Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Purpleheart Headphones
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Purpleheart Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
406 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature purpleheart ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, and Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers ... Read More
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
57 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
A_COC0NUT
0
Jul 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great bass and exceptionally beautiful
TLDR these are great just like all the positive reviews say. Get some Ori pads and attenuation rings and enjoy your new 11ft vacuum cord. I wish I could give 4 and a half stars because the stock pads are rather uncomfortable for me. They made my left ear sore after about 30 min but strangely not my right ear. But since I loved the sound I decided to do some research into pad swapping. Don't let the contradictory reports scare you, other pads do sound great with an attenuation ring (look up dekoni's for a reference). I got a pair of lambskin Ori pads from ZMF and cut my own attenuation rings from a soft plastic folder (same shape as the stock pads like dekoni's) and they sound GREAT! Even better is the comfort. I've been able to wear these for 4-5 hours at a time now with no discomfort what so ever. The sound is pretty much what everyone else says. Great bass extension and impact. SLIGHTLY sharp treble. Overall fun sound well worth $540 (with Ori pads). I'm not the best at describing sound so look to other reviews for that. I primarily want to get the point across that the stock pads are not the best (may be fine if you have smaller or flatter ears) and a pad swap is definitely an option. The only other negative would be the cable. It is literally 11ft long and the Y-split has some mildly annoying microphonics. The connectors are not the same as Sennheiser. I mean thay technically are but they are wired different and don't work right. So the only option for a shorter cable would be to pay about $90 for a pariapt cable. This being said, unless you want a balanced XLR cable there really isn't a good reason to get a shorter one since these are not portable. Thay are not super closed (semi-open in fact), the build is good but not portable good, and to much sun light could cause the cups to turn brown. I believe they are treated with something to help prevent this discoloration but I still wouldn't take them for a long walk on a sunny day. Overall a great purchase that I would absolutely recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 4, 2019
lodgeh
2
Jun 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound good but unfortunately build quality is poor.
The sound quality can't make up for the fact that these headphones just fall apart. :)
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 18, 2019
Vipu
2
May 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Im not audiophile so there is better reviews for sound, but in short its really good, lots of nice bass (after EQ). The isolation is just perfect, it isolates most sounds but you can still hear what is happening around you. The cable is what it is, a bit thick and rough. Being detachable its nice to have option to buy 3rd party cable tho. Be prepared to put some extra money in because the ear pads are pretty small, I have avg sized ears but they still touch the inner part of the ear pads so after 30min of use ears started to hurt. Also the headband is the most basic u can imagine, no padding what so ever, it might hurt after long use too. In short, very good headphones but you might need to spend a bit more for 3rd party ear pads and maybe headband.
May 21, 2019
1JimBarsness
2
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are sweet phones! I tried them on various sources and used some B&W cans that I use for travel and go to reference. These are more engaging and intimate. I love the experience of getting a new product and listening to music again. I found myself immersed in my collection hours later!
May 9, 2019
liquid801HLM
0
Apr 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have now had these cans for a few months. Changes I've made are as follows: Using a Velcro strip I have attached an HD600 pad to the headband so that it has ANY padding up top. Pad swap for the Dekoni sheepskin pads that drop ran. Overall improvement and didn't change the sound enough for me to detect. Balanced 5 foot periapt cable because a 10 foot cable is a joke and I have an amp with a 4 pin xlr out so why not use it. Total cost after all of this: $640. If I did not perform the modifications I have mentioned, these headphones would not be comfortable enough or practical enough to be daily drivers. I can now wear them for hours on end with no issues, though a comfort strap like the t60rp has would still be a vast improvement here. One star down purely due to the fact that it took nearly $200 of aftermarket products to make a $470 headphone useable for prolonged sessions. Frankly, that's asinine. If I could go back in time I would have saved a couple extra months and gone with the Ether CX instead, but hindsight is 20/20 so here we are.
(Edited)
Apr 17, 2019
NathanielKiger
14
Apr 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Shrouded in misconceptions. These are not bass cannons. Absolutely magnificent for orchestra music. The mid range being heavily lowered in decibels leaves a lot of breathing room for music. The mahagony feel so congested in comparison. Cellos have incredible presence and there's no going back after hearing violin with that boosted treble. Oddly enough it's not harsh at all unlike the mahagony which sometimes made me feel the music was straight up trying to hurt my ears, even at lower volumes. The reason these can be fatiguing is due to how deep the listener can sink in. Went from Touch on Random Access Memories to Lose Yourself to Dance. The change was so dramatic I was kinda overwhelmed by the sub bass. Lindsey Stirling is the best I've ever heard on the Purple Hearts. It's not the BAM BAM you're used to on the mahagony, but it can really get to ya' when presence can be heard in every little piano note in a song. Then synth music comes and it's like, "woooaah, ease up." All around great for instrumentals. These feel more detailed than the mahagony. That may be a placebo. Absolutely mystical experience.
(Edited)
Apr 8, 2019
Jupiter78
3
Jan 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I think this is great can. Its not that much bass cannon as I read. I think it is very nice with guitars and strings, bass is accurate and has bump and vibration when you put it very loud. My current setup is pc - fostexa4hbl - darkvoice. I have darkvoice shortly and so far I think purpleheart sounds better directly on fostex dac amp while sennheiser 6xx is defintely better on darkvoice especially for gaming when you are covered with all around fluid sound. Still purpleheart is very good all around headphone which is definetely very detailed and also bass present when needed. I listen to dnb ( and frankly I think treble is too strong here, but still sound is fast and extremely engaging), rock and classics (perfect strings).
Jan 25, 2019
CobyGodfrey
2
Jan 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I don't like to consider myself an audiophile because I am young as well as fairly new to the higher-end audio game and I don't really like all the correlated terminology that comes along with such a label. I like to think of myself as a music lover and enjoy-er who also likes to have good sound quality, especially headphones. I LOVE headphones. Each one is different and has it's own strengths/weaknesses. My small collection of headphones includes both closed and open-back headphones, but this the first semi-open headphone I have experienced. Ehh, nothing crazy in the sound stage. However, the sound of the headphones is a remarkable experience. Crisp highs, deep bass, balanced mids. At first, they don't produce a good sound stage. I strongly recommend replacing the stock earpads. This is mostly due to the shallowness of them closing off the semi-open experience but they also aren't very comfortable. Not nearly big enough for my average sized ears and kinda cheap feeling, definitely not crazy expensive pleather used in these. Once I got some Brainwavs XL earpads along with some Dekoni Attenuation rings, these headphones really came to life. Not to say they are bad out of the box because they aren't, they're glorious. But with a wider soundstage from the earpads they truly shine. The only problem with the sound is that it may not be everyone's cup of tea. It is definitely bass heavy. These aren't bass-cannons like Beats, but the bass is on the heavy side. However, I enjoy this because I mostly listen to EDM regularly, with some classic rock, jazz, and folk on the side. So this sound signature fits in well to my music taste. These aren't reference by any means. They are meant for enjoyment! And enjoy them you shall if you if this is your mindset going in. These are easily the most fun headphones out of my small collection (Audio Technica ATH-M50, ATH-M40x, Philips Fidelio X2, Fidelio L2). My only long term concern may be in the build quality, which is why I've docked a star. They don't feel or look cheap OVERALL. The purpleheart wood looks beautiful on the ear cups. The signature Fostex roundness of the phones looks signature. The drivers are of long-standing quality. The plastic doesn't feel cheap on the band or the connectors to the cups. It comes with a great cable and the 1/4" termination feels and looks hefty. The only concern lies in the entirety of the headband. It is wrapped in what I assume is pleather, but what's inside feels like a cheap piece of plastic with foam most likely glued to it. It is not strong. It would be very easy to rip these in half or permanently damage the natural shape of the band. But overall, not a single bit of buyer's remorse. You probably won't have any either if you truly enjoy the signature of them.
Jan 24, 2019
artigee
3
Jan 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not consider myself as audiophil but this one is so differently enjoyable with booted base and clear on vocal. Used to enjoy the Grado but now I have my new favorite for many different type of musics, Rock, Heavy Metal, Classic and even Movie watching, etc. Very versatile and working really well with LCX+SDAC. Tried the other woods, ebony and Mahogany and found myself enjoy the most on purple head for modern musics.
Jan 19, 2019
Meatisgood
12
Jan 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really frustrated. Looks like these have wide spread problems with the bands breaking. 6 weeks out of warranty mine snapped putting them down on my desk. No parts available, no help from Mass drop. Not impressed. Google shows this not being uncommon.
search

(Edited)
Jan 3, 2019
Takang
23
Jan 22, 2019
bookmark_border
no, mine is  out of warranty ...
Jan 22, 2019
ashlandleather
383
Ashland Leather
Mar 1, 2019
bookmark_border
I had the same issue and same results from Massdrop. It was pretty disappointing that nobody can support these after they break. I would love to pay them to fix it since I'm out of warranty as well.
Mar 1, 2019
Showing 23 of 101
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
101 OF 101 POSTS
Jul 20, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order