shopping_cart
Aurender Flow DAC/Amp

Aurender Flow DAC/Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
457 requests
·
181 Sold
Product Description
As powerful as it is compact, the Aurender Flow DAC/amp pumps out an impressive 380 mW at 32 ohms. The high-end specs are headlined by an ESS9018K2M DAC chip and an mSATA slot for up to 1 TB of additional music storage Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
16
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The greatest among compact dac/amp
Since its release in 2014 in Korea , I have wanted one , which I wasn't able to afford to get due to the highprice. Now that I have it in my possession , I can understand why people speak highly of it. With a usb connection , you can enjoy all the high fidelity music . Great product worth every penny.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hellskitchen
5
Jan 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Changed my (PC) life!
Even with iTunes, internet radios are crisp and transparent. Quite a feast.. Can't wait for my HD6XX to arrive and Covid's confined life will be bearable again :)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TwisterWes
26
Jan 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Device failed 3 weeks after I got it. Drop's service is garbage! $425 brick. DONT BUY!
Device failed 3 weeks after I got it, after just after a few of days listening. Took me a week to contact Drop's service, who told me that it's 30 days after I received the item, so, adios, amigo and good luck! Drop's service is garbage! I ended up with a $425 brick. DONT BUY IT! I contacted Aurender and they said they don't know who makes these, as they stopped the production in 2016. So, I ended up with a $425 brick, with no service available. This is the last thing I am buying from DROP! I am done with them. Same thing happened with Topping DAC I bought from them. $300 brick. I will just buy directly from Chinese manufacturers, that are at least standing by their product for a year. You are saving $50 on Drop, but have no warranty or repair options. Consider me gone, DROP!
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
DeyDey
23
Feb 1, 2021
Is that allowed? I would think selling a product that is both discontinued and warranty-less by its own manufacture, AND not recognized that its still being sold by a somewhat major seller to be very shady? This would be along the lines of the Audeze controversy that happened awhile ago.
Chally15
0
Dec 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My go to dac/amp
Had a more expensive dac/amp until I bought this one!
zenbert
172
Dec 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Audiophile portable DAC/AMP with additional versatility
The Aurender Flow is a uniquely packaged product; one that seems to be complicated by its interesting sculptured aluminum casing and the option to install an mSATA SSD.  Putting these subjective features aside, it is a really good sounding DAC/Amp combo, and one that could be a good option for certain audiophiles. Measuring 138mm x 80mm x 30mm, the Flow is about twice as thick as my Onkyo DP-X1a and a size larger than the Chord Mojo.  It appears to have an anodized aluminum shell and feels solid in the hand.  The base of the unit has soft rubber feet at the corners, which is a welcomed feature to avoid accidental scratching of the base against a hard surface.  The unit also comes with a custom fit traveling case and all the cables you would want, except the dongle needed for your device type, e.g., lightning, USB-C, etc.  Excellent job here by Aurender IMO. From a sound persona viewpoint, the Flow is distinctively an audiophile-grade device but unlike other players or DAC and AMP combos that I have tried.  The Flow generally sounds airy, spacious, and velvety in its rendering of music but yet clear with micro details that are usually in the higher-end devices.  There seems to lack a punchy edge to the sound, yet the details are ever-present and revealing.  It’s like air or liquid; Flow is just that.  I find watching movies with well-recorded tracks to be an absolute joy, particularly listening to the ambient high and lows without ever being too loud or noisy. Besides the fairly distinctive sound signature that I dig, I’ve learned to appreciate the option to have the SSD installed.  Originally I thought it was a bit of over-engineering in an audiophile device, but I came to appreciate the functionality.  Presently I use the Flow as a transport device for FLAC files and movies and have one fewer device (USB drive) to lug around.  The important part is storage function never interferes with the audio portion, even when playing a video clip directly with the music going. There are a couple of considerations with buying the Flow IMO.  First of all, the battery life isn’t impressive, and you can drain the battery in a handful of hours based on the volume and usage of the SSD.  However, with the charging mode set to CHG+ and connected to a USB powered port, this wouldn’t be an issue as the device will continue to charge while being used.  Secondly, the buttons on the device feel touchy and light.  This is subjective, but I wish there was more feedback for a more solid feel.  The physical unit has sharp-edged corners, which are aesthetically pleasing, at least subjectively, but can be prone to dings. Since I lug my laptops around a lot more these days, I find it a lot easier to be able to enjoy higher quality music listening as well as having extra data storage with the Flow.  The Flow provides a rather distinct audiophile sound quality that I appreciate, and I can see myself carrying it for long trips without having to give up on quality.   Setup: Flac via Audirvana | Tidal → Aurender Flow → Mr. Speakers Ether-CX
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
MidnightTaco
18
Jun 27, 2021
I couldn’t agree more. I’m a huge fan, it’s exceptional.
Matthew-levi
1
Oct 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
wonder sound quality
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this little DAC sound. It beats my iBasso DX200 when used as a DAC. And it comes close to a very expensive DAC for my main hifi system. I am totally impressed. The thing I do not like is the optical SPDIF input. It would be perfect if it provides coaxial cable input.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sd23
5
Oct 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent DAC
I think this is better then the Chord Mojo. The only minor issues was that the 1/4 to 3.5mm adapter was terrible, the 3.5mm jack was not snug and the audio would cut out when moving around fortunately I had a better one that came with my phones. The second thing is that the volume control doesn't give you enough gain to max out the volume. I use J-river and so I was able to raise the output level from there but still I would have preferred that the volume control itself provide more gain. This DAC can play louder than the Mojo without breaking up although as I mentioned I needed to raise the gain on J-river to do so). The sound quality is top notch. Very clean and detailed without any digital glare or shrill that some others DAC's can have and for which I am very sensitive too. I think the internal Msata drive slot is a good feature so you can store all your music internally and free up drive space on my laptop although I haven't installed one yet so I cant comment on its execution yet but if it works like an external drive meaning J-river has to read the data off it through the USB cable and then output the music data right back out through the same USB port into the DAC then that may discourage me from using it, I actually e-mailed support for the answer to that question. I would prefer if it can read directly from its internal drive but I don't think that it does, I'm waiting a response from Aurender. I bought this to replace my Chord Mojo which kept dying, I had 2 in less than 2 years, believe those negative reviews about Mojo's reliability. This DAC is highly recommended for the $425 price, glad I bough it. I use it with the Hifiman/drop edition XX headphones, it pairs well with it, better than the Chord Mojo did.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
tonso
10
Nov 18, 2020
I wonder, did you consider iFi micro iDSD BL as a competitor to this one?
Jakob
367
Sep 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow... Aurender are an incredible company.
Update, The USB connector failed and no longer maintains a connection. Huge disappointment. It's now an expensive paper weight. I hate micro USB. The worst connector ever created, they constantly fail. Never owned one that lasted. It should have been a red flag but being a higher end unit, hoped otherwise. What's worse? It's exactly 10 days past 1 year that I believe they may cover this. Incredibly, despite being beyond any warranty and no longer made I tried contacting their customer service as a shot in the dark, honestly not expecting a reply. However, Aurender contacted me and said they would make inquiries. He followed through and is having me ship it to their service center in California for repair once the part arrives from Korea! Honestly blown away by the customer service. They have zero obligation and must be spending a decent sum of money to make me happy. Just thrilled to know I will be able to enjoy this kit in the near future. Leaving the positive rating until I get a response from Drop. Fingers crossed... Well, it's beyond coverage and nothing can be done. Honestly, I cannot blame Drop, I agreed to the conditions, it's just really disappointing. Get this, I went to a local electronics repair/stereo shop. The guy there looks at it and says nothing can be done because it's propietary. A standard USB socket, proprietary. Needless to say, I have little faith in this shop. To make it even worse, he explains how much better new dacs are and that he sells Ifi products which sound great. Yeah, new dacs are improving but you cannot convince me a new $300 dac is going to sound better than this and anyone with knowledge of audio knows a higher quality older piece will sound better than a cheaper new one. I am not hung up on having the latest dsd hires certification. I guess, I will seek out a computer repair shop familiar with USB technology. OK, this is just a first impression. Coming from the respected LGV30 and this is a vast leap in sound. It does what a good upgrade should, make you anxiously relisten to all your favorite songs to experience what you have been missing this whole time. Nothing vague or golden ears about this, it's immediately noticeable. Was a bit worried this would be a bit harsh as some audiophile grade stuff can get with being on the described "clinical" side but not at all. Smooth yet super detailed. Get this. Easily the best $500 piece of audio gear I have purchased. Very pleased.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JGriego
95
Aug 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Still Great In 2020!
I purchased this dac in the mid-June drop and have not been disappointed. I originally wanted a higher end dac/amp and this fits in a category of great value and high quality perfectly. The machining of the Aurender Flow is top notch. As far as the ease of use, it is very simple. Literally, this is a plug and play dac/amp that works with any USB connection I've tried. So far, I've used the Note 10+, the IPhone 11 Pro Max, and my 2017 MacBook Pro and it's worked great with all of those devices. As far as sound goes, clear and true is how I can describe it. From the lows, mids, and highs, everything is clean in its presentation. Transparency is also great. The two other dac/amps that I also have used quite a bit are the Dragonfly Red and Xduoo XD-05 plus. When comparing those to the Aurender Flow, neither do. The Aurender is more accurate, airy, transparent, and dynamic. The Xduoo XD-05 plus is usually listed here on Drop for $220 or $265 if you want it with the Bluetooth adapter. But honestly, I'd spend the extra money and buy the Aurender Flow. The perk of the Xduoo is that you can make it into a Bluetooth dac/amp, which is awesome and cool, but if you want cleaner and accurate sound, pay a little more for the Aurender and you won't be disappointed. You don't get bluetooth with the Aurender, but you get far greater sound. The only thing I didn't like about this purchase was the wall adapter they included with this unit, but honestly, everyone has tons of wall adapters to charge their phones, so it didn't bother me much. The unit is really nice quality! Can't wait to compare this unit to the Chord products such as the Mojo and Hugo. Extremely recommended!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
tonso
10
Nov 18, 2020
Ok. I read that this dac discharges while playing even when it's connected to the power (and is supposed to stay fully charged), is that true in your experience? Also, did you consider iFi micro iDSD BL as an alternative?
JGriego
95
Nov 21, 2020
I didn't consider the Black Label. I've heard that is amazing also. You have three options with the Aurender when it comes to charging. chg(+) which takes power from whatever device you have hooked up to it (good for hooked up to a computer), chg(a) which will charge automatically when music isn't playing, and chg(-) which plays off the Flows main battery. I wish there was more info on this unit across the internet, but unfortunately there isn't. I've had to learn all this by playing with it. Still love it as much as the day I got it! If you end up purchasing, I have a few recommendations on better cables (the cables that are included are only decent).
B1gdee05
340
Jun 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Aurender Flow Dac/Amp sounds amazing
The Aurender Flow makes the sound offering in the Lows, Mids and Highs up a little bit better to everything and a lot bigger soundstage. Aurender Flow V1000 is designed to be used with audiophile grade headphones however I am currently using my Verum One's headphone which in my opinion delivers audiophile sound a lot cheaper than what you consider to call the mainstream type of headphones.  I used the Flow with two main sources: my laptop connected with USB 2.0 to play files from the laptop's drive and I used the TosLink connection from my Echobox DAP to listen to music streamed via Spotify and the Flow sounds amazing, the absolute quality of both the treble and midrange depended on which PCM filter I used. This unit for the price that Drop had offered is definitely a no brainer if you treasure your listening experience.. So far I am more than satisfied with the Aurender Flow. ✅✅✅
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 17 of 29
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
29 OF 29 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest