Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
18.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
395
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
NotanAudioguy69
2
Jan 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Happy
not an audio guy, but they are nice.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
laekh
0
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound: Amazing; Build: Good enough
These are my best headphones, so I've got nothing to compare them to. I could only compare them to my old Bose AE2W, but that's really no competition, the AKG just sound so much better in every category. I'm a student and hobby music producer and for me the K7XX are both good reference and listening Headphones. Sound Signature: The K7XX sound open, wide and ambient. They lean very slightly towards a darker sound signature, without loosing any of high freq detail (check the frequency response graph).
  • Bass is just the right volume for me and very detailed, but rather smooth then sharp.
  • Mids are just right; exceptional Instrument separation and very clear and realistic to my ear.
  • Highs are just right for me as well, I don't like to much treble since it's puts strain on my ears, but these don't do this. They're clear and detailed without being to forward or sharp.
Listening to the K7XX is generally really enjoyable and not fatiguing. I guess there's more detailed/precise headphones then the K7XX but I'm not sure if any more Detail would make listening more enjoyable to me rather than just freaking me out. The K7XX seem to be just the right amount of everything. 3k gap and observations: Looking at the frequency response graph you can see there's a gap at 3,5k. When I first discovered this I was a little upset, so I downloaded Sonarworks Reference 4 and made the headphones flat. Well, they sounded flat then, who would have thought. Point is, I really like the sound signature of the K7XX. There's nothing that has to be corrected in my opinion. And the 3,5k gap has kind of a natural sound to it, it feels like the music is given a room to play in, while when flattened the headphones sound really dry and loose that ambient vibe that I like. Build: So the only negative thing I have to say is the build quality really. It's not terrible, but you can clearly see that they are cheaper produced than the more expensive version - which is a plus if you're broke like I am. Everything is a little bit wobbly and I just hope they'll last for many more years. I own them for a more than a year now btw and there hasn't been any problems with them. Thanks for reading, ask me anything little edit: when I unpacked them they applied to much pressure to my (rather big) head. I spread them for one night and they were perfectly comfortable afterwards one more tip: Sound source matters, I can really hear how my shitty smartphone drivers effect the audio I'm listening to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Crispy_Steak
1
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely comfortable, but has a few flaws
The comfort is amazing, but somewhat diminished by a design flaw with the thin plastic stabalizers for the headband wearing through over time. The audio is certainly decent, but not mind blowing. There are better options for about this price bracket. Product contains lead SJ/T11363-2006 standard in both (CIRCUIT MODULES) and (METAL PARTS) but there is no detail on where this is which makes recycling/trashing fun.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Z.Smith
0
Nov 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Gaming headphones
These are by far the most comfortable headphones I have used. They have good sound and great soundstage. My only complaint is that I wish it had a little more clamping force to keep the earpads more centered around my ear but that might just be because they are a little large for my head.
nahct
1
Nov 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great soundstage, very comfortable!
These are lightweight and very comfortable for extended listening sessions. The circumaural earpads are large enough that your ears do not touch. The plastic construction is generally good, but the earcups will develop some creaking at the swivel joints. Silicone lubricant and gently exercising the swivel joint will help alleviate the creaks. I like the detachable 3m long cable with single entry on left earcup.. The soundstage is immense with warmth in the bass and midrange. I removed the tuning filter as recommended by others. Decent sound but not as smooth overall as HD6XX.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
lloydapalooza
3
Jan 5, 2021
Where do I find more info on this tuning filter?
Blushbeard
6
Nov 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome multitasker
I mainly use these headphones for gaming and the soundstage is great, I love them. Can hear footsteps very well. I also use them for music sometimes and they’re also pretty good for that but a little flat for me as far as music goes.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
yashagarwal
7
Oct 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great choice
This headphone has a lot going for it. If you have a solid amp (tubes preferably), it's hard to beat for the price. One of the best dynamic drivers in the budget. The only better option for me would be a used k712 that sells for around the same price
search
search

MindlessPCMR
1
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid choice
A year and a half in now, zero complaints. a solid step above anything else I've used in the past. I use them for gaming and music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
LittoBud
1
Oct 24, 2020
will these ever come back on sale?
oxygenplug
11
Oct 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had these for over two years now and they're still going strong with daily use. Currently driving them with my Focusrite Clarett 2Pre audio interface. Absolutely fantastic headphones. The soundstage on these is pretty insane and I am a big fan of the relatively flat response. I'm able to use them for every day tasks like listening to music and watching YouTube while also using them occasionally for silent recording and mixing. Sonarworks also has these as one of the supported headphones for the Headphone Edition of Reference 4. So if you do a lot of mixing, know that you can definitely use these as your dedicated mixing source if you just invest a little in the Reference 4 software.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
zabkaatlarge
12
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Movie Headphones
I mostly use these headphones for movie watching, but for other uses I feel like the 58x or the 6xx is a better headphone
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 489
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
489 OF 489 POSTS
Jan 27, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest