Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro Headphones

Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
261 Sold
Product Description
Known for making some of the finest headphones around, Beyerdynamic puts years of audio research and expert design into every set of cans. Another entry in the company's successful DT line, the DT990 Pro headphones have a lighter weight and a slightly adjusted sound signature compared to their Premium counterparts Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
19
check
91%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Fayaq0000
1
Feb 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sam774
0
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good quality for the price
Very comfy and robust, the only con I can see is that if the cable breaks for some reasons you cant replace it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
banditking
75
Dec 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice headphones
Cant be wrong with Beyerdynamic headphones. Thumbs up!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
imfriez
2
Dec 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very comfortable!
Was afraid it would be too tight but they feel great even after many hours
hollowslyfer
53
Dec 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very fun to listen to. Good entry point for open backs.
This review is for the black limited editon (80 ohms). Pros and Cons first because i know people dont wanna waste time. Pros:
  • 80 ohms is a very good resistance level. They are pretty easy to drive while also allowing them to enjoy an amp
  • Very well built
  • Long cable
  • "Fun" to listen to
  • Good soundstage
  • Comfy
Cons:
  • They are not "flat"
  • The cable was kinda twisted out of the box
  • The price is not reliable on here. Drop will often make a fake discount on them. Always check before buying them.
These headphones are not flat and should probably not be used for "critical" listening BUT this doesnt mean that they are bad. Quite the contrary. "Flat" headphones are not for everyone or for everything. The DT990 pro makes your music "fun" to listen to by having modified lows and highs. This makes them more easily approachable for people that might be new to open backs or even "higher" end level headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
reynalia
26
Nov 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super cozy and fits small heads
I have a small head, so many headphones have never fit me properly. These are super cozy and actually fit. I can keep them on my head for hours at a time. They do need an amp to power properly, but the sound is great!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Ibuyara
56
Nov 14, 2020
They work just fine without an amp, however an amp will improve the sound.
sachalussier
58
Nov 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the airy sound
Beautiful and feel light (on head)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
t0nyd
4
Oct 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Mediocre
Let me preface this review with, I am not an audio snob. I own 2 pairs of headphones and 1 pair of IEMs. I am listening on my PC using an SU-8 dac and an SP200 headphone amp. I assume what your listening on is probably as important as the cans. After seeing the reviews I was pretty excited to grab these headphones. I also have a pair of AKG K702 that I picked up for about the same price. In my opinion, when comparing the two its not even close. I listen to a wide range of music. K702 - lighter and more comfortable auto adjusts to head size replaceable mini xlr cable softer sound with a wide stage lower sound at the same volume better sound for most music that I listen to DT990 - clamps pretty tight on my head manual adjustment thats stiff non replaceable cable muddy bass heavy sound louder more in your face at same volume I was surprised that the AKG were softer and less loud at the same volume. The AKG have lower impedance so I assumed that they would be louder. My main gripe about the DT990 is the muddiness of the sound. There is definitely more oomph to music at the cost of clarity. If I could find headphones somewhere in between these sound wise with AKG's build quality, they would be near perfect for me.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Disadadi
25
Nov 12, 2020
Btw DT-990 has full metal headband, if it clamps too hard, you can just bend it slightly to ease the clamping force. That's what I did on my DT-770 Pro. Definitely not going to break it unless you're about do like 90 degree bend on it. What comes for comfort, my DT-770 has stayed the same for 5 years but my AKG K712 Pro's headband's elastic died in two years and the replacement costs €80 and there are no replacement parts sold in Europe. So go figure, if the 990 doesn't have the sound signature you like, I'd still look for other Beyer options for comfort or better sound. Just the longevity of the product is what I like. AKG has shit customer service now that it's owned my Samsung.
(Edited)
javimz07
0
Jan 1, 2021
Sounds like you need Audio Technica m50x. They are more flat than the dt990’s but not completely flat.
peter91
0
Oct 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro is outstanding!
The sound quality is excellent at this price point. The only issue is that the black version does not come with coiled cable.
HanlonShaves
23
Oct 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro is a great open-back choice, with a very wide soundstage. Wearing them may take some getting used to, however, I still recommend this headphone.
search
The clamp force is pretty high, which paired with the stiff earpads, can be very uncomfortable if you have a wide head like I do. First instinct may be to change out the earpads, but these headphones are VERY particular about the pads: put on the wrong pair, and it will drastically alter the sound profile - usually not for the better. They rely heavily on driver positioning, and careful choices in earpad materials and shape. Instead of changing the earpads right off the bat, carefully bend the metal headband first to reach desired clamp force. If you're still determined to change the earpads, aim for non-leather/pleather materials, or a hybrid pad, and stick with round, symmetrical pads rather than angled ones.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 15 of 24
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
24 OF 24 POSTS
Mar 3, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest