Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones - Refurb

Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones - Refurb

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1 request
·
99 Sold
Product Description
This Refurbished Sale is for B-stock Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones. For more information, please refer to the Refurbished Details & Guidelines below.

Customer Reviews

2.6
(5 reviews)
5star
(1)
4star
(1)
3star
(0)
2star
(1)
1star
(2)
By Feature
Build Quality
4.0(1)
Sound
5.0(1)
Comfort
4.0(1)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
Dekosser
1
May 30, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Mint 5-6-7
Mint condition
Recommends this product? Yes
Forest84
17
Jul 12, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Not Working out of the box
They looked pretty good out of box and all cables/manuals were included. However on first test the right earcup is completely dead (how can this possibly happen if these are checked??). It really does seem this a common problem and i would not advise buying this version without a long warranty. Still no response from Drop either on refund/return. Not a great experience so far :( Update on Jul 24th Drop did give me a full refund
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
marcduck
30
Oct 30, 2021
Forest84Did you end up getting a refund?
Forest84
17
Jan 21, 2022
marcduckHi yes just as a update Drop did give me a no hassle refund about 2 weeks after my review. I do give them credit on that but thoughts on this particular headphone remain the same.
Stever751971
12
Jun 9, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Disappointing
These headphones were great......for the 2 days that they works. The left side earcup stopped working on the 3rd day. Seems to be a common theme among buyers. Not sure why are still for sale. I will say that drop was very good about responding immediately and i have been refunded. I. Am sure i will buy from drop again. Just not Focal product.
Recommends this product? No
wWFRAGWw
18
Oct 1, 2021
Stever751971Refunds?
lumpiestpoon3
26
May 3, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
I've had the Elex for a few days. This headphone seems to be notorious for its QC mishaps, and also the infamous clipping issue that seems to plague all Focal headphones. So far, I have experienced neither, but I will update this review accordingly if any issues pop up. Driver matching is exceptional across the entire frequency range, a pleasant surprise for a B-stock/refurbished offer. The storage case was a bit damaged at the seams, but the headphone itself looks brand-new with no blemishes/defects. Sound: Feels like a V-shape while not being V-shaped in the slightest. It's a very neutral FR, a bit brighter with less sub-bass than the Harman curve. It has the punchiest bass of any closed-back I've heard, without being a bassy headphone. Mids are rich, smooth, and well-textured - not recessed but also not saturated. Treble resolution is through the roof; it's a bit sibilant as a result, but it's a pleasant kind of sibilance, not the ear-bleeding kind like Beyerdynamics. Overall, the sound is energetic and incredibly dynamic, great for analytical listening in most genres. Not the best for jazz, ambient, and classical - look to the LCD-2C or Ananda instead for these genres. Technicals- Micro-detail retrieval is boosted by the high resolution and dynamic range. It's tied with the Ananda, though it seems to favor upper mids/treble detail while the Ananda favors bass detail. Soundstage is wider than a closed-back or HD58X/6XX, but still rather intimate. It's a traditional "spherical helmet" soundstage instead of the "concert hall" soundstage on the Ananda. Though the center image is not as deep as Ananda, it is remarkably stable and precise - vocals and instruments tend to feel like tight, short beams instead of walls or waves. Precision imaging is the second-best aspect of this headphone, after the energy/dynamics. Verdict: It's part of the "best under $1000" trifecta, along with the Ananda and LCD-2C. One of the best deals in the current audiophile landscape, if you're aware of the risks of buying refurb. Edit: 1 month later and still going strong. Also works wonders when paired with vinyl, plus a good turntable/cartridge/phono stage. I use a Cambridge Alva Duo since it's one of a few phono preamps to have a headphone amp along with a line contact stylus, and it sounds like speakers - all the sound is in front. It certainly beats out the Ananda for vinyl, despite having a more analytical sound and small soundstage. This headphone really comes alive when paired with vinyl in a way that digital can't provide.
(Edited)
PhilPENG
9
Apr 27, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Yes, it happened
I use it extremely careful every time and hope it can work for 1-2 years. It still death on the right-hand side in 28 days. The sound and looks is a beast in this price range, no doubt. It may be the only reason this headphone has been reported so many fail cases but still on sale. I recommend it if anyone wants a good sound and do not mind half of its lifespan is on shipping:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Bobsyeruncle
2
Jun 4, 2021
I don't think this guy is ever going to respond dude... 🙃
YearZer0
12
Dec 27, 2021
I wish the QC was better on these. I canceled my Order and bought a set of Shure SE846’s that I’ve wanted to get forever. I bought a Sony NW-WM1A as well. Hopefully the SE846’s can sufficiently introduce me to DSD.
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order
Related Products