Opus #2 Digital Audio Player
Opus #2 Digital Audio Player
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
65 Sold
Product Description
Boasting high-end specs and the looks to match, the Opus #2 digital audio player is built with two Sabre32 ES9018K2M DACs for outstanding performance in native DSD playback, as well as high-res audio files up to 32 bit/384 kHz. If you’d like to make further use of these excellent DACs, the player can also be used as a USB DAC Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
8
check
75%
would recommend to a friend
search
Lifelesslump
19
May 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Almost perfect,just a few quirks
so to start with the good. The DACs sound is so clear, I have never heard such a great DAC chip in use. With my fostex trx00 and 24 bit music, everything sounds amazing. The music you can hear everything in the song. It is great! Now to the quirks. the software that comes with the player refreshes every time you turn on the player. so you have to wait 5 minutes for that to compile music files. Also the software sorts music very peculiarly. for example it splits up my motorhead albums into 2 of the same artist. one in CD FLAC, and the other in mp3 when I used to purchase from amazon mp3. So there will be 2 motorheads. weird I know. There is a way around those problems. you can install apks! so i used a better music player program i installed that doesn't refresh ever time I turn it on. I installed Black player EX. it is my favorite music player for android. One of the front screws fell out for randomly so that was weird. the other 3 seem fine. The player is rather bulky and heavy, but that doesn't really bother me. I have 155 GBs of music so I inserted a 200 Gb micro sd card. So the micro sd card slot is very useful. I know it has only one micro sd card slot, but it should be able to handle up to a 2 TB micro, you know in the future. I have not tested more than 200 GBs but if it can handle 200, it can go up to 2 TBs. The price is alot but people buy phones at $1,200 and those sound like crap with music. So I justified this purchase that way as I got a cheap phone. I really enjoy the wheel for volume. Don't know why but it is fun. the leather case that come with the player is a nice bonus. But I prefer it without for the look and feel. Overall I recommend this player. the opus #2 is a power house. Really kicks my last few DAPs in the butt.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 1, 2020
Lifelesslump
19
May 23, 2020
bookmark_border
I don't think music bee is on mac, unfortunately. But im sure there are plenty of ways to do this. Just google mac flac cd ripper or something like that. Then you could back up all your cds and transfer to the sd card.
May 23, 2020
susa6267
4
May 23, 2020
bookmark_border
May 23, 2020
Dast136
0
Apr 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far I don't have any complaints
This is my first DAP and so far I've enjoyed the sound and build quality. I had to adjust to what I would consider as minor nuances of the device. But since I'm not exactly an audiophile but just a guy wanting a dedicated portable unit for music when traveling. This far exceeds my expectations and I'm happy!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 20, 2020
Kauen
42
Apr 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Reference level
To date, Opus#2 is my favorite DAP. This is about sound. I have not heard such a neutral and at the same time emotional sound with any other player. Especially in conjunction with Kinera Nanna. Everything is perfect in it: a deep and textural bass, a smooth and incredibly emotional middle and extended tops with excellent attacks and attenuations. Also a rather wide and deep "three-dimensional" scene. But, there is a fly in the ointment. Software:1. Each time you turn on a very long scan of the card (which cannot be disabled). I recommend not to turn off the player at all. Fortunately, a very good energy saving system is implemented in it. Only 3-4% is spent per night.2. The battery charge is not displayed correctly. The first 20-30% can last 4-5 hours, after which the remaining 70% will be exhausted in more than an hour. By the way, the working time in my copy is rather meager - 5-6 hours (High Gein, 120/150). But all these shortcomings are completely blocked by high-quality sound. So, if you are ready to put up with not the best software, I can safely recommend this beauty.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 19, 2020
mono23
2
Apr 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Too colored, lows are not as tight as should be
I ordered Opus #2 last year on Drop. Overall it's a good player, but not for this price. Firstly I think sound is overdressed and lows feels slightly hollow. And too relaxed overall. You might prefer this type of sound, but I can't call it natural. At the same time it is quite neutral. I prefer my old HM-603's sound more. And I believe Opus #3 with its Burr-Brown DAC is more natural. Secondly player is too big for this amount of power and it has screws that is falling out. And sadly there is no any support from the manufacturer for now.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Apr 19, 2020
abhishek_solanki
8
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Dac... sounds neutral...
I heard it at one of my friends’ place ... he uses it as DAC with his PC... liked the sound... very neutral...
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 10, 2020
Kostik700015
2
Nov 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
I like that sound. Sound is neutral, very detailed. If you like lows, trebles or high -it has equalizer. DAP looks good, convenient in using. Working good as DAC. Unfortunately opus2 cant play some formats/containers like iso, ape, etc. It has not bad for DAP cpu, ram and android system but dont use it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 14, 2019
bgpolyhistor
17
Oct 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound lives up to reputation, UI is too limited.
I purchased this unit for a couple of reasons. Namely, the nicest hardware I had was a Fiio X5iii and I wanted an upgrade in SOUND, without the extra features that slow down the OS with age (a major issue for the Fiio). Secondly, this DAP had nothing but positive reviews when it was released in 2017, and through all my research I never found any criticisms of this device- rare enough in such a subjective hobby, particularly now that it’s been released for 2 years. Finally, I viewed this sale as an opportunity to buy a device whose MSRP was unrealistic for me at half the price. I’d rather buy a $1400 player for $700 than a $700 player for $700. Im using AKG N40’s with the balanced output. I am hearing previously unnoticed details in MP3 files- something that surprised me. I assumed a high end player would reveal unpleasant details in low quality files- not so with this DAP. I’m pleased in this regard. My higher quality FLAC files sound like I would expect them to. When I first gave it a listen it’s not like my jaw dropped in astonishment- I didn’t think to myself “WOW- this sounds $1000 better than the Fiio!” That being said, my nicest hardware is mid-fi at best and after a few days of listening I do notice that it’s the best sounding portable device I’ve ever heard. It sounds as good as my Klipsch H3 desktop amp. If I had paid full price when it was released I would have been disappointed, although in fairness it’s possible my ear isn’t as discerning as veteran audiophiles. On sound and build quality alone, I’d give it 5 stars. On to the UI. It’s an attractive and functional stripped down android. Boot speed is acceptable. Software is stable and responsive with latest firmware- no lag when skipping songs for example- a truly annoying feature of the Fiio X5iii. I was able to get Tidal working- but only after installing the second latest version. Here are are my main complaints: There’s no way to delete tracks on the player. You’d have to connect to a PC and manually delete the track through file explorer. There’s no search function. Once you enter a category (artist, album etc.) there’s a scroll wheel that allows you to quickly skip to sections in alphabetical order, but you can’t search for songs by typing. A minor annoyance is the player having to scan the SD card to update my library every time I turn the unit on. How long it takes all of your files to appear will depend on the size of your library, but I’ve owned multiple DAP’s that only have to update the library when the card is initially inserted- not every time the device is used. I question why this is necessary at all- it’s not exactly an advanced or luxury feature. All of the the original reviews for this product mentioned a very basic setup- this is for people who want a dedicated music player with excellent sound quality. I attributed these descriptions more to the device being new at the time, and assumed basic functionality would improve with updates. Three years later and I’m unable to delete files or search for them on a flagship device. I wait 2-3 minutes every time I power the unit on for my entire library to load. It’s inexcusable for a device at this price point, regardless of manufacturer or age. I’d love to give 5 stars but can’t go that far given the price. Disappointing. UPDATE: I have changed my review from 4 stars to 3. The unit I received had battery issues out of the box. I followed the user manual and used the included charging cable. I could leave this DAP plugged in for 24 hours and it would never charge beyond 96%. The battery charge when plugged in never matched once the unit was unplugged and turned on. It might say it was 80% charged, and then when I turned the unit on it would then say it was 30% charged. I had updated the unit to the latest firmware and never tried to rapid charge it in my car or anything. I tried hard and soft resets of the DAP to no avail. I tried charging from a PC, from my laptop, from a wall charger, it made no difference. When I reached out to Drop customer service, they told me that since they only sell the number of units purchased on the website, they didn’t have the ability to exchange the unit for another. They gave me a choice between a $20 discount or returning the product for a full refund. Since there’s no manufacturer warranty with this product when purchased through drop (and since The Bit never responded to my requests for assistance) I sadly opted for the full refund. I can’t afford a $700 paperweight. This happened righ at the end of the 30 day return period so I felt like I dodged a bullet. My takeaway was that Drop customer service was good and I can buy from Drop with confidence. I have no confidence whatsoever in The Bit as a manufacturer. Imagine buying a flagship DAP with a defective battery and having no way to contact the manufacturer. Their website is poorly translated and the only email they list for customer support never responded to my multiple requests for support. be aware if you take the risk of purchasing this product and you happen to get a lemon, if you don’t figure it out and initiate the return within 30 days you will simply be out of your money.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 14, 2019
k777
1
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like work with drop. I have received opus#2 on time.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 23, 2019
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order