shopping_cart
Glycine Airman Base 22 Automatic Watch

Glycine Airman Base 22 Automatic Watch

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.1K requests
·
375 Sold
Product Description
Glycine’s 24-hour Airman is an icon of the watch community. Originally designed for pilots, it’s found a wider audience since its release in the 1950s, not only for its unique design—the dial is numbered 1 through 24, with the 12th numeral at the 6 o’clock position—but also for its ability to display second and third time zones Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Eddy-Ginie
39
Jan 31, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Blue airman base 22
Excellent watch, purist mode is really perfect
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Ejizzle
Jan 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Attention is in the details
Well made watch. The three times zones is helpful when you travel about for work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dawbem
3
Sep 1, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
a good swiss watch
A watch with a soul. The machine keeps time well
check
Would recommend to a friend.
yairg
6
Jul 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great quality swiss watch
The quality of this watch is amazing. Woeth the money for sure
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hyuj
4
Apr 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When it arrived, I noticed that the hands were misaligned and had to pay 15 bucks to repair. Luckily, the repairs were for free because it was under warranty. Once I got it back, I immediately fell in love with the watch and the automatic movement. The watch has a classic aesthetic that no other watch has, and people complement the beauty of the piece (even though, they never heard of Glycine before). I would have given this 4 stars due to the imperfections once it arrived, but this watch is too damn good to pass up. At the moment, it's my daily wear and I will never leave without it.
(Edited)
Chris_D
1
Oct 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Two stars, not one, because I should have known better.
I was super excited about this watch. As a fan of the 24-hour clock, I was really stoked that my first really good watch purchase would also be that of one with a true heritage. These watches were some of the first aimed at a very small market; pilots, who were the first to really have a practical need to be aware of both world time and local time in the time zone they were in. I had read reviews (here, even!) that these watches sometimes ship with an hour hand that doesn't align with the top of the hour when it should. I figured it was noise (these watches are put together in Switzerland with movements that are also manufactured by one of the two big Swiss makers of mechanical watch movements) but mine arrived with a minute hand that pointed at between 7 and 10 minutes after the hour at the top of the hour. I have a dozen other watches, and even a cheap Timex shouldn't ship with this defect. None of my other watches has this defect. Disappointed, I wrote to Drop support, including a detailed description of the issue with photos, on August 10, the day after it was delivered. The very next day, August 11, "Damian A." wrote to tell me that he was "happy to see that your order came with a manufacturer's warranty!" (a six hundred dollar watch that includes a manufacturer's warranty? Insane!) and told me to contact the warranty company, the International Watch Service Center. I did, via email, that very same day. I waited. I heard nothing. I tried to call. I got through to nobody. I wrote again on August 11, again with no response. I waited until September 4, then wrote again, this time copying both the Drop customer service guy and International Watch Service Center asking if one or the other could please respond, at least with instructions on how to return the watch. Here we are, at October 21, and I have still not heard back from anyone. What an embarrassment. I'm not kidding myself that spending 10 times what I should on a watch entitles me to some special treatment, but man, this is sad. Honestly, no matter what Drop or the International Watch Service Center people do at this point, I'm going to be disappointed. I don't want this watch anymore. The watch that I was so enthusiastic about will really never be anything but a reminder of this most frustrating experience. I'm writing this review hoping it will garner the attention that I guess I didn't earn with either of these organizations after repeated attempts to have them rectify their delivery of a defective product. Honestly, I work hard all day trying to get busy people to pay attention to what they're being paid to do. I'm not going to do the same work in my free time for people who I am paying. That's the reality of it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Misaligned hand...
The watch is pretty good. Looks good, movement is solid. I didn’t notice any major time drift over the 2-ish weeks that I’ve had it; however, the watch did on 2 occasions stop running about 8-10 hours after I took it off, so it might take a lot more winding to achieve that 42 hour power reserve. The nato strap that came with mine is fraying a bit near the tip (the end that gets inserted into the clasp). My watch came with a misaligned GMT hand, which I could compensate with the outer bezel but it’s not a great solution. Suppose it’ll be a good test for the warranty.
search


bazsy_r1
1
Dec 1, 2019
Is the hand still miss leading when the minute hand at 24 hours? Thats when it should be at the hour mark I believe.
prjetdriveraz
0
Aug 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Watch!
Looks amazing! Great quality, impressive black on black look!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
deviate2112
27
Aug 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks more expensive than the price
Out of the box the watch looks amazing. I bought the white face and it has a richness to it that is above it's price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
fun_police
0
Jul 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A good watch overall except for small wrists
The watch has performed well. Time has been off by about -1 sec/day so far. I haven't noticed problems with the GMT hand alignment that others have reported. The GMT hand moves with the normal hour hand when setting the time, however. It would be more convenient if the GMT hand stayed in place so that after arriving in a new time zone, you could set the watch to the local time and leave the GMT hand alone so it can indicate the time at home. My main complaint is it's a little too large for my 6.5" wrist. The lugs are long and almost extend past the sides of my wrist. Also, the strap needs one or two more holes towards the watch end. Even using the first hole it's too loose, but I solved that problem with a 3rd-party perlon strap. I would've waited for the Airman 18 had I known it would drop right after the 22 sold through, it would have been a much better fit for me.
(Edited)
Showing 11 of 35
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
35 OF 35 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest