tubes. Supposedly include RCA cables but not included. The product is fine, able to play with bass and treble with the switches. Its also great for a amateur like me to experience the tube rolling. I am fully satisfied. They did offer refund so its fine for the customer service side. However, its not a great way to do business, making loss with such unnecessary mistake. They need to monitor closely on this aspect!
Tocotronic
26
Feb 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Works, but has some design flaws
Globally, this little headphone amplifier works quite well. The good point is that it has a DAC and a Bluetooth connection integrated, so instead of connecting your headphones to your cellphone, you can rather hook them up to a more powerful source. The Tube-03MKII pairs very easily with your cellphone and re-pairs again without any further intervention every time the amp is turned on. It looks quite nice and spreads a nice reddish glow around it that looks cool especially at night (I have put it on my nightstand to listen to music at night). The output power is decent, it is sufficient to drive moderately demanding headphones. The sound is ok, a nice, warm tube sound as it can be expected. The bass and treble adjusters are rather disturbing - I would have preferred not having them... Other than that, not so much to say sound-wise, ok without being top-notch, but I guess for price point rather good. The really negative point is the constant crackling noise that the amplifier transmits, and that is clearly audible when the music is in some more silent passages. I suppose this comes from the rather low quality of the Bluetooth interface - and unfortunately, there is no other input to the DAC than Bluetooth (like a USB connection for example), so if you want to use the DAC (and that is somehow the very reason or selling point of this headphone amp), Bluetooth it is, and crackling noise it is, too... To summarize, for the price point a decent sounding tube amp with integrated DAC and Bluetooth connection - but only really enjoyable if you mainly listen to loud music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
buddha2lotus
1
Jan 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice sounding
I have an earlier version of this and this sounds such as good. Very happy with this!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apocalypse81
1
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The hard part was finding a power supply that was long enough
I want to be as fair as possible... there appears to be a great deal of swap outs in this product. You have to buy new bulbs, new power supply if you want a longer cord, RCA cables (because the photo demonstrated there would be). I'm surprised there hasn't been a lawsuit for false advertisement here. It sucks to expect a complete package, and find that you get something less than that. As for the actual unit itself, it's not bad but not great either... it's hard to tell what value the tubes provide, if any. UPDATE: After buying all the stuff that I thought would be with the product upon delivery, it’s getting better. I can hear some static on the higher frequencies. I’ll keep listening and providing updates. UPDATE 2: After giving some burn time with the new GE 5654W tubes that I bought, the static on the edges appears to be subsiding. Currently, I'm swapping between the Grado RS2e and HD 6XX headphones (driven with a JDS Labs OL DAC) and I'm beginning to come around... I'm improving the rating to 4 stars and changing the recommendation to "Yes". I don't think I will go to 5 stars just because what was pictured when it was sold to me, and what was delivered to my home, were not the same. For the money used it was purchased with, this is not a bad headphone amplifier. The static appears to have left, but distortion does become apparent at high volumes on the high end but not enough to ruin the experience.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 25
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
25 OF 25 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order