Burson Audio V5i Opamps

Burson Audio V5i Opamps

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.4K requests
·
805 Sold
Product Description
All audio equipment needs opamps—from DACs to preamps, from studio mixing consoles to PC sound cards to car amps. They’re as important to audio gear as the lens is to a movie projector Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
40
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ChrisSpeakman
16
May 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have used these as a tweek for my little bear headphone amp to replace the standard issue TI op amps, which were very nice, but these are just a bit more refined sound wise and they appear to be less prone to external signal interference. This being one of the things users of the little bear amp complain about, it didn't bother me too much I have to say, but the refinement is rather pleasant making, what is a very nice listening experience already, just that but more involving. I'm a happy customer👏😀
sfb2
10
Apr 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very,very good op-amp !! very "neutral".. VERY „UN-COLORED“, A LITTLE BIT „LIFELESS“..
So, as i had "all" ;-) "must have" op-amps before (AD797ANZ/BRZ,OPA627AU, LME47920/-10 ,Muses 89xx etc..) i must say (all tested with ESSABRE-9038Q2M-boards) this is for me (at present) the best->
" VERY „UN-COLORED“, A LITTLE BIT „LIFELESS“, BUT VERY CLEAR + LESS DISTORTED.. ->"As said in the head/tag-line very „un-colored“; after hearing them u got the feel that the OPA627AU + the AD797BRZ (+ other) are somehow colored, they add some „push“ (over the whole sound-spectrum, or to the highs or lows).The Bursons are very „neutral“.
On the other hand the V5i „sound“ a little bit „lifeless“ (in opposite to the OPA627AU par example, which is very „sweet“(the V5i´s are missing the „sweetness“)..
check
Would recommend to a friend.
CaseyOD
191
Feb 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I gave this 4 stars because I think the improvements are contingent on what you're putting it in. I've put these in 2 amps with different results. They were both improvements but one was way more dramatic than the other. Read further if you're thinking about this for the FX Audio DAC X6 or the Topping A30. I put 2 of these in my Topping A30 and the improvement was dramatic. I created a separate post about that you can find in my profile. When I saw this drop I figured I'd try it on my FX Audio DAC X6 which also uses the TI OPA 2134 opamps, but only 1. The chassis is built similarly to the A30 with 4 2.5mm hex nuts on the front and 2mm hex nuts on the rear faceplate. Took 5 minutes to pull those off and change out the op-amp with an IC puller (or a pair of tweezers). I really don't listen to the FX Audio with headphones. It's just serving DAC duty for a little bookshelf system I have a PS4 hooked up to. But I had $25 bucks, I like to fiddle with things, and I was curious. I gave it a listen with some test tracks to get a baseline. Songs I am very familiar with. The DAC X6 is pretty decent in and of itself. I was kind of surprised. I got the Topping specifically for headphones at my desk and the FX Audio for my game room at about the same time and I never really tried the FX Audio out with headphones. I'd say the FX Audio sounds better than the stock A30. The V5i made an improvement to the sound stage of the FX Audio more than anything. Unlike the A30 where it improved the sound across the board. The A30 with the Bursons is a much much better amp. To me this seems to imply that the FX Audio, which is a great inexpensive all in one, was about as good as it was going to get. The A30, on the other hand, had a lot more potential in the circuit design but was being held back by the OPA 2134 opamps. With songs like Bela Fleck's Flight of the Cosmic Hippo, there's a bass solo/interlude about 2 minutes in that goes down to the depths of the electric bass's range. Low end detail is improved with the texture being dramatically improved on the FX Audio. It recreates all of the bass strings more faithfully with the Bursons. Instead of just hitting the note in a flubby sort of way you can hear the string vibrate and the ebb and flow of the sine wave. I play guitar and so I listen for this detail because I know what it should sound like. The string attack and detail in these lows is dramatically improved with the Bursons. Listening with HD6xx's I didn't notice any real improvement in the FX Audio in the highs except for the increased sound stage. Dynamics does seem to be improved with songs like Yosi Horikawa's "Bubbles" having much more immediate punch in the delivery. Are these opamps worth it? From these 2 different experiences I'd say it depends on the amp. With a Topping A30 all day long. After listening very closely and comparing it with my THX and Emotiva BasX A100 I still really enjoy the A30. I have run into a few songs where there's a slightly more detail to be had with the THX and Emotiva but you would only notice this if you could do a side by side. There is nothing about the A30 with Burson V5i's to be ashamed of. It's a great amp even at the $180 dollars I have into it (I got the Bursons at full price for my upgrade). The FX Audio is dropping right now for $50 bucks and it's worth that all day long. It is definitely improved with the Burson, it's just not as pronounced. But for $75 bucks you'd be hard pressed to find a DAC/Amp combo that sounded this good. It has enough power to bring 6xx's to a comfortable listening volume but not super loud. Just a good listening volume. With the 6xx's you can max the volume knob and, although loud, it's not painful. But, on the plus side, there's no real distortion maxed out, so that's a plus. I've attached photos because I read a review that talked about questionable quality control with the DAC X6. They mentioned damaged caps and rust on parts. I just wanted to show that if this was the case previously it's definitely not the case now. My unit is very well constructed particularly considering it's selling for $50 bucks. The opamp sits behind the volume pot and a couple of capacitors (the volume pot is the green cube in the upper right of the 1st picture. I can understand why some headphone hobbyists don't think that opamp rolling makes much of a difference. With the FX Audio although a noticeable improvement, it's not like getting a new amp. It's just a little better. But some, like the Topping A30, it was like getting a brand new amp. I would imagine that different brands of opamps may play to the strengths of different topologies so perhaps there's a better choice for the FX Audio. I probably won't investigate too much further into this because, I don't use the DAC X6 with headphones really. But it was an interesting experiment and I hope some of you find my write up helpful.
search
search

(Edited)
kombajn
42
Mar 21, 2019
The main difference is that in A30 you use V5i as buffer and main op-amp where in DAC-X6 you use V5i just as buffer for TPA6120
CaseyOD
191
Mar 21, 2019
Very interesting. Thanks for the explanation! I'm learning so much about amp design now that I've picked up this hobby. I've been into stereo and home theater for a long time but have learned more about amp topology over the past year that I've been getting into headphones than I learned in 30 years buying stereo equipment and speakers. I knew class A, A/B, D, tube, solid state, etc. but didn't realize how into the weeds you could get as a consumer until I started buying relatively low output headphone amps, or how much of a difference each component could make.
Bobey49
21
Aug 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best upgrade for little bear B4
This is a great upgrade for my little bear B4 I can crank up the volume up higher with out distortion less prone to interference with the radio waves from the cell phone the sound quality is more Details and more accurate if you don’t know about the little bear B4 is one of the best portable tube DAC/AMP on the market high Massdrop to do a drop on theirs bad boy or the upgrade which supports balance and two Op Amp chips
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
DareToBe
206
Mar 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice addition to xDuoo XD-05, making it sound more engaging.
HAL90001208
25
Jun 27, 2019
Some say that, paired with the XD-05, it can do some funky business with bass and low gain... Have you experienced any problem with it? I was looking for an incremental upgrade but I don't want it to screw with my device functions, also could you tell me if there are notable changes in the sound signature?
(Edited)
DareToBe
206
Jul 1, 2019
I have no problem with low/mid gain and bass on or off. Sound gets noticably warmer with this than the stock opamp.
tiroy
2
Nov 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
V5i replaced MUSES8820D in Audiotrak PRODIGY CUBE
And it was the right move. It already sounded better with MUSES8820D than with stock LME49720NA. It's the final step in upgrading this DAC / headphone amp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
J-One
95
Aug 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very much worth the upgrade!
Sound on the Little Bear B4-X is just fantastic! It's now more crispier, and more detailed. Music is more full and lively. I've also noticed less distortion from my 6XX, it's now has more control and very much more capable of powering the headset than the stock OpAmps. Very much worth the upgrade. 😍❤️
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
RyeGuy
7
Aug 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Despite my XD-05's inability to go to high gain (none of the tricks worked for me), it's a good product for me. The Burson ran a bit louder than the stock OP Amp, so only getting up to mid gain isn't a major loss. It drives my modded T50RP well. T50RP's treble was still a bit high on the stock XD-05. The Burson mellowed the levels the highs got to, but gave the treble more detail.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
J_December_why
481
Apr 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The V5i: Great improvement on FX-AUDIO DAC-X6, soundstage, dynamics and sound quality overall much improved. Also, on Topping D10 DAC, the V5i much improved the output on amps connected to D10 via RCA, such the case for my Schiit Magni 3. Hence, I bought two V5i one for each the X6 and D10.
J_December_why
481
Jun 30, 2019
in the gray box: "Note: At checkout, choose the V5i-Dual single unit (base price), ... "
BoiBus
0
Jun 30, 2019
Thanks dude! I'm buying SHP9500's with the DAC-X6 Friday and finding this seems to be a blessing lol. Thank you for helping enhance the experience for me! :D
rhing
6
Aug 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Perfect Upgrade for the Aiyima A04 TPA3251 Class D Amp
search
I just received the pair of Burson Audio V5i-D op amp modules today, and I immediately swapped out my Burr Brown OPA627AU op amps on DIP8 adapters, and installed the Burson pair. Wow! I really enjoyed the Burr Brown op amps for their warmth, but the Burson op amps provide a higher resolution in so many areas like detail, timbre and imaging. The soundstage is huge and my KEF LS50 monitors just disappear. The music is very engaging. Thank you Drop all who participated in this buy for making these Burson op amps available at a discount.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 19 of 62
Related Products