Little Dot MKII Tube Headphone Amp
Little Dot MKII Tube Headphone Amp
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
677 Sold
Product Description
A great introduction to the world of tube headphone amplifiers, the Little Dot MKII is ideal for pairing with a desktop amp and can also function as a preamp to your speakers. It uses a single-ended push-pull OTL circuit operating in Class A, and delivers plenty of headroom and dynamic impact, along with a touch of tube warmth and tonal richness Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
25
search
JakeGrabowski
25
Apr 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Obviously every headphone addict should know that Tube Amps are designed for Headphones with high Impedance - perfectly 600 OHM - using it with below 100 OHM is abomination! This little dot is live changer if you love music and know how to use it. Check out this thread https://www.head-fi.org/threads/little-dot-tube-amps-vacuum-tube-rolling-guide.563884/
Apr 19, 2019
Drrragon
28
Aug 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This amp built very well but there is a hissing every since I open the box especially on the higher gain. I can barely use it with any headphone have impedance below 100 ohm, but this is good with other high impedance headphone. Would prefer it without the hissing tho.
Aug 2, 2018
Z0d1Ac
194
Jul 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comes packaged quite well, but for america is shipped by fedex which I do not like. Comes with included rca cable and quarter inch adapter and english manual. Not that large but does get hot. Finding matched aftermarket tubes can be a hassle and costly. I have no issues other than tube noise which is normal. Not bad amp, if it was a tiny bit cheaper.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fV_JpPL9FoI
Jul 20, 2018
chindokae
15
Jun 28, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When it works, it sounds good. Internally, however, the quality of the workmanship is very poor, and the design is faulty to the point of being dangerous. The high voltage AC leads from the transformer are only tack-soldered to the board. When I plugged in a pair of Bose Quiet Comfort 15 headphones, the full wave bridge rectifier partially burned out and the resultant overcurrent caused one high voltage AC lead to spontaneously desolder itself and ground out to the case, blowing the fuse. Apparently, it has to have a resistive load on the headphone jack or it blows up. This is not mentioned in the documentation I received. QC15 headphones have essentially no DC impedance. The amp sees that as an open circuit, and that causes an overcurrent of sufficient magnitude to destroy its rectifier. In a couple of decades of using and repairing tube equipment, I have NEVER seen any audio tube circuit designed in a such a way that having an open on the output could cause damage. Shorts circuits, sure. Open circuits, never.
The manufacturer has disappeared from the Internet, is not answering any emails to his eBay seller account (DavidZheZhe), and has disabled new user registration and all email functionality on his website (littledot-dot-net). There is no way to contact him, there is no way to obtain support, and therefore no warranty. The product has obviously never been evaluated by UL or TUV as there is no way it could past muster from a product safety standpoint.
Jun 28, 2018
A community member
Oct 30, 2018
bookmark_border
Nope, not guessing. I know for a fact that older models of the Bose QC headphones have a non-bypassable headphone amp. Hence, they are unusable when the battery is depleted. This was a common complaint about those models. So, on some subsequent QC models, Bose added the ability to bypass the amp to run passively when the battery is dead. But, the sound in this mode was degraded, as Bose used active EQ in their internal amp to compensate for the poor audio quality of the driver or driver/enclosure pairing. The only thing I'm speculating about is which model the OP owns, and the particular design of that model, as I'm not familiar with the more recent Bose QC cans. But it is a scientific fact based on specific knowledge that if you feed the output of one amplifier directly into the input of the Bose cans, without bypassing the internal amp, you will likely fry it. It is exactly analogous to connecting the speaker output of a power amplifier to a line-level input, just on a different scale. But I'm always fascinated by how the uninformed fabricate erroneous opinions out of thin air, completely without basis.
Oct 30, 2018
A community member
Oct 30, 2018
bookmark_border
Perhaps you should re-read again. I didn't claim to have communicated the science behind my statements. I simply said that my assertions we're "based upon" said knowledge. I don't have time to write a dissertation nor to teach you basic electronics. Now why don't you quit trolling and go contribute to our economy? And, when you do have time for recreation, I suggest that you expend some of that time discovering the truth for yourself. It might be a good learning experience for you to take a couple of your expensive amplifiers, connect the output of one to the input of the other, fire 'em up, and see what happens. It would bring joy to my heart to know that you embarked upon this educational endeavor and gleaned the valuable resultant lessons. Now, I am done replying to this thread. Adieu.
Oct 30, 2018
Brohammer619
11
May 30, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This little thing is fantastic. I upgraded to the JAN GE tubes and so far they sound fantastic. I’m using them with audio quest Nighthawk headphones and I did have to adjust the jumpers inside but once I got it dialed in it sounds phenomenal. Some people are saying that it does pick up interference, I did have to move my Wi-Fi router away from the amp that solves my buzzing issue.
May 30, 2018
DarkKratoz
34
May 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is my first tube amp, and I don't necessarily have the best headphones for tubes (efficient planars, and low-ohm dynamics) but I definitely can hear some difference in this vs. my O2 amp. Looking forward to getting some active bookshelf speakers and hooking those up too. Looks great on top of sounding great!
May 27, 2018
Level1truamaRN
0
Apr 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Had this product for a couple years now on original tubes. Still sounds great, I listen from classic to EDM on studio reference headphones. The ability to tweak the ohms (if you can read and flip dip switches) is great for heavy hitting headphones or if you just want to play around...
Apr 23, 2018
Heavyboxer
306
Apr 22, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought mine with JAN tubes, but after upgrading all tubes to mil spec Voskhods, the sound is much more to my liking. These are currently powering my hd25-1 and the amp helps to reduce the sharp treble from my cans. Hope it'll be a good match to my upcoming hd6xx and he4xx.
Apr 22, 2018
Wingnutt
5
Oct 30, 2018
bookmark_border
Having both an HD650 (HD6XX) and an HE4XX and trying them both on an otl tube amp (Valhalla 2), I can tell you that the HD6XX should be a good pairing as it is a high impedance dynamic. Although I am not actually familiar with the sound sig of this particular amp. My HE4XX sounds rather hollow. This is likely due to the power characteristics of these types of tube amps. They produce lower power at lower impedences. My HE4XX sounds much better through my solid state (Emotiva Basx A100 with jumpers on) as they are a bit power hungry. I have however used the Valhalla 2 as a pre amp for the Basx with the planars and gotten most of the tube sound with the power of the Basx. That setup sounds great (imho ) Keep in mind at least in my experience the HE4XX didn't sound great out of the box and required a long burn in to fully open up. I believe Hifiman recommends something like 140 hrs. (please don't turn this thread into a burn in debate)
Oct 30, 2018
balboa
3
Apr 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great value! takes the tubes a while to burn in before it sounds good. i have tried different tubes and it does make a very subtle difference. it is a pain to take apart to switch the gain, butt a must. i have mine on high gain for all headphones in my collection.
Apr 13, 2018
byo130
0
Apr 12, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased this for my Senheiser headphone and it was a step up from your average connection.
Apr 12, 2018
Showing 19 of 39
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
39 OF 39 POSTS
Dec 6, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest