Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones
$599
$749

Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones

bookmark_border
$599
$749
Complete Setup:
add
DarkVoice 336SE OTL Headphone Amp
add
xDuoo TA-30 Tube DAC/Amp
4.7k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
549
check
78%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Suganami
37
May 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Aggressive cans with soundstage
Comfort: An absolute win for me. I have a slightly larger than average head, and these are some of the most comfortable headphones I have. I do have somewhat large ears and do make contact with the pads and cup interiors, but the contact isn't to the point where it becomes fatiguing in any way. The only headphones that I find to be more comfortable are my HD8xx and my Hifiman Edition XS. Equipment: Schiit Bifrost2 -> Schiit Loki+ -> Schiit Jotunheim2 / Schiit Lyr3 , JDS Labs Element 3 Most of my listening was done with a balanced connection to my Jotunheim2 Sound: Excellent bass response with good extension into the sub frequencies. The bass while strong does not sound bloated or over emphasized and offers good detail. The mid frequencies are very well presented, and the treble is very clear and detailed. None of the frequencies are presented in any way that I would consider too forward or recessed. I did notice a little (and I mean a little) bleed of the lows into the mids which did take away from male vocals just slightly. I found female vocals to be much more pleasant on these headphones than male vocals. These are somewhat aggressive cans in a good or bad way depending on the source and audio type. As far as music type, I found electronic/pop/hip hop to be very fun and enjoyable, though I did find rock/metal/alternative to be slightly stale and a bit boring. The sound did quite a turn for the better as soon as I switched from my balanced Jotunheim2 to my Lyr3 tube amp. If rock/metal/alternative is your preferred listen, I would highly recommend tubing. The soundstage I wouldn't describe as being particular wide nor narrow, and the imaging is pretty decent. While certainly not the best, I found these headphones to be solid for gaming. While these aren't my first pick for gaming (preferred gaming cans are my Hifiman Edition XS), they certainly do rank well in my headphone collection.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RonyHF
0
May 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
exceptional high end sound.
very heavy and warm around ears.Can't wear for long period of time
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SamadAhlHyade
0
May 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best all around Headphone I've tried to date.
Best in terms of detail and clarity, while also providing a sound signature that makes everything fun to listen to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
devbelanger77
6
May 6, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Shockingly accurate and high fidelity
When I first listened to these headphones, I put on one of my favourite records to test, and sat back. Immediately I was shocked because I noticed what sounded like an unpleasant white noise distortion in one of the tracks. however, when I went back to that same song on my HD 6xx, that same distortion was there: it was there ALL ALONG in the reference song I’ve used for years to test headphones; that is how accurate the Focal Elex are. I was blown away by this discovery. These headphones are such a step up from everything else I own that they made me find an error i had never heard before in a song that i had heard over 100 times before. these are my end game headphones now, and by far the best sounding pair I’ve ever tried. 5/5
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Damo_P
1
May 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
RIght side Broken
The QC on these headphone are terrible, mine arrived with right side not working all. I contacted support with all the things I've tried that doesn't void warranty (opening headphones) and they just replied with the same information back
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
trevorjk
0
May 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
In one word, DURABLE
I bought two sets of Focal Elex, and the first pair is still going perfectly. The word you need to consider is DURABLE. These are tough headphones without the plastic parts that break on others. Additionally I bought some extra earpads and a knitted WOOL HEADBAND COVER from a Chinese site that basically insures that they'll last almost forever. As for the sound, it's pretty good. The sound is soundly equal or better than the Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro, but the most important caveat is that the sliders on the Elex are METAL. The Beyerdynamic offerings use plastic sliders that notoriously crack rendering the headphone useless unless you want to use some duct tape or buy expensive parts if you can get them at all. (Sliders are the caps at the end of each side of the headband which facilitate the adjustment of the headphone cup length). Before Elex I had a pair of Beyerdynamic T90s which in my opinion sound a touch bit better. Years ago, they were criticized for having a shrill high range but I liked it. I discovered that the equalizer in the player called AIMP can tweak the sound to mimick the T90s. (as long as you can figure out how to turn it on). The Beyerdynamic T90s I still have are functional but have been duct taped and the cable is hardwired and not replaceable without modding skills. They have kind of a more mellow sound that I still think beats the Elex, but not by much. The T90s were very close to the first version of the Beyer T1 headphones, that I have heard were screwed up sound-wise in the newer "revised" versions. And again, the Beyer Dynamic sliders are cheap plastic and I can't stand that they crack all the time. Also going for the Elex is that they have a balanced XLR headphone connector and the sound output is better than single ended on my Topping DX7 Pro. The Sennheiser offerings are a bit too plastic and cheap for me as well to consider for a daily driver. The Focal Elex are a great sounding headphone that will actually LAST. It's got a lot of metal and not too heavy to bother you. One mention I can make is that they do "clip" a bit if the volume you are playing them at is really high. (Clipping is kind of an audio breakup of the sound - kind of a clicking). If you don't use Elex with extreme volume you'll be okay. These headphones are what I consider to be "good enough" for many years. Honestly I can't tell the difference between 128kbps mp3 and high bitrate flac. These do the job just fine. I think it's the best choice for headphones period, and the price on Drop is reasonable compared to the alternatives. Great buy!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JTAudio
8
May 3, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great starter of Focal sound
Great detail, nice soundstage, good bass impact.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Timberwolfny
21
May 1, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far so good
terrific sound that is not tiring. So far so good quality wise
karlregalado
0
Apr 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far these are not disappointing
I had a pair of Focal Clear MG that were damaged during travel. These not only have a familiar look but the sound signature is stellar and in my opinion sounds pretty darn close to the MG. No issues thus far and definitely happy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SleepyJuice
0
May 1, 2022
Keep me updated I really want these but nervous they will break within a month
RonChen
15
Apr 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Trying to get used to it
I came from Sennheisers in general and my daily driver is an HD560s and they do vocals so so well. I missed the forward vocals after I tried this one and I am still trying to get used to this sound signature. The sound stage is decent, imaging is precise, and separation is excellent; but I just don't feel any flare from the headphone. I guess it is the least offensive sound signature so anyone can like it putting this on their head, although a bit on the heavier side. I am a bit bass sensitive, however, although this one got more low ends than the HD560s (known to have not much bass, but to me, yes, although not much bass, it sounds punchy and natural), it does not sound bloated. I am trying to justify this to be a 5 star, I mean, everything about this is much more "high-end" compared to an all plastic HD560s, but it just doesn't bring me the satisfaction that the HD560s gives me. Maybe, I just need to spend more time with it. Would try out the Audeze LCD 2C, heard great things about their mids. Edit: After spending some time with it, I have come to appreciate this headphone more, especially the fact that is it very well extended, but still, it does not blow me away (especially for its price). It is a rather pleasant sounding headphone though, don't get me wrong. I can just sit back and relax, and enjoy the music - it is a very smooth-sounding headphone. Unlike the HD560s that I have, which is for analytical heads (like me lol).
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 11 of 1246
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,245 OF 1,246 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order