Massdrop x Alex Cavalli Liquid Carbon X Amp
Massdrop x Alex Cavalli Liquid Carbon X Amp
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
692 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Made in collaboration with Alex Cavalli, a legend in the world of headphone amps, the Liquid Carbon X is a solid-state, fully balanced, bridged amp with a clear, transparent, non-fatiguing sound. It has the same topology as the celebrated Liquid Carbon, along with updates to the form factor, switching power supply, and input and output jacks Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
30
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
ciber
59
Jan 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
what a deal!!! so much better than JDS Atom.
After comparing JDS Atom with this LCX, there is no match at all. LCX wins hands down. Before I bought the unit, I carefully reviewed youtube expert review: Liquid Carbon X vs THX 789. Confirmed this Liquid Carbon is 98% of THX 789 on the sound quality. With just $60 more than Atom, what a deal!! Thank you, MASSDROP DEAL LIST to give me massdrop/drop deals every day.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jan 9, 2020
MichaelAnda
87
Nov 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
MUY bueno
(reposting comments posted elsewhere concerning Focal Elex) Amazing performance with relatively humble associated equipment. I have a station set up in my bedroom that consists of Focal Elex and Beyerdynamic DT177X headphones driven by Massdrop Cavalli Liquid Carbon X amp, Massdrop's Airist DAC, balanced Cardas Clear Light cables. Some old Alpha-Core interconnects and Synergistic Research MiG 2.0 component footers complete the ensemble. MUY bueno. Both headphones are sublime in this setup and my wife sleeps peacefully when using the closed back DT177X's (6' away). Sennheisers sound good here, too. I'm going to post this mini review at Massdrop under the Cavalli amp since that is the central piece in this exceptional system. The Elex scales crazy good when driven by a Bryston BHA-1 (amp)
search
.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 18, 2019
tkyc1234
6
Oct 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent headphone amp
My favorite headphone amp so far. Excellent in every way I can tell. It works great with my Sennheiser hd660c, Focal Clear's, AKG 7xx and Hifiman Sundara and 4xx.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 23, 2019
tkyc
10
Nov 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Cool. I was wondering about the 789 as well.
Nov 17, 2019
Mark_M
207
Nov 30, 2019
bookmark_border
I also have the 789 as well but I'm very curious about this amp. Someone here in Canada is selling their LCX for $225. https://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/649570939-massdrop-cavelli-liquid-carbon-x/
Nov 30, 2019
3xpl0it2c
22
Sep 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very detailed, balanced is much different than SE
The amp sounds amazing, really. The bass is great and vocals sound really clear, I can understand every word. It is clean and clear what plays through your headphones. Though remember that the 789 exists so.. Overall the LCX is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone with neutral/warm headphone, like the HD650/6XX. Sounds great with my 6XX. And I'd say the atom by JDS is a bit of a better choice, however it sounds boring so bear that in mind.
(Edited)
Sep 9, 2019
DrNima
4
Sep 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unlike 789 it will color the sound.. in a pleasant way.
Love it. I’m both glad for the 789 and LCX. Each serves in own role and each to its own. Get one as you won’t regret it especially at this price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 2, 2019
ShaneCan
27
Aug 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Better than I thought.
I must admit that I was very surprised about this amp. I really couldn't find much info/feedback about the MassDrop version. When I first started using it I wasn't very impressed. It didn't sound "right" at all. It seemed noisy, bright, something I couldn't put my finger on. I kept playing for hours without paying much attention. Within a few days burn-in must have occurred (mental or physical). I started to find the sound very full and even bassy. Everything on the amp works perfectly and there is more power than I will ever use. Most of my headphones are very efficient and it works great. Depending on the headphone used, my volume ranges from 9:00 to 12:00 in low gain. The Loxjie P20 will definitely be moving on. This is giving my Burson Fun-Classic a good run for its money. Nice to have a balanced amp and an SE amp (with a Schiit Loki in the chain). My chain is a Sony ZX300 DAP into SMSL SU-8 and balanced out to LCX. Today I am using a recently purchased set of used HD58X's. Another great combo. I got this amp on a Prime Days sale and could NOT be more satisfied. I have bought a lot of stuff that was overpriced or just plain crappy in the last five years. This one was a win. And it really is getting better over time. Maybe that's just a mental thing, but it's working for me. This and the used HD58X's were huge value wins for me. I haven't said that about audio in a long time!😁 Shane D
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 10, 2019
Jfmcox
4
Aug 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Spacious, clear and warm. Great sound.
Received just in time to take on current tour, where I’m using it with either Senn 650s or Meze Classics, depending on the surrounding environment. Lear, concise sound, and the amp is very quiet. Like it a lot... will find time to listen to some other music with it once I get home,
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 5, 2019
austin1908
12
May 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Warm sound, can drive anything I throw at it!
May 29, 2019
Moonsand1
369
Apr 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have used this amp for about four months now. My dac is a Modi 2 Uber using FLAC files. The headphones I currently own are the Audeze LCD-2C, LCD-X, Sennheiser 6XX, 58X, Hifiman 4XX, and Fostex TR-X00 Ebonys. I have balanced 4 pin XLR cables for each of these headphones and have used them in both modes. I can say that after all these months, I'm disappointed in this amp and wouldn't recommend it to most people. It has a darker sound signature then say a Schiit amp that I have used in the past. Some might say "smoother", but that problem is that the 6.3mm jack was an after thought and really lacks power. You can also hear distortion at higher levels on the Audeze models and the Fostex X00's. If your going to use the standard 6.3 mm jack then I would only recommended it for headphones that are really not very resolving. It doesn't even sound that great with the 6XX, but it is also not a good sound signature pairing. Using the XLR does give the "sense" that it sounds better with the increased power. The problem is that you start to hear that it is just not very "clean" sounding. My cheap Schiit Magni 2 that I have laying around sounds cleaner. I just ordered the SMSL SU-8 to see if running the dac in fully balanced will do anything to help the sound. If it does, then I will update a star. The bottom line though, is that you can do better for cheaper and it is not a good pairing for the headphones that I own. Update: Just got a new pair of Denon D7200 headphones. These sound really good on this amp. Treble is really extended and can be a little too bright on my Magni 2. However on this amp, it takes off just enough that it is not as bright. Unlike my other headphones, this is a really good pairing. Update 8/25/19 LCX vs. THX 789 I got the 789 two days ago. I have logged in about six hours now. I don't claim to be an expert, but I will try and describe the differences that I'm hearing. There is a noticeable difference in the clarity between the two amps. The distortion I was hearing on the LCX is gone on the 789. I can also hear a noticeable difference in neither the dynamics or the ability of the amp to separate the right and left channel on my two higher end headphones, the Denon 7200 and LCD-X. The best way I can describe it, is that It sounds more three dementional or has another layer of separation to the instruments. The LCX sounds more congested in its presentation by comparison. This amp really is worthy of the hype it has received.
(Edited)
Apr 7, 2019
sturok
157
Jul 17, 2019
bookmark_border
any updates?
Jul 17, 2019
Moonsand1
369
Jul 18, 2019
bookmark_border
Not yet. Waiting for August 30th ship date for THX 789.
Jul 18, 2019
usura
4
Feb 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
sounds a little bit dry in a SE setup. begins to flourish but never shines even if been coupled with a capable balanced dac such as Wyred 4Sound DAC-2. awful build quality. skinny in dynamic and muscular in lows. still enough for minimal/deep house and downtempo lists.
(Edited)
Feb 24, 2019
Showing 19 of 52
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
52 OF 52 POSTS
Jan 18, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest