Shozy Form 1.1 IEM
Shozy Form 1.1 IEM
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
268 Sold
Product Description
If you listen on the go, you need an IEM that delivers exceptional audio no matter what you listen to. New from Shozy, the Form 1.1 IEM combines a balanced armature and large-diameter Beryllium dynamic driver to precisely articulate all frequencies, from the finest treble details down to the deepest bass notes Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
28
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
bigshel
247
Oct 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid IEM
Don't feel like I've given these enough time for a good review but some initial thoughts... What I like:
  • Good V shape response... bass is nice and tight (much what I hoped for);
  • Very good clarity / clean, fast delivery
  • Generally built very well (with a couple exceptions)
What I'm like "meh":
  • Sound stage is very narrow, even for a closed IEM. Imaging also leaves me a bit "meh".
  • Cable isn't great... replaced that quickly
  • Tips can come off easier than some other IEMs (had to "remove" one of the tips from my ear that was left behind by the IEM)
Did a quick compare with the AR-E10s that have a similar BA/Beryllium dynamic driver configuration. These are cleaner and tighter overall... I preferred these by a bit. I think these are really good for music with a lot of energy and bass like Hip Hop, EDM, etc. I think the more detailed music with a lot of instruments may find other IEMs better suited. Edits: Revised up to 5* as, for the price, I really love these and they've become my go-to IEMs under $200.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 28, 2019
Garzon
5
Nov 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just wow for the price it's better than most of my other iem in 300+$ range
Amazing detail and balanced. Non fatigue listening for hours....very I have to admit that Chi-fi nailed it. Below 💯
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 8, 2019
maikuirock
63
Oct 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very enjoyable U-shaped listen! Tuning controlled from top to bottom
(Male Vocals/Acoustic/Synth Mix)
Stephen Day - Dreams Tonight: toms sound like toms, natural, low and floppy if tuned to loose. nice decay. good sense to space/orientation of recording. Nice tone differentiation between acoustic and synth instruments (i.e. bass guitar/sub bass) this song has a good mix of both. Vocals clean and airy, natural, but missing a tad body, but that’s U-shaped for you.

(Mix of stuff)
Volunteer - Don’t Want to Say Goodnight: after the initial hit of kick drums i can hear the decay of the movement of air (if that makes sense)…or it might be the springs rattling on a snare. Sonically this songs all over the place, but I think that’s the mix engineers fault. Synth bass is quick and tight.

(Acoustics)
Jason Gladwin - Let the Tide: a few different string instruments. At one point i heard the where the player didn’t fret all the way and heard the string buzz a harmonic from right to left. 
Same thing on Old Sea Brigade Resistance (Acoustic), but not the harmonic i actually heard the strings vibration from left to right.

(Female Vocals)
Norah Jones - Nearness of You - not as airy and mouth noisy as far as clarity that i’ve heard on other ‘phones if you’re into that kind of micro detail (ASMR), but still nice vocally but still sitting a bit back. The parts i can tell on these where it would be sibilant are just at the tip of the reach, but never push past, so that’s a good thing as far as my ears go. Like it’s about to hit it and I anticipate it and embrace for some pain, but doesn’t go there.

(Space/Soundstage/Timbre)
Amber Rubarth - Tundra & Don’t You - It’s okay, like large room instead or small hall/stage. Being U-shaped the lows and high bring things more forward. Still an enjoyable distance. Stings sound nice and full and clear, even the low strings.

(Separation/Drums/Brass)
John Wasson - Caravan (From Whiplash) - it okay, more in your head than visual sensory presentation. But the drums are fantastic. Probably the best i’ve heard of the kick drum. All other components sound proper.

(Sub Bass)
Metronomy - The Look (Two Inch Punch version) - It’s there, but just doesn’t reach that low, like the kind where if you heard it through speakers it gets you in the chest kind of sub bass. If you’re into hearing that in ‘phones, this is just it’s okay. (Update Below)

Build: these things are surprisingly small. Smooth finish, but a fingerprint magnet. Looks like they might scratch easily, but they’re dark and the inner part will be in my ears anyways and the outer is covered up by the glitter. Good insertion and isolation (with complys). These need complys or tips with good seal. The stock rubber ones that were already on them sounded good, but there was something lacking or loose in the upper mids, then I put the complys on and was like, that’s the stuff!.

Cable is so/so as far as look and feel. the plastic cover on the ear hooks were already bent and cinched, close to the plug base. The cord itself feels like a version of nice shoe laces for dress shoes (like shoe laces for the shiny shoes you wear with a tuxedo). I haven’t experimented with different cables, but i might replace these.

Notes:
Not sure if it’s the Cable or the IEMs themselves, but they are picking up noticeable EMI (electromagnetic interference) while not playing music (sending/receiving texts). It’s not loud but, it wasn’t noticeable while music was playing. Current set up. MBP>optical out>FiioDO3K>Fiio E12A. Driving direct through my iPhone with the dongle, I did have to turn up past 60% to get a listenable level. Where as for my UE7s, from zero I can press up 2-4 times on the volume which puts it at less than 20%. Even on my amp at Low setting, it’s at 11 o’clock. So i would suggest an amp for a higher potential of listening experience. I’m a mid-centric listener and is usually what I buy towards when picking ‘phones, but with these I don’t miss them because the overall presentation is enjoyable while the vocals are just a smudge recessed they still have a good quality to them (meaning not thinned). How the low end is presented is the highlight on these for me. I would recommend to have this in your collection. Good listen, good price.

Pros:
-Bass
-Clarity across the spectrum
-No harshness or fatigue to my ears as of a good 3 hours listen
-Size/Shape

Cons:
-EMI
-Cable (Cause of EMI?)
-Outer coating (fingerprints/scratchable?)
-If you care about easy to drive, these need some power.

Sound Quality:
(Scale of 1-10)
Sub Bass - 9
Bass - 8
Mids -7.5
Highs - 8

Update (10/18/19) - I redact and update about the sub-bass. I may have been interpreting and listening to sub-bass wrong my whole life. I tested the set on a pair of TRN 6 core cable. Difference took off the edge overall for a more laid back experience, but cost of loss of detail and tightness. On a pair of TRN 8 Core Silver Coated Cables, added a bit more space and clarity and not as smoothed off as the TRN 6, but still not as tight and punchy as the stock. So...if the 1.1's were a freshly solid piece of ice across the spectrum, switching the cable made it sound like it's melted and smoothed the edges and the sub-bass was that puddling mess the ice would be sitting in and that was the sub-bass i was used to on the TRN 6. Muddy, boomy, low end, that was that rumbly chesty noise/feeling. So the stock cable was made to be paired for producing the intended tight sound the beryllium must be working for. If this is what the low end should sound like, I approve. I could not replicate EMI with either cable, but the fact it was present at some point will remain until confirmed present or absent with another cable set, maybe...The 1.1's are great! Let's see where Shozy goes from here on the next revision.

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 16, 2019
maikuirock
63
Nov 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi Josh, If you consider this jumping into the audiophile hobby, I would say these would be a good place to start. Knowing what kind of listening experience you want would help yourself decide. Some want the most bass possible, some want the most detail possible, some want a "flat" or balanced listening experience. Some care about more vocals (my preference, as i listen to mostly singer songwriter/acoustic-y music), quality of vocals or quality/presentation of instruments (are they "true to life" as recorded?). Some want that in-the-music experience with the soundstage presentation or placement on how they perceive what they're listening to. So with these, I think you'd enjoy them and they're a good middle ground and you'd possibly know where to go from here as far as with what you enjoy about listening to music. Chi-fi is doing really good things for the consumer so don't get caught up in the hype more is better whether it comes to price, more drivers, bigger drivers, driver types etc. If you have the ability to, with this hobby I suggest, listen more and buy less, meaning go out and try to find places to give a listen to what you intend to purchase instead of buying much and liking little. Or do research. It's a get yourself into money trouble kind of hobby. Like what you like and not what someone else likes. Not to sell you on more stuff but, If sometime down the road you have the luxury to decide to get a headphone amp, like a portable one like a Fiio A5 or Q1 mkII. These would benefit from it vs running straight off your phone or computer headphone jack. Tips also matter and affect the listening experience. I prefer the foam ones that come with it for maximum seal and sound quality, Spinfits fit and sound the best for my ears if i don't want to do the squeeze thing before putting them in my ears. End.
(Edited)
Nov 14, 2019
Usergrade
47
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
I came back looking at BF/CM deals and saw you responded! I thought drop would send an email or something. Thanks so much for your reply. I do intend to get get an amp, as all the research I've been doing seems to point to that being a vital addition to the setup. I just did a little google time with the ones you suggested and also looked at the one on drop as well. I still have not gotten my head completely around what stats I need to pay the most attention to as far as quality goes or what specs would be overkill to power the various products. There are a couple of other IEMs around the 100 dollar range on here and I'm waffling as far as expense and am trying to think of it as a combo purchase - spend more on the IEMs and less on the dac/amp or the other way around. I was in a rush to try and capitalize on any deals to be had, but fate intervened as shites hit the fan in one of my classes over the holiday. So time to take a breath and consider the options and let the cash continue to burn in my pocket.
Dec 3, 2019
GhostSkr34mer
19
Dec 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 16, 2019
Fayne
1344
Dec 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrible experience stock, ok once burnt in heavily.
Day 0: First impression immediately after pulling Form1.1 from the box and running through test playlist; WTF, the bass is boomy and muddy, and the high end of the treble is piercingly painful, needles ramming from my ears into my brain. Guess these need a good 30 hours of Fear Factory... ... ... And then Adagio for strings (Neeme Jarvi & Detroit Symphony) showed up, and while the high end of the treble is still somewhat painful... holy. the. shit. The detail, the separation between the instruments, the sound of people breathing. It is all there. Wonderful and enveloping. Totally tuned for classical. Strings and horns. And then ... it was done and I was back to the rest of my playlist... Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow. WTF. OW. WTF. Would I recommend them as they are out of the box? Oh hell no. I'd say these are some of the worst initial IEM experience I've had in a while. Bad enough I had to skip through multiple playlist entries because it was too painful. Oxygene P5. 5 is not supposed to scratch my eardrums with diamond picks of evil. Teardrop isn't supposed to be muddy and bland. Gypsy (Of a Strange and Distant Time) isn't supposed to kick my brain with glass via my eardrums. Wonderous Stories is supposed to be wonderous, not screeching pain. The Sound of Silence shouldn't make me want to throw the bloody things to the ground. And then I come back to the classical... and these stupid things work with it. I hear all the details. The balance is there. And then the classical is done and I'm back to ow. Ow. Ow. F this noise. Buy an Idun. Buy a Spring1. Buy a CP-3. Hell, buy a frigging EDC. Bugger the Form 1.1 as it sounds straight from the box. I'll update after they've had suitable break-in, and I'm not a pain-filled rage monster. Day 1: I put a good 12 hours of looped Fear Factory on them as an initial burn-in while I was sleeping. Running back through my basic tests is showing the IEM are starting to sound a bit more comfortable. Oxygene, Pt. 5 is still brutal on the high notes, but not bad enough to hurt. Teardrop is getting a bit more of the bass I expect, tighter and more controlled. Adagio is still wonderful, wtf is up with that. The cymbals in Gypsy no longer scrape across my eardrums like rabid weasel. Wonderous Stories isn't wondrous, but getting closer, the cymbals and tambourines still hit notes that hurt. Sound of Silence doesn't send me into an intense irrational rage from ear pain, but still isn't terribly great with some of the notes produced by Paul Simon's guitar. Swapped the tips and cable just to eliminate them as potential issues. Tested with Dekoni Bulletz and Spinfit CP145 tips. Used the cable that came stock with the Idun, ain't balanced, but it'll do until my next batch of Linsoul/Tripowin cables arrive. Problem wasn't the tips or the cable, though the stock tips are uncomfortable trash, and the stock cable is pretty meh at best. They're still rather fatiguing. Clearly they still need more time in the oven. Opeth on repeat tonight, rawr. Day 2: Well, I guess I can stop raging at these. That night of Opeth seems to have done the trick working out all the harsh and sloppy. Now all that is left is detail and balance. The IEM are still rather potent on the high end of treble, some notes rampaging through my skull in unfriendly ways, but not bad enough to make me hulk out. Bass is properly