NuForce HEM6 & HEM8 IEMs
NuForce HEM6 & HEM8 IEMs
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
527 Sold
Product Description
Optoma NuForce’s HEM line features the latest balanced armature driver technology, custom-designed linear-phase crossovers, and the excellent sound quality we’ve come to expect from the company. The HEM6 is equipped with three Knowles drivers per side, while the HEM8 is equipped with four per side, and both can be used for professional monitoring and music on the go ... Read More
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
15 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
bbrks011
1
Jun 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought recently HEM6 and I can only say well invested money. Excellent sound, wide stage. With the right lossless material huge improvement in comparison to my old Shure air buds, which were also not exactly cheap. Very happy.
Jun 10, 2019
Franqueivick
0
Jun 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
HEM6 At the begining of the listening period they were great, however within a couple of weeks of me buying this, the right driver started having a fairly common issue for this product that basically corroded the connector of the IEM's. After doing some research on the subject it appears that the main cause is that the oils found within your ears cause the connection to start corroding the contact points. If you decide to buy this IEM's you will be surprised by the audio quality and fidelity they provide but will be deeply disappointed when the same issue happens to you. Nuforce doesn't offer repairs and it doesn't come with a warranty so if you are going to change the cables, make sure it's extremely tight and maybe add more insulation because this things will break on you after little under a month of buying them
(Edited)
Jun 8, 2019
dae1
93
May 30, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I give the product, when it works, 5 stars. Love the sound. However, the right side of the HEM8's stopped working. I was past the 30 day massdrop warranty and contact with the manufacturer is next to non-existent and difficult. With that type of service, I would go out of my way to not buy this product. Paired with the ES Studio BT amp/dac, this thing is phenomenal. Again, when it works. Don't waste your $200 and go with a more reliable manufacturer.
May 30, 2019
matteodavidking
9
Apr 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I liked these when they worked. (HEM8). Within less than 5 months my left driver shorted out and lost fidelity. I've owned a pair of Sony IEMs for well over 5 years with little to to no issues other than cosmetic wear, and these headphones can't even last 6 months?
Apr 25, 2019
imtylerdurden
0
Apr 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love them. HEM8 Pro:
  • Good soundstage
  • does not fatigued you when you listen to them
  • fast response
  • Good for drumming monitors
Con:
  • Could have more details in bass
Also requires clean, powered source
Apr 18, 2019
geologisttim
14
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For a less than $50 IEM I’m very impressed. Once I put some Comfry 500s in them they fit my ears perfectly. Great low end sound. Not many accessories included. You will need your own foam tips. I’m using an iPhone XR and . Yinyoo 8 Core Upgraded Silver Plated Black Cable and Comfry T-500 foam eartips.
(Edited)
Apr 5, 2019
n8sb
16
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
Wrong product?
Apr 20, 2019
Yosho
23
Feb 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
HEM8 Pro:
  • quite good bass (also look at cons)
  • nice mids
  • suprising good soundstage
  • does not fatigued you when you listen to them
  • fast response
  • good hights but not too much (as I like it)
Con:
  • could have more details in bass (just a bit )
Also rquirers clean source (easly white noise can be heard if source is bad!)
Feb 4, 2019
jmmo
20
Jan 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These HEM8's are my new favorite IEMs. I've been hunting for ideal in-ears for some time. Prior to these, I would toggle between the UE 900's, Shure 535s, and the Massdrop Plus Universal's. I find the HEM8's to be very efficient and are easily powered by my Pixel 2XL with usb dongle, but get even better when I pair them up with an amp. I have aTopping DAC & Amp at my desktop, and then and Earstudio ES100 bluetooth DAC/AMP for mobile (which I also highly, highly recommend) that really make the HEM8's shine. Soundstage is broad, detail is great, and I'm not fatigued when listening to them. I listen to lots of lossless recordings of concerts, and these give me a strong feeling of "I was there" that is very difficult to reproduce in headphones... I'll buy them as gifts for my friends.
Jan 21, 2019
Unsquish
18
Mar 2, 2019
bookmark_border
That's a great gift for a college kid! I love my es100 as well, but I've been using edc3's with it. How much better are the hem8's do you think?
Mar 2, 2019
jmmo
20
Mar 3, 2019
bookmark_border
I guess what I found with both the EDC3's and the Primo8's (both of which I think are great)... I have found that 4 drivers are better than three, and the Knowles drivers int he HEM8 are really special.
Mar 3, 2019
GeneralYu
13
Oct 4, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
HEM6 Review with Updates and Audio Reviews Channels Recommendation Linus Tech Tips has reviews of these on YouTube. I got them because of that. They are comfortable. It has 2 cables that you can swap. The nicer looking cable (chain looking one) does NOT have microphone, and the boring looking DOES. Volume is LOUD even at low setting on my laptop or phone. I was not an audiophile and had not tried many high end headphones before. So I cannot say for the sound quality. Go to see Linus' review, that is much more professional. Edit: I got into the audio and learned a lot. Now I believe NuForce HEM6 is NOT worth even $160 soundwise; I don't know the current exact price. There are many IEMs much cheaper and sound better than HEM6. They are still very comfortable, and I give them that. The Comet from campfire audio (better if worn over ear), DGVP-DM6, QDC nepture, ikko oh1, are around the same price and much better. Budget IEMs like the Tin T2 from Linsoul for $50 (even cheaper on massdrop) and some other brands are getting so good this days, and they also look ok and have decent to good build quality and have swappable cable, which HEM6 sort of does not. Their 2 pin connector on the cable side is recessed so buying other cables might not be secure enough and would be aesthetically unpleasant. Last bits of tips:
  1. change ear tips until it fit perfectly with a good seal and use ear tips from other earphone you have if necessary, the sound can change DRAMATICALLY. To learn more search difference among different types of ear tips. BUY sony tips (some are not officially sold in the US), final e series tips, spinfit tips and more if necessary. I personally recommend trying all major tips on the market.
  2. Impedance is a number that tells you how difficult to drive the headphone. 32 ohms is a suitable number from smartphones and laptops. If impedance is high, max volume is going to be small on smartphones unless you use a decent bluetooth receiver (really a dac+amp) from earstudio, Fiio, ifi, portable (dac +) amplifiers like audioquest black dragonfly v1.5 or red v1.0 or nextdrive spectra dongles (like an iphone headphone jack dongle). Digital to the analog device makes the sound, and an amp amplifies it, You cannot drive a 65w light bulb fully with a 25w outlet, it will be dim. DAC are so good these days, you don't need one unless you are REALLY serious about audio, and you can see why you need an amp from the analogy I made.
  3. You buy cables for aesthetics, durability, a different length and NOT for better audio quality so don't buy expensive cables; their tuning effect on audio quality is marginal and require a HEAVY investment if you know little about it. (See the link below)
  4. If you need upgrades, get better headphones and amplifiers first. DAC is one of the last thing you need to worry.
New Update: In regards to IEM (in-ear monitor) and headphones cables' burn-in: I still sort of standby my opinion that you buy cables for aesthetics, durability, a different length. If you are new to the audio game, cables and DAC are still some of the last things to upgrade (unless the cable is uncomfortable then you can get a replacement cable under $30 USD). Amp and IEM and headphone itself are more important. There are some websites that make custom cables and searching for the cables by connector types shows many affordable results on Amazon. After reading many articles, I have not come to a conclusion to (braided specifically) audio cables can "improve" or change sound signature slightly since there is a strong aspect of psychological influences, so to some people, some good audio cables actually do something for them. Braided cables are generally more comfortable and have less microphonics. If you are interested in good looking cables to test the water, here is a Google-translated, 50k words, extremely informative cable guide on a forum that I hunted down after a year of searching: (link failed) Just paste the link yourself. This is the translate page for convenience: https://translate.google.com/
ORIGINAL link in Chinese (in case the Google link fails): http://www.erji.net/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=2132808&extra=&page=1 Its has to be the most comprehensive cables guide, even though it did not cover every brand. I have not tried them since most of the cables mentioned are expensive and even some respective audio reviewers on YouTube and forums have not tried a number of them to say for sure that they do something differently, I cannot recommend anyone to buy expensive cables without listening with them first. If you are just a bit skeptical and willing to try some cable, Plussound audio, which is mentioned in the forum above, has the exo series cable that can be considered as upgrade cables for a relatively affordable price, they are a good choice to experiment with. Choose a cable type (material) with the guide. If the cable does nothing, at least you are still getting a sturdy cable that looks very good. One thing I can say for sure, cables or adapter with extra impedance DOES change the sound and reduce small hissing and is very REAL, and frequency respond graphs generally don't show a difference with lower impedance. You will have to conduct other tests. Frequency response graphs are not sufficient in showing differences made by a cable or a burn-in process (playing pink noise at listening volume, there are also other ways), MAYBE a cumulative spectral decay graph can represent the differences better. All headphones and IEM companies do some sound checking and a few hours of burn-in before shipping them to the customers. I believe burn-in is real because I actually experienced it in a bass boosted headphone with a very stiff metal plated diaphragm, maybe diaphragm loosen up and the sound changed for the better. At least good companies tune their drivers that had been burned in, so the sound after burn-in is what the companies want you to hear. However, every other headphone I own sounds the same after burn-in. I still have not listened enough to be able to say burn-in is important. From the audio gear articles and reviews, I find people say burn-in on dynamic drivers' IEMs apparently make much bigger differences when they do than balanced armature drivers' IEM like these HEM6&8. Are burn-in and upgrade cable audiophile shenanigans? I don't know, I need to see reports done differently and scientifically by believable universities and other facilities but that is not gonna happen. Just you know, if you decide to go down that path, that mentioned guide and getting reviews from multiple specific people for consistency (so you know their preference and standards) can save you some money. YouTube channels on audio: DMS3TV, Currawong, Resolve Reviews, John Darko, Joshua Valour, metal571, z reviews, bad guy good audio reviews and more. YouTube recommendation will probably show you more channels. It is normal that you will read and see many conflicting reviews and can be both true since everyone's ear shape and hearing are different.
(Edited)
Oct 4, 2018
carliber
2
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Ignorance is bliss (it is more comfortable not to know certain things).
Apr 22, 2019
Solderboy23
142
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Well at least you admit you know your ignorant. That's good.
Apr 22, 2019
DareToBe
128
Jul 14, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My initial review: "I rate 2 stars for HEM8. Very disappointed and I would rather buy HEM6. The bass is dirty and in chaos. I need to change EQ to reduce bass so that the sound is acceptable. No wonder a 4-driver IEM could be this cheap. My 2 stars are for the perfect and comfortable fit in my ears.
I heard good things about HEM4 and HEM6, so I didn't bother to check any HEM8 review out there. Clearly I was wrong. Trying to find a way to get rid of these. Really hope I can return them."
My new rating for HEM8 is 4 stars. I just got topping nx4 dac/amp, which saved these IEMs. My initial experience with these were with Pioneer XPA-700 and Fiio E12a. Both of them mess up the bass and hurt mids. Topping nx4 finally reveals HEM8's potentials. NuForce refers HEM8 as "Professional monitoring tool with the most accurate bass". Now it makes sense to me. I'm not sure why nx4 gives much better sound for these. My guess is the super low output impedance. Although HEM8 sounds great now, I won't give 5 stars. It's pretty demanding to drive them correctly.
Jul 14, 2018
Showing 20 of 25
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
25 OF 25 POSTS
Jun 18, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order