shopping_cart
SMSL SP200 THX AAA-888 Balanced Headphone Amp
$140
$290

SMSL SP200 THX AAA-888 Balanced Headphone Amp

bookmark_border
$140
$290
376 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Product Description
SMSL has joined forces with THX to create a high-performing balanced headphone amp with next to no distortion. True to its name, the SMSL SP200 THX AAA-888 Balanced Headphone Amp features ground-breaking THX AAA-888 technology to deliver detailed audio with extreme output power and impressively low crosstalk Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
21
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
TheBatman
71
Nov 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Superb!
I purchased two of these wonderful, small footprint amps as gifts for my son and my older brother. My son is thrilled with his and uses it with his Schiit Modius. My big brother turned me down and so the one that was meant for him is now...Mine! The build quality is excellent as is the sound output. So far, other than as a "test", I have no need for the high gain mode but hope to be getting some suitable 'phones to use with that feature. I have said elsewhere that when it comes to headphones, I enjoy both wired and wireless 'phones. And other than the convenience of being able to walk around the room (if need be), I thoroughly enjoy all my wired 'phones. There is no problem with wired headphones especially excellent ones that are wired to the quality that is this THX Certified amp! I may have to buy one more and "force" my big brother to accept it. It is that good an amp. Highly recommended? Yup! Trust me. I know what I'm doin' when I'm reviewin'.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
SnakeMetal
1
Nov 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
powerful and yet so damn clean
So this is my first amp, bought it to power a set of HD 6xx, a year ago I bought a set of those headphones and was powering them with a focusrite scarlette 2i2 gen 2 and I have to say it was more than fine to me, coming from a marshall monitor the upgrade was already quite insane. But now , having the ability to power the 6xx propely , I have to say , looking back , I felt deaf for a year, all my music came to life in a way only live shows come close to, especialy when using Hi Res music (24/192kh/DSD128/256) but I have to say even flac 16/44.1hz is also more than enought. This amp powers the 6xx so well , even with high gain and nearly at full volume I never noticed any noise that's impresive , moreover I tried using a pair of KZ ZSN Pro X with the terrible stock cable and the noise level was so low , still noticeable of course but not to a point that it disturbs from the music listening experience. I also tried this amp , on a Rega Planar 1 , with a Rega phono pre amp, and holy s*it, high gain , noon volume, hd 6xx = heaven ! Listening to "Hell is Empty and All The Devils Are Here" I have so say it shattered the Empyrean. I'm going to end this review by saying that this amp makes everything you plug into it come to live I tried a few things on this amp : a 10$ beats solo knock off bought is spain in 2013, KZ ZSN Pro X, Marshall Monitor, Sony WH-XB900N and my daily driver the Sennheiser HD 6xx. for 150€ it's just unreal
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Maestro85
5
Nov 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great. Simple and clean power.
Really seemed to help soundstaging with the 6XX’s. Once I gave them some power, they really opened up. Thumbs up! Not the nicest volume knob. Could be much better on that front. Switches are ok.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mark425
0
Nov 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good, not great
Decent power, but lacks detail. Feels nice in the hand, but sound stage falls a bit flat
SMichael
9
Nov 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall impression is good. 👍
Good headphone amplifier, does its job to amplify audio signal, not very loud though, but enough for needs of most listeners. Surprisingly good built quality, considering that it is chinese made product, but they're rapidly improving for past few years, and for $160 it is a very good deal.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Rebelscum13
1
Nov 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
On par with topping Amp
Nice and powerful amp to drive hifiman Arya headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DOUKUTUKAI
4
Nov 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good sound
This device has good sound quality. However, this device generates some noise when the PC is running (it comes from the GPU load). This should be taken into account when running this device as a sound source for your PC. And Why is the chassis a parallelogram?
Reyevil
1
Nov 17, 2021
OMG finally someone else with the same issue!!! What did you do to fix it? are you using a DAC?
DOUKUTUKAI
4
Nov 17, 2021
I use DAC is YAMAHA AG03. but, DAC have no effect on noise. (The headphone output of AG03 does not generate any noise. and The SP200 will also generate noise when not connected to any device) I solved the noise problem by securing the power supply for the SP200 from a different system than the PC's power supply.
Stev.exe
1
Nov 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall a good amp for the money (provided it's on sale).
I received this a few days ago and only have about 2 hours of critical listening time with it. But first impressions are pretty good. I'm using a Topping E30 DAC paired with a DT770 Pro 250 Ohm & KZ ZSN Pro X IEMs. Listening to Metallica's The Black Album in FLAC-HD 24/96k. Also some other rock, metal and alternative through Spotify. Definitely provides enough power to drive 250ohm headphones with tons of room to spare. I'm looking into some planars in the future and wanted an amp I could grow into a bit. On low gain, I only need to go to about the 11 o' clock to be loud enough for the DTs and then I to use the E30 to remove about 20dB in order to listen to the KZ's at all. Very little, if any hiss/static when using the IEMs. Build quality is ok, switches feel kinda cheap and I wish the knob had clicks/feedback. Also it gets pretty warm even at idle. Delivery was fast but shipping took a while. But for the price (60 less then Amazon), its still a good pick in my book.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sle5_rspp
28
Aug 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super clean, lots of power, an odd style
I love this as an amp. Seems completely neutral to my ears. Lots of power to drive every headphone I own. The integrated PSU was a plus given my setup. The slightly sloped sides are odd. They match nothing at all. But build quality is great- the switches and power knob are satisfying. So… a small aesthetic sacrifice for an awesome amp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
chrism.ding
0
Jul 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great amp, working well
Great amp, working well
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 50
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
50 OF 50 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order