KZ ZSX IEM
KZ ZSX IEM
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
211 Sold
Product Description
New from the renowned audio team at Knowledge Zenith (KZ), the KZ ZSX IEM is tailor-made for an excellent listening experience. Each earbud in the KZ ZSX features five balanced armatures—two sets of DWEK medium- and high-frequency balanced armatures and one 30095 high-frequency balanced armature—to clearly articulate mid and high frequencies Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
11
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
pkiula
8
Dec 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrid fit, ordinary sound
Finally received these. One month taken for shipping. Clunky buggers, even bigger and block-styled than the other models. How does one hold this rubbish in ear for hours? Clearly it doesn’t achieve much anyway because the sound is ordinary. Even with some break in (twenty hours or so) its terrible sound. Bass is not authentic at all. Clarity is confused with sibilants. If it sits in the ear at all, it’s not worth it at all. Waste of money.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 2, 2019
NEXONUS
17
Nov 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Best of the KZ Experience yet
Quick note: If you want to buy these (or any ChiFi product for that matter), check sites like AliExpress first. You might be able to find them at the same or even better prices without having to wait as long. That said, I'll start with the cons, which might put some people off. However, if you can live with them, you're left with a solid buy. First, the cable, which is where most people's gripes are with KZ IEMs. They have a very low separator, so the cable forms a large "V" shape from the front which is made worse by the fact that they don't come with a slider. A lot of people, myself included, use the included metal wire to form a makeshift slider, but it either ends up too loose or too tight. They are brownish bronze in color, which I prefer, but some people just loathes. (The connectors are quite unorthodox for most westerners, but you're looking for "QDC connector" if you want a replacement). Then, there's the ear tips which might be fine for some, but having owned 4 KZ IEMs, I was never a big fan of them. When they fit right, they create a decent seal, but for something heavier like this, you might want to use foam tips for added support. That adds to the cost and is never a good thing. Alright, with the nit-picking out of the way, what about the ZSX themselves? Build-wise, they are very well built. Mind you, they are on the bigger side compared to most IEMs, but that's because they have to shove so many drivers in their. (These are definitely the chunkiest KZ IEM to date.) The packaging is much better compared to other KZ IEMs, coming in a black box with a lid. However, it still comes with the same shitty cable as every other KZ IEM, which is quite a misstep. The sound is a mild "V" with great treble. However, the bass is a little of a mixed bag among people, but I think they are fine. If you want more of that bass, the KZ ZS10 Pro might be better for you, but heck, where else can you buy a 6 drivers-per-ear IEM for this price. Just a disclaimer, having more drivers doesn't necessarily equate to better sound. Tuning is make or break for hybrids. If you are fine with the cable and tips, they are definitely worth it. Although, I can't say having to buy separate cables and tips is a plus.
Nov 20, 2019
NEXONUS
17
Dec 2, 2019
bookmark_border
I'm using newbee foam tips, and yes, number of drivers should always be taken with a grain of salt.
Dec 2, 2019
pkiula
8
Dec 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Hmm, those buds are fairly ordinary. Anyway, I suppose we respond to very different sound signature. Thanks for sharing the info!
Dec 13, 2019
rayegoma
0
Nov 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Hi Quality Sound
I used this iem in my online karaoke singing, which provide me awesome return, the sound quality is really very very high I love it so much.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 20, 2019
Rollaven
9
Nov 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good IEM with exceptional lows but way too dynamic too my ears.
First of all the lows will blow you away but they bleed to much into the mids. I have to admit for the price it is very good. Since they are quite sensitive you do not need much power to drive them. The downside is that you do not have a lot of room to play with the volume. For me this results in fatiguing ears after a short period since a small inceasement in volume results in quite some sound coming out of the IEM. Saddly I cannot listen to them all day this would definitely give me headache. Therefore the three stars. My source: JDS Atom, Topping D30, E1DA USB-dongle Tracks I listened for comparison through Spotify premium: Angel - Massive Attack Thriller - Michael Jackson Rey's theme - John Williams Interlude - Yosi Horikawa Moon light on spring river - Zhao Cong, Hans Nielsen Harder than you think - Public Enemy Kickstart my heart - Mötley Crüe Phantom Pt II (Soulwax Remix) - Justice, Soulwax I compared them to RHA CL1 and Massdrop EDC 3 Since I got corrected...The bass is too punchy or boom too my taste. Resulting in bleeding a bit into the mids.
search


(Edited)
Nov 7, 2019
kawmic
53
Nov 16, 2019
bookmark_border
Has nothing to do with dynamics. Dynamics is the iem's ability to reproduce, the span between low and high sound pressure.
Nov 16, 2019
Rollaven
9
Nov 16, 2019
bookmark_border
Edited my review.
Nov 16, 2019
Meower68
1
Nov 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've typically bought significantly cheaper earbuds. My usual set, a pair of Panasonics I'd bought off Amazon (approximately$15), doesn't usually need much tweaking on the EQ. Plugging these in, the bassline and percussion were usually kinda muddy, especially on Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix. I finally flattened the EQ and then lowered the midrange, then slightly elevated the bass and treble. That cleaned it up nicely. The cymbals are very clear and crisp with these. Indeed, I'm hearing details with these which were lost with the Panasonics. The significantly larger size, relative to the Panasonics, also takes some getting used to. When I use it as a phone headset, I can definitely tell when I've got an LTE-based HD Voice connection vs a normal connection. The microphone quality on the Panasonics is better than this one. Really wish someone would come up with a replacement cable with multiple mics and some kind of beamforming, for a more-clear mic input. The mic isn't horrible but it does have room for improvement. Overall, they take some getting used to, if you're upgrading from cheaper buds. But good audio quality for the price.
(Edited)
Nov 2, 2019
pkiula
8
Nov 20, 2019
bookmark_border
That’s the perfect positioning for these buds: they are indeed an upgrade from $15 generics.
Nov 20, 2019
joeftan
89
Oct 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent!
search
Build and design:  I really like it.  They are solid, and very well made, pretty much just as good as the $1,000 acrylic IEMs that I’ve tried.  They seem like they are durable, and should serve well for several years to come.  I like the shape more than the ZS10 Pro, in that they sit in my ear better, and seem more stable overall.   The isolation seems slightly better.  I find them really comfortable, but those with smaller ears may not like the fit as much, and the ZS10 Pro may fit better.  It comes with the usual KZ brown cable, which I don’t mind, but many do.  The cable does tangle easily. Sound:  Overall, I would say it has a mild V-shaped sound.  The mids are a little recessed, but only slightly, and are quite well balanced with the bass and treble.  The bass is pretty fast, but with the rich DD sound.  There is good punch, and a bunch of sub-bass, plenty enough for bass heads.  The mid-bass is just the right amount, and doesn’t muddy up the lower mids.  The midrange sounds smooth and clear.  There is good texture, but with the typical BA timbre.  Vocals sound nice, not forward at all, but also not drowned out.  The mids sound detailed, but nothing spectacular.  The treble is very crisp, clear, revealing, and airy, without sounding harsh or sibilant.  It is just right. Compared to the ZS10 Pro:  The  impedance and sensitivity ratings of both IEMS are identical, and do sound equally loud at the same volume settings.  The bass on the ZSX sounds slightly faster and clearer, with a little less quantity.  The sub-bass balance vs the mid-bass sounds the same.  The mids are a little less recessed, and are more revealing on the ZSX, and the treble is more airy and detailed.  The ZSX is better, and more balanced than the ZS10 Pro, but the differences are quite small.  Between the 2, I would choose the ZSX.   If you already own the ZS10 Pro, enjoy it, and I recommend using any additional cash on something with a different sound signature such as the Tin Audio T2, which is much more neutral sounding, or maybe the TFZ S2 Pro, which is warmer, with less sub-bass, and less airy treble, but with the alluring analog sound of a single DD. Conclusion: The KZ ZSX is an excellent budget IEM, that doesn’t sound like a budget item.  I can imagine many consumers purchasing these and not feeling the need to upgrade any more.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 26, 2019
kkamc72
18
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They sound great. Really good
To start, I love the stainless look to them. That mirror like finish is nice, attracts finger prints tho. But sounds good. It's like a bit weird the first few seconds bit then everything comes together. It sounds as good as Tins, just different to say the least. I very much suggest these budget iems. I have close to 6 now. 2 from KZ. Their new hybrid 12 is awesome too. Cannot go wrong. These are mind blowing cheap.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 18, 2019
Supersport
36
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'll keep it short, but dang. What I Love
  1. I listen to, DJ and produce Trance music (shameless self-plug hehe)...Are these flat enough I'd use them as studio references? No, they are just for "fun" listening to me. They have a nice warm sound to them, and surprisingly tasteful amount of sub bass to them and great sounding mid range.
  2. They Look superb, also well packaged
  3. Their price was low enough for me to take a "Massdrop = can't return them" chance on
What could use improvement
  1. The cable is nice, but the "Y" part is almost 2 feet long...splits down to almost my mid belly, and there isn't a slider that helps keep them bound together. I'm now using the twist tie that came with them for this purpose lol
  2. They seem finicky when adjusting them in my ear, they go from great full sound to almost no sound at all until I stop touching them. Oh well, maybe this is to be expected for IEM's?
Oh well, for the price they sound a lot better than average earbuds and have a really full sound to them. :)
(Edited)
Oct 18, 2019
AustonTexas
5
Oct 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing
My second pair of IEMs after the Drop x NuForce EDC. Just amazing! A notable improvement in fidelity and much stronger bass, my one complain from the previous pair. I think I've found my new daily drivers!
Oct 17, 2019
STom77
2
Nov 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 28, 2019
Showing 21 of 22
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
22 OF 22 POSTS
Dec 15, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest