TFZ Secret Garden & Secret Garden III IEM
TFZ Secret Garden & Secret Garden III IEM
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
106 Sold
Product Description
When it comes to high-value IEMs, TFZ has established itself as a serious contender in a variety of price ranges. On the higher end sits the Secret Garden II, the second generation of TFZ's flagship IEM Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
10
search
close
TheRequiem
165
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty good
These punch way above their price in sound signature and weight. Heavily Recommended.
Philo_Ph1le
12
Dec 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These should stay a secret
I went for the Secret IIIs and they are by far the only Mass product that I think just sucks (for the money). So it's not that the headphones are bad, but a pair of Blon in ears for 30 bucks sound almost identical, the TFZs beat the Blons on fit and isolation. Save your money and get the Noble IEMs even if they aren't on sale they're better. My pair of BGMP DM 7s blow these out of the water in every way, and again cheaper. I like Mass so I decided to reach out to customer service, I got a canned answer about the item being excluded from returns and exchanges (hmmm I wonder why). Mass sends a follow up survey to gauge your satisfaction, I gave a detailed response and threw in that working with someone who spends several thousand on their products isn't a bad idea. No response, but there's a seller on eBay that probably is appreciating the 1700 I dropped on him instead of Mass, mostly because he was responsive and actually provided customer service. I won't write Mass off but unless they pull something intelligent out of their asses as far as service then I'm going to be weary from now on.
Ashantti
0
Dec 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Deception!!!!
What was advertised the "Secret Garden III" is not what I received this vendor sent me the "Secret Garden I" this product[Secret Garden I] is 4 star. Buyer beware of this vendor !!!! I will bring this to the attention via email to "Drop" Do not buy from this vendor and expect what you pay for!!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
phoenixsong
1111
Dec 30, 2019
Besides, if people have their doubts, they are perfectly justified in doing so until you prove things otherwise- the world doesn't revolve around yourself. Can you?
phoenixsong
1111
Dec 30, 2019
But hey, since you feel that strongly about it, here's due praise for being able to differentiate between the numbers 1 and 3 :p
Squee
160
Dec 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a highly biased review, based on my own use and sound preferences. Take it for what it's worth, nothing, because I'm providing it for free. I have a love/hate relationship with the Dynamic Driver model of the Secret Garden. I love the treble, I love the bass, but the mids are just recessed enough such that I can't enjoy them to their fullest. This wouldn't be a deal breaker for me, if I could wear them out and about, but their weight, balance, bulky size, and shallow fit almost assure these won't stay sealed in your ear short of foam tips really locking in, and even then, when I go for my walks, they just wouldn't stay put. Pros: Sweet treble Impactfull bass Beautifully large sound stage Complex layering of music Cons: Comfort Secure fit Mids Again, YMMV
besati
7
Nov 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Order the SG1 from Massdrop and had enjoyed it for about a month. I have the RHA CL1 and I do not hear the problem of over piercing highs that many so-called reviewers complained about. Instead I hear extreme spacious and well focused vocals and positioning and layering of instruments. You need a desktop amplifier or a really good portable amp to control the high impedance earphone. I had been using an Acoustic Research M2 for more than 2 years and the warm Class A output of the M2 drives the CL1 nicely, even better with the Vorzamp Pure II+ portable amplifier. I found the SG1 very close in character to the CL1, but with only 30 ohm impedance, it is much easier to drive than the CL1. The SG1 is a monitor, that is, its design is more towards being pure and technical than being musical. That is probably due to the characteristic tone of the graphene membrane. It just honestly brings out each bit of sound frequency clearly in the music, without any coloring. The lows are very much extended with a lot of mid bass that gives one an energetic feel. The mids are clear, but a bit colder than CL1 and smoother, not as analytic as the latter. Perhaps I have been adapted to the very extended and metallic highs of the CL1, I found the highs of the SG1 a bit recessed and not smooth enough. That said, the soundstage and layering of the SG1 is typical of an outstanding dynamic driver. Depth is a bit deeper than the width, but the soundstage is very real and holographic. To me, it is a good replacement for CL1 when I am on the go and do not want to carry an amp. However, because of the 30 ohm impedance, M2 does not drive it well. Control of the bass of the SG is not as good as the M2 does well on the CL1. The M2 can bring out the mid bass of the CL1 without an amp, just not the deepest part of it. With SG1 however, M2 seems to be struggling to release the bass. When I added the Vorzamp Pure II+, everything is beefed up, with deep extension of the lows and drums strike with authority. The mids can never be said to be recessed. It is just smooth and transparent, and vocals sounds very natural. The highs are still a bit recessed as compared to CL1. With my LG G7+ thinQ, the sound is too bright as both LG and the SG1 have a slightly cool tone. Without activating the built-in amplifier in the LG, the bass is under delivered. My conclusion is that the SG1, regardless of its low impedance, still requires a powerful amp stage to drive the dual-coil dynamic drivers. Those who think its mids are recessed should consider use a better DAP with higher power or more preferably, an amplifier or dacamp to drive it. When listening to the Massdrop LCX+SDAC, the warmth of the amplifier matches perfectly with the SG1 and it sounds smoother and more detailed with much better bass than my HD600 on the same apparatus and loses only to the MrSpeakers Aeon Flow Close, which costs at least four times more. The SG1 costs only a third of the CL1, what more can one ask for? The best thing that I like about the SG1 is that it is less analytical than the CL1 and work better than CL1 with badly recorded pop songs, or old classics, without as much roughness or harshness. That is not the end of the story yet. I recently order a DIY Xsymphony cable using mixed bundled copper and silver wires for the SG1 and the improvement in sound is staggering. Now the M2 is able to bring out the lows and the mids are slightly thickened and sweetened, and highs are extended. The overall effect is like adding a tube preamp in the upstream. At less than half the cost of SG1, this is a very worthy upgrade and the SG1 now sounds excellent with my LG G7 thinQ cell phone. I would suggest owners of the SG1 to upgrade the cable with a thicker copper core and some silver to give more meat to the mids and highs. The SG1 well worths much much more than its asking price.
ohsigmachi
227
Sep 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I own these and the King and Queen Pros.
These are my least favorite of the three. They are not compelling in any way. The Bass is bloated/muddy and vocals sound flat and untextured.
I don't get into the music listening to them the way I do with the others (especially the King Pros).
They are also not comfortable at all. I have an extensive list of IEMs and these are the only ones I can't wear for more than an hour.
For this same kind of money I would go with the VSonic GR07 37th Anniversary Special Editions.
(Source is LG V30plus with Tidal MQA)
WHO23
104
Feb 5, 2019
Hey ohsigmachi, how would you compare the the TFZ Secret Garden with the VSonic GR07 37AE? I have both of them and also the Moondrop Kanas Pro.
(Edited)
ohsigmachi
227
Feb 6, 2019
I would say in a TFZ SG vs GR07 37AE face to face the GR07 wins the comfort factor hands down. The GR07 is also much easier to get a good seal with so comfort only goes up from there. TFZ wins in bass and sub-bass quantity, but it's a messy and muddy bass and the mids have too much "bloom". I LOVE a warm sound sig, but the SG is just over done and messy. The GR07 AE absolutely walks that fine line between warmth and precision and does it very well. Bass and sub bass is there, with zero complaint, and the mids and highs are everything that's right with the word "warm."
(Edited)
Nonzilla
48
Sep 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are phenomenal. Great soundstage, bass, mids and treble for the price! Honestly, they punch well above their weight.
I had the King Pro's before these, and I thought those were amazing (they are) but these do everything better. All I can say that might be better in the king pros is that they showcase micro details and treble better, probably because they lack the bass that the secret gardens have, which some people may think overpower the rest, but the details are still there when the secret gardens, just alongside the deep, rich, milky smooth bass.
The secret gardens definitely have a larger sound stage. The secret gardens also have a better fit, and the cable is more durable. My king pro cable started to show oxidation even with careful handling.
Definitely recommend these headphones to anyone looking for a $600 headphone or below.
ShangW
43
Sep 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
TFZ SG is too sensitive and doesn’t sound as good as King pro.
WHO23
104
Sep 12, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Phi_n
0
Sep 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar