Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones (EU)
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones (EU)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
70 Sold
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
100
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
TigerChan
4
Jun 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great headphone
the price is cheap with great sound, really good
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 9, 2020
Devourmsi
4
May 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds amazing, but with comfort issues
the sound is amazing as what Fostex wanted to deliver, but heavy and stress to listen to if wearing it for long hour.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 13, 2020
Leeminzhe
12
Apr 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
Connect to my thxaaa789 and sounds awesome
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 14, 2020
Lifelesslump
25
Apr 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best headphones I have ever owned
Everything about these headphones are 5 star, but the weight is my complaint. they are a bit heavy due to the wood. BUT the wood ads such an amazing look, so I am fine with it. They are very comfortable. great for music and videos games. For video games I use a sennheiser gsx 1000, which is in 7.1 surround sound (simulated). For music I was using my echobox explorer in mahogany. they looked great together until the echobox stopped working. So now I am waiting for the opus #2 to be delivered. The sound quality is phenomenal. I don't have any complaints about the sound at all. I highly recommend these headphones!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 14, 2020
cdcooper
7
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only issues I've really had with these headphones has been around comfort which was easily solved with some Dekoni th900 elite velour pads. Also running these balanced made a real difference for me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 10, 2020
MrTheBud
16
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Wood Cup headphones
These are for my use and line up of headphones that I have being mostly a Bass headphone and being closed back (They are certainly a bass headphone in them self despite comparing it to my other line up) . I do like it a lot and I do think it sounds really good for a closed set of cans. I do see some of the highs being a little too much as others said, but it does not bother me as much as I have seen other people discuss before (comparison being DT 1990 on MD THX-AAA/S.M.S.L Stack). It is for sure a fun headphone. I find though that I wish the headband did have a bit more padding for my head, though it does not bother really. The build quality I have seen to be the biggest problem with the headphone and I can see why when I look at them. I just hope they will stay together as long as they can, so be aware of the build quality of the headphone.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 10, 2020
vinlat
19
Mar 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic for the price!
Low frequencies are very clean and punchy. Trebles (especially high frequencies) come more forward than the mids but it's helping the balance against the bass presence. The surprise is definitely subs which are actually revealed. These cans are made to enjoy music, not to listen analytically, unless you are a bass player. I personally find these cans perfect for electronic music despite many prefer it to listen pop/rock music. I'm re-listening all my favorite electronic music with new "ears" especially to get the new details in low frequencies. So, why 4 stars? Clamping force is too high for my head, it's not comfortable for long sessions but this is personal feeling. Then cables and connectors to the cans are long and in wrong position, whenever you move your head you hear noise coming from cables touching and "scratching" your shirt or sweater. In few words: Not very comfortable but very enjoyable and incredibly revealing in bass area.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 26, 2020
danei
34
Jan 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1) I have Fostex TH610, TH-X00 Purpleheart and TH-X00 Mahogany, and this is the 4th pair. 2) TR-X00 sounds exactly same as TH-X00 (both Mahogany). 3) TR-X00 has noticeable shorter headband (the pull-out metal part) thus doesn't fit my big head well. All other 3 have same (longer) headbands.
Jan 16, 2020
CruelestWolf
2
Jan 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
FUN pair of headphones!
Great pair of headphones with ample punch. Excellent sub and mid bass. Very tight and fast. Would recommend for anyone that wants to enjoy music instead of critique. Would also recommend for gaming. Imaging is fantastic. As long as these hold up physically they can't be beat for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 1, 2020
4N4ND
3
Dec 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
TR-X00 Mahogany > Ebony
This is my favorite of the fostex variants. I owned the TH-X00 mahogany, then sold it to get the Ebony variant. The ebony variant didn't have the same initial wow factor - the shimmer and slam of the Mahogany. I sold the ebony variant eventually and decided to come back to the mahogany- now the TR-X00. I was right in my decision every little bit. The TR-X00 is so much more fun, and here is a little secret. Get the dragonfly black USB amp. I have not known a sweeter pairing. It makes the already awesome TR-X00 sound terrific!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 28, 2019
Hyde
676
Jun 24, 2020
bookmark_border
It depends on what you look for, I previously sampled the purpleheart for like 5 minutes so you could take my comment with grain of salt. But I find purpleheart sits somewhere in the middle between mahogany and ebony, and it didn't feel particularly bassy to me at the time. It actually sits at a nice balance between warm (mahogany) and cold (ebony), it is definitely more v shaped though where treble and bass is a bit more pronounced mids (certain string instruments like violin / piano) is a bit laid back. But vocal is surprisingly the most forward one out of all 3. Overall to me mahogany feels more bassy as an overall presentation (a bit more on the mid bass) and ebony while is more sub bass but it also didn't feel like it extend as far as my Denon AH-D2000 for sub bass. Again purpleheart sits somewhere in the middle between mahogany and ebony in terms of bass too. Oh I found my article that I wrote a while back in case you're interested: https://drop.com/buy/massdrop-fostex-tr-x00-ebony-headphones/talk/2362567?utm_source=linkshare&referer=UN68BR
Jun 24, 2020
Headphonechamp
2
Jun 24, 2020
bookmark_border
Thank you! Hope these come back in stock soon.
Jun 24, 2020
Showing 16 of 159
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
159 OF 159 POSTS
Jul 2, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest