Drop + HIFIMAN HE-35X Headphones
Drop + HIFIMAN HE-35X Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
43 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
We’re always listening to your feedback and updating our products to make them the best that they can be. The Drop x HIFIMAN HE-35X delivers true audiophile performance at an entry-level price Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
18
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
H112A
4
Dec 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super surprised by how much I like these. Would I recommend them as a first or only pair of headphones? Probably not, but a fun and worthy addition to my small sound signature array: great sounding, well built, and definitely have their own sound - I also have the HE-4XX and these are different, not better or worse, in a good way. Glad I ordered!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 20, 2019
H112A
4
Jan 17, 2020
bookmark_border
Hi. I would definitely not recommend these as a first pair. These are fun as an extra, different sounding pair. I don't have the Jubilees, but I do have the HE-4XX and HD-6XX: my guess is that any of those three would be a great first pair, depending on what you are using for amplification. :)!
Jan 17, 2020
Fayne
787
Jan 17, 2020
bookmark_border
Another fun set to have a look at is the MassDrop x Meze 99 Noir. Heavy on the fun sound, extremely easy to drive, comfortable as all heck.
Jan 17, 2020
Mishra1390
8
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fairly average
I am not experienced with open back headphones. I was expecting a better sound stage, but found the experience bit underwhelming, found some earbuds better at that. Lacks bass to disappointing level, but otherwise is ok, with too much treble though.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 9, 2019
Mishra1390
8
Jan 9, 2020
bookmark_border
I use them with a sound card on my computer. So I do have enough control over sound.
Jan 9, 2020
NEXONUS
27
Jan 11, 2020
bookmark_border
I hate to break it to you, but his review seems to be in line with other reviews. The 35x sounds closed and intimate despite being open, and they are bright. However, I disagree that they 'lack bass to a disappointing level'.
Jan 11, 2020
BigBoyLoki
82
Oct 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Open-back but sounds closed, still great sound
I was curious with the first HE-300 from massdrop but I heeded the negative reviews and kept my curiosity from being satiated. Then they announced the 35X so I went for it. And I'm not regretting my purchase. These are very comfortable headphones. They have the same design as the HE-400i's which I can wear forever. The sound is good (sorry, i cannot really express any detail on this part). Curiously, I know these are open-backed headphones, but when I listen to them in a quiet room, it feels like I'm listening to close back headphones. Maybe it's the way that I don't feel any air escaping from the pads whenever I listen to music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 8, 2019
jgibbs
17
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, small pads
Sound over all is pretty good. Some male vocals are a little recessed as others have mentioned. They can get bright IMO with music that has a lot of cymbals, snare drums, ect. The drivers have a lot of potential though. Little equing and you have solid performance. My biggest gripe are the pads....or lack there of. They are very thin and the ear holes are small. I have large ears and they are not all that comfortable on them. May try to swap them out, if it is possible to. The headband is top notch comfy. Note though it uses plastic "lock" tabs for head height adjustment, they may ware out fairly fast with routine changing? I do not have the need to change them as I am the only one who uses them, but it is worth noting for others. The driver housing is also flat and stiff. I do not know how else to describe it. Not bad per say just a lot different then I am used to. It feels like i have 2 speakers strapped to my ears versus a set of headphones. And I am not talking about sound, all actual feel only. Over all, despite some flaws, they are a solid headphone. Great for most with a little equing. If you have big ears though, you may want to look elsewhere. UPDATE 11/21/19 QA issues. Something seamed a little off while wearing them. Noticed last week the driver cups are off. The holes for mounting the headband on 1 cup is 1/2" higher then the other cup. Like they put it in the machine upside down and no one noticed. I will probably give them away as my slight ocd tendency towards symmetry makes me want to not use them =/
(Edited)
Sep 17, 2019
jrbpraven
0
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I think is a very nice product.
I feel very comfortable with this product. The only negative was the delivery. It took a lot of time, but, I think it worths.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 4, 2019
road_runner
2
Sep 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My first non-cheapo headphones
I'm no audiophile, so I took a chance on these, despite some negative reviews. Overall, I'm pleased. Had them a couple weeks now. Overall, the construction and materials seem solid. They sound great - lots of separation and headroom. The bass is TIGHT, midrange is spare (OK in my books), and the high end can be a little jangly for my liking (but adjusted my EQ to compensate somewhat). For comparison, my other set of headphones are Monoprice 8323s, which sound boomy and imprecise compared to these. If I had one complaint, it seems the input jack is loose and separates quite easily from your music player (my phone).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 2, 2019
Pezonator
2
Aug 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome for the price and Soundstage!
I really wasn't expecting much from these, only being US$100 or so, but I was pleasantly surprised! Background: I mainly use my Headphones for gaming and also a good music session. The one constant in my setup is a Yamaha RXV 373 Amp which runs my 5.1 setup and Headphones for my PC. I've owned multiple sets, starting from the Beyerdynamic DT860 which I had for 4 years and had a brilliant soundstage, to the AKG 612 Pro (again, excellent but not much bass). I then recently bought the Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro's at 250ohm (retail version) and I cannot tell where footsteps or gunshots are coming from. They are horrible for fps gaming and have sat on my desk for the past month while I've used these HiFiman 35X's. The DT990 I would describe as a full sound headphone with great bass and good mids, I will use them for music. The HiFiman 35X as a direct comparison gives slightly less bass, not as clear mids but a brilliant soundstage in my opinion. By slightly, I mean only the slightest, as expected from a $100 difference in a pair of cans. I can easily pinpoint certain sounds, whether it be in games or music. The massive earpads are nice and the cans are comfortable for long periods although slightly warm as the outside of the pads are leather style. Gamers reading this review: I was very hyped with the DT990pro as it was reviewed as one of the best gaming headphones but I was sorely disappointed. The HiFiman 35X has impressed me greatly and I highly recommend them for this price. They are a great overall headphone and I can't see myself changing until they break in a few years.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 19, 2019
IaninSpain
13
Aug 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding performance, quite stunning sound overall.
OK, where to start, oh yes, my wife loves the box, fantastic for a jewellery store! I opened them expecting quite a heavyweight outfit, but was amazed at how light they are, my one criticism is the earpads don't have a large enough space in them for my big old "jug ears", but I'll buy some Brainwavz to go on. My musical tastes run from Abba to Zappa, and all points in between, I am especially a fan of 70's and 80's rock and soul, but do have a lot from Frank Sinatra to Adele. They seem particularly good on transients, so stuff like Scritti Pollitti or Luther Vandross are sharp and succinct. I'll write a six month review as and when, but for now, GREAT CANS! November 15th 2019. Ok, had these now for 3 months, first impressions were good, after 5 or 6 weeks, the sound had definitely mellowed, or my ears had got used to these cans! Use these with all my DAP's, FiiO X1, X3 and X5, plus with a Shanling M1 and M0. Each of these players has a different selection of music, so changing the DAP changes the kind of music I listen to. So, the HE35X's, after hours, it seemed, fiddling with EQ settings, I've hit on the right 'balance'. Don't ask me if it's V shaped or U shaped or even ?shaped, I just know what I like, and what sounds right. They sound right, I have other headphones, Sennheiser, Tomic, Mitchell & Johnson, plus a few IEM's as well. The HE35X's are the most comfortable, and sound great, so what else do I need?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 8, 2019
Fayne
787
Aug 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Surprisingly comfortable and fun sounding cans.
Initial Impressions 2019.08.02: Well, seems like letting these guys air out overnight solved my problem. The glue must have been super fresh when they stuffed them in the boxes. It was overpoweringly strong. I'll say this right now. If the HE-4xx used the headband/strap setup from the HE-35x, it'd be one of my absolutely favorite set of cans. These things are incredibly comfortable, resting at a good point on my gourd, and not squeezing it like a stress ball. I am *VERY* pleased. I'm not a big fan of fuzzy earpads, so those will have to go. Fenestrated sheepskin is a must, at least for my personal taste and comfort. I won't poopoo on cans that use the fuzz, I just don't like it personally. I used the ZDT Jr. driven by both the Airist R-2R and a Behringer XR-18. The R-2R for music, and the XR-18 for general computer audio. I'm rather pleased with the general sound coming from these dynamic cans, and considering the price point what is there not to love. They are super low impedance and can be driven by pretty much any gear with a TRS (or TRRS/XLR4 with balanced). These have quite the punch; I feel the bass almost as much as I hear it. Roll some bass heavy tunes (Beastie Boys) through them and they really shine. These may become my default movie watching cans. Them rumbles is pleasing. The wait was generally worth it. Update 2019.08.04: Turns out that the cable I use for my 99 Noir works just fine on these cans. Score. Not the best cable, hella microphonic, but balanced. These cans work great connected via XLR4 on the 789 doing the 0.66x gain. I'm definitely digging them for TV and Movie use, that extra bass, nom. Update 2019.08.05: I'm pleased to say that these cans definitely use the same earpad mounts as the HE-4xx... which I just stole a set of Dekoni Fenestrated sheepskin off of. Much more comfortable now. Update 2019.08.08 (final): Upgrading to 5 stars. After changing out the cable and pads, these cans have become my go-to for TV and Movie watching. They aren't the best for general music listening unless it is bass heavy (EDM & Rap) or horn heavy (Jazz), but for TV and Movies they're pretty awesome. Comfortable and that extra bump in the low to mid frequencies does wondrous things with explosions, pewpewpew, and spoken voices. They pair well with tube amps (CTH, ZDT Jr., LittleDot1+), but also are perfectly good on solid state (789, LCX). Over all, rather fun sounding on any amp.
search
Previous review posted immediately after opening package 2019.08.01: These cans stink of chemicals so badly that I started to become light headed just smelling them fresh out of their packaging. Not cool that. I'll try again tomorrow after they've had a night to air out.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 2, 2019
B1gdee05
131
Jul 30, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very light weight and comfortable head strap
I had purchased the 35X with the introduction price and I must say for 90$ I don't think no other over the ear headphone that can compete, especially when you hook them up with balance cable and powered via tube/valve amplifier... the sound is awesome however I cannot justify paying the 120$ as I believe there are better sounding headphone out there within this price range.. As stated these are very good introduction headphone especially for the novices into audiophile...  
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 30, 2019
B1gdee05
131
Aug 2, 2019
bookmark_border
Yes I did!!
Aug 2, 2019
Joeb1kenobi
50
Aug 2, 2019
bookmark_border
I agree $90 great deal! $120 not so much. Also think the HE-35X benefit from tube or SS-tube hybrid amp.
Aug 2, 2019
Showing 27 of 53
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
53 OF 53 POSTS
Jan 17, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest