Massdrop x Enlightened Equipment Revelation Quilt
Massdrop x Enlightened Equipment Revelation Quilt
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.5k Sold
Product Description
Made in collaboration with Enlightened Equipment, this is our version of the Revelation sleeping quilt: the winner of Backpacker Magazine’s Best Quilt Award in 2017 and Outdoor Gear Lab’s “Best Buy” in 2013, 2015, and 2017, and the number-one most requested product in the Ultralight Community. Lighter and more versatile than the traditional sleeping bag, it’s great for backpacking, climbing, kayaking, canoeing, bikepacking, motorcycle touring, traveling, and any activity that calls for minimum weight and maximum adaptability Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
71
search
Tctower12
73
Oct 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall I like the EE quilt and it’s a go-to now but for very specific temps/ weather forecasts/ elevations. For a broad conclusion I would agree with many reviewers that this is NOT a 20F quilt. For more read on. For context in my review I’m age 62 and an experienced thru - hiker ( PCT’17) and backpacker. I travel fairly light but not hardcore UL. My baseweight would be around 12 pounds +/- depending on the trip. I have a number of bags and another quilt: Marmot Phase 20, EB Kara Koram 20, Mountain Hardware Speed 32, and a Feathered Friends quilt which I had overstuffed to bring it to 15 F.  I used the EE Revelation quilt on a 205 mile section hike on the PCT in NorCal( Sierra City to Burney)  in June of 2018 and most recently ( Sept 9-13, ‘19) on the Wonderland Trail around Mt. Rainier. I typically wear clean dry base layers and sleeping socks with any sleeping set up and add additional clothing layers as required.  Pros: very lightweight and good weight to warmth ratio Versatile and easy to use. I really like how the Revelation works with a sleeping pad and how it can be configured for temperature variation.  Roomy. I’m an active sleeper and the way the Revelation fits to a pad allows the sleeper to move around inside the system without the quilt twisting. This inherently can let drafts in if the bag isn’t secured snugly around the pad.  For my NorCal section hike last year the Revelation was perfect. Nights, even at elevation, didn’t get below 40. I was never uncomfortable wearing a merino bottom, a Patagonia thermal weight hoody and sleeping socks.  Cons: The biggest one is not as advertised in terms of temp rating. On the recent trip around the Wonderland Trail the quilt was a bit of a fail at elevation. Temps dropped to freezing or very close. I was using a full size Exped mat. I was wearing base layers and a Ghost Whisperer down jacket with hood. I took a pair of Ghost Whisperer down pants to use as a pillow ( and “ just in case” ) and ended up wearing them most nights.  Even with those layers I was uncomfortably cool. For this trip, expecting rain and damp conditions,  I left my single wall Six Moons at home and used a Copper Spur 1.  Also agree with other reviewers about large gaps of no fill in some of the baffles. I’m sure a spin in the dryer will remedy that but it’s typically not how you want the product to be out of the box.  So, for me this is basically an excellent summer quilt and would only use it on the shoulders at the right elevations and weather forecast.  I will also bring my silk liner next time it comes off the shelf to add a few degrees of overall rating
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 1, 2019
vandg170
0
Jul 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
first quilt but good quality.
it took a few nights to learn how to keep warm while using the quilt but once i was used to it and able to prevent air leaks it was quite cozy for 35 degree nights. I am a short guy at 5'4 so when it got colder i was able to sleep with my head covered too and that kept me toasty. but be warned using a quilt has a learning curve.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 15, 2019
CampbellP
3
Apr 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The quilt is exactly as described, and I am very pleased with it. The build quality is good and the down was adequate and evenly distributed. It packs down very well. Some of the negative comments below are a bit silly. Sleeping conditions vary hugely and a comfortable temperature is completely subjective. Besides, you can't pin down what the night-time minimum temperature is likely to be. I carry a polypropylene liner with the quilt . Its not ultra-light but doesn't add much extra weight, it's not restrictive like a bag and it's insurance against the surprise frost.
Apr 7, 2019
Naja
0
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great product but i wish it came with a large storage sack like EE has when you buy direct from them. Overall a very good buy.
Apr 5, 2019
Riggers
1
Mar 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I took this quilt on an overnight hike recently and it performed beautifully in 5°C weather. As I use the quilt with a great insulated pad I would feel very comfortable taking this system subzero - however I must remember to stuff a tshirt or something in the footbox next time, to plug the small hole that remains when the shock cords are fully cinched. It seemed like nothing when I went to bed but when I woke up I definitely felt that tiny draft by my feet. The down lofted up nicely - when I opened it the first time I was worried that it may have been underfilled, but I spent some time at home redistributing the down evenly and it ended up super warm. It was such a treat to sleep under a quilt rather than feeling restricted in a sleeping bag - I was impressed by how warm I was no matter whether I slept on my back or side. I’d recommend this to anyone, and once I get the hang of the strap system i’ll love it even more.
Mar 13, 2019
Dynateen
8
Mar 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I consider this the most essential piece of gear I own. There's nothing worse than sleeping cold when backpacking, and this keeps me cozy warm into the 20s. Super warm and super light
Mar 8, 2019
PCNZ
5
Feb 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far, very happy with the quilt, exactly as described. I did have to fluff up the quilt in the dryer with some tennis balls but the result was excellent. I have ordered an actual EE quilt so I will be able to compare later when it arrives, but I don't expect any major differences. I love quilts, but I'm a recent convert; why it has taken me so long I do not know.? I am a very active sleeper and hate the restriction of mummy sleeping bags and the weight of less constricting bags.
Feb 27, 2019
PCNZ
5
Mar 29, 2019
bookmark_border
OK, received the EE quilt so here are my thoughts. As to build quality I don't see any obvious differences. The 'feel' of the EE quilt outer material seems slightly softer to the touch; this may be related to the different colour I chose or could be utterly subjective. Similarly, it also feels slightly more lofted even though the rating on the EE is 30 degree rating vs 20 degree on the Massdrop one. Held to the light the two are similar. Notably I did not have to put the EE through the drier to loft it up and distribute the down; this was probably down (sorry) to the amount of time the Massdrop one will have been compressed since the EE was made to order. Bottom line, I'm happy with both, but will be slightly more cautious when using the Massdrop for the first time when the temperature rating limits of the bag are being tested in the field.
(Edited)
Mar 29, 2019
Sheldog
9
Mar 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks for the reply. I always wondered how it compared.
Mar 29, 2019
stevebrownptc
1
Feb 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have no complaints. It is light and packs well. I sleep on my side and turn a lot, so I appreciate the room this quilt allows.
Feb 26, 2019
tswenson
0
Feb 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love this thing. I've used it in below freezing temperatures (have a neoair xtherm pad) and sleep with bare legs and t-shirt. For warmer days, lots of ways to open up and get some ventilation. Also have a z-packs 20 degree bag, but always end up using this because I like the roominess of a quilt, I'm a flop around a lot side sleeper. For really cold days (10 degrees or so) I sleep in the z-packs, and use the quilt around that, so it's very easy to tune the weight carried for particular instances. As a plus, I also use it all the time at home as a quilt. Perfect for napping on the couch. So light and versatile.
Feb 22, 2019
Am-outdoor
1
Feb 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I absolutely love my revelation quilt from massdrop. My initial decision to go with a quilt is the freedom of movement and also wanting to lower pack weight. This quilt does that and more. You cant touch and enlightned equiptment quilt for the price on here. I still feel this quilt is made to the standard that of a custom made enlightened equitment quilt off of their own site. This my only fear i had is how would the quilt keep the air from coming up through the bottom cause a sleeping bag has you fully covered. I knew the quilt had straps but wasnt completely confident they would do the job. Wow I was wrong. The moment i cinched the straps up it was a great seal throught the whole quilt. Now as i moved around there were flashes of cold spots but nothing too much to handle. I did however need a much cushier insulated sleeping pad cause it was not so comfy on a thinner klymit pad. All in all im very happy with my purchase and would do it all over again in a heartbeat.
Feb 14, 2019
Showing 14 of 100
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
100 OF 100 POSTS
Dec 12, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest