Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones

Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.6K requests
·
5.4k Sold
Frequently bought together:
add
DarkVoice 336SE OTL Headphone Amp
add
xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp
Product Description
Made with Focal’s brilliant engineering and extraordinary attention to detail, the Elex headphones take a fundamentally different approach to dynamic drivers—and deliver a better measured performance across the board than headphones several times their price. A refinement of the $1,000 Elear with elements of the $1,500 Clear, they boast several improvements to the sound, build, and aesthetic, too Read More

Customer Reviews

4.3
(624 reviews)
5star
(435)
4star
(72)
3star
(38)
2star
(24)
1star
(55)
80% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
4.2(18)
Sound
4.7(18)
Comfort
4.6(18)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening
Music Genres:Electronic, Hip-hop, Jazz, R&B, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
Got me hooked on Focal
This was foray into the more expensive headphones and got me hooked on Focal. I "upgraded" from the HD6XX but both still see usage in my (now) larger collection of gear. I have never run into any of issues that some have reported with these headphones (knock on wood) and they still work great.
Recommends this product? Yes
lordskh
4
Nov 23, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening
Music Genres:Jazz, Metal, Rock, World
checkVerified Buyer
Great Headphones
Got them on a black friday sale for $500, at that price these are almost unbeatable. Imaging is a little worse than the elears in my opinion, but overall its almost as good for a lot less money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gheleon
1
Nov 6, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening, Gaming, Movies & TV
Music Genres:Classical, Electronic, Jazz, Metal, Pop, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
The only headphones I have that acually manage to pry me away from my IEMs
Great resolution with a neutral tuning. A great upgrade from a Sundara or HD600/6XX. Fantastic for the price and even manage to go up against some iem's around the $300-$500 range in tems of detail. One of my favorite parts about them is that you can either use a high output impedance amp or an impedance adapter to add a bit of a bass shelf and a bit more upper treble and take them from neutral to a pretty exciting pair to listen to. They also take EQ very well if you want to really make the sound your own. Highly recomended for anyone looking for that next step up for their ehadphone game.
Recommends this product? Yes
Iccarus
91
Oct 4, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Drivers Fail often
Left driver failed this morning. this video sums up the quality control https://youtu.be/vq9uq-PT6FA

Recommends this product? No
takechan303
11
Aug 19, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Electronic, Jazz, Pop, World
checkVerified Buyer
Almost as good as Focal Clear
They sound brighter than I expected therefore I don't think they are 'super 6XX' as Drop claims. That said, I gave them some time to break in and now they sound brilliant. Very resolving and musical.
Recommends this product? Yes
LostOne
21
Aug 4, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Build quality issue - fragile wires to drivers - known issue
Bought early 2020, loved the sound. Rarely used between 2020-2022, and only just took it out of the box now Aug 2023. No sound in left side. Swapped Left & Right cable ends, still no sound on left side. Went and googled - apparently the wires to the drivers are fragile and break easily. Except mine stopped working while in the original box, which was then further boxed up with my other cans. Drop needs to do better. This is horrible for the price. My pads are still like new due to how little I've used them. Comfort and sound was great - 5 build quality - 0 or negative stars, but had to choose 1. I guess can avg out to 2 stars. Avoid though!
(Edited)
Iccarus
91
Oct 4, 2023
LostOnejust had the exact same issue
amirraouf7
1
Mar 15, 2024
LostOneSame here so disappointing tbh! I bought mine in 2019 and hardly used them like yours and kept very well in a safe place, I took them to listen to a few song after a few years and surprise surprise literally no sound at all! so neither of the drivers are working.
bstar
3
Jul 10, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Metal, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
Exceeds Expectations
Very good all around performer. I rejected/returned the Sundaras and Edition XS prior to getting the Elex. The Elex checked off every box and performed well with all styles of music whereas the Hifiman planars sounded artificial and had questionable build quality. Metal was the real deal breaker with the Edition XS; fortunately the Elex does exceeding well with Metal. Also, the Elex is unreal with tracks mastered with high dynamic range. Build quality of the Elex is fantastic. I'm not having any build issues- clicking or dead drivers. I will update if anything bad develops. Comfort is very high for me, but I have a bigger head. I don't have any fatigue issues. Experimenting with EQ and it's been productive. That said, these sound great out of the box but eq can smooth out some harshness. One criticism is the horrendous cables that are included. They are quite literally the worst I've ever used. Imagine trying to manage a garden hose or vacuum power cord as a headphone cable. It's that bad. So be prepared to buy/make a replacement cable.
Recommends this product? Yes
rastus
1395
Jul 28, 2023
bstarI have the first Elex delivered, cables are pretty much unused, they are as stiff as some nice braided cloth cord I used recently, fixing an old lamp. keeping the cables for the next owner, but there won’t be… because the Elex sounds exceptional, just as you are hearing now. Maybe In ten years I’ll post a pic of the cables, “Still Looking Good!” I went Silver,, the cable went away.
search

(Edited)
rickdeckard
9
Jul 3, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Focal Elex Headphones are simply awesome
These Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones are simply awesome, the sound quality blew me away - it's like hearing my favorite songs for the first time. Plus, they're super comfy on my ears, even after hours of use - a real game changer in my book.
Recommends this product? Yes
AudioJet
318
Jul 2, 2023
Activities:Critical Listening, Movies & TV
Music Genres:Classical, Country, Jazz, Pop, Rock, World
checkVerified Buyer
My End Game Openback
This headphone has a rich sound signature. The detail is great but not so much that it ruins poor recordings. The comfort is very good but since I use these for critical listening I'm not moving around much. I use a Schiit Asgard 3 and Lokius for power and EQ. The Elex eqs very well if needed. The cable is just okay. At this price it should include a Focal case. My Elegia came with a case. You can buy one for $100 but that's too much. Overall a GREAT headphone. It looks good to if you care about such things.
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
Sounds Great
Sounds great a little Heavy
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 13 of 1349
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,348 OF 1,349 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products