Massdrop x NuForce Stride Bluetooth IEMs
Massdrop x NuForce Stride Bluetooth IEMs
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
392 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
We know wherever you go, your music goes, too. That’s why we teamed up with NuForce to make the Stride: a Bluetooth IEM that’ll keep you company day in and day out at the gym, in the office, and on trips and commutes Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
30
check
42%
would recommend to a friend
search
Nephlock
57
Nephlock
Jul 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After spending some time with these, I've grown to really enjoy them. These aren't my over-ears, they aren't my high-ends, but what they are are my travel companions--My working headphones for the more active parts of my life. They start their day early as I get my exercise in, able to stick with me through lifts, cardio, and the bike back home. The sound quality is good, better than I've come to expect from similar headphones I've had prior, and for the price of these I'd say they do a damn fine job. This past weekend I also took them on a quick camping trip where I was thankful to have something portable, and that I didn't need to worry about. The battery life held up great, and them some. Easily lasting the 3 day trip with multiple listening sessions. These have quickly made their way onto my "pack it just in case" list. Many adventures ahead for these little guys.
search
search


Pleasant surprises: As someone with painfully small ears, the addition of the foam ear tips was a godsend. Other in-ears I've purchased in the past have only ever included the silicone variety which become painful for me over time for me. Reading through other users experiences, it seems as though there's some connectivity issues... But I've had quite the opposite experience. These have been able to hop from my phone, to PC, and back with ease, and I've yet to (after almost a month) have any major connectivity issues. The range is also stellar and allows me to walk around reasonably while still hearing clearly. Minor Gripes: I know the cord is meant to go behind your neck, but when I use it this way it always ends up rotating to one side and forcing the other side to pop out. This was easily solved by moving the cord to underneath my chin The provided charging cord is painfully short (likely meant for a laptop). Even charging using my iMac with its close port access becomes cumbersome. a little more length would have been appreciated The volume and connection buttons are raised, but I feel like they could be a bit more pronounced. There were many times where i would fumble it and press the wrong one due to not being able to tell accurately enough. Overall I think these are a great purchase for somebody looking for that first upgrade from the set of earbuds that came with their phone. Even too for those more discerning listeners needing a solid pair of headphones they needn't feel fussy over. 5/5 stars
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 23, 2019
elfadog
3
Jun 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A lot better than the rest.
After seeing the reviews being left by other people about these in ears before I had received mine I was a little worries on the overall quality. However now that I've had them. and used them for a good enough period I can say that they are a lot better than I thought. In saying so, I have noticed that the lows are not as great as the highs. The mids can be a little distant but overall a great set of bluetooth IEM for everyday use at gym or around the office.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 24, 2019
ElectronicVices
2199
Jul 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Summary    Pros: Solid case, aptX & AAC, clarity, sweatproof, fit   Cons: Not a genre "all-rounder for me", foam tips   Bottom Line:  The functionality works well for an EDC pair where critical listening isn't necessarily the aim for me. I feel this is a good value assuming you like its "north of neutral" sound tuning.   Packaging/Accessories   The Stride comes in a a massdrop X Nu Force branded box. The iems and accessories were securely stored, shipping damage wasn't (and shouldn't) be an issue. I am a big fan of the included case, its fit & finish exceeds any other included case I've received over a dozen or so IEMs, with the exception of my IE800's and the Pelican from Noble. It's a hard case with a greyish "denim" covering. The interior feels a bit like alcantara/faux suede and has sufficient room for the IEM and a few tips with space to spare. Six sets of tips are included, 3 silicone and 3 foam tips.  I listened to the foam's for the first half of my review period. I did not like the included foams fit, even the smallest pair put uncomfortable pressure when deep inserted and I had seal issues with shallow insertion.  I had a much easier time getting a good seal with the silicone and they run the softer side of the average, increasing comfort. A generic flat usb cable is also included.   Build/Comfort/Aesthetics/Isolation  The pair feels sturdy and with the essentially "sweatproof" IPX rating they have held up to the recent heatwave. I can wear them down or over ear comfortably and they generally stay put. For active use I recommend them over ear with the slider pulled almost tight. At my desk wearing them down provides the easiest access to the controls however. Not into attention grabbing headphones so the shadow branding on the housings and colorway are appreciated. Massdrop appears opposite from the controls on the battery/receiver and NU on the housings. They do a reasonably good job of noise blocking, not quite as well as the Nobles on a plane. They do best the IE800's due to that pairs vents/resonators/"tube tech".  My only qualm with the build is the USB cover's design can make it difficult to get some cables to sit flush.     Sound Impressions Here comes the dividing line IMO on these headphones. IF you like a v-shaped sound signature without that energy going into the upper treble then these are on target. They sound exactly as described "north of netural". They work well for me in situations where music is more of a background activity and with specific genres. The bass has a sizable boost but never sounds bloated/loose. I'm also surprised at its extension and impact on the low end. The low-mids are slightly affected by the boosted bass but it isn't bothersome. Overall the mid-range is a bit recessed with the low and upper mid's being less so. The 3-6kHz range is a bit hotter than I would prefer but was never grating or troubling (with a good seal). Sibilance is only problematic on already sibilant recordings. The treble drops back down to where I like from 8kHz on up. I felt these had a surprisingly coherent soundstage with good instrument separation and decent imaging. To these ears, harder Rock, Metal, EDM, Rap/Hip-hop and bassy Pop were the best genres for the Stride. They did not excel at acoustic, jazz or classical. They were mixed on vocal heavy genres and softer/classic rock.     Quick Comparisons  I really don't have much in the way of fair competition here. Most of my BT listening is LDAC via the ES100/Noble or my MDR-1000x. Pairing the ES100 + Fostex TE-02 is the closest in price/function. The TE-02 lacks the bass extension and impact of Stride. The TE-02 is mid-centric/somewhat n-shaped in its response. The Strides are more up front in presentation with a much better soundstage. The Strides will be taking the TE-02's place as my workout/BT camp pair of IEM's. If a more apples to apples comparison becomes available I will update this section.   Sources/Codecs/Connection I really like that you get both AAC and aptX. Why new pairs come out lacking proper support for both iOS and Android BT strengths I will never know. While I don't use my iPhone for music listening AAC is as good as it gets for iOS. I do generally prefer aptX/HD and LDAC to AAC but none of those are an option for iPhone users. Most of my time was aptX from my KANN Cube, tagging in the LG V20 when carrying the Cube wasn't ideal. I didn't notice a sound difference between the KANN or the V20,. Most of the sound quality comes from the receiving amplification and the codec used on bluetooth headphones. I had no connection issues outside of one incident with streaming a side-loaded version of Tidal on the Cube and walking into the bathroom. I did spend a small amount of time listening via my work laptop (SBC). Eh… yeah… SBC is why I hated BT headphones for years, no change in opinion came from this example.   Conclusion  Overall I feel like you get a lot of bang for the buck with the Strides. If you like a touch of boost on your IEM's or are a big fan of the "Rock" EQ setting the sound signature should be right up your alley. I can appreciate a variety of signatures and the Strides are enjoyable to me. I never once had them die on me with up to 5 hours of listening in a single session. I travel for work so things tend to get recharged with "religious fervor". If you are looking for a neutral sound signature these aren't going to please. They only lack bass and get strident if you don't have a seal on the eartips.   Additional Details:   The Stride was provided free of charge for the purpose of this review.   Gear Used: LG V20, Astell & Kern KANN Cube, Dell E7250   About Me I own over 30 pairs of headphones in various form factors and started my headphone journey with the HD555 almost 15 years ago. I graduated to the HD650 about 10 years ago and discovered portable audio could be good when I picked up a Cowon J3 and a pair of Triple-fi 10's years ago. I generally prefer a "neutral" signature with a slight bass lift, extension, impact and control being highly important to me. My favorite pair is still my HE-500 with my iHA-6 amp and either the UD-501 or Kann Cube as source. I am not a professional reviewer and only participate in these community reviews to test out some gear and help people make the right decision. If you have a specific question feel free to tag me in the discussion section or reply to this review.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 26, 2019
Kchoxs
0
Nov 28, 2019
bookmark_border
Hello how are you? I wanted to know your opinion of these headphones in relation to the MEE audio X10 True Wireless Bluetooth 5.0 IEM.Are they of a similar quality?
Nov 28, 2019
ElectronicVices
2199
Nov 29, 2019
bookmark_border
I've not listened to that particular pair, so I unfortunately cannot help much. I'm personally holding off on any true wireless IEM's until it has matured a bit more. Most of my listening still involves a wire & plug.
Nov 29, 2019
bmason
63
Jun 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, convenient, comfortable
I'm not an audiophile, but my impression is that the sound on these is great. Definitely not as crisp as my NuForce EDC3 IEMs, but these are a lot more convenient to use with my phone that has no headphone jack. They fit well, but aren't quite as comfortable as the EDC3's. The battery life seems reasonable -- I used them for a couple of hours on a plane flight and there's still 60% of the battery left (according to my phone). The bluetooth connection to my phone seems solid -- I can even walk into the next room (15-20 feet) without dropouts. PROs:
  • convenient
  • sound great
  • comfrotable
CONs:
  • don't sound fantastic
  • the various beeps are a bit cryptic (actual voice prompts like "power on" or "connected" would have been nice)
  • the buttons could be a bit more tactile (it can be hard to find them at times).
Overall, I think the purchase was worthwhile -- for what they are, they were a good value.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 19, 2019
Danulf
5
Aug 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poor fit and static
These don’t fit in my fairly typical ears. The sound quality is only “OK”. The set I received also routinely has static in the left channel. I cannot recommend these.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 28, 2019
spaaaceghooost
58
Aug 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
mostly worked, until they didn't
Sound quality: I got these as workout headphones, and they didn't disappoint. Sound quality was very good, but I wasn't expecting them to be audiophile quality. No complaints here. Bluetooth quality: Like other reviews, I found these to have less range than I'm accustomed to. With all other bluetooth headsets I've used at the gym, I had no problem leaving my phone on the bench and walking to other side of gym to water fountain... these cut out right at the edge of that range. Running with these paired to my garmin watch, I had to put my watch on my right wrist to prevent constant cutouts/stutters. I've never had this experience with any other headset paired with my watch, so I don't consider it a watch issue. Fit/Comfort: Personally I didn't love the fit of any of the included tips, but I found ones that were "good enough". The weight of the battery/controls on one ear makes the headphones improperly balance, which led to the right side constantly being pulled out of ears when moving around. Fixed this by wrapping cord over top of ear, or by wearing sweatband to secure them, but seems like a design problem. Build quality/Durability. I've had these less than 3 months, and they sat in the box for the first month of that time. Worn them maybe 6-10 times total, charged them maybe 4 times. After 4th charge, they wouldn't turn on. Thought the cable was loose, charged again... saw red light go on... same result, wouldn't turn on. Tried to charge again (and with new cable), red light no longer goes on. Seems the battery or connection died, and will no longer charge. RIP.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 16, 2019
Smoothbore
6
Dec 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Static
I have been using these for dozens of hours and I would not recommend them. After a couple hours of use, they picked up some static and I haven't been able to get rid of it since. It's annoying and even without the static, I would describe the sound quality as passable. The battery life and connection are great though. I still have over 4 hours of life with a full charge and the connection has never dropped once. At this price ($75), you can get a better pair of bluetooth IEMs.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 16, 2019
derbeder
4
Jun 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Updated review: Bluetooth works fine without a belt, good for the gym
Update: Shortly after receiving the Stride iems, I got frustrated with the bluetooth connection and wrote a short review, giving them 2 stars. I was told that the connection might be breaking because I had my phone in a rubber belt around my waist. That is my preferred method of using the phone when running outside, but I can do without the belt easily at the gym. So before sending these iems back for a replacement pair, I decided to give them another chance. I brought the Stride to the gym and did not use a rubber belt for a week. And all went well. I kept the phone on the floor or on a seat up to 6-8ft away from my head for the most exercises and the iems did not suffer from any interruption. The connection starts breaking when the distance is 12-15ft, I believe, but I was only that far away from the phone when leaving the bench to get a drink a the fountain. So if you intend to use these iems for the gym, and you get a fully-functioning pair like I did, you should be good to go. The battery life was fully satisfactory. I charged them before bringing them to the gym and used them for 5 days for a 75 minute workout each day. I got a "low battery" signal at the very end of the 5th day. Perfect timing for me. As for sound, they are good enough for my purposes. I am only going to use these when working out. I am not going to use them at the desk or during a commute. I have other headphones for those occasions. I am not doing critical listening when doing pull ups. Also, I almost always play thrash or death metal (Sepultura, Decapitated, Meshuggah, At the Gates, etc.) when I work out, and these prove adequate to this kind of music. The bass is strong enough and overall it's pretty detailed. I should say that I do have slightly better sounding bluetooth iems than these. I converted MEE Pinnacle PX to wireless iems by connecting them to a FiiO RC-BT bluetooth MMCX cable, but the cost of all that was $115+32. I bought the Stride $10 off, so it came to $65. Taking that into consideration, I don't think I can complain about the sound. Not amazing, but definitely competent for the price. Overall, I can recommend the Stride to anyone who will use it the way I do. ---- Original review: I really wanted to like this. The sound is decent enough for its price. I would be satisfied with it if I could use it while working out. It has not worked well for this purpose. The bluetooth connection drops out constantly if the phone is on my waist. When I am running, I have to hold the phone in my hand for these iems to play music without interruption. I have several bluetooth iems, one of which is a $30 iem from a no-name brand, and they play without constant drop outs and have longer ranges. This product must be improved.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 27, 2019
derbeder
4
Jul 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Thank you for replying. A replacement will not be necessary. I updated my review.
Jul 11, 2019
derbeder
4
Jul 11, 2019
bookmark_border
I forgot to add one more thing. When doing any kind of exercise, it is a great nuisance if the iems move about in the ear. Fortunately, I found tips that fit into my ears among the ones provided here. I don't think the Strides moved noticeably except when I yanked on the cable on occasion.
Jul 11, 2019
Gwizdrop
3
Sep 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound great. When compared to Beats X, these are brighter. Bass is similar. No idea of battery life yet.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 21, 2019
achikier
1
Jan 8, 2020
bookmark_border
imo, these iems are much worse and a downgrade to the Beats X. The Beats had some clarity at least but these lack any and are plagued with high latency. For the sound quality and the hard to replace ear tips, these should be less than $15. Nice carrying case tho
Jan 8, 2020
AlexeyAdamitsky
11
Sep 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid build. Poor design.
I really regret buying these. At first the design seems smart but the biggest downside is that they don't hold in the ear as well as I hoped for. I tried all possible options and they just don't stay put even when used casually. I wanted a wireless alternative to listen audiobooks, podcasts and music. It didn't pan out. The sound is good though when Bluetooth connection holds. Overall disappointed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Sep 16, 2019
Showing 18 of 53
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order