Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Purpleheart Headphones
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Purpleheart Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.5k Sold
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature purpleheart ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, and Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
65
check
89%
would recommend to a friend
search
Squirrel_Jerky
16
Jan 27, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like locking your brain in a little room...but in a good way!
I like open back headphones. A dont have a lot of closed pairs that arent for commuting and these beauties surely aren't leaving the house. But they've definately found a place in my weekly rotation. To me they're fantastic for electronic music so that's generally when they go on. Or any other time I want to put my brain in a little room and get lost.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 27, 2020
47anLoken
12
Jan 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Make hifi fun again!
Lovely headphones. Definitely an upgrade from my Sennheiser HD6XX. These are more detailed, clearer and also packs a lot of power and depth in the bass department. I expected these to be more unbalanced than I actually experiencing them. Definitely v-shaped but still a really good present midrange, not far from my Sennheiser HD6XX and also alot better than my Fidelio X2. My first thought buying these was to use them side by side with my HD6XX, but I'll probably sell those, the Fostex is all I need. Still only tried them out with my Massdrop CTH (+ lps and Siemens E88cc NOS tube). Only got one complaint, the cable, to thick, heavy, long and sensitive to microphonics. I'll probably buy myself a custom Periapt or something.
search



(Edited)
Jan 7, 2020
dominic28
0
Dec 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very intimate sound
absolutely adore these guys, so pleasurable to listen to. only draw back is how delicate they feel in my hands. I know many have experienced issues with the hinge mechanism and I can see why now. not to mention the ear connectors being ridiculously hard to disconnect. the amount of force I had to use to pull the connector out literally caused me to fling the entire headphone to the floor. lovely. aside from that ... Id recommend these
Dec 21, 2019
Ospreybravo18
25
Nov 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All about that bass
I wanted fun headphones with bass that could be used for enjoying music and movies. These were recommended to me by someone I really trust when it comes to headphone reviews and I have to say I love them even with the attached cable. Sometimes I get used to them and it means it's time to switch over to my T50RP MKIII's with Senn pads for a bit and then I switch back to the PH's... Listening to Sober by Childish Gambino at the moment, and the bass just hit me like a truck and it's wonderful. As for durability I would say mine have stood up pretty well I've dropped them a couple times onto carpet and they have clacked against the wall near my desk maybe once or twice over the years. There's almost no sign of wear besides the leather being a bit wrinkled on the headband. If you want headphones that are detailed but fun then get these especially now that they have a detachable cable. Headphones: T50RP MKIII with Senn pads DT990 Pro 250ohm Fostex TH-X00 Purpleheart Sony WHX1000XM3
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 13, 2019
damasta21
1
Nov 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful
I am by no means an expert. I'm a beginner and based on this community's suggestions I have a schiit stack (modi + magni) with the balanced Sennhieser HD 6XX. I have been flirting with buying these for about a year. I was looking for something with some more bass and these are exactly what I was looking for. I was reluctant to buy these based on some of the reviews of the headphones breaking/being fragile. Now that i have then in my hands I will say there are a few spots that feel fragile but I'm gonna treat these with care because they deserve it. Not only do these look absolutely beautiful they sound amazing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 9, 2019
iphoria
1
Sep 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Da Bass
Get this and listen to the Spotify playlist "Epic Bass Drops"... Pure joy. And these are not so overpowered that you feel drowned out by the bass.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 29, 2019
A_COC0NUT
5
Jul 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great bass and exceptionally beautiful
TLDR these are great just like all the positive reviews say. Get some Ori pads and attenuation rings and enjoy your new 11ft vacuum cord. I wish I could give 4 and a half stars because the stock pads are rather uncomfortable for me. They made my left ear sore after about 30 min but strangely not my right ear. But since I loved the sound I decided to do some research into pad swapping. Don't let the contradictory reports scare you, other pads do sound great with an attenuation ring (look up dekoni's for a reference). I got a pair of lambskin Ori pads from ZMF and cut my own attenuation rings from a soft plastic folder (same shape as the stock pads like dekoni's) and they sound GREAT! Even better is the comfort. I've been able to wear these for 4-5 hours at a time now with no discomfort what so ever. The sound is pretty much what everyone else says. Great bass extension and impact. SLIGHTLY sharp treble. Overall fun sound well worth $540 (with Ori pads). I'm not the best at describing sound so look to other reviews for that. I primarily want to get the point across that the stock pads are not the best (may be fine if you have smaller or flatter ears) and a pad swap is definitely an option. The only other negative would be the cable. It is literally 11ft long and the Y-split has some mildly annoying microphonics. The connectors are not the same as Sennheiser. I mean thay technically are but they are wired different and don't work right. So the only option for a shorter cable would be to pay about $90 for a pariapt cable. This being said, unless you want a balanced XLR cable there really isn't a good reason to get a shorter one since these are not portable. Thay are not super closed (semi-open in fact), the build is good but not portable good, and to much sun light could cause the cups to turn brown. I believe they are treated with something to help prevent this discoloration but I still wouldn't take them for a long walk on a sunny day. Overall a great purchase that I would absolutely recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 4, 2019
lodgeh
7
Jun 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound good but unfortunately build quality is poor.
The sound quality can't make up for the fact that these headphones just fall apart. :)
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 18, 2019
Vipu
6
May 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Im not audiophile so there is better reviews for sound, but in short its really good, lots of nice bass (after EQ). The isolation is just perfect, it isolates most sounds but you can still hear what is happening around you. The cable is what it is, a bit thick and rough. Being detachable its nice to have option to buy 3rd party cable tho. Be prepared to put some extra money in because the ear pads are pretty small, I have avg sized ears but they still touch the inner part of the ear pads so after 30min of use ears started to hurt. Also the headband is the most basic u can imagine, no padding what so ever, it might hurt after long use too. In short, very good headphones but you might need to spend a bit more for 3rd party ear pads and maybe headband.
May 21, 2019
1JimBarsness
2
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are sweet phones! I tried them on various sources and used some B&W cans that I use for travel and go to reference. These are more engaging and intimate. I love the experience of getting a new product and listening to music again. I found myself immersed in my collection hours later!
May 9, 2019
Showing 10 of 116
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
116 OF 116 POSTS
Feb 22, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest