Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
$69
$150

Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors

bookmark_border
$69
$150
Color:
1.5k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
165
check
78%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
noaen
25
Jun 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good price, A little heavy and not very comfortable
The sound is great, but i wouldn't really use those earphones while moving. as the wires are very long and the earphones are sitting very tight inside the ear - which makes the sound fantastic - it's not really the best product if you are looking for earphones for commuting / walking and etc.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bedford
1
Jun 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exceptional Value
Open, clean, close attention to detail, easy to listen to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dotexey
2
Jun 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds really narrow
I bought these along side Moondrop Arias and they just sound really flat and compressed compared to the Arias. Also the plastic finish and cable seem really cheap for the price. The Fit in the ear is really comfortable though.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Rambone
54
May 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Important update and edit: I scoured the reviews for this IEM to see where things went wrong and why there were such polarizing reviews including my own at first which was absolutely negative. As it turns out changing tips, specifically to the double flanged tips that came included with the Planamics was all it took to clean up this IEMs sound along with some ample burn in time. I dig it, this was a game changer. The bass is now tight, has punch, vocals got some heft and are clean. Treble for the most part felt just right but depending on source there was very rare circumstances where certain female vocals could sometimes become piercing at louder listening volumes. Overall I am very very pleased with the presentation of this IEM, super easy to listen to without being subdued or lacking to much detail. This is not a neutral or analytical IEM but is on the colored end of the spectrum that caters towards fun and musicality. I did not like these on anything connected to the Topping D10s. In conclusion, I can't say that I would pay the original asking price of these IEM's at this point since the IEM market is really really competitive right now but I have no regrets about doing so since merging a Planar and Dynamic Driver is a novel idea. $30-70 dollars I think is a fair price to add this unique IEM to your collection if you absolutely have to have them. If you are looking for a reference or monitoring IEM, these are not it. Please allow time for them to burn in, give it a week and absolutely make sure to try out ALL of the tips that come with it until you get one that works best for your preference. For me the double flange made a titanic difference shifting my view on this IEM from disgust to enthusiasm! It is completely possible these will continue to get better with more time spent. At the original price it would put it in competition with the Shuoer S12 which is a Planar. I thought the bass on the S12 and Planamic were both pretty fast, punchy and addicting however the S12 was more detailed. The S12 has better imaging/resolution however this tends to make the vocals a bit more lean sounding, so I really appreciate the Planamics take on them. The S12 had a wider sound stage. In the end they ended up being two very different pleasurable experiences. Why not both?! I am updating my score from a 3/5 to a (4.5) 5/5. I feel ashamed of myself for not switching tips when Mee Audio provided a VERY VERY ample collection of stock tips of all shapes, flange variety and sizes. Shame on me! Please forgive me! ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- My original review with the stock installed tips: Review Score 3/5. When I first got these, I put them on and listened to them and thought they were absolute trash. Any of my cheap KZ's, Tin's and whatever smoked these things. The tuning on these were all messed up, vocals sounded several shades of jacked up and not very detailed. Bass was not quality at all. Doesn't matter which of the 8 different dac/amp and phones I tried with them. I decided these were hot trash and tossed them in a drawer to forget about them. Fast forward a few years, I came back to them as I was curious about how they sounded again. Of course they sounded like the hot trash I remembered. Decided to try burning them in as this has done wonders with some other sets I have, plugged them into a spare iphone and played music for a week straight non stop. They now sound like a normal IEM however they are still not very detailed but at least the vocals aren't all messed up sounding. I can kind of see the planar trait with the bass at this point but it feels kind of a hit or miss. Reading over some previous reviews it sounds like these had dropped to $30? I'm not sure that I would reach for them still at that price. Way too much work for little return. I might change my mind after some more burn in but I feel like the $30 dollar (give or take) market is really really competitive these days and there are plenty of great options and this doesn't feel like one of those. ------------------------------------------------------------ I paired the Planamics with the following: DAC/AMP combo: Monolith by Monoprice (THX 788 version) Sound Blaster GC7 Sound Blaster G6 Lavaudio DS600 HiFiMAN EF400 iFi Zen DAC Air (added to combo list due to inclusion of built in amp) DACs Topping D10s (ES9038Q2M) iFi Zen DAC air: (Burr Brown) HiFiMAN EF400 (Himalaya R2R) Monolith by Monoprice ( AKM 4493) Amps: Schiit Magni 3 Schiit Vali 2 (several tubes, favorite is any year Reflektor silver shield) Schiit Asgard 3 Monoprice Liquid Spark PC: Onboard Realtek of my Alienware R13. Phones: Samsung Galaxy 8+ Iphone SE Edit 5/30 + Zen DAC Air + HiFiMAN EF400 Zen DAC Air is a fantastic pairing. This $100 dollar DAC also has a amp, this thing absolutely wrecks face. The bass boost super charges this IEM even further. Very impressed with this DAC+Amp. Your DAC will make a big difference with this IEM. The Topping D10s was just trash and this caused any amp connected to it to sound the same. Guess it doesn't like Sabre's. HiFiMAN EF400 pairs well with everything and sounds top notch all on its own.
(Edited)
ritaban
47
Jun 6, 2022
How do they compare against the PX? PX is supposed to be similar to P1 which is kind of flagship from Mee Audio. but Planamic is more expensive compared to PX.
Rambone
54
Jun 6, 2022
I unfortunately only have the P2 to compare to at this time. I prefer the vocals and the bass more on the Planamic. The vocals on the Planamic were a little more standout and fuller, the bass also had a little more oomph to it.
sukebe
12
Apr 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good value
I got em for like 30$. Mic is apparently good and the sound is pretty alright. Never go outside anymore so I just use my Aeon 2 Noires lmao. Would recommend if you can get for $30.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
XTRG
10
Mar 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A huge idk
Bought them while they were 30 bucks and for that price it is a good pair of IEMs, yet the sound lacks consistency in different units as I could compare mine to ones from a friend, and mines lack bass in comparison with his unit. Building quality is good and the packaging is really nice with a lot of stuff inside, memory foam tips in my unit where really poor fitting both in the ear and on the IEMs and broke pretty fast.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Bob3600
188
May 26, 2022
Where did you find these for $30.00?? Thanks!!
XTRG
10
May 31, 2022
There was a flash discount in summer 2021, and a few weeks back they were for 50, keep an eye on them!
TheGreatestDad
1
Mar 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound is kind of mid
They're really all that comfortable sitting in my ears no matter the tips I used(maybe I just have weird ears) waaaaaay too much bass to my liking to the point to where the sound isn't as clear or crisp as it should be and kind of muddies things to where some lyrics or speech isn't super legible. wasn't a fan of the sound stage either, gave them over to my wife who just uses them for her phone so they're just meh to me.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Lostx
1
Mar 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Did not like these at first...
After pairing with the Noble Audio 2-pin to Lightning cable, they sound so much better. I think they needed more power to drive. Bought on sale, don't think I would've tried for the full price but they sound great now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
34642
11
Mar 7, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got for $20 about what I would pay
They are being used as a pair of jogging headphones and work well the fits a bit weird in one ear and are Bass heavy so good if you like that good value for $20 buy any more than that I would strongly recommended something else and at $150 a ripoff when the Etymotic ER3XR are cheaper from most places
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
34642
11
May 27, 2022
they were on sale here at charismas for $20 not any more unfortunately. I can not recommend them for any more than 20 or 30 dollars
Bob3600
188
May 27, 2022
Thanks for the great info!! Think I will pass on this one. :)
sovebss
12
Feb 7, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
these IEM sucked
sold them ASAP
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 19 of 222
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
222 OF 222 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order