tight and thumpy, rumbling my eardrums all proper-like. Do I like them now? Eh, not overly? They need serious break-in before they're worth using, and while the sound quality is not too shabby now they've had 24 hours with metal, I doubt I'll be grabbing them over any of the other IEM I've got. At least for much other than classical and orchestral-centric musics. Does horns and strings suuuuper nice. Do I recommend them? Eh, if you're on a budget and willing to put up with a hard burn on them, sure. Otherwise spend a few more dollars and score a Spring1 or Idun. My preferences for IEM are as follows (based on my ownership and use): For bass: BQEYZ Spring1 > Kinera Idun > Shozy Form 1.1 > MassDrop EDC > MassDrop Pinnacle PX > Shozy CP-3 For treble: Shozy CP-3 > BQEYZ Spring1 > Kinera Idun > Shozy Form 1.1 > MassDrop EDC > MassDrop Pinnacle PX Overall: BQEYZ Spring1 > Kinera Idun > Shozy CP-3 > MassDrop EDC > Shozy Form 1.1 > MassDrop Pinnacle PX Rating updated as follows: +23 Stars because it sounds amazing for exactly one type of music, and not horrible for the rest. Plus the price isn't too draining. -32 Stars because the cable sucks, all the eartips are the same garbage shipped with all the other Shozy IEM, and the out of box experience is utter and complete rage inducing trash requiring many hours of burn-in. Note: all listening done via Roon -> SMSL M500 -> MassDrop THX 789 with the following playlist:
search
(Tidal versions because I'm too lazy deal with the turntable for testing these IEM.)
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 9, 2019
mensrea
216
Nov 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun signature, deep, thumping low end, solid mids and fairly detailed highs. Controlled implementation throughout sound spectrum. Beryllium drivers make for amazing, impactful bass provided you drive then properly with power. They’re my new budget kings for sub $100 iems. Recommended.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Nov 7, 2019
Mackb
28
Dec 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First IEMs
I can't get too technical as I'm an audiophile novice, but these are my first IEM, which go with my Aune X7S and JDS OL DAC. I'm very satisfied, with nothing coming across as harsh or sibilant. The fit in my ears is spot on, something I was worried about before I recieved them. For the price it's tough to imagine finding a better option for my ears.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 22, 2019
MaverickAH
361
Jun 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
An excellent value
Okay, I'm going to say this right out of the gate. This is an IEM that if you're new to the hobby, you can buy it & go on happily about your business! They're good enough to prevent you from falling down the rabbit hole. The look wonderful & the craftsmanship is very good. They look & feel like they should cost multiples more. Sound presentation is fairly flat with maybe a very shallow U shape. Noise isolation is average & fit is excellent. These have a very nice soundstage with good air & detail in the higher frequencies. The accompanying cable & tips are pretty darn nice especially when you factor the overall cost into the equation. Some may find the treble slightly aggressive but it's never sibilant. I think that it straddles that line very nicely. Switching to a better all copper cable helps smooth things out but it's not a necessary thing. All-in-all, very good for every day use. When you factor in that you can take these out of the box & use them as is, I rank them very high for value. I rank the Shozy Form 1.1 above the BLON BL-03 for overall sonic character & when you account for the expense of the changes you have to make to the BLON's, they really aren't that far apart dollar-wise.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 25, 2020
verlaine33
13
Nov 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Surely a new benchmark at this price
Astonishing clarity and musicality across the board. Holographic imaging. Delightful! Which I had bought seven pairs. They are an odd shallow fit is my only complaint.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 1, 2019
skups
1
Jun 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are the best headphones I own
I am not much of an audiophile, I don't have a fancy DAC or AMP but I do appreciate good sound quality and am very observant. Here are some headphones I have / have tried for a while
  • bose qc15, qc35
  • airpods pro
  • KZ S2 bluetooth
  • ATH-m50
  • jaybird x3
  • and of course the generic ear bud, 20 dollar sony bud, etc.
Pitting these against the Shozy's you notice a few key differences (pros).
  1. The bass on the shozys is CLEAN. It responds well in the sub 100Hz range and has a very fast response noted by quick punches and good instrument separation on the low end. The KZ S2 kinda mushes everything together, as well as having poor low end bass.
  2. Crisp clean trebles, might be too much on the high end for some people but I really enjoyed the detail and sibilance
  3. Pretty good instrument separation due to quick response
  4. Case is nice
All these add up into a good soundstage which makes listening very enjoyable. Going back to the airpods pro, I noticed there was a notable decrease in quality with no soundstage what so ever. There are a few cons:
  1. Because the drivers are such low impedance you really need next to no volume to get a loud enough sound. This is great!? right? not exactly, the downfall is that any noise transmitted over the audio channel is "amplified". This has only been an issue for me on my desktop (which produces a audible coil whine through the IEMs during GPU and CPU intensive workloads) and some devices will impart a hiss in the background (my yamaha 5ch amp does this). Oh and also you can blast your ears out if you're not careful.
  2. The eartips are prone to fall out, especially the black silicone ones. I lost one from the small and medium sets so I had to move to the clear silicone ones which I actually prefer more.
  3. The foam eartips diminish some of the quality. Treble and soundstage goes down. It is well known in the audiophile community that this happens to all IEMs
  4. I ordered 2, one shipped without the IEM and only the case/cable. I contacted massdrop and they sent me a full refund immediately, I did not need to ship anything back. Worth a mention.
  5. The cable likes to twist sometimes if you're not into that
For the price, I highly recommend, you cannot go wrong.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 28, 2020
Showing 14 of 33
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order