shopping_cart
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
19
search
close
KristianN
107
May 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Waiting for my 8xx
I have not used these once since I am waiting for the 8xx, but based on previous experience, they are going to be comfortable.
Herner
29
Apr 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
What a beautiful box!!! Couldn't wait to unbox , and I wasn't disappointed! 100% quality
check
Would recommend to a friend.
thefitz
352
Aug 15, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I own a pair of Sheepskin pads and Hybrid pads - they're all beautifully constructed, but each pad negatively impacted the sound to the point where they have no advantage over the stock sound. The sheepskin pads increase the treble considerably, which was something these pads were supposed to solve.
The below is taken from a Head-Fi post I wrote about the Hybrid earpads:
Alright, I spent some/enough time with the hybrid pads on the HD800 SDR and have a conclusion. My setup involves me running the HD800 SDR with the EQ settings that Tyll showed for the HD800S on his review. I think the sound is fantastic and in most cases my EQ'd HD800S gets more head time than my Focal Clear, although that could be a comfort thing! However, it did really bug me that I was using EQ - more accurately, it bugged me that I would constantly turn off and on the EQ depending on whether or not I was using the HD800. My other cans do not require EQ, but the HD800 does. Looking at the frequency response curves posted by Dekoni, I thought that these pads would remove the need for EQ. Simply put, the pads were still too glarey with the EQ off, and I much preferred the sound of the stock pads when EQ was applied. Note: I left the original dust covers on, and think you're a masochist if you take them off. I did not and will not cut off the dust covers of the Dekoni pads. To break the pads in, I howled at the moon, farted on my hand, twirled my arms, yelled at the pads, and did all the same crap that makes no difference that everyone else loves to do. It made my 12" interconnects sound better too. Feel: I have a giant bald head and use the HD800 with the headband extended to the very last click. With these Dekoni pads on, the HD800 became on the tight side with the headband extended all the way. They were also quite warm with the Dekonis installed. Stock pads are far more comfortable for me, but that says more about me than the headphones. Changes noticed regardless of EQ: This might be hard to explain, but the earpads seemed to have warmed up the bottom end a bit without actually adding more bass. I did notice a slight reduction in bass impact, as if the upper bass and lower mids now had the same warmth the low end did (i.e. less impact by addition, not subtraction). The soundstage had an interesting change - I felt that it shrunk noticeably, but everything got smaller sounding as well (as opposed to the soundstage shrinking but everything staying the same size, meaning the sound is more congested). I wouldn't call this a bad thing or a good thing - I think it's about preference. Changes noticed with EQ off: The sharpness of "SSS" and "CHH" were smoothed out to the level of the rest of the treble, which in my opinion is a big win here. Unfortunately for me, the overall treble was still quite hot and glaring overall, just not in any particular spot. I went from occasionally wincing intensely to always wincing moderately. The heat in the treble did interact well with the "wide low end" the pads imparted (described above). This might be the answer people are looking for - just not me. Changes noticed with EQ on: This is actually my least favorite sound of them all. The treble reduction in the pads with the treble reduction in the EQ made everything in the upper octaves sound distant, putting unflattering emphasis on the "wide low end" the pads imparted. None of the frequency range sounded good with both the pads and EQ on. I admire what Dekoni is trying to do, but man, I've had such awful luck with them. Out of the 6 pad sets I've tried, only 2 worked well - the sheepskin leather Fostex TH50RP pads (at half the price of the headphones), and the fenestrated sheepskin pads on the HD600 (but not the HD650). But this experience makes me consider swapping the pads out to stock and seeing if they are really better after all. I'm scared to try Focal Dekoni pads based on what their FR graphs show (and how off their FR graphs seem to be from reality as it is). Rumour has it that the reason the HD700 is a sack of horse shit is because of the pads introducing all sorts of reflections, and Dekoni is working on HD700 pads. I really really hope they knock it out of the park with them and finally make a pad that's a must-purchase.
Danule
25
Aug 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is real full grain leather made from quality cuts. The stitching is perfect. best headphone pads ever.
triplestarfish
6
Aug 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Review for the fenestrated sheepskin pads: A whole lot more comfortable than the stock HD800 pads. I would have problems where the stock pads would slip out of my head but these earpads have eliminated that problem. The only minor gripe I have about these is that the dust cover touches your ears. It can get quite uncomfortable but you eventually don't notice it as much. Overall, I would recommend these over the stock pads.
Pdaman
14
Jul 28, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Easy to install and remove. Very comfortable. HOWEVER, there is BIG sound signature change. High frequency is significantly lower and overall volume is much lower and music is more distant (as opposed to wider sound stage). So after a few days of use I moved back to the stock pads. So, avoid these unless you want to reduce treble and volume.
thefitz
352
Aug 15, 2018
Which pads did you buy?
Andrew07
22
Jul 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My Sennheiser HD800 Fenestrated Sheepskin just arrive today! it smells just like a new car haha My Review: Fits perfectly in my ear, i am really satisfied with the earpad compared to the Thin and a bit scratchy hd800 Stock Earpad. Dekoni Earpad is so soft and smooth i wish this pad just comes with the headphone in the first place (i really wish Dekoni also make the Headband for this and came as a set :P). Sound quality difference is negligible compared to the comfort of the Earpad. The really only minor downside is that the fact that the dust cover touched the tip of my ear, it's not a problem in smaller headphone BUT since i'm used to using HD800S which FREES my ear it really is just slightly a bit uncomfortable. But i'm just nitpicking here.
Review after 3 Month: Now that i have used this after 3 months i found that this earpad is quire a bit toastier compared to the stock pad.
search
lesserpanda
6
Jul 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lovely feeling all the way 'round. Perfect replacement for stock ear pads, especially when they wear out or decompose...
tommytak
19
Jul 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Elite Hybrid Pads are super soft and make the HD800s comfortable as well, but the pads made the HD800 more sibilant than it was already. This issue is nbd if you already use EQ for your HD800s
oldboykim
4
Jul 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This pads reduced HD800S's treble range's detail, even the mesh was removed.
oldboykim
4
Aug 16, 2018
Elite Hybrid.
Rhodey-III
14
Mar 31, 2019
Same... Wanted to really like them but to me it was the loss of the bass that was a killer. I A/B these and stock pads multiple times and always noticed the bass missing with what I initially had with the stock pads. They look good tho! 😕
Showing 14 of 25
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
25 OF 25 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest