Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones (EU)
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones (EU)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8 Sold
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature ... Read More
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
74 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
Mokkori
0
Jun 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Happy with the purchase
beautiful look- long cable- good bass- comfortable
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 14, 2019
Karimk
40
May 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good bass. Nice clarity. Looks amazing. To me, this was very uncomfortable. I tried every pad there is; if it fixes the comfort, it ruins the sound. Buying a short cable is a must, the cable this comes with is massive and a hassle to deal with. It's a V-shape headphone, so the mids are recessed, and the highsssssss can get painful. If you like EDM, this might be good for you, however, most modern music is very compressed, so the highs on these might be too much. It spent more time on stand looking pretty, than on my head, which is not ideal. Still good overall, but can't say I'd recommend it.
May 28, 2019
coachclams
7
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are great headphones but they are held together by these two tiny screws which are the first components to fail. After 2 years of service, one of the cups fell off because one of the screws had snapped in half, leaving the lower half embedded inside the metal hardware that supports the cup. Massdrop will not provide you with replacement parts and the closest fostex replacement part is sold by some 3rd party at an egregious markup, which needs to be filed down to fit into the massdrop version. All in all, for a $400 headphone it probably should have lasted longer, and for massdrop's usually impeccable customer service to fall short is saddening.
Apr 20, 2019
P-Worm
0
Apr 29, 2019
bookmark_border
Just had the same thing happen to me.
Apr 29, 2019
Fencehopping
0
May 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Mine also failed the exact same way right at the 2 year mark. Very disappointed. Customer supports response was this: "While I can understand your frustrations, thank you for understanding our policies as well. I am sorry that we don't have a better resolution for you."
May 11, 2019
SmoothDistortion
4
Apr 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So much energy!!! It's like the force from star wars was made into a sound presence. Very fun. Bass is powerful. Pretty damn tight though. Cellos and really any sub bass is awesome. Those biodynamic drivers are something truly unique. Like it a lot. Doesn't bleed into the mid range surprisingly. Mids are a mixed bag. Male vocals seem a lot better to my ears. Female vocals don't really shine or have any smoothness to them. Treble is plenty detailed. Kind of stops there. Sometimes it can get harsh to the point where music feels like it's straight up trying to attack me. Not sharp at least. Sound stage is damn wide for a closed back. Imaging is somewhat okay. To be expected with sound stage this wide. Not like Monolith M1060 wide, but wider than something like an HD 598. All in all a good, energetic all rounder if you're not too much into female vocals or mainly listen purely to orchestra because stringed instruments such as violins don't have a good spotlight here.
(Edited)
Apr 14, 2019
Devmoo
3
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these headphones so far. I came from the ATH-M50x and I also own a pair of HD598's. They have a closed back design, so everything sounds relatively close in terms of sounds and positioning, but somehow they still manage to sound super HUGE. The bass on these as you could tell by other reviews is just awesome, the sub sounds almost real, and the bass is punchy and very prominent, but not overwhelming. I have a FiiO e10k, and I had to buy a 6.5mm to 3.5mm adapter to plug these headphones in. Comparing side by side my friends Schiit Stack, there was barely any difference. Probably cause these aren't hard to drive. The treble gets to the point where it could get a bit too intense, but then cuts off right before that, giving you a really crystal clear sound (female vocals sound awesome). The only thing I'm missing from these headphones are sound stage, but honestly they pull it off in a way that you don't need that sound stage to be satisfied, and the low volume leak keeps my coworkers happy as well. In terms of comfort I'm extremely happy, other reviews made me nervous thinking it was just sub par, or alright, but to me these are really comfortable. They are very light and barely clamp my head. I can wear them 7-8 hours a day at the office. I guess comfort is subjective. Even comparing to the HD598's (the most comfiest headphone ever), these aren't too far behind. No issues so far, feels worth the money and they look beautiful. If your looking for just a general closed back upgrade from something like the ATH-M50x, these destroy them and do everything better. Get them!
(Edited)
Apr 5, 2019
Lectricblue13
1
Mar 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these, I’m an EDM listener and these pair with that music perfectly, I use an fx dac-x6 and a monoprice tube and they sounds great with both!
Mar 25, 2019
jibber
1
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Definitely good headphones , but I don't know if they're worth the price. For reference, I currently own a DT 770 80 OHM, and the HD6XX, with a tube amp and DAC. The DTs are modded with large alpha leather pads and driver + cup dynamat dampening that I did myself for about $75 dollars. When comparing these to my TR-X00, I find that the DTs are so close to replicating the TR sound. In fact for the price difference between the two , I was expecting to like the TR a lot more. So I'm a little disappointed but not totally torn away. I mean the TR is an improvement, but it's just so subtle and small, you really have to listen for it. And it's only an improvement in certain things like clarity. When it comes to soundstage and bass, My modded DTs win. Maybe I should have gotten the purple hearts , but I heard those sacrifice clarity for Bass when compared to my Mahogany. Either way I'll make do with these. If the TRs were $300 or so I think they would he more worth the price , especially since DT 770 are only $150 these days.
Mar 22, 2019
sacredrabbit
5
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As far as sound goes, these are fantastic. The bass is top notch. It doesn't bleed into the mids and the treble is not sibilant. Sounds like a great headphone right? Well.. it is except for build quality and comfort. The reason I'm giving 3/5 is because it feels more like an on ear headphone rather than an over ear. There is a bulge in the back of the pad that becomes painful even after a pretty short sitting and my ears are rather small too. The build quality feels a bit cheap as well when picking it up and down it just feels strange because of how it moves on the hinges. This review is hard for me because I LOVE bass and the sound is fantastic but I can't give it more than a 3 because of how important comfort is for me.
Mar 22, 2019
cwelton17
97
Mar 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
TL:DR; Ultimately I feel like these headphones are not worth the $419 I spent on them. There's other products I've spent far less money on that I enjoy far more. I'm a novice so I have a hard time writing in detail about headphones other than "I like it, I don't like it" but here we go. I always end up preferring my Dekoni Blues (primarily for hip-hop and bass heavy genres) or Senn 6XX headphones which were both only $200. If the TR-XOO were sold at the same price I don't think I'd be as disappointed. I've had them for 6 months now. First of all, these headphones should be sold with a cable that ends in a standard 3.5mm termination. These headphones are very easy to drive and half the time they sound better running straight out of my iPhone 6 rather than through an amp (although it works nicely with my NX3s portable amp and bass boost). If I'm being really cynical, I'd almost think that Massdrop sells it with a 10 foot 1/4in termination to uhhh imply to newbies that they need an amp to go along with these headphones which in my experience is not true at all. I ordered a 4 foot cable with a 3.5mm termination to use instead of the stock. In my opinion, the TR-X00 don't respond much to amplification and they certainly don't "scale up" the way that the 6XX do. Sound: Yes these headphones can rumble fairly well and with EQ you can push the bass pretty far. When it comes to bass extension, they beat out my Dekoni Blues. On the EDM track "Faceless" by Plain Sight, the TR-X00 can pick up some deep, deep rumbles that the Dekoni Blues just kind of pass over. But when listening on the TR-X00 it's like always end up turning up the volume too loud to get the sound I want and when I take them off I realize my ears are kind of ringing, I think it's probably because I end up pushing the treble too loud trying to chase the bass impact. I never have that kind of problem with the Dekoni Blues, they are fun but never unpleasant. One of my favorite tracks right now is the Dillon Francis remix of Cardi B's "I Like It" and I don't know... I just prefer the Dekoni Blues every time over the TR-X00. The TR-X00 plays rock music pretty well also, heavier tracks like "If You Do, If You Don't" by Cartel or "The More I Sleep The Less I Dream" by We Were Promised Jetpacks sound good. But again, they just aren't preferred over the 6XX or Dekoni Blues. Basically the 6XX are great all-rounders for in my opinion and I just pick the Dekonis when I want more low end, but very rarely do I think "I should grab the Fostex for this track". Honestly even in hip-hop genres I'd still choose the 6XX over the TR-X00 just because they are more pleasant overall. Fit: For reference, my head is larger than average I think. These are pretty unwieldy headphones and not great for on the go. I replaced the stock pads with Dekoni Elite Hybrid pads which are thicker than the original and make it significantly easier to keep these cans on my head. The headband isn't great, but I can wear them for about 2 hours before feeling uncomfortable which seems ok. As I mentioned earlier, these headphones do NOT need an amplifier and run well off a smart phone but for on-the-go listening they just aren't realistic. I'd much rather use one of my IEMs. (Speaking of, my DMGs paired with my NX3s can get some pretty good bass all on it's own at since I only paid $90 for those it feels like much better). Imaging(?) Now there's one area where I do like the TR-X00 and I think that would be called imaging? In the song "Little Taste of Heaven" by Leach there are sound elements that move side to side and the TR-X00 seems to handle that really well. As in, the way those sounds move around my head is quite satisfying in a way that the 6XX and Blues can't match. And while I use my headphones mainly for music, sometimes I do listen to ASMR and I'll say the TR-X00 seems to be good for that. Obviously, I don't really have the vocab to really describe what I'm hearing here but hopefully that makes sense. However considering my other personal dislikes, it doesn't mean much overall. Conclusion: My biggest gripe with these headphones is when I compare "The amount I spent vs how well I enjoy them" is that I personally don't feel like I'm getting good value for my money. There's other products I've spent far less money on that I enjoy far more. Honestly I'd even reach for my KPH30i before these cans. Maybe I should have done more research but there's only so much I can do when shopping online. Anyway I seem to be in the minority here and maybe I'll change my mind down the line but as always, maybe someone will find my vague and newbie review helpful :)
Mar 15, 2019
hyunchong02
8
Mar 26, 2019
bookmark_border
I think a two star is a bit harsh just for not being able to compete with the HD 6xx of all headphones in value. The HD 6xx is identical to the HD 650 and those originally retailed for $500.
Mar 26, 2019
cwelton17
97
May 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Fair enough about the 6XX. But then again based on how I defined the rating criteria ("The amount I spent vs how well I enjoy them"), then I think the rating stands. It especially doesn't help that since I've written this review, I've gotten my hands on the Meze 99 Noir and I'm absolutely loving them. I far prefer the $200 99 noir to the $400 TH-X00 and (I would think) are more direct competitors.
May 14, 2019
Zhangx
1
Mar 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for work! Nice and comfortable; sound signature isn't fatiguing at all, warm bass and decent mid range. It's a "fun" pair of cans; by no means analytical, but great overall sound.
Mar 5, 2019
Showing 14 of 115
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
115 OF 115 POSTS
Jun 24, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest