Audioengine HDP6 Speakers
Audioengine HDP6 Speakers
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
325 Sold
Product Description
Fusing old-school style with modern technology, the Audioengine HDP6 speakers pair well with stereo receivers, integrated amps, and tube amplifiers. Available here in a pair, each speaker features a 5.5-inch aramid fiber woofer and a 1-inch silk dome tweeter that work together to project a soundstage typically found in larger floorstanding speakers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
19
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
Hifidude
24
Jul 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
Running a set with the NAD 3020 V2 and another set with The NAD 3045. Both sound great with the HDP6 speaker set.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 25, 2020
mahargrepooc
5
Jul 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great bookshelf speakers for price
Love the cherry finish and magnetic grills. Currently connected to a Marantz SR5013 7.2 channel receiver as front L/R with a Definitive Technology center speaker and Klipsch sub. A sub is definitely worth having with these as they don’t have big bass, but that’s not really their purpose anyway.
Jul 6, 2020
tranter
22
Jul 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent fidelity
Excellent fidelity and remarkably clean sound. I am very happy with them. Only issue is that the bass is lacking (not surprising, given the size). Wonderful for what they are.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 2, 2020
tkyc
34
Jun 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have own many, many fine speakers but never bought from Audioengine. They always interested me with their powered speakers, so I jump at the chance to buy the HDP6 speakers. My system is much more modest than in the past ( receiver vs multi-thousand dollar set up) but these speakers were awesome. Way better than I could imagine. Real enjoyment from a very modestly priced system!
(Edited)
Jun 25, 2020
allage
48
May 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good speaker probably not the best for the money.($250 USD)
the only reason i would get them is bc they are technically bigger. these are my first speakers, and it was a learning experience. these are really forgiving in terms of placement. they dont really boom or thump, but they have presence, imaging and placement. detail and dynamics are okay. bass is not any less anemic than most bookshelf speakers. i used a emotiva basX a100 and a khadas tone board. placed towards me, with first 2.5 ft from the wall then 5.5 ft and it helps but its minor, isolated from the desk with foam.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
May 14, 2020
allage
48
Jul 8, 2020
bookmark_border
i will say at the time i knew almost nothing about speakers. since then i have learned enough to know what i'm shopping for, and on top of that how much an amp and dac can make a difference in the sound. one thing i will say is that the hdp6 is improved by what amp i use. i went from what i used in my review to a hegel h90, and have significant bass definition, however i doubt someone would spend the money on this speaker with the intention of getting something like an h90 or better as an amp. in terms of dac combo, this seems to be really bad with non neutral dacs just from my experience. in terms of subwoofer i see many options but really no info on shopping for them, and placement seems to be conflicting in terms of information, i do know people come to a consensus with pairing of sub to certain speakers but thats not something i see often enough, and knowing how much the room matters i doubt if that info is really of any value as is. currently i have a klipsche 12 inch sub and it seems to have a very different bass sound to it which people have said is a result of many reasons like resonance in the driver material but it seems fair enough to use for now.
Jul 8, 2020
Redcap
9
Jul 9, 2020
bookmark_border
Sounds like you're well on your way to turning over enough rocks until you find the sound you're looking for. This is all part of the fun and frustration of this hobby. Upgrading the amp and bringing a DAC into the equation were reasonable decisions. As you alluded to, coaxing the optimal sound out of subwoofers (as well as speakers) can be dependent on many factors. Room acoustics, acoustic treatments, settings, placement, etc, can all impact the quality of sound from your system. The only things I would respectfully suggest is that whenever possible, audition equipment before buying. Certainly not a big deal for inexpensive speakers and headphones on Drop, but for the more costly toys that you may acquire in the future. And while other's opinions are often very useful when looking for equipment, let your ears have the deciding vote. Good luck in your quest.
Jul 9, 2020
Beemerman
8
Apr 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wide spectrum and warm sound.
I bought this and installed in my office. I’m very very happy With the sound quality for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 30, 2020
MeWe
0
May 1, 2020
bookmark_border
Hi. , the price is for the pair or only one HP ??? thank’s
May 1, 2020
postwarscars
432
May 31, 2020
bookmark_border
Should be pair, AE sell in pairs.
May 31, 2020
agram
3
Apr 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
EXTREMELY happy for the money
Wanted to revive my 300 LP collection, so I dusted off my Rega TT and went at it. I used a so-so Rotel receiver to power some ancient Audio Source mini bookshelves and it sounded "Tinny." So, I went on a quest to get better speakers...didn't want to spend much. Am I ever glad I went with these speakers, sight unheard. First thing, when I unboxed, I was impressed from the get go on packaging. Next was the weight of these little babies....nice solid build and the cherrywood finish is superb....as for sound....great midrange/vocals up front and natural. Top end is slightly, and I emphasize slightly bright....may be due to Rotel or my Denon 301mk3 cartridge going through a Schiit Mani phono preamp....needs to be sorted out. Since they are bookshelves, the bass is accurate, but rolls off in the lower frequencies (after all, they are bookshelves with a small woofer)....once I get a decent integrated amp and play with some other phono stages, I think I'll get the sound I want....then, maybe, someday, find a deal on a powered subwoofer to finish it all! For the price, I love these things....took a little while for them to break in, but do they "sing" and there's no fatigue.....now I remember why I love anologue/vinyl! YMMV, but these are a keeper, for a long time.......highly recommend
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 14, 2020
Studio151-LLC
6
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
You might try a used Velodyne powered sub - fantastic. I have a Velodyne 8" sub paired with a pair of Focal Chorus bookshelf speakers coming from an Adcom pream/amp setup...really nice sub!
Jun 16, 2020
BeeBooBop
11
Apr 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow!
These things truly sound as great as they look (Cherry). HOWEVER, this is highly dependant on the amp/receiver driving them. First I hooked these up to my Marantz sr5007, and then NR1604. Sound was clear on both, but missing life and warmth. Figured these were mostly just 'pretty speakers' with crisp sounding tweeters. Then I hooked them to my Onkyo TX-8511 and WOW!! This fixed everything and the sound is warm and smooth as butter! There is a 'loudness' feature on the Onkyo called Selective Tone Cont., I highly recommend enabling any similar feature you may have. To be fair, the Onkyo is a real powerhouse of a stereo receiver vs. the Marantz just playing in stereo mode. If you happen to have/use a real equalizer, I'd bet these would benefit tremendously. In short, if you are not happy with the sound, change the amp if possible. There is major potential in these speakers when tapped and I am very pleased.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 9, 2020
Christianmaldo626
13
Apr 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great speakers for the price
Ordered these the last time they came up. I have this paired with my PS Audio Sprout and they sound great with lots of details, although not great for bass heavy music (not bad either, just not amazing). For the price this is definitely worth the buy if you're looking for a pair of passive bookshelf speakers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 6, 2020
JamesCh
5
Feb 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have been into audiophile music for years and so when the need to fill my rec room with background music I wanted great sounding speakers without breaking the bank. When the HDP6 speaker came up on Drop I checked the online reviews but the reviews were mixed but since the the price was good I purchased them. Once they arrived I quickly mounted them on the wall and connected them to a 125W class D amp attached to a Cambridge Audio DacMagic. I put on some of my favorite songs from TIDAL and was pleasantly surprised. The sound was rich and bass was just right and after a few hours of breaking in the sound got even better. The cherry cabinet is very nice and matched my room well. Great value.
(Edited)
Feb 12, 2020
Showing 16 of 32
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
32 OF 32 POSTS
Aug 13, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity