shopping_cart
Massdrop x MEE audio Pinnacle PX IEMs
$115

Massdrop x MEE audio Pinnacle PX IEMs

bookmark_border
$115
3.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
Made in collaboration with MEE audio, the Pinnacle PX is the comfortable, versatile, and incredibly engaging IEM you’ll want to listen to all day long. It has the same tuning and detailed, enjoyable sound signature as the Pinnacle P1, with updates to the build quality and a significantly lower price Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
127
check
70%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
sanslos
14
Sep 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, nice carrying case, flexible use (over/under ear)
These are just what I was looking for, good overall sound with a bit of a bass punch. I use the foam ear inserts, which I suspect are not going to last very long, but they are very comfortable and block out almost all external sound. Very nice. These are specifically for use with my "on-the-go" setup: Echobox Explorer; Topping NX3s; Massdrop x MEE audio Pinnacle PX IEMs.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
robert-kim
0
Aug 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This IEM has a good composition for its price. The sound is great, too. It is a good example of collaboration with Drop.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Galactase
14
Aug 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They're very comfy, especially with the foam tips
I bought these during the prime sale thing, so they were $50, I also bought the massdrop x mee planamics, not a big fan of those, they sound exactly like you would think a flat dynamic driver sounds, which isn't great. These sound better than those, and I really like them because they are extremely comfortable. I know there are better sounding iems out there, but for me the journey stops here because I don't think I can find something more comfortable, and I don't want to put myself in the position of comfort vs sound, when it'll probably be relatively close, and comfort is much more important to me in an in-ear than an over ear.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Rakis
1
Aug 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the sound
Loved how they sounded. Unfortunately left driver stopped working after a few uses. Edit: managed to get it back alive. Let's see how it goes from now.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Julian_Hughes
34
Aug 23, 2021
I've bought 5 sets of headphones and IEMs from Drop/Massdrop (and had one warranty replacement so 6 pairs in total). They don't seem to ship any of them with a sachet of silica gel desiccant. In shipping stuff gets exposed to being very hot, very cold, very dry, very humid, and these changes can be almost instant. So there is condensation and some materials contract or expand. This is especially bad for IEMs. Of the three pairs of IEMs I've bought from Massdrop, two were faulty out of the box. One was the EDC3, the other the Massdrop Plus Universal IEM. The EDC3 were replaced under warranty and the replacement pair was problematic too! By chance I was looking at audio products on aliexpress and saw that hearing aid vendors also sell dehumidifiers for hearing aids, as the human ear is a warm, humid location. This set me thinking. Those dehumidifiers typically treat the items to 50 degrees celsius for about 4 hours. I put my apparently faulty new IEMs in the oven at 50° for 4 hours. They sprang into life! I've been using the Plus for over a year and the EDC3 for over 2 years and they are still good. I have since bought a cheap, simple USB powered hearing aid dehumidifier and regularly give my IEMs a treatment.
(Edited)
Skrounst
2
Aug 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Specific bliss!
At first listen I was kind of disappointed. Most of my other IEMs I throw on, plug into my phone and get immediate satisfaction from whatever song I play. These sounded a bit muffled in the bass, and everything sounds pushed back a bit. Also, they have a higher impedence than most other IEMs so it also sounded softer than usual. I hooked up my BTR5 so I could really give the Px's the business and skipped through songs in my library. THEN, it happened. The Harry Potter OST came on, and I was transported into an auditorium listening to the orchestra play. The amount of detail in the treble is a marvel for a single dynamic, and the "pushed back" sound turned into a fantastic soundstage. These IEMs are now my GO TO headphone for listening to orchestral/ OST music. It also sounds fantastic with live albums. Just know you'll need a little more power than your phone can offer, and with faster rock/ metal songs it struggles to keep up. BUT I am blown away at how good they sound for movie music.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Willyhere
8
Aug 20, 2021
Agree on these being very good for very specific situations. I've had mine for a few weeks and still trying different tips, sources and music before I do a review. Thanks for taking time to share your opinion.
fffff32
1
Aug 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good
very
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Julian_Hughes
34
Aug 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I was just starting to enjoy these, having got over the issues with the fit, when the right hand driver failed. After 24 days! That is feeble. Also paint has worn off on both sides. My ears are not abrasive, this is just very low quality product. Really annoyed. edit 29th August 2021: I'll leave the above in place. But Drop customer service has been speedy and helpful. I asked for a return and a refund. They suggested a replacement at no cost to me. OK, I liked the earphones enough that I'll give it a go. I'll just reiterate some thoughts expressed before the things failed, but subsequently deleted: The sound is great. If you can get the damn things to fit! I've been using IEMs for 20 years and these are the absolute worst for reliable fit. It's not that they're uncomfortable, it's that the sound changes *dramatically* if you don't get the perfect seal with the IEM in the perfect position. It's crazy. I've used Shure, Klipsch, Vsonic, Massdrop, NuForce, Sennheiser, Flare Audio, RHA, Xioami, Sony, Panasonic, JVC, Samsung and a bunch of other stuff I can't even remember. These are the worst for depending on perfect fit. If you get them just right then they are beautiful. Really neutral. Neutral in the sense that you get that beautiful music piped right into your brain just as it ought to sound, not neutral as in boring! But don't sneeze. Don't chew. Don't yawn. Don't speak. Don't even move. In fact, try not to breathe. If the IEM or the tips move or your ear canal flexes by a fraction of a millimetre all bets are off. Oh yeah, these are *way* too insensitive for typical smartphone use. They are the quietest earphones I ever tried. That's OK on typically overly loud modern recordings but for classical and jazz it is hopeless. Mee Audio invented an IEM that doesn't work that well with the billions of smartphones on the planet. Doh. These have quite high impedance for an IEM and the sound appears consistent regardless of the output impedance of the source, so these are actually very good with home amplifiers and similar. The isolation, if you can get and maintain a good fit, is extraordinary. Really remarkable. Better than any Shures. I guess Etymotics might be better, but nothing else. edit 12 September 2021: an illustration of what your PX might look like after 2 or 3 weeks! On the left is how the purchased item appears after just a little real world use (I do not have abrasive ears(!) and always use a case). The one on the right is after 30 minutes or so polishing with fine and superfine foam backed abrasive pads. A little more care and work with microfine abrasive pad and it will look really nice.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Julian_Hughes
34
Aug 5, 2021
I think if you listen to a lot of music with wide dynamic range (often acoustic or "classical" recordings) you'll keep coming across stuff that these PXs are just too insensitive for. With modern, amplified genres this won't happen often, if at all. My Sony smartphone is not the loudest but it's pretty typical. When an IEM needs the high gain setting on a dedicated headphone amp like the Atom you know it's a very oddly designed IEM!
MastroiTek
18
Aug 5, 2021
I tested them with various genera honestly, but now I noticed that when it comes to "old" songs (from the 70s-80s) I most of the times have the remastered version, this probably has an influence on the volume. Also, I use Tidal and on the phone "volume normalization" was on, turning it off helps me seeing the problem you mentioned. I still don't think I would need an amp, but for some songs I now wish to have a bit more volume. In any case I fully agree on the fact that those are quite demanding IEMs, I noticed that expecially when I plugged them in my O2 amp, I had to turn the volume up almost like on my 660s (which for me are just a bit easier to run compared to the 4xx). Strangely enough my phone can drive those better than the 660s and not by what I would define a small margin.
MastroiTek
18
Aug 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Let's start with the price at time of the purchase which was 50$. Note: please excuse my imperfect english. The whole review takes in consideration the standard price of 115$ (at the discounted price of 50$ I would probably give 4 stars). The positive things:
  • It comes with 2y warranty.
  • The case is quite nice, not perfect, but it is really sturthy.
  • The amount of tips is insane (and maybe useless).
The "not that positive things":
  • Both foam and silicon tips are cramped in small plastic bags, as a result the foam tips were squised and slightly glued together (2 of them have little damage because of this).
  • I have small ears and they don't quite fit well in the "standard position", but the comfort is good if weared with the cable over the ear.
  • They are defenetly not as easy to drive as other IEMs, with that said, there is no need for an amp, a phone can get them lound enough to be uncomfortable, but on quiet songs it might be required to max out the volume to have a lound listening experience.
The negative things:
  • The cable is garbage, there is no other way to say it.
Sound:
  • Separation is surelly not great but they can handle some instruments without making a mess.
  • Base response isn't the best, in some songs it feels quite muddy (60Hz range is quite nice and punchy but 120Hz "lacks in confidence"). EDIT: after 15h of use the base feels defenetly better, no more confidence issues there.
  • They don't have much soundstage (Not necessarily a negative point)
  • Mids are a bit recessed, therefore also voices don't quite have the energy I personally like, but this is personal taste.
  • Highs are detailed and not sibilant or too sharp; keep in mind that I used them with silicone tips, foam tips could make a big difference here, I can't try them because even the smallest one don't quite fit my ear (and it is damaged because of packaging).
  • After all this I will point out that I find the sound quality to be fine, not great neither bad, but for me not worth the full price of 115$.
  • I still enjoy using them on the way to university, some songs seems to kinda pop with them and for me it is a good way to start the day.
I would say that with the many types of tips and the case they are worth 80$.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
yueqianclarissa
0
Aug 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bought it with sale price, enjoying it, but it's not as warm as the Pinnacle P2 I bought previously.
pbk_ldap
0
Jul 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
cool
nice price
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 15 of 167
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
167 OF 167 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest