Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones
Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.9k Sold
+1 purchasers needed
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Made with Focal’s brilliant engineering and extraordinary attention to detail, the Elex headphones take a fundamentally different approach to dynamic drivers—and deliver a better measured performance across the board than headphones several times their price. A refinement of the $1,000 Elear with elements of the $1,500 Clear, they boast several improvements to the sound, build, and aesthetic, too Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
158
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
AnOkEngineer
7
Oct 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like them better than the Clears
These are crazy good. If these drop again and you're debating on a set below 1k, this is the pair, it's only competition is maybe the LCD-2 for $300 more. They're neutral-bright with a "fun" tuning. My only complaints: Treble can be slightly too bright, depending on your music tastes (EDM particularly). Some male vocals can sound a little unnatural; Kaleo for example. You could argue for 4 stars because of those complaints, but I've enjoyed these so much despite the slight issues that I couldn't justify the loss of a star.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 5, 2019
ayurmonk
6
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
EXCELLENT SOUND BALANCE.
One of the best headphones i have used for enjoying music. Better base rendering than my previous favourites(AUDEZE LCD-2,Sennheiser HD 600/650,Ultrasone 900 pro,MDR Z7 etc.) However the cable broke within 4 weeks of use,which was disappointing in such an expensive product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 4, 2019
thegeb
3
Oct 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Both cables broke for me. The XLR cable broke in 6 months and the 1/4" broke in 2 weeks! The headphones are AMAZING, but the cables are absolute garbage. The fact the cables are super stiff as well, may have led to the connections breaking. Horrible cables. Since I live in Canada, replacement cables ordered over the internet will cost me almost $150 USD! I agree, for such a premium product, the cables should be SIGNIFICANTLY better.
Oct 3, 2019
Mark_M
197
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
Oct 21, 2019
djm7845
67
Sep 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are an excellent bargain at this price and first class by any standard. To do better would cost twice the price, maybe a lot more
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 2, 2019
Mokus1080Ti
6
Aug 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic Sound Quality within 1000$ price range
This is a review after 5 months's use. Before this thing came to my house, the best gigs I heard was a 7000$ set-up (MDR-Z1R+TA-ZH1ES+WM1Z) in a Sony store. And Elex with my Woo Studio WA7 gave me the same impact, mainly in terms of its dynamics, treble, bass and intimate image. Previously I owned HD600 and ATH-W1000Z, by comparing, Elex's mids might be slightly darker and less inviting that ATH's and less precise than HD600's, but it beats them all in every other aspects. Having enjoyed with enough appreciations to its sound quality regarding to all aspects, I gave this review today mainly for that the 1/4'' cable just broke unsuprisingly (given other pals' reviews). Although I am not in US and another replacement cable will cost me nearly 200$, I'd still thank god it is not the headphone itself.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 10, 2019
Skylordquasar
33
Jul 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Never heard anything like it
I have owned the Beyerdynamic dt1990s, the Sendy Avias, and the Sennheiser 58x. After using The AAA 789 with all four, I can say that these make all of those sound almost like toys by comparison. The frequency response is perfect, and the separation, sound stage, and imaging are worlds ahead of the other headphones I mentioned. The 1990s are not compatible with a balanced cable, so they can't even come close to competing. Compared to the Aivas, the Elex has much more low end and a little less in the highs. More importantly though, the Elex sounds almost as though you are not even wearing headphones. Once you hear them, it becomes painfully obvious that the sound from every other pair of headphones is coming from a driver a centimeter away from your ear; they have rendered every other headphone I have pointless.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 28, 2019
JFox
11
Jul 28, 2019
bookmark_border
Thank you for comparing this with the DT 1990. Now I have no doubts, and I'm completely sold. Much appreciated
Jul 28, 2019
Anmol73
3
Aug 23, 2019
bookmark_border
your opinion is perfectly fine. Just a minor technical correction -balanced cables are required between dac and amp to prevent ground loops. balanced cable is not a requirement to a headphone as its unlikely headphone itself will develop ground loops. balanced cables being sold for headphones are hogwash marketing. So beyer example above is perfectly comparable without balanced cable to headphone itself. you may still prefer focal and thats perfectly fine. PS- I own both beyer T1 and 2 sets of expensive focal speakers so i am not biased in terms of brand favor-ability.
Aug 23, 2019
flapjackthebear
39
Jul 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The true endgame.
Pairing this headphone with the Topping D70 and THX 789 is a transcendent experience. I can hear an unbelievable amount of detail in my favorite songs. The construction is solidly built and VERY high quality. Even the THICC cables are made of very high quality material and just need to be straightened out before use. The Elex presents every part of the music to you equally, so you don't need to go searching for detail, it's just there. There are no annoying peaks to me and the high intensity of the sound is just what I was looking for. I don't want more expensive cans that do 5% better than what the Elex does. The Elex is ABSOLUTELY worth the price. This is the perfect counter to the fabulous and equally endgame 6XX. The 6XX is laid back, warm, and mid focused, while the Elex is fast, analytical, and resolving. I can't wait to spend more time with this headphone to hear music as it was meant to be heard.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 24, 2019
flapjackthebear
39
Oct 20, 2019
bookmark_border
Yes, the Elex is a perfect match for the D70 and the THX 789.
Oct 20, 2019
Interceptor69
11
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
Just ordered!
Oct 21, 2019
Music1978
11
Jul 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Incredible
Incredible dynamics. Great comfort and build quality. My Chord Hugo2 drives these really well. Bass is fast and tight. There's a really nice sense of 'grip' on the music. The cable stiffness I read about is not an issue at all for me. The cable length is perfect for me (the 3m Elear is too long for me and the 1.2m that comes with Clear is too short for me). My only complaint has nothing to do with the received product - I wish replacement pads were available because I will undoubtedly need replacements this time next year. I'll be using these cans a lot. Clear replacement pads can be purchased and are probably similar/same except they're not black to match Elex. I really hope Massdrop allows existing owners to buy replacement pads. I'm really happy with this purchase. Dynamics are incredible. I've previously had Sennheiser HD800-S and MrSpeakers Aeon Flow (Open and Closed).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 12, 2019
Music1978
11
Oct 19, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi @joeftan I've seen those but they are a different design - so they might have a different 'sound signature'. The pads make up 'the room' around the ears. The official Elex pads are like the Clear and are a perforated design. So I'd prefer official replacements. As mentioned, the Clears are the same design so I might have to get those but black would have been nice.
Oct 19, 2019
joeftan
23
Oct 19, 2019
bookmark_border
Very true. They need to make the original Focal pads available again.
Oct 19, 2019
Jakob
49
Jul 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Almost perfect.
Nothing really I can say that has not been said by more knowledgeable audiophiles. This is my highest end headphone... by far. I come from the popular $200 range and this just sounds perfect. Perfect sound stage, imaging, mids, highs are there yet never harsh, very smooth sound and balanced. Bass is tight and detailed. The sub sub bass could be stronger if honest and picky which brings me to why they are not quite perfect... clipping. If you like listening to artificial bass in genres like rap or electronica you may Experian e the driver clipping due to its very active design. Apparently this is not a faulty unit rather its just a weakness to its driver design. It only happens during high volume listening but that's how I like my bass heavy tracks. Just a fore warning if those are your primary genres otherwise these truly are stellar. It's dynamics are probably its greatest strength, it's dramatic and speaker like. I just accept that if I want to have some crazy bass Experian e listening to goa trance, I reach for my Soundmagic Hp151 for visceral bass. Fair enough. OH, Hans Zimmer soundtracks are crazy good on these. I listen just because of these headphones, I'm more a metal guy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 3, 2019
FuckHead-Fi
338
Jun 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
short focal elex review + they sound very open and clear -they are expensive -they also sound bright and artificial, with weak bass, so not neutral, boring to listen to, and only good for dark recordings -the first pair I owned had a defective cable
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 23, 2019
Paperdragons
7
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Focal has a bit of a reputation for shitty cables, and he's not the only one here saying pointing that out.
Sep 14, 2019
Motorrad
2328
Sep 15, 2019
bookmark_border
I get that. the subtext with this guy is that it seems to be everything, not just this - thus the comment from @LowFiMan. out of curiosity, why did you just single out the cables? seems like a pretty random connection to me.
Sep 15, 2019
SmoothDistortion
11
Jun 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Incredible vocals and bass control
Just amazing. Perfect bass. Never blooms too much. Still has loads of physicality and slam. Midrange is the main highlight. Best vocals I have heard yet. Very roomy. Super accurate sounding. Leans a little towards bright. The treble is well extended boasting superb clarity yet it never hurts my ears. A must for people wanting that next step up from the HD 650.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 20, 2019
Showing 32 of 423
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
423 OF 423 POSTS
Oct 22, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest