Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
539 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The Planamic in-ear monitors use an entirely new type of driver, designed in-house by MEE audio with feedback from the Massdrop team and community. Combining the benefits of planar-magnetic and dynamic drivers, this design yields a sound unlike any other in our IEM lineup Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
52
check
69%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
iamthepresident
2
Dec 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good value for the price (50% off)
I grabbed this pair as a cheap add-on item. The comfortableness is top tier and the sound definitely worths 75 dollars. The sound signature is smooth, warm and bass-heavy. However, It does lack some treble. If you prefer bright sound and want some treble, avoid this pair. They're just not built for this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
T.McDonough15
26
Nov 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unique Sound
So my opinion on these is a bit strange. I do tend to agree with most of the reviews that say they like but don't love them. These are not my favorite pair of IEMs, but they sound so unique that I keep coming back to them. With my Shure SE215's, no matter what amp I plugged them into, they always sounded more or less the same. The Planamic's I find change their sound pretty significantly depending on a) source of music and b) what DAC/amp combo you roll with. For using them everyday with a phone, I would actually recommend the SE215's. For being the same impedance, the Shure's seem to sound a bit better. If you are going to be plugging them into different amps and using high quality source material, the Planamic's are fantastic for $75.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mitchmallow
3
Jun 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great product,had to pay an extra 45 euros taxes for delivery to the EU
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dbsylvia
88
Jun 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but not Great
The Planamic from Mee Audio is a unique IEM. I enjoy it but I don't love it. I find that the build quality is fantastic for the price. The included cables are very nice and the fact that you get two, with and without mic, is a nice touch. The mic works well and I never got any complaints about the quality of the mic. I find the comfort to excellent, I can wear the Planamic for hours on end without fatigue or pain. Sound is a mixed bag. Bass is deep, extended, textured and detailed; I think a basshead would be happy. Mids have a little warmth, especially in the lower region. Mids have good timbre and natural tonality. Upper mids and lower treble, 2k-4k are uneven and have issues with harshness. Treble is extended decently and have average air and sparkle. Detail retrieval is about average for the price point. Soundstage is above average in width and the imaging and placement is great, I really enjoy the soundstage capabilities of the Planamic. Overall, I find the Planamic to be good at most but not great in anything. Here is a link to my video review: https://youtu.be/Xa0vQswvfrs
check
Would recommend to a friend.
deject
7
Jun 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really good sound
Enjoyable sound for the price, and the cable is good quality.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Moonss
0
May 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's okay.
The treble is thin. I need an amp. With it, the treble is fine.
Jasonhung
1
May 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value!
Loving it... really a bargain for the $$ spent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Ellissny
3
May 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exceptionally Okay
Sound decent but I dont think they're anything amazing and they aren't that comfortable.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
EstebanXX
8
Apr 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I listen mostly to metal, jazz-fusion, and instrumental music. It has been very difficult for me to find any piece of music in these genres that sounds decently on these IEMs, even when using a desktop tone control (Schiit Loki) to try to tweak the sound to my liking. Their sound is fundamentally weird, as many have stated before. Their only salient point may be bass definition and speed, but that is about it. I have not tested them with any type of acoustic music, so I cannot tell whether they are any good for that. For my purposes, they are virtually useless, but I will keep them on my collection anyway (and maybe reuse the included cables for other IEMs I own.) Luckily, I got these on a seasonal discount on Massdrop, which actually made me pull the trigger on these in spite of their low ratings and unfavorable reviews. I honestly believed I would be able to “fix” their sound using the Loki, but I still have not found out any convincing setting (and I do not really listen to music on my laptop, so software EQ profiles are not something I am interested in.) In my opinion, they are definitely not worth it at their regular price, and may only be justifiable if you are curious about different driver technologies and look for variety and completeness in your collection.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Scharfschutzen
21
Nov 10, 2020
I really like the IE800 from EarphoneDIYlabs. If I'm listening to metal, I reach for those, over my big headphones (I don't like IEMs.)
GabeTheGluttonous
0
Apr 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really like them. Super punchy!
Showing 11 of 88
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
88 OF 88 POSTS
Dec 5, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest