shopping_cart
SMSL SU-8 Version 2 DAC & SH-8

SMSL SU-8 Version 2 DAC & SH-8

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.4K requests
851 Sold
Product Description
Ideal for placing at the center of your hi-fi system, the SMSL SU-8 boasts high-end DAC features at a surprisingly low price. It’s built with many of the current specs you might expect to see in a more expensive model, including dual ES9038Q2M DAC chips, an xCORE-200 XMOS USB audio solution, and dual XLR outs for a fully balanced output Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
145
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
DJChickenlegs
0
Sep 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I just got this set up with my new headphone amp (THX+drop AAAone) and it is great.
I especially like the sound settings. I'm going with rich3 for now
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Marslander
28
Jul 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic Solid State at the right price
The SMSL SU-8 is a clean, powerful, feature packed solid state DAC at a perfect price. Solid build quality makes the SU-8 reliable and worry free. The design is simple and subtle and can fit with most desk themes. The included remote functionality provides ease of use and accessibility. The DAC is clean and crystal clear, with all the output options you could ask for (RCA, USB, Optical, Coaxial). Few DACs offer balanced output in this price range and few DACs can offer it with such streamlined solution in general. DACs are not always the most exciting part of anyone's audio setup, but if you want all the bells and whistles without breaking the bank you really can't go wrong with the SU-8.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RJfromNJ
2
Jun 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My unit died after 2 months.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
cacom
4
May 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great service from Drop
My package got stuck in China when exporting and was returned to the warehouse according to tracking. Drop solved the refund in notime. Will buy again!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great affordable DAC
This is a great DAC with multiple inputs for connecting multiple digital sources to a receiver. I have an old school tube amplifier with no digital inputs. This DAC provides multiple ways for me to connect digital signals to my analog receiver. In addition, it does an amazing job of converting the digital signals to analog. Much better than any onboard DAC chip from a phone or computer.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Lynxcs1
3
Feb 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Broke down in a couple months, and there is no warranty after 30 days.
The headline says it except... For $40 bucks more I could have bought it directly from the manufacturer, shenzhenaudio.com. I've spent around a grand on these drop folks. That won't happen again.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
scote
2
Mar 29, 2021
Yeah on there website its actually cheaper with a sales code the bot gives you. gave me for $210 with free international shipping
fuzzydada
13
Feb 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Actually, this is pretty great.
It wasn't until I got this one that I decided to A/B test my DACs. I compared it to the DAC in my Questyle CMA400i, and I was pleasantly surprised that I could actually hear a difference. Being able to flip back and forth fairly quickly made the differences pretty clear. This one sounds more.. like things should sound? Music sounds more musicy, gunshots and "Frag out!" sound more.. fraggy. It's good. I like it. I have no complaints. Oh. Except for the tripod effect of having two rubber feet in the front and one centered in the back. Come on. Give me four of the little bastards. You can afford it. So can I.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
rhing
6
Feb 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Musical DAC
I received my SMSL SU-8 Version 2 DAC today and connected it to my Raspberry Pi 4 streaming computer running Volumio. It was well packaged and the unboxing the DAC was fun as SMSL packaged this DAC nicely. Connections and setup were straightforward following the instruction manual that came with the DAC. I used the USB connection with a nice, short cable that I purchased through Amazon. For power, I had a spare Zu Audio Mission power cable. Once I had everything set up, I connected the RPi 4 to Internet radio and just let the system burn in for a few hours while I finished work in my home office. I have a pair of Belden 8402 interconnect cables with Switchcraft RCA connectors. I also purchased some Mogami 2549 Neglex microphone cable and two sets of Switchcraft XLR cables, so I can connect the balanced outputs to my balanced Pass Aleph J Class A amp. I plan to make those cables this weekend, and I hope to gain even more improvements in sound quality with a fully balanced audio chain. For now, I have the single ended connections going through my Audio Research LS7 vacuum tube linestage. I am very pleased with the musical presentation. Trying the various digital filters and DSP settings to tailor the sound quality to my liking. The differences are subtle, but I can hear the changes. I just need to spend more time listening to each combination to come up with the most desirable results. I am not sure where some of the negative reviews came from, because this DAC is much better than its price point. The soundstage is large and deep with excellent imaging. The tone is very good with certain settings, and it just worked nicely once plugged in and powered up.
search
search
Addendum: I completed construction of the Mogami 2549 XLR balanced cables using Switchcraft 3-pin XLR connectors. Connecting the SMSL SU-8 DAC's balanced outputs directly to the Pass DIY Aleph J Class A and using the volume control on the SU-8 is a real treat. This Nelson Pass-designed amplifier creates a huge and deep soundstage, and it is very detailed in a most musical way. It can hold its own when pitted against my restored McIntosh MC240 6L6GC tube power amp.
search
The sound is so smooth and engaging using the "Slow Linear" filter and "Tube 2" sound color setting. This DAC is a great value playing music from my Raspberry Pi 4 streaming music through Volumio.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
zSparw
7
Feb 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great dac, powerful, clean sounding.
I love this with the THX789 its great and well built and you'll simply notice the sound difference.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mad1316
14
Dec 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These made me make some tough choices
Long story short, I have this DAC/amp combo as well as another. It was really tough to decide which stack would stay home and which one would become my "office" stack. This was not an easy choice. In the end, this stack ended up being the office choice. Main reason: more flexibility. Trying to call either stack "better" would be to oversimplify things. Both of my stacks sound great. This stack allows me slightly more flexibility than my home stack, so it's easier to tune for differing sources. At home, I can more easily swap headphones or sources to optimize as much as I want. In the office, my options are less flexible so having a DAC/amp stack that can adapt more, makes more sense to me...and that decision has paid off beautifully. These perform well within the price bracket, and have been quite adaptable for my uses. As with any DAC, amp, or headphones your mileage may vary (do your research). For me, this stack worked out fantastically.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 261
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
261 OF 261 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order