Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Massdrop x Airist Audio R-2R DAC

Massdrop x Airist Audio R-2R DAC

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7.2K requests
·
1000 Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Featuring discrete resistor ladder technology at an unheard-of price, the Massdrop x Airist Audio R-2R DAC is one of our most requested and anticipated products this year: a DAC with the looks and quality to match our new lineup of amps. An older technology that’s been making a comeback, R-2R is known to produce rich, warm, natural sound and can have benefits in spatial awareness and staging Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
96
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
rottentreats
80
Jul 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect for my 789 / Airist stack
The one easily powers anything I throw at. I use it for my single ended cans and my 789 for my balanced cans
check
Would recommend to a friend.
cckfc
41
Dec 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pairs well with my Thx aaa 789 and darkvoice
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RunningFetuses
0
Sep 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great, no complaints
still working
incrediboy
29
Sep 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Enjoyable, easy listening
This has been my main DAC for a couple of years now. I know there's mixed reviews, but I enjoy it! It's a pleasant listening experience with my HD800S and Liquid Carbon X
check
Would recommend to a friend.
HedleyLamarr
40
Jul 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Warm. Fun. Satisfying
I find this DAC very fun to listen to, it has a warmth that is very satisfying. Unfortunately for me, I read the AudioScienceReview on it and then it did not seem to be as satisfying. But then I built a linear power supply for it and now I'm back to thoroughly enjoying it. If you like the idea of R2R dacs then get this and just enjoy the heck out of it. Screw ASR, hahah.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
RochelleEngle
0
Aug 7, 2021
HedleyLamarrCan you please post the info on building your own power supply? TY!
HedleyLamarr
40
Aug 7, 2021
RochelleEngleI say "built" but it's more that I did some wiring and built a box. Go on ebay and buy an acopian 5V linear power supply capable of at least 3A output (it can be higher, my unit is 5A.) You can trim the voltage output on the acopians to 5.3V as per the original power supply if you like. Find a barrel connector that fits the plug and add a power cord. Voila. Here's a picture of my dual output unit that has 28V for my CTH amp and 5V for the Airist. I have individual switches to power on the supplies and then supply power to the [Mass]Drop units along with voltage and amp meters that I bought from aliexpress. I got a little lazy and just added some fast blow fuses on DIN rail to the exterior for extra protection.
search

(Edited)
Dericlane761
0
Apr 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great
Thing is sweet
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TonyLeung
50
Jan 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great story, unimpressive performance
This was the 6th DAC I own. The reason was: I believe the R2R approach. A more analog, closer to the intended bit level, wider soundstage experience. It works! My unit didn't suffer of many unbalanced issues others had or having imperfection faults due the difficulties of the quality control needed to produce the promised sound quality. My unit has the sound quality of a better sub$100 DAC. Even if you're going for the match of other Drop components. I can not recommend this product to anyone. Not the Airist R-2R, maybe an other R2R of an other brand, but I learned my lesson. Listen before you buy & don't trust their BS marketing.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Vic999
5
Dec 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Shockingly good.
Running this from a Roon Nucleus to a Bluesound Vault 2 to the Airist R-2R DAC into a Primaluna Dialogue Premium integrated amp into Sonus Faber Venere S speakers. All components running off an Audioquest Niagara 5000. Also have a Lumin D2 running in the same system. I switch between channels on the Primaluna. The Airist dac is just better (or different) than the dac in the D2. More punch and better extension in the highs and lows. More space around the instruments. Forget measurements. It's about the sound. Now once I put kt150 power tubes in the Primaluna that leveled the playing field. Everything is pretty much incredibly good just slight differences in sound. The Airist in my system hits way way way above it price point. Another reviewer said it sounds exactly like his Denafrips Terminator from the mids up to the highs. He said the bass wasn't as strong as the Terminator but not too far off. It is a no brainer in my system. My unit is from the very first run.
(Edited)
DareToBe
207
Dec 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Defective
The one I got has significantly more noise in one channel than the other. I ended up with returning it for a refund.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
ridhuankim
650
Sep 18, 2021
DareToBeGlad you did. I should have cancelled mine when I had the chance.
tsar07
9
Dec 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Audible distortion with high efficiency speakers
Overall it's a decent DAC with a nice laid back, not overly veiled sound. High frequencies have enough air and don't sound strident unless you are using high efficiency speakers. There is audible distortion on loud violin passages but this is barely audible on lower efficiency speakers or headphones.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 314
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
314 OF 314 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